DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered. The claim objections are withdrawn. The arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1 and 10, as amended, have been found non-persuasive. Specifically, claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spaulding, and further in view of Taylor as detailed in the Rejections section(s) here within. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the boat propulsor and/or the plate disclosed by Spaulding with the plurality of holes in a plate and/or boat propulsor and configured to allow water streams to pass therethrough, as taught by Taylor , with a reasonable expectation of success, so that, the plate includes the plurality of holes, as is detailed in the Rejection section(s) here within.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spaulding, and further, in view of Taylor, Jr. (US 6,159,062).
Regarding claim 1, Spaulding discloses a boat propulsor (Figs. 4-5) comprising:
a duct (52, Fig. 4-5);
a propeller in the duct and rotatable around a rotation axis extending along an axial direction of the duct (8); and
a rotator to rotate the propeller (10);
wherein an upper portion of the duct includes a plate extending from the duct in the axial direction (extension 54 with plate 16), and
wherein the plate is curved along a circumferential direction of the duct (best seen in Fig. 4);
But, Spaulding does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the upper portion of the plate specifically includes a plurality of holes that are open and configured to allow water streams to pass therethrough when the propeller is rotated in water.
However, Taylor Jr. teaches a plate including a plurality of holes that are open and configured to allow water streams to pass therethrough when the propeller is rotated in water (plate with ports 36, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the boat propulsor and/or the plate disclosed by Spaulding with the plurality of holes in a plate and/or boat propulsor and configured to allow water streams to pass therethrough, as taught by Taylor Jr. , with a reasonable expectation of success, so that, the plate includes the plurality of holes. The benefit being the predictable outcome of generating a vacuum by drawing water from the exterior surface of a plate through the holes/ports, as shown by flow line 43, in Fig. 6 of Taylor, reproduced below; see also §[0059], Taylor).
Regarding claim 2, modified Spaulding discloses the boat propulsor according to claim 1, wherein a lowermost end of the plate is located above the rotation axis (best depicted in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, modified Spaulding discloses the boat propulsor according to claim 2, wherein the plate is symmetrical with respect to the rotation axis when viewed in a vertical direction (Fig.5).
Regarding claim 5, modified Spaulding discloses the boat propulsor according to claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the plurality of holes include a plurality of slits extending along the axial direction of a duct.
However, Taylor Jr teaches wherein the plurality of holes include a plurality of slits extending along the axial direction of a duct (grooves 46 and 47, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention on to have provided the boat propulsor and/or plate/duct disclosed by modified Spaulding with the plurality of slits extending along the axial direction of the duct, as taught by Taylor Jr, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the boat propulsor the plurality of holes include a plurality of slits extending along the axial direction of the duct. The benefit being at least the predicted outcome of increasing the stability of the boat propulsor/plate/duct as it moves through the water (§[0064, Taylor).
Regarding claim 6, modified Spaulding discloses the boat propulsor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of holes are arranged symmetrically with respect to the rotation axis when viewed in a vertical direction (see 30 indicating arrangement of holes, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, modified Spaulding discloses the boat propulsor according to claim 1, wherein a separation distance between two holes of the plurality of holes that are adjacent to each other is wider than an opening width of each of the two holes in a circumferential direction of the duct (best seen in Fig. 5 via bolt 30).
Regarding claim 8, modified Spaulding discloses the boat propulsor according to claim 1, wherein the plate is a separate structural element from the duct (Examiner notes plate 54 with 16 is separate from duct 52); and
the plate is fixed to an outer surface of the duct at a first fixing position (see two fixing positions indicated at 30 in Fig. 5 – spaced circumferential from one another) and a second fixing position (see four fixing positions indicated at 30 in Fig. 4 – spaced axial from one another) that are spaced apart from each other in both the axial direction of the duct and a circumferential direction of the duct (Examiner notes at least two of the fixing positions are spaced apart from each other in both the axial direction of the duct and the circumferential direction of the duct).
