DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment/arguments filed 05/20/2026. The arguments set forth are addressed herein below. Claims 1-20 remain pending, no Claims have been newly added, and no Claims have been currently canceled. Currently, Claims 1, 13, 15, and 19 have been amended. No new matter appears to have been entered.
The amendment to claim 19 is sufficient to overcome the corresponding claim objection. The claim objection has been withdrawn.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 05/20/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent 11,862,036 has been reviewed and is NOT accepted.
The terminal disclaimer does not comply with 37 CFR 1.321 because:
This application was filed on or after September 16, 2012. The person who signed the terminal disclaimer is not the applicant, the patentee or an attorney or agent of record. See 37 CFR 1.321(a) and (b). See also the response dated 06/10/2026.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-19 of US Patent No. 11,862,036. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the inventions are directed to substantially similar subject matter. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is anticipated by the referenced US Patent, as follows: the difference between independent Claim 1 of instant application, 18/534782 and Claim 1 of US Patent No. 11,862,036 are highlighted in the following table.
Claim 1 of 18/534782
Claim 1 of 11,862,036
A method for generating a play, the method comprising:
A method for generating a play, the method comprising:
drawing the play via an electronic forum, the play comprising a plurality of players, the electronic forum comprising a plurality of buttons or drawing markers for defining moves of the plurality of players;
drawing the play via an electronic forum, the play comprising a plurality of players, the electronic forum comprising: a plurality of buttons or drawing markers for defining moves of the plurality of players, and a virtual clipboard, wherein the virtual clipboard comprises one or more preset formations;
enabling a user to apply standard alignments by position using at least one preset formation from among the one or more preset formations comprised in the virtual clipboard;
posting the play to the electronic forum;
posting the play to the electronic forum;
providing access to the play to a user via the electronic forum;
providing access to the play to the user via the electronic forum;
receiving an edit to the play from the user;
receiving an edit to the play from the user;
editing the play; and
editing the play;
providing the edited play.
providing the edited play;
creating a team, the team comprising a plurality of team members;
assigning access rights to the team members;
providing access to the play based on the rights of the team members;
facilitating a common board where users can draw plays together
facilitating a common board where the team members can draw plays together; and
modifying the play based on an input from at least one team member who has the access rights.
Furthermore, claims 2-20 of the instant application contain substantially identical claimed subject matter to claims 1-10 and 12-19 of the referenced US Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-12 and 15-20 is/are directed towards a statutory category they are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (Step 1, Yes).
Claim 15 recites, in part, the limitations of […]; and […]: drawing the play […], the play comprising a plurality of players, […] comprising a plurality of buttons or drawing markers for defining moves of the plurality of players; facilitating a common board where users can draw plays together; posting the play […]; providing access to the play to a user […]; receiving an edit to the play from the user; editing the play; and providing the edited play. These limitations, individually and in combination, describe or set forth the abstract idea in claim 15 (and similarly in claim 1). The Examiner notes that the specific limitations that describe or set forth the abstract idea in Step 2A Prong 1 can be identified either individually or in combination (see p. 54 of 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims recite limitations that can be practically performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper. The Examiner notes that “[c]laims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer,” and that “courts have found requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the claim limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind” (see p. 8 of the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility). The Examiner also notes that “both product claims (e.g., computer system, computer-readable medium, etc.) and process claims may recite mental processes” (see p. 8 of the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility). The mere nominal recitation of the additional elements identified below do not take the claims out of the mental process grouping. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
The claims also recite limitations that are considered a fundamental economic principle or practice (e.g., relating to commerce and economy), commercial interactions, business relations, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. The Examiner notes that certain activity between a person and a computer may fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping (see p. 5 of the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility).
Therefore, the claims fall under the following enumerated groupings of abstract ideas: mental processes (e.g., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion)), and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g., fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)) (Step 2A, Prong 1, Yes).
