DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mase (US 2014/0291315).
With respect to claims 1-4, Mase discloses a honeycomb structure (see Mase, Fig. 7) comprising: (a) a honeycomb structure portion (400) made of ceramics (see Mase, paragraph [0057]), such portion (400) comprising an outer periphery wall, a partition wall disposed on an inner side of the outer periphery wall, the partition wall defining a plurality of cells extending from a first end face to a second end face to form a flow path, and a plurality of slits (6a, 6b, 8a, 8b) cut inwardly in a radial direction from the outer peripheral wall, each of the slits extending in a extending (longitudinal) direction of the cells (see Mase, Fig. 1); (b) a pair of electrode layers (P) used for passing a current into and out of the honeycomb structure, the pair of electrode layers (P) being provided on an outer surface of the outer peripheral wall so as to face each other across a central axis of the honeycomb structure portion (see Mase, Fig. 7); and (c) reinforcing layers (Q) provided on the outer surface of the outer peripheral wall so as to be located between the pair of electrode layers (P) in a circumferential direction of the honeycomb structure portion (400), the reinforcing layers (Q) being electrically separated from the pair of electrode layers (P) by the slits (6a, 6b, 8a, 8b) . The entire outer periphery of the outer peripheral wall is covered with the electrode layers (P) and the reinforcing layers (Q) except for positions occupied by the plurality of slits (6a, 6b, 8a, 8b). The electrode layers (P) and the reinforcing layers (Q) are made of the same material which is the same material of the honeycomb structure portion per se (see Mase, paragraph [0044]). Such being the case, a volume resistivity of the reinforcing layers (Q) and a volume resistivity of the honeycomb structure (400) would be the same and a ratio of one to the other would be equal to 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mase (US 2014/0291315) in view of Ohashi (US 2022/0095421).
With respect to claim 5, see discussion supra at paragraph 4. Mase discloses wherein the number of slits is variable (see Mase, paragraph [0053]). In a related honeycomb structure to that of Mase, Ohashi discloses that electrical resistance may be adjusted as desired by increasing the number of slits (see Ohashi, paragraph [0060]). Thus, the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the honeycomb structure (400) of Mase to provide for a larger number of slits in the reinforcing layers (Q) than in the electrode layers (P), such modification being expected to lead to increase heat uniformity of the honeycomb structure (400) as evidenced by Ohashi (see Ohashi, paragraph [0060]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mase (US 2014/0291315).
With respect to claim 6, see discussion supra at paragraph 4. Mase does not explicitly disclose wherein electrode terminals are provided on the pair of electrode layers. However, the person having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that electrode terminals would be implicit within the design disclosed by Mase as the necessary connection point for supplying a source of electrical current to the electrodes (21) otherwise the honeycomb structure (400) of Mase would be completely incapable of operating as intended. “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mase (US 2014/0291315) in view of Okamoto (US 10,655,526).
With respect to claim 7, see discussion supra at paragraph 4. Mase does not explicitly disclose wherein the honeycomb structure (400) may be housed within a metal can. However, Mase explains that the honeycomb structure is intended to treat an exhaust gas stream (see Mase, paragraph [0006]). Moreover, it is readily known in the art that honeycomb structures such as that described by Mase may be housed within a cylindrical metal member (i.e. “can”) when such treatment operation is occurring as evidenced by Okamoto (see Okamoto, Abstract; and column 3, lines 60-61).
Conclusion
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771