DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rotgaizer (US 8,155,527) in view of Carmon. (US 10,345,137)
With respect to claim 1, Rotgaizer teaches a spatial optical communication system comprising: a plurality of optical transmitting and receiving apparatuses capable of constituting a mesh spatial optical communication network (FSO system); and at least one processor. (col. 5, lines 7-65, Figs. 1, 5a)
Rotgaizer does not explicitly teach the at least one processor carrying out an analysis process of inferring, on the basis of reception signals of the optical transmitting and receiving apparatuses, a state of an air environment in at least one portion of an area in which the spatial optical communication network is formed, or a state of an installation ground of each of the optical transmitting and receiving apparatuses in the at least one portion of the area.
However, it is known to use optical sensors to detect such states. For example, Carmon teaches that optical sensors can be used to detect a vibration state of a surface. (col. 5, lines 15-34, col. 7, lines 4-55, Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Rotgaizer to detect a state of an installation ground of each of the optical transmitting and receiving apparatuses, as Carmon teaches the optical sensors can be used to detect vibrations, in order to monitor the state of the ground.
With respect to claims 2 and 6, because the options in the independent claim are presented in the alternative, only that which was taught by the primary reference was considered. Because the content of these claims refers only to that which was optional, it does not limit the scope of the claim.
With respect to claim 3, Rotgaizer, as modified by Carmon, teaches that in the analysis process, the at least one processor infers a vibration state of a ground in the at least one portion of the area. (Carmon)
With respect to claims 4-5, although Rotgaizer, as modified by Carmon, does not explicitly teach the at least one processor further carries out a control process of measuring, with use of a reception signal of each of the optical transmitting and receiving apparatuses, a quality of spatial optical communication of each of the optical transmitting and receiving apparatuses; and the at least one processor infers, in the analysis process, the state of the air environment or the state of the installation ground on the basis of the quality of the spatial optical communication, wherein the quality of the spatial optical communication is at least one selected from the group consisting of a reception level of the reception signal and a bit error rate of the reception signal, Rotgaizer discusses the importance of signal quality and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to carry out a specific quality measuring process in order to provide more accurate data.
With respect to claim 7, Rotgaizer, as modified by Carmon, teaches wherein in the analysis process, the at least one processor estimates, on the basis of the vibration state, an earthquake distribution in the area in which the spatial optical communication network is formed. (Carmon)
With respect to claim 8, Rotgaizer teaches an analysis apparatus comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor carrying out: an acquisition process of acquiring reception signals of a plurality of optical transmitting and receiving apparatuses capable of constituting a mesh spatial optical communication network.
Rotgaizer does not teach an analysis process of inferring, on the basis of the reception signals, a state of an air environment in at least one portion of an area in which the spatial optical communication network is formed, or a state of an installation ground of each of the optical transmitting and receiving apparatuses in the at least one portion of the area.
However, it is known to use optical sensors to detect such states. For example, Carmon teaches that optical sensors can be used to detect a vibration state of a surface. (col. 5, lines 15-34, col. 7, lines 4-55, Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Rotgaizer to detect a state of an installation ground of each of the optical transmitting and receiving apparatuses, as Carmon teaches the optical sensors can be used to detect vibrations, in order to monitor the state of the ground.
With respect to claim 9, Rotgaizer, as modified by Carmon, teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to operate as an analysis apparatus according to claim 8, the program causing the computer to carry out the acquisition process and the analysis process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR 20100128855; and CN 102124373 each teach an invention having similarities to the claimed subject matter.
/JILL E CULLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853