DETAILED ACTION
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arrasmith (US 4,327,665) in view of Motev (US 4,578,880).
As for claim 1, Arrasmith discloses a can curing oven comprising: a housing assembly including a heating assembly comprising a plurality of infrared heating units (52, fig. 6, 6:29-30); and a transfer assembly including a transfer belt (14, fig. 2) and the transfer belt is structured to move said can bodies in a vertical orientation past said number of infrared heating units to cure a coating on said can bodies (14, fig. 2, and 52, fig. 6), wherein said infrared heating units are disposed laterally on both sides of said transfer belt (16, fig. 2 and 52, fig. 6, infrared lamps straddle the centerline of the seam such that they are disposed laterally on both the right side and left side of said transfer belt).
Arrasmith discloses the claimed invention except for a plurality of support pads disposed on the transfer belt, wherein said plurality of support pads are structured to support base portions of can bodies in a vertical orientation. Motev teaches a plurality of support pads disposed (see figs. 1 and 3 below) on the transfer belt (37, fig. 1), wherein said plurality of support pads are structured to support base portions of can bodies in a vertical orientation (support pads illustrated supporting the base portion of can bodies in a vertical orientation, but not identified by item number) in order to be able to cure the entire side of the can without the need of support on the area to be coated. Arrasmith would benefit equally from being able to cure the entire side of the can without the need of support on the area to be coated. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Arrasmith with a plurality of support pads disposed on the transfer belt, wherein said plurality of support pads are structured to support base portions of can bodies in a vertical orientation as taught by Motev in order to be able to cure the entire side of the can without the need of support on the area to be coated.
As for claim 2, Arrasmith discloses said number of heating units are structured to generate a total effective amount of received heat (1:25-31).
As for claim 4, Arrasmith discloses each infrared heating unit is selected from the group consisting of electrical infrared heating units, gas infrared heating units, or oil infrared heating units (5:37-42, electrical).
As for claim 5, Arrasmith discloses said housing assembly includes an adjustable mounting assembly; and wherein said adjustable mounting assembly is structured to position each heating unit so as to be at an effective distance from a sidewall surface of a can body (80, fig. 2, 6:10-16).
As for claim 6, Arrasmith discloses said number of infrared heating units comprises a plurality of modular and linkable heating unit plates (16, fig. 1, abstract, fig. 1 illustrates the lamp modules linked together to form a continuous tunnel).
As for claim 7, Arrasmith discloses said modular and linkable heating unit plates are disposed in a single first row of opposed pairs (16, 52, fig. 6, 4:51-57, modular heating plates 16 are linkable with the lamps 52 disposed in opposed pairs).
As for claim 9, Arrasmith discloses said housing assembly is elongated and generally straight (16, fig. 1).
As for claim 10, Arrasmith discloses said elongated generally straight housing assembly has a length, a width, and a height; wherein the length is between about 1.0 m and 6.0 m (12, fig. 1, a can is slightly under 125 mm in length with the housing assembly illustrated over 10 times the length of the can as indicated by broken line and 4:51-57 which discloses modules to create any desired length); wherein the width is between about 80 mm and 300 mm (24, fig. 2, a typical can is about 66 mm in diameter disclosing a width of slightly less than 200 mm); and wherein the height is between about 200 mm and 500 mm (fig. 2, housing illustrated from 74 to 182 to be about four times the width of a can or about 250 mm).
As for claim 11, Arrasmith discloses said transfer belt includes a plurality of segments; and wherein said transfer belt is structured to move over a looped path which extends through said elongated generally straight housing assembly (20, 22, fig. 2).
As for claim 12, Arrasmith discloses the claimed invention except for each said support pad is one of a driven pad, a free pad or a fixed pad. Motev teaches each said support pad is one of a driven pad, a free pad or a fixed pad (see sketches of figs. 1 and 3 above, free pad capable of staying with the can when transported from the turntable to the conveyor 37) .
As for claim 16, Arrasmith discloses said plurality of infrared heating units are structured to become fully active in less than one second (54, 5:35-42, infrared lamps similar to infrared lamps disclosed by applicant in published paragraph [0079]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arrasmith in view of Motev as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Walker (US 5173046).
Arrasmith discloses the claimed invention except for each of said infrared heating units is structured to actuate when a sidewall surface of one of said can bodies is an effective distance away. Walker teaches each of said infrared heating units is structured to actuate when a sidewall surface of one of said can bodies is an effective distance away (1:39-42) in order to avoid wasting energy prior to a can being positioned for curing. Arrasmith would benefit equally from avoiding wasting energy prior to a can being positioned for curing. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Arrasmith with each of said infrared heating units is structured to actuate when a sidewall surface of one of said can bodies is an effective distance away as taught by Walker in order to avoid wasting energy prior to a can being positioned for curing.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arrasmith in view of Motev as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshimura (US 5,271,164).
Arrasmith discloses the claimed invention except for each support pad includes a can coupling; and wherein each can coupling is selected from the group consisting of a magnetic coupling or a vacuum coupling. Yoshimura teaches each support pad includes a can coupling; and wherein each can coupling is selected from the group consisting of a magnetic coupling or a vacuum coupling (7:16-21) in order to secure the container to the conveyor. Arrasmith would benefit equally from securing the container to the conveyor. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Arrasmith with each support pad includes a can coupling; and wherein each can coupling is selected from the group consisting of a magnetic coupling or a vacuum coupling as taught by Yoshimura in order to secure the container to the conveyor.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12 and 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 as cited below. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as indicated below.