Claim 15 recites the additional element(s) of “A system comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing instructions which when executed by the processor cause the system to perform a method for managing a play, the method comprising: […] an electronic forum,[…]; […]; […]; […]; […]; and […]. These additional element(s) are recited at a high level of generality, and under the broadest reasonable interpretation are generic processor(s) and/or generic computer component(s) that perform generic computer functions. The generic processor and/or generic computer component limitation(s) are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The additional element(s) are merely used as tools, in their ordinary capacity, to perform the abstract idea. The additional elements amount to adding the words “apply it” with the judicial exception. Merely implementing an abstract idea on generic computers and/or generic computer components does not integrate the judicial exception or amount to significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer. Using a computer to generate data, compute a result, and return the result to a user amounts to electronic data query and retrieval—some of the most basic functions of a computer. “[T]he use of generic computer elements like a microprocessor or user interface do not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter" (see pp 10-11 of FairWarning IP, LLC. v. Iatric Systems, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2016)). The additional elements also amount to generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The type of information being manipulated does not impose meaningful limitations or render the idea less abstract. Further, the courts have found that simply limiting the use of the abstract idea to a particular environment does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or add significantly more. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. When viewed either individually, or as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not amount to a claim that integrates the judicial exception in to a practical application, nor do they amount to a claim that amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements amount no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer components. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (Step 2A Prong 2, No).
Additionally, the specification makes it clear that the system or method for drawing plays can be implemented on a generic computer.
[0077] … It is understood that devices 104 and 108 may not be limited to a desktop computer and a mobile phone, respectively, as shown in the environment 100 and that the users may connect to the network using various devices. Examples of the devices include, but are not limited to, laptops, smartphones, tablets, smart watches, smart televisions, smart devices in homes and/or vehicles, and other such systems having capability to access an electronic forum.
As such, the system or method, for implementing the abstract idea, may require no more than generic, conventional, and well-known computer devices such as a general purpose computer (as evidenced in Para. 77).
In Step 2B, the additional element(s) also do not amount to significantly more for the same reasons set forth with respect to Step 2A Prong 2. The Examiner notes that revised Step 2A overlaps with Step 2B, and thus, many of the considerations need not be reevaluated in Step 2B because the answer will be the same. However, unless an Examiner had previously concluded under revised Step 2A that an additional element was insignificant extra-solution activity, they should reevaluate that conclusion in Step 2B (see 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance). Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. When viewed either individually, or as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not amount to a claim that integrates the judicial exception in to a practical application, nor do they amount to a claim that amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements amount no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer components. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (Step 2B, No).
Thus, Claims 1 and 15 are rejected as shown above. Additionally, Claims 2-12 and 16-20 also recite limitations that are similar to the abstract ideas identified with respect to Claim 15 above (i.e., certain methods of organizing human activities and/or mental processes). Claims 2-12 and 16-20 do not recite any additional elements other than those recited in Claim 15. Therefore, for the same reasons set forth with respect to Claim 15, Claims 2-12 and 16-20 also do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more.
Claims 13-14 is/are directed towards a statutory category they are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (Step 1, Yes).
Claim 13 recites, in part, the limitations of creating a team, the team comprising a plurality of team members; generating a play, the play comprising a plurality of players, […] comprising a plurality of buttons or drawing markers for defining moves of the plurality of players; facilitating a common board where the team members can draw plays together; sharing the play with the plurality of team members; receiving inputs from at least one team member for editing the play; and editing the play based on the inputs. These limitations, individually and in combination, describe or set forth the abstract idea in claim 13. The Examiner notes that the specific limitations that describe or set forth the abstract idea in Step 2A Prong 1 can be identified either individually or in combination (see p. 54 of 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims recite limitations that can be practically performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper. The Examiner notes that “[c]laims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer,” and that “courts have found requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the claim limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind” (see p. 8 of the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility). The Examiner also notes that “both product claims (e.g., computer system, computer-readable medium, etc.) and process claims may recite mental processes” (see p. 8 of the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility). The mere nominal recitation of the additional elements identified below do not take the claims out of the mental process grouping. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
The claims also recite limitations that are considered a fundamental economic principle or practice (e.g., relating to commerce and economy), commercial interactions, business relations, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. The Examiner notes that certain activity between a person and a computer may fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping (see p. 5 of the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility).
