DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 8,348,686).
Regarding claims 1, Huang discloses a combination comprising:
a plug (1, 3) that provides a connection to an equipment (such as a mating receptacle which is not shown), the plug comprising:
a front side for connection to a cable (2); a back side for connection to the equipment; and a latch assembly (11) that is movable between a locked position in which the plug cannot be released from the equipment, and an unlocked position in which the plug can be released from the equipment; and
a tamper resistant connector assembly (4, 5) for restricting access to the latch assembly of the plug, the tamper resistant connector assembly comprising:
a first structure (4) that is engageable with the plug proximate to the latch assembly, wherein the first structure restricts access to the latch assembly such that the latch assembly is not able to be moved from the locked position to the unlocked position when the first structure is engaged with the plug;
a second structure (5) that is engageable with the first structure such that the first structure is not able to be disengaged from the plug when the second structure is engaged with the first structure; and
fastener structure (52) for locking the second structure in engagement with the first structure.
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses the first and second structures are separate structures.
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses the first structure is removably engageable with the plug, wherein, when the first structure is not engaged with the plug, access to the latch assembly is permitted such that the latch assembly is able to be moved from the locked position to the unlocked position.
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses the second structure is lockably engageable to the first structure and the fastener structure lockably engages the second structure to the first structure.
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses the second structure is positionable in first and second positions relative to the first structure, the first position of the second structure comprising an attached position where the second structure is attached to the first structure and the second position of the second structure comprising a detached position where the second structure is detached from the first structure.
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses the fastener structure is locking the second structure in engagement to the first structure, the fastener structure is secured to the first structure and creates a stop that prevents the second structure from moving from the first position to the second position.
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses the second structure includes an extension portion (5) for overlapping at least a part of the first structure while the second structure is in the first position, wherein the extension portion acts as a stop to prevent the first structure from being removed from the plug.
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses the first structure comprises a groove (44) for receiving the extension portion.
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses the extension portion includes a lip (511) for extending over a front face of the first structure to prevent the first structure from being disengaged from the plug.
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses the fastener structure is receivable in openings (411) formed in the respective first and second structures.
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses the plug includes an attachment portion (3) with an opening (formed between sidewalls 313) and the first structure includes an insertion portion (45) for being received by the opening of the attachment portion of the plug.
Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses the latch assembly comprises an arm member (11) and the first structure comprises blocking structure (412) for restricting access to the arm member.
Regarding claims 15-20, these claims also rejected for the same rationale as the rejected claims 1-12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834