DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/3/2026.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the claimed limitations of “a cell construct” in claim 17 line 1, "a quadrilateral cell" in claim 17 line 2, "perpendicular members" in claim 17 line 3, "angled semi parallel" in claim 18 line 2, "kite shaped" in claim 19 lines 1-2, and "adjacent corners" in claim 20 line 3 are terms which required proper antecedent basis in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-15 and 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “and back frame” in line 2, and is suggested to read --and a back frame-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 9 recites “inward folding” in line 2, and is suggested to read --inwardly folding-- in order to be grammatically correct.
Claim 9 recites “section the filter material” in line 6, and is suggested to read --section of the filter material-- in order to be grammatically correct.
Claim 10 recites “a facemask of claim 8” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the facemask of claim 9-- in order to correct a typographical error and ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 11 recites “a facemask” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the facemask-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 12 recites “a facemask” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the facemask-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 13 recites “a facemask” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the facemask-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 14 recites “a facemask” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the facemask-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 15 recites “a facemask” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the facemask-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 17 recites “a facemask” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the facemask-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 18 recites “a facemask” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the facemask-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 19 recites “a facemask” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the facemask-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 20 recites “a facemask” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the facemask-- in order to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the conformal straps" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the rim" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the base" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Moreover, the limitation “straps” in line 3 is confusing, as it is unclear whether this limitation is meant to be the same as or different from “the conformal straps” of claim 11.
Claim 15 recites the limitations "the top" in line 1, “the surrounding cell construct” in line 2, and “the back” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Moreover, the limitation “the surrounding cell construct” in line 2 is confusing, as it is unclear whether this limitation is meant to be the same as or different from “a cell construct” in line 1. Furthermore, the limitation “one or more clips” in line 3 is confusing, as it is unclear whether this limitation is meant to include the “front clip” of claim 9.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the base" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitations "the top" in line 1 and “the surrounding cell construct” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Moreover, the limitation “the surrounding cell construct” in line 2 is confusing, as it is unclear whether this limitation is meant to be the same as or different from “a cell construct” in line 1. Furthermore, the limitation “one or more clips” in line 3 is confusing, as it is unclear whether this limitation is meant to include the “front clip” of claim 16.
Any remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vasiliev et al. (US 2018/0353782 A1).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Vasiliev discloses a front clip for a facemask framework (support member 576 for a respirator 500) (Figs. 12, 14; para. [0118]) comprising: a post; and, a slot construct positioned at the base of the post, said slot construct adapted for insertion of one or more of straps (posts of support member 576 extends to a base with an upper loop 502 or a lower loop 504 into which straps of harness 514 are inserted) (Figs. 12, 14; para. [0118]).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Vasiliev discloses wherein a cell construct at the top of the post forms a quadrilateral cell (each one of the posts of the support member 576 has a quadrilateral exhalation valve 570 at the top) (Fig. 12; para. [0118]) from which the surrounding cell construct has one or more perpendicular members that extend to one or more clips adapted to fit over a back frame (support element 276, 576 is connected to a base 272, 572, 772 of the exhalation valve 570, 770; exhalation valve 570, 770 is connected to pivot points 778, 779 that extend perpendicularly to support elements 776, 777 that fit over the base 772 and/or the filter of mask body 712) (Figs. 6-7, 12, 14; para. [0093]; para. [0108]; para. [0110]; para. [0118]; para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 18, Vasiliev discloses wherein the one or more clips adapted fit over the back frame are angled semi parallel to the post and adapted for clipping on the back frame (the post of support member 576 extending to the base with upper loop 502 or lower loop 504 would be semi parallel to support elements 776, 777, particularly as the support elements 776, 777 can pivot about pivot points 778, 779) (Figs. 12, 14; para. [0122]).
Regarding claim 19, Vasiliev discloses wherein the quadrilateral cell is kite shaped (all design consideration for the respirators in Figs. 6-9 can apply to Fig. 12; as such, the Fig. 12 exhalation valve 570 can have a square seal surface and/or orifice, wherein a square is a type of kite shape) (Figs. 7-8, 12, 14; paras. [0102-0103]; para. [0118]).
Double Patenting
Claims 9-10, 12, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,872,417, hereinafter ‘417. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 9, ‘417 discloses a framework for a facemask comprising: a front clip and back frame (‘417; claim 1) adapted for inward folding a filter material over at least a distal portion and a proximal portion of the back frame (a filter material is inwardly folded over a distal portion and a proximal portion of the back frame) (‘417; claim 1) wherein a breathable filter surface area is created proximal to a donning user from the front clip and the breathable filter surface area includes an area of the inwardly folded section the filter material (a breathable surface area is created proximal the donning user and includes an area of the inwardly folded section of the filter material) (‘417; claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, ‘417 discloses further comprising conformal straps attached to the filter material (securing material such as elastic straps are attached to the front clip, which is in turn attached to the filter material) (‘417; claims 1, 4).
Regarding claim 12, ‘417 discloses further comprising a facial sealing strip around the rim of the facemask (the facemask has a user conformable rim adapted to form a seal) (‘417; claim 3).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, ‘417 discloses a front clip for a facemask framework comprising: a post; and, a slot construct positioned at the base of the post, said slot construct adapted for insertion of one or more of straps, cords, tubing and o-rings (the front clip is a physical object and so can be considered a post; the front clip has a lower slot, thus at a base, for the insertion of a strap) (‘417; claim 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, as well as the double patenting rejections set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record does not disclose nor sufficiently teach a framework for a facemask comprising: a front clip and back frame adapted for inward folding a filter material over at least a distal portion and a proximal portion of the back frame wherein a breathable filter surface area is created proximal to a donning user from the front clip and the breathable filter surface area includes an area of the inwardly folded section the filter material.
Regarding claims 10-15, as best understood, these claims are dependent upon claim 9 which was indicated to have allowable subject matter, and thus would also be considered to have allowable subject matter.
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record does not disclose nor sufficiently teach wherein the cell construct is angled from the post so that the post and the one and more perpendicular members extend from adjacent corners of the cell construct.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4,630,604 by Montesi is considered to be relevant as it discloses a respirator that holds a filter in between two piece of a facemask framework.
US 2012/0042878 A1 by Woo is considered to be relevant as it discloses a mask assembly wherein a filter is held between front and back frames.
/JACQUELINE M PINDERSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785