Therefore, the claims fall under the following enumerated groupings of abstract ideas: mental processes (e.g., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion)), and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g., fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)) (Step 2A, Prong 1, Yes).
Claim 13 recites the additional element(s) of “A method for generating and managing play in an electronic forum, the method comprising: […]; […] the electronic forum,[…]; […]; […]; and […]. These additional element(s) are recited at a high level of generality, and under the broadest reasonable interpretation are generic processor(s) and/or generic computer component(s) that perform generic computer functions. The generic processor and/or generic computer component limitation(s) are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The additional element(s) are merely used as tools, in their ordinary capacity, to perform the abstract idea. The additional elements amount to adding the words “apply it” with the judicial exception. Merely implementing an abstract idea on generic computers and/or generic computer components does not integrate the judicial exception or amount to significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer. Using a computer to generate data, compute a result, and return the result to a user amounts to electronic data query and retrieval—some of the most basic functions of a computer. “[T]he use of generic computer elements like a microprocessor or user interface do not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter" (see pp 10-11 of FairWarning IP, LLC. v. Iatric Systems, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2016)). The additional elements also amount to generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The type of information being manipulated does not impose meaningful limitations or render the idea less abstract. Further, the courts have found that simply limiting the use of the abstract idea to a particular environment does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or add significantly more. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. When viewed either individually, or as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not amount to a claim that integrates the judicial exception in to a practical application, nor do they amount to a claim that amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements amount no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer components. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (Step 2A Prong 2, No).
Additionally, the specification makes it clear that the method for drawing plays can be implemented on a generic computer.
[0077] … It is understood that devices 104 and 108 may not be limited to a desktop computer and a mobile phone, respectively, as shown in the environment 100 and that the users may connect to the network using various devices. Examples of the devices include, but are not limited to, laptops, smartphones, tablets, smart watches, smart televisions, smart devices in homes and/or vehicles, and other such systems having capability to access an electronic forum.
As such, the method, for implementing the abstract idea, may require no more than generic, conventional, and well-known computer devices such as a general purpose computer (as evidenced in Para. 77).
In Step 2B, the additional element(s) also do not amount to significantly more for the same reasons set forth with respect to Step 2A Prong 2. The Examiner notes that revised Step 2A overlaps with Step 2B, and thus, many of the considerations need not be reevaluated in Step 2B because the answer will be the same. However, unless an Examiner had previously concluded under revised Step 2A that an additional element was insignificant extra-solution activity, they should reevaluate that conclusion in Step 2B (see 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance). Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. When viewed either individually, or as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not amount to a claim that integrates the judicial exception in to a practical application, nor do they amount to a claim that amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements amount no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer components. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (Step 2B, No).
Thus, Claim 13 are rejected as shown above. Additionally, Claim 14 also recites limitations that are similar to the abstract ideas identified with respect to Claim 13 above (i.e., certain methods of organizing human activities and/or mental processes). Claim 14 does not recite any additional elements other than those recited in Claim 13. Therefore, for the same reasons set forth with respect to Claim 13, Claim 14 also does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch (US 2008/0288590 A1) (henceforth, “Lynch”) in further view of Fugitt et al. (US 2007/0245238 A1) (henceforth, “Fugitt”).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Lynch teaches a system and a method for generating a play, comprising:
a processor (e.g., host server 104 including a processor in Para. 19); and
a memory coupled to the processor (e.g., host server 104 including memory which is capable of running a coaching program 122 in Para. 19), the memory storing instructions which when executed by the processor cause the system to perform a method for managing a play, the method comprising:
drawing the play via an electronic forum (e.g., an application program 124 allows users through the interfacing program 114 of the client device 102 to access the coaching program 122 on the host server 104 in Para. 20), the play comprising a plurality of players, the electronic forum comprising a plurality of buttons or drawing markers for defining moves of the plurality of players (e.g., the coaching program 122 displays a sketchpad feature in the form of a web page 136, to each client device 102, where it is displayed on each display 110 and using the input device 112, the session facilitator selects from various buttons # to sketch diagrams that appear on the display 110 in Para. 28);
posting the play to the electronic forum (e.g., storing play diagrams on the host server database in Para. 29);
providing access to the play to a user via the electronic forum (e.g., the player profiles enable each group participant involved in a session to view the coaching program 122 on their display 110 and in this way, the group participant can view a diagram through their own point-of-view in Para. 28);
receiving an edit to the play from the user (e.g., once selected, a group participant can view, edit, or animate the selected diagram in Para. 29);
editing the play (e.g., once selected, a group participant can view, edit, or animate the selected diagram in Para. 29); and
providing the edited play (e.g., Diagrams can be stored on the database 126 to the library for access at a later time by the group participants or others in Para. 29).
But Lynch although teaching drawing plays via an electronic forum (Para. 20 and Para. 27), lacks in explicitly teaching a common board where users can draw together. In a reasonably pertinent disclosure, Fugitt teaches a web page that requires data to be re-loaded or refreshed on a fairly regular basis (i.e., manual intervention), such as mapping web pages, sporting events scores, or play-by-play web pages and the like, can cause significant delays, wherein, Web 2.0 enables a new model that eliminates the start-stop-start-stop nature of traditional web applications and information is asynchronously requested and returned to the requesting browser, enabling real-time collaboration among users to a particular web site implementing the browser-based visual components (see Para. 3-6 and Para. 39-40). The problem faced by the Applicant, as described in the specification, relates to improvements that have been made in technology, yet few solutions have been developed that provide electronic tools to coaches to collaborate and design play strategies, wherein, sharing of electronically created play strategies still happens over electronic mail or by other means that require a lot of manual intervention, such that, there is a need for overcoming the above shortcomings and generating, sharing and managing plays efficiently in an electronic format. Thus, the Fugitt reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem as it would have logically commended itself to the Applicant’s attention in consideration of the problem and a person of ordinary skill would have consulted Fugitt and applied its teachings when faced with finding an efficient solution to generating, sharing and managing plays in an electronic format without requiring a lot of manual intervention. More particularly, Fugitt teaches the interactive set of lightweight, browser-based visual components are collaborative and provide support for real-time collaboration, as a result, edits, revisions, deletions, additions, and/or the like, made directly to the information displayed to the users and/or made to annotations or other information supplied by one of the user to a particular information collection entered by one user interacting with one browser are automatically propagated to other users using other browsers to access that same information collection, including collaboration services 420 like chat, whiteboard, drawing and/or annotation, or the like (i.e., a common board where users can draw together in Para. 46 and Para. 76). Fugitt states that by eliminating the start-stop-start-stop nature of traditional web applications, wherein, information can be asynchronously requested and returned to the requesting browser, enabling real-time collaboration among users (Para. 3-6 and Para. 39-40). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the online coaching system having at least two client devices of Lynch to include the asynchronous collaboration features of Fugitt in order to provide a continuous working environment without starting and stopping, as beneficially taught by Fugitt.
Regarding claims 13 and 8, Lynch teaches the method for generating and managing play in an electronic forum substantially as described above including: creating a team, the team comprising a plurality of team members (e.g., the registration data 156 can be used to determine each participants associated team (i.e., a group of players) in Para. 21); and sharing the play with the plurality of team members (e.g., the player profiles enable each group participant involved in a session to view the coaching program 122 and the group participant can view a diagram in Para. 28).
But Lynch although teaching drawing plays via an electronic forum (Para. 20 and Para. 27), lacks in explicitly teaching a common board where users can draw together. In a reasonably pertinent disclosure, Fugitt teaches a web page that requires data to be re-loaded or refreshed on a fairly regular basis (i.e., manual intervention), such as mapping web pages, sporting events scores, or play-by-play web pages and the like, can cause significant delays, wherein, Web 2.0 enables a new model that eliminates the start-stop-start-stop nature of traditional web applications and information is asynchronously requested and returned to the requesting browser, enabling real-time collaboration among users to a particular web site implementing the browser-based visual components (see Para. 3-6 and Para. 39-40). The problem faced by the Applicant, as described in the specification, relates to improvements that have been made in technology, yet few solutions have been developed that provide electronic tools to coaches to collaborate and design play strategies, wherein, sharing of electronically created play strategies still happens over electronic mail or by other means that require a lot of manual intervention, such that, there is a need for overcoming the above shortcomings and generating, sharing and managing plays efficiently in an electronic format. Thus, the Fugitt reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem as it would have logically commended itself to the Applicant’s attention in consideration of the problem and a person of ordinary skill would have consulted Fugitt and applied its teachings when faced with finding an efficient solution to generating, sharing and managing plays in an electronic format without requiring a lot of manual intervention. More particularly, Fugitt teaches the interactive set of lightweight, browser-based visual components are collaborative and provide support for real-time collaboration, as a result, edits, revisions, deletions, additions, and/or the like, made directly to the information displayed to the users and/or made to annotations or other information supplied by one of the user to a particular information collection entered by one user interacting with one browser are automatically propagated to other users using other browsers to access that same information collection, including collaboration services 420 like chat, whiteboard, drawing and/or annotation, or the like (i.e., a common board where users can draw together in Para. 46 and Para. 76). Fugitt states that by eliminating the start-stop-start-stop nature of traditional web applications, wherein, information can be asynchronously requested and returned to the requesting browser, enabling real-time collaboration among users (Para. 3-6 and Para. 39-40). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the online coaching system having at least two client devices of Lynch to include the asynchronous collaboration features of Fugitt in order to provide a continuous working environment without starting and stopping, as beneficially taught by Fugitt.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Lynch further teaches enabling at least one of audio or video communication among users via the electronic forum (e.g., host server 104 can facilitate one-way voice communication between one participant, such as the session facilitator, and all the other participants in Para. 30).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Lynch further teaches the drawing comprises using symbolism to define moves of the plurality of players (e.g., the session facilitator can select player icons, such as X's or O's, running and passing lines, or moving ball icons in Para. 27).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Lynch further teaches the drawing defining location of players for a field game (e.g., player icons, such as, X’s and O’s used to identify player locations in football in Para. 27).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Lynch further teaches performing sharing the play (e.g., the player profiles enable each group participant involved in a session to view the coaching program 122 and the group participant can view a diagram in Para. 28).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Lynch further teaches enabling searching of the plurality of players (e.g., the system includes a home page including a menu offering coach/player search 150 in Para. 20).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Lynch further teaches generating playbook from the play and one or more plays, the play and the one or more plays having at least one common characteristic (e.g., diagrams can be stored on the database for access at a later time by the group participants, wherein a coach can create and store a personalized playbook of diagrams (wherein all the plays are created by a specific coach, i.e., a common characteristic) in Para. 29).
Regarding claim 9, Lynch further teaches assigning access rights to the team members (e.g., each group of participants designates a session facilitator, wherein the rest of the group participants are participants but not designated as a facilitator in Para. 25); and providing access to the play based on the rights of the team members (e.g., facilitator that is responsible for scheduling and managing a session and the rest of the participants can view and edit diagrams, etc. in Para. 25 and Para. 28).
Regarding claim 10, Lynch further teaches assigning an administrator having admin rights to the team (e.g., each group of participants designates a session facilitator in Para. 25).
Regarding claim 11, Lynch further teaches the plurality of team members comprise at least one of a member and a leader (e.g., each group of participants designates a session facilitator, wherein the rest of the group participants are participants but not designated as a facilitator in Para. 25).
Regarding claim 12, Lynch further teaches the play is accessible when at least one of an administrator or a leader is present in a war room comprising the play (e.g., the client device 102 for the session facilitator displays a facilitator console (i.e., war room) that provides the session facilitator with control and access of all of the coaching program 122 features, wherein the client devices 102 for the other group participants display a participant console (i.e., war room) that provides limited access to the coaching program 122 features so that the participant console is subservient to the facilitator console in Para. 26).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. As per the amendments to claims 1, 13, and 15, a new prior art rejection has been applied to claims 1-20.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the Remarks, Applicant argues:
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 101, in Part 1 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant states: “The recited "common board where users can draw plays together" is a multi-user shared drawing surface - a network-mediated facility on which more than one remote user contributes drawings on a single shared board. A human mind cannot maintain a synchronized, multi-user shared drawing surface across multiple remote participants; nor can a person using pen and paper. The recited limitation is necessarily computer-implemented and is not a step that "can be practically performed in the human mind." See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) (a claim does not recite a mental process where the claimed steps "cannot practically be performed in the human mind"); CyberSource Corp. V. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372-73 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (steps requiring computer manipulation of data structures are not mental processes).”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitations outlined above, that exclude the additional elements, are limitations that can be practically performed in the human mind, and are considered certain methods of organizing human activity. The Examiner notes that “[c]laims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer,” and that “courts have found requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the claim limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind” (see p. 8 of the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility). The additional elements identified above, including the electronic forum, are being used as tools, in their ordinary capacity, to perform the abstract idea. The advance lies entirely in the realm of the abstract idea.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 101, in Part 1 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant states: “The amended claims are analogous to USPTO Subject Matter Eligibility Example 37, Claim 2, in which the Office found that no judicial exception was recited because the relevant step required "action by a processor that cannot be practically applied in the mind." See MPEP § 2106.04(a). "Facilitating a common board where users can draw plays together" likewise requires processor-mediated, network-based action that cannot be practically applied in the mind.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. “Examiners are reminded that examples issued by the Office in conjunction with the Interim Eligibility Guidance are intended to show exemplary analyses only and should not be used as a basis for a subject matter eligibility rejection or relied upon in the same manner as a decision from a court” (see p. 2 of May 2016 Memorandum: Formulating a Subject Matter Eligibility Rejection and Evaluating the Applicant’s Response to a Subject Matter Eligibility Rejection). Additionally, the facts of the application here do not uniquely match the facts at issue in Example 37.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 101, in Part 1 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant states: “The "managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people" characterization (Office Action, p. 12) is also not well-fitted to the amended claims. The act of facilitating the recited common board is performed by the electronic forum - that is, by the system - not by a human managing the conduct of other humans. The amended claims recite a technological architecture (a common board provided by an electronic forum) and the operation of that architecture (multiple users contributing drawings on the board); the claims do not recite the kinds of "fundamental economic principles," "commercial or legal interactions," or "managing personal behavior" examples set out in MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The mere fact that humans interact with the system does not transform the claim into one that organizes human activity. Cf. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II) (the abstract-idea categories are limited to specifically enumerated subgroupings).”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As recited above, the claims also recite limitations that are considered a fundamental economic principle or practice (e.g., relating to commerce and economy), commercial interactions, business relations, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. Such that, the claims, based on a shared forum, including a common space to draw together, fall under the abstract idea grouping relating to certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g., fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)). The claims, as outlined above, clearly relate to steps for executing/operating a shared collaborative space between people.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 101, in Part 2 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant states: “The specification identifies a specific technical problem in the field of collaborative play design: existing approaches require manual sharing and "lot of manual intervention." Spec. T [0002] ("the manual creation and sharing of the play strategies is very cumbersome and inefficient"); Spec. 1 [0003] (existing electronic solutions for sharing electronically created play strategies "still happens over electronic mail or by other means that require lot of manual intervention"). The amended claims address this problem by reciting a specific technical feature- a common board on which multiple users (or, in claim 13, multiple team members) draw plays together. See Spec. 1 [00116] ("There is a common board 3602 where the users can draw their plays together."). The recited feature replaces the asynchronous, manual-intervention-heavy paradigm the specification identifies as the problem with a shared drawing surface on which multiple users contribute.
