Detailed Action
1. The office action is in response to the communication filed 7/7/2026.
Claim Status
2. Claims 16 and 33 have been currently amended.
Response to Arguments
3. The applicant’s arguments filed 7/7/2026 have been taken into consideration, but are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant’s argument (disclosed on pg. 1-3 of the applicant’s remarks segment) that the generating and providing potential adversaries with the possibility of values required in a cryptographic operation and false decoy data disclosed by Choi do not teach the set of possible vales including correct intermediate value candidates and incorrect intermediate value candidates:
According to par [0047], lines 10-20 of the applicant’s specification, the correct and incorrect candidate values are leaked through side-channels in order to prevent potential attackers from distinguishing between each candidate. The examiner maintains that the leaking of a true signature and decoy nonces to mitigate/obscure a potential adversary from determining secure private key data (disclosed in par [0035], lines 6-20 of Choi) is obvious in light of leaking correct intermediate value candidates and incorrect intermediate value candidates to potential attackers because the true data and decoy nonces provided to potential adversaries (e.g. attackers) are implemented in a fashion that provides the same claimed functionality disclosed by the applicant’s claim language in confusing the potential attacker using a correct and incorrect scrambled data, which prevents the attacker from receiving secure data required to perform malicious intent.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Belenky et al (US 2023/0269065) in view of Walters et al (US 2016/0140340), further in view of Choi (US 2023/0044442).
With respect to claim 16, Belenky et al teaches a method of protecting a cryptographic device against side-channel attacks (par [0005], lines 1-8 & par [0152], lines 10-13, which disclose determining vulnerability related to and performing countermeasures for preventing side-channel attacks), the cryptographic device comprising a cryptographic unit (par [0021], lines 1-10) and a processing unit (par [0021], lines 1-10), and the method comprising:
performing, by the cryptographic unit, a cryptographic operation on input data, wherein said cryptographic operation generates at least one intermediate result (Abstract, lines 1-10, fig. 1, ‘110-‘120 & 7A-7B, which discloses performing a cryptographic functions on a plurality of input values to produce a plurality of bits); and
generating, by the processing unit, a set of possible values of the at least one intermediate result (fig. 1 & par [0041], lines 10-20, which disclose a set of possible values corresponding to the subset of data that the cryptographic function has been applied to).
Belenky et al does not explicitly teach leaking, by the cryptographic device, the set of possible values of the intermediate result.
However, Walters et al teaches leaking, by the cryptographic device, the set of possible values of the intermediate result (fig. 7, fig. 9, par [0043], par [0106], lines 1-6, par [0108], lines 1-10, and par [0127], lines 6-12, which disclose providing a plurality of intermediate values pertaining to several combinations of data to be presented to a potential attacker).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al because incorporating the feature of detecting side channel attack vulnerabilities by providing dummy index of intermediate values (as disclosed in fig. 14A & par [0115], lines 20-24 of Walters et al) would allow for improved tracing of leakage source because the intermediate values are used to provide more in depth information on location and sources of potential side-channel attacks.
Belenky et al and Walters et al do not explicitly teach the set of possible values including correct intermediate value candidates and incorrect intermediate value candidates.
However, Choi teaches the set of possible values including correct intermediate value candidates (fig. 5-6, par [0009], par [0032], and par [0041], lines 8-25, which disclose providing a potential adversary with a true leak of a possibility of values required in a cryptographic operation) and incorrect intermediate value candidates (fig. 5-6, par [0009], par [0032], and par [0041], lines 8-25, which disclose simultaneously providing the potential adversary with false decoy data along with the true leak values, to prevent the potential adversary from executing an attack).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi within the disclosure of Belenky et al and Walters et al in order to improve attack prevention by providing potential attackers with decoy candidate cryptographic key values (as disclosed in par [0039], lines 10-20 of Choi) because this feature would decrease potential side-channel attacks by confusing attackers by providing attackers with fraudulent data rather than data required to access the secure device each attacker is attempting to access.