As for claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses a can curing oven comprising: a housing assembly including a heating assembly comprising a plurality of infrared heating units (claim 9, lines 2-3); and a transfer assembly including a transfer belt (claim 9, line 4) and a plurality of support pads disposed on the transfer belt, wherein said plurality of support pads are structured to support base portions of can bodies (claim 14, lines 1-3) in a vertical orientation (claim 1, line 5) and the transfer belt is structured to move said can bodies in a vertical orientation past said number of infrared heating units to cure a coating on said can bodies (claim 1, lines 4-6), wherein said infrared heating units are disposed laterally on both sides of said transfer belt (claim 1, lines 5-7).
As for claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses said number of infrared heating units are structured to generate a total effective amount of received heat (claim 2, lines 1-2).
As for claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses each infrared heating unit is selected from the group consisting of electrical infrared heating units, gas infrared heating units, or oil infrared heating units (claim 6, lines 1-3).
As for claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses said housing assembly includes an adjustable mounting assembly; and wherein said adjustable mounting assembly is structured to position each heating unit so as to be at an effective distance from a sidewall surface of a can body (claim 7, lines 2-4).
As for claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses said number of infrared heating units comprises a plurality of modular and linkable heating unit plates (claim 9, lines 7-8).
As for claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses said modular and linkable heating unit plates are disposed in a single first row of opposed pairs (claim 9, lines 9-10).
As for claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses said housing assembly is elongated and generally straight (claim 11).
As for claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses said elongated generally straight housing assembly has a length, a width, and a height; wherein the length is between about 1.0 m and 6.0 m; wherein the width is between about 80 mm and 300 mm; and wherein the height is between about 200 mm and 500 mm (claim 12).
As for claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses said transfer belt includes a plurality of segments; and wherein said transfer belt is structured to move over a looped path which extends through said elongated generally straight housing assembly (claim 13).
As for claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses each said support pad is one of a driven pad, a free pad or a fixed pad (claim 15).
As for claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses each support pad includes a can coupling; and wherein each can coupling is selected from the group consisting of a magnetic coupling or a vacuum coupling (claim 18).
As for claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses said plurality of infrared heating units are structured to become fully active in less than one second (claim 20).
As for claim 17, U.S. Patent No. 11,874,058 discloses a can curing oven comprising: a housing assembly including a heating assembly comprising a number of heating units (claim 17, lines 1-3); and a transfer assembly including a transfer belt structured to move a number of can bodies past said number of heating units (claim 17, lines 4-6) and a plurality of driven support pads structured to support base portions of said can bodies and rotatably coupled to said transfer belt, wherein each driven support pad includes a body having a generally circular drive engagement surface (claim 17, lines 7-11), and wherein said housing assembly includes an elongated drive bar disposed adjacent said transfer belt and structured to operatively engage each drive engagement surface (claim 17, lines 12-14).
Claim 17, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over below cited claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,871,326 in view of Masami (JP11240516A)
As for claim 17, U.S. Patent No. 10,871,326 discloses a can curing oven comprising: a housing assembly including a heating assembly comprising a number of heating units (claim 12, line 8); and a transfer assembly including a transfer belt (claim 12, line 5) and a plurality of driven support pads structured to support base portions of said can bodies and rotatably coupled to said transfer belt (claim 12, lines 14-17), wherein each driven support pad includes a body having a generally circular drive engagement surface (claim 12, line 18), and wherein said housing assembly includes an elongated drive bar disposed adjacent said transfer belt and structured to operatively engage each drive engagement surface (claim 12, lines 19-21).
U.S. Patent No. 10,871,326 discloses the claimed invention except for a transfer assembly including a transfer belt structured to move a number of can bodies past said number of heating units. Masami teaches a transfer assembly including a transfer belt structured to move a number of can bodies past said number of heating units (fig. 5) in order to . U.S. Patent No. 10,871,326 would benefit equally from . It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by U.S. Patent No. 10,871,326 with a transfer assembly including a transfer belt structured to move a number of can bodies past said number of heating units as taught by Masami in order to allow.
As for claim 19, U.S. Patent No. 10,871,326 discloses said number of heating units are infrared heating units (claim 12, line 11).
As for claim 20, U.S. Patent No. 10,871,326 discloses each infrared heating unit is selected from the group consisting of electrical infrared heating units, gas infrared heating units, or oil infrared heating units (claim 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-20 are allowable if the double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Reasons for Allowance
Claim 8 include allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose said modular and linkable heating unit plates are disposed in a plurality of stacked rows of opposed pairs of modular and linkable heating unit plates with all of the limitations of 1, 6 and 7. The closest prior art found in Masami (JP11240516A) but the combination of Masami with Arrasmith would destroy the Arrasmith reference which relates to curing a single seam of a can. It would make no sense to stack the heating units of the Arrasmith reference as partially taught by Masami to seal a can seam
Claims 13 and 17 include allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose each driven pad is rotatably coupled to said transfer assembly transfer belt; and wherein said driven pad includes a body having a generally circular drive engagement surface with all of the limitations of claims 1, 12, 13 and 17. The closest prior art is found in Shank (US 3,894,630) which shows a driven pad coupled to the transfer assembly transfer belt, but not a support pad rotatably coupled to the transfer belt.
Claims 14 and 18-20 are allowable as depending from allowable claims 13 and 17 above.
Conclusion
/JOHN P MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762