Regarding claim 9, modified Spaulding discloses a boat comprising:
a hull (hull, ABSTRACT); and
the boat propulsor according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 in light of Spaulding above).
Regarding claim 10, Spaulding discloses a plate configured to extend in an axial direction from a duct of a boat propulsor including a propeller in the duct and rotatable about a rotation axis along an axial direction of the duct (extension 54 with plate 16; propeller 8; Figs. 4-5),
wherein the plate is curved along a circumferential direction of the duct (best seen in Fig. 4); But, Spaulding does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the upper portion of the plate specifically includes a plurality of holes that are open and configured to allow water streams to pass therethrough.
However, Taylor Jr. teaches a plate including a plurality of holes that are open and configured to allow water streams to pass therethrough (plate with ports 36, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the boat propulsor and/or the plate disclosed by Spaulding with the plurality of holes in a plate and/or boat propulsor and configured to allow water streams to pass therethrough, as taught by Taylor Jr, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that, the plate includes the plurality of holes. The benefit being the predictable outcome of generating a vacuum by drawing water from the exterior surface of the plate through the holes/ports, as shown by flow line 43, in Fig. 6 of Taylor, reproduced below; see also §[0059], Taylor Jr.).
Regarding claim 11, modified Spaulding discloses the plate according to claim 10, wherein the plate is symmetrical in shape when viewed from above (Fig. 4-5, similarly to the view in Fig. 9 for example).
Regarding claim 13, modified Spaulding discloses the plate according to claim 10, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the plurality of holes include a plurality of slits extending along the axial direction of a duct. However, Taylor teaches wherein the plurality of holes include a plurality of slits extending along the axial direction of a duct (grooves 46 and 47, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention on to have provided the plate/duct disclosed by modified Taylor with the plurality of slits extending along the axial direction of the duct, as taught by Taylor, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the boat propulsor the plurality of holes include a plurality of slits extending along the axial direction of the duct. The benefit being at least the predicted outcome of increasing the stability of the plate/duct as it moves through the water (§[0064, Taylor).
Regarding claim 14, modified Spaulding discloses the plate according to claim 10, wherein the plurality of holes are arranged symmetrically when viewed from above (Taylor, at least Figs. 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 15, modified Spaulding discloses the plate according to claim 10, wherein a separation distance between two holes of the plurality of holes that are adjacent to each other is wider than an opening width of each of the two holes in a circumferential direction of the duct (Taylor, at least Figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 16, modified Spaulding discloses the boat propulsor according to claim 1, wherein the plate includes a protruding portion extending from a rear end of the duct (Fig. 1), but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein a length of the holes in the axial direction is 1/2 or more of a protruding length of the protruding portion of the plate.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the length of the holes in the axial direction more than ½ of the length of the protruding portion or a length within whatever length range is desired for the optimal functioning of the boat propulsor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The benefit being a boat propulsor with holes sized optimally to gain the predicted outcome optimal performance as desired by the inventor and the intended use of the boat propulsor (i.e., with what boat, for what propulsor arrangement, and/or [articular ,mission of the boat, etc.).
Additionally regarding new claim 16:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Church (4,836,748).
Claim 1: Church discloses a boat propulsor (Fig. 1) comprising:
a duct (Fig. 1);
a propeller in the duct and rotatable around a rotation axis extending along an axial direction of the duct (Fig. 1); and
a rotator to rotate the propeller ()Fig. 1);
wherein an upper portion of the duct includes a plate extending from the duct in the axial direction (shroud 6) and including a plurality of holes that are open and configured to allow water streams to pass therethrough when the propeller is rotated in water (apertures 16); and
the plate is curved along a circumferential direction of the duct (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Church discloses the boat propulsor according to claim 1, wherein the plate includes a protruding portion extending from a rear end of the duct (Fig. 1), wherein a length of the holes in the axial direction is 1/2 or more of a protruding length of the protruding portion of the plate (Figs. 1 and 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.D.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642