That pattern - a claim that addresses a problem rooted in computer/network technology by way of a specific technological architecture - is the pattern the Federal Circuit has recognized as eligible. See DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1257 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (claims "necessarily rooted in computer technology in order to overcome a problem specifically arising in the realm of computer networks" are eligible); Enfish, LLC V. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (claims directed to "a specific improvement to the way computers operate" are eligible at Alice Step 1); McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-16 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (claims that recite a specific computerized way of doing something previously performed differently by humans are eligible). The recited common board is, in the language of McRO, a specific computerized way of conducting an activity (multi-user collaborative drawing of plays) that, when performed without computer assistance, was conducted very differently - by passing pen-and-paper sketches around or by sequential email exchanges, as the specification describes.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claimed invention does not provide improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a). Providing a means of an electronic forum and facilitating a common board where users can draw plays together (as claimed in amended claims 1, 13, and 15) is not a technical solution to a technical problem e.g. something specific to improvements to the functioning of a computer etc., but rather provides an alternative to manually sharing plays between users. The recitation of a “common board where users can draw plays together” is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer nor is it addressing a problem specific to network technology, as the use of an electronic forum with a common board is generally linking the use of a judicial exception (i.e., managing interactions between people) to a particular technological environment or a field of use, such that the claims are limited to a network technology field without claiming any improvement to the network technology for communicating or operating the electronic forum and/or common board. It appears that the claims and portions of the specification, as referenced above, are improving the user convenience, such that, instead of emailing back and forth, users can come together and draw. However, this functions in the same manner outside the use of a computer as snail mailing hand drawn plays would be inconvenient to users and coming together to draw plays would require less back and forth. Thus, the claims at issue lack integration into a practical application. Applicant’s claimed abstract idea lacks or fails to suggest improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. The Examiner contends that the claims do not provide an improvement to the technology in which it is generically applied.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 101, in Part 3 of Applicant’s remarks Applicant states: “To the contrary, the record contains direct evidence that this specific feature is not conventional. During prosecution of the parent application - U.S. Application No. 15/636,654, which issued as U.S. Patent No. 11,862,036 and is the same patent on which the present § 101 rejection's underlying double-patenting comparison is based - this same Examiner expressly acknowledged that "Lynch as modified by Curley lacks in explicitly teaching users can draw together." Final Office Action, U.S. App. No. 15/636,654, mailed November 26, 2021, at pp. 6-7. That same acknowledgment also appeared in the Final Office Action of September 18, 2020 (at p. 7) and the Non-Final Office Action of April 14, 2021 (at p. 7) in the parent application. A feature whose absence the Examiner has previously acknowledged from the closest cited prior art is, on this record, not well-understood, routine, or conventional.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. "[L]ack of novelty under 35 U.S.C. 102 or obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 of a claimed invention does not necessarily indicate that additional elements are well-understood, routine, conventional activities. Because they are separate and distinct requirements from eligibility, patentability of claimed invention under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 with respect to the prior art is neither required for, nor a guarantee of, patent eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101". (MPEP 2106.05(I)). Additionally, the recitation of a “common board where users can draw plays together” is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer nor is it addressing a problem specific to network technology, as the use of an electronic forum with a common board is generally linking the use of a judicial exception (i.e., managing interactions between people) to a particular technological environment or a field of use, such that the claims are limited to a network technology field without claiming any improvement to the network technology for communicating or operating the electronic forum and/or common board. It appears that the claims and portions of the specification, as referenced above, are improving the user convenience, such that, instead of emailing back and forth, users can come together and draw. However, this functions in the same manner outside the use of a computer as snail mailing hand drawn plays would be inconvenient to users and coming together to draw plays would require less back and forth. Therefore, as shown above, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more.
At least based on the above, the 101 rejection of claims 1-20 are herein maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHASE E LEICHLITER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715