Regarding claim 17, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the cryptographic device leaks the set of possible values of the at least one intermediate result after the processing unit has generated said set.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the cryptographic device leaks the set of possible values of the at least one intermediate result after the processing unit has generated said set (fig. 9, which discloses providing leaking instruction output data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the possible values of the at least one intermediate result are generated and leaked one at a time.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the possible values of the at least one intermediate result are generated and leaked one at a time (fig. 9, which discloses providing leaking instruction output data sequentially).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 16.
Regarding claim 19, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the cryptographic device leaks said possible values using a leakage register.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the cryptographic device leaks said possible values using a leakage register (par [0112], lines 12-14, which discloses registers were leaked intermediate data is confined to).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al because incorporating the feature of detecting side channel attack vulnerabilities by providing dummy index of intermediate values (as disclosed in fig. 14A & par [0115], lines 20-24 of Walters et al) would allow for improved tracing of leakage source because the intermediate values are used to provide more in depth information on location and sources of potential side-channel attacks.
Regarding claim 20, Belenky et al, Walters et al, and Choi teach the limitations of claim 16.
Belenky et al further teaches wherein the cryptographic operation uses a key (par [0038]), and wherein the processing unit derives the possible values of the at least one intermediate result from possible values of said key (par [0038], which discloses generating input data to prevent from being provided to an attacker using a secret key).
Regarding claim 21, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the cryptographic operation comprises an advanced encryption standard (AES) block cipher.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the cryptographic operation comprises an advanced encryption standard (AES) block cipher (par [0073], lines 5-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 19.
Regarding claim 22, Belenky et al, Walters et al teach the limitations of claim 16.
Belenky et al further teaches wherein the processing unit generates the possible values of the at least one intermediate result by performing XOR-operations (par [0039], lines 10-20), wherein each of the XOR-operations is performed on a predefined portion of the input data and on a predefined portion of a possible key value to produce and output (par [0049], lines 1-3), and S-box operations on the output of the XOR-operations (par [0039], lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 23, Belenky et al, Walters et al, and Choi teach the limitations of claim 16.
Belenky et al further teaches wherein the S-box operations are executed by an unsecured S- box implementation (par [0039], lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 24, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein all possible values of the at least one intermediate result are generated and leaked.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein all possible values of the at least one intermediate result are generated and leaked (fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 19.
Regarding claim 25, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the cryptographic device leaks the possible values of the at least one intermediate result in a predefined, device-specific order.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the cryptographic device leaks the possible values of the at least one intermediate result in a predefined, device-specific order (fig. 9 & par [0013], lines 1-3, “device-specific interactions”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al because incorporating the feature of detecting side channel attack vulnerabilities by providing dummy index of intermediate values (as disclosed in fig. 14A & par [0115], lines 20-24 of Walters et al) would allow for improved tracing of leakage source because the intermediate values are used to provide more in depth information on location and sources of potential side-channel attacks.
Regarding claim 26, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the cryptographic device uses at least one of a device-specific permutation seed, a shuffling algorithm or generation function to leak the possible values of the at least one intermediate result in the predefined, device-specific order.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the cryptographic device uses at least one of a device-specific permutation seed, a shuffling algorithm (par [0068], lines 16-18, which discloses using masking to shuffle the order of operation regarding the leaked data) or generation function to leak the possible values of the at least one intermediate result in the predefined, device-specific order.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 25.
Regarding claim 27, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the processing unit comprises multiple sub-engines operating in parallel, wherein each of said sub-engines generates a part of the set of possible values of the at least one intermediate result.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the processing unit comprises multiple sub-engines operating in parallel (fig. 4, ’410/’420), wherein each of said sub-engines generates a part of the set of possible values of the at least one intermediate result (fig. 5, ‘511/’513-‘514).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 25.
Regarding claim 28, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the processing unit comprises multiple sub-engines operating in parallel, wherein each of said sub-engines generates a part of the set of possible values of the at least one intermediate result.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the processing unit is supplied with a faster clock than the cryptographic unit, and/or wherein the processing unit applies pipelining to generate the set of possible values of the at least one intermediate result (par [0069], lines 10-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 25.
With respect to claim 29, Belenky et al teaches a non-transitory storage medium (par [0021], lines 1-3) comprising a computer program comprising executable instructions which, when executed by a processor of a cryptographic device (par [0176], lines 1-5) cause the processor to perform a method of protecting a cryptographic device against side-channel attacks (par [0005], lines 1-10), the method comprising:
performing, by the processor, a cryptographic operation on input data, wherein said cryptographic operation generates at least one intermediate result (Abstract, lines 1-10, fig. 1, ‘110-‘120 & 7A-7B, which discloses performing a cryptographic functions on a plurality of input values to produce a plurality of bits); and
generating, by the processor, a set of possible values of the at least one intermediate result (fig. 1 & par [0041], lines 10-20, which disclose a set of possible values corresponding to the subset of data that the cryptographic function has been applied to).
Belenky et al does not explicitly teach leaking, by the processor, said set of possible values of the intermediate result.
However, Walters et al teaches leaking, by the processor, the set of possible values of the intermediate result (fig. 7, fig. 9, par [0043], par [0106], lines 1-6, par [0108], lines 1-10, and par [0127], lines 6-12, which disclose providing a plurality of intermediate values pertaining to several combinations of data to be presented to a potential attacker).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al because incorporating the feature of detecting side channel attack vulnerabilities by providing dummy index of intermediate values (as disclosed in fig. 14A & par [0115], lines 20-24 of Walters et al) would allow for improved tracing of leakage source because the intermediate values are used to provide more in depth information on location and sources of potential side-channel attacks.
Belenky et al and Walters et al do not explicitly teach the set of possible values including correct intermediate value candidates and incorrect intermediate value candidates.
However, Choi teaches the set of possible values including correct intermediate value candidates (fig. 5-6, par [0009], par [0032], and par [0041], lines 8-25, which disclose providing a potential adversary with a true leak of a possibility of values required in a cryptographic operation) and incorrect intermediate value candidates (fig. 5-6, par [0009], par [0032], and par [0041], lines 8-25, which disclose simultaneously providing the potential adversary with false decoy data along with the true leak values, to prevent the potential adversary from executing an attack).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi within the disclosure of Belenky et al and Walters et al in order to improve attack prevention by providing potential attackers with decoy candidate cryptographic key values (as disclosed in par [0039], lines 10-20 of Choi) because this feature would decrease potential side-channel attacks by confusing attackers by providing attackers with fraudulent data rather than data required to access the secure device each attacker is attempting to access.
With respect to claim 30, Belenky et al teaches a cryptographic device configured to protect against side-channel attacks (par [0005], lines 1-8 & par [0152], lines 10-13, which disclose determining vulnerability related to and performing countermeasures for preventing side-channel attacks), the cryptographic device comprising:
a cryptographic unit configured to perform a cryptographic operation on input data, to generate at least one intermediate result (Abstract, lines 1-10, fig. 1, ‘110-‘120 & 7A-7B, which discloses performing a cryptographic functions on a plurality of input values to produce a plurality of bits); and
a processing unit configured to generate a set of possible values of the at least one intermediate result (fig. 1 & par [0041], lines 10-20, which disclose a set of possible values corresponding to the subset of data that the cryptographic function has been applied to).
Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the cryptographic device is configured to leak said set of possible values of the intermediate result.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the cryptographic device is configured to leak the set of possible values of the intermediate result (fig. 7, fig. 9, par [0043], par [0106], lines 1-6, par [0108], lines 1-10, and par [0127], lines 6-12, which disclose providing a plurality of intermediate values pertaining to several combinations of data to be presented to a potential attacker).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al because incorporating the feature of detecting side channel attack vulnerabilities by providing dummy index of intermediate values (as disclosed in fig. 14A & par [0115], lines 20-24 of Walters et al) would allow for improved tracing of leakage source because the intermediate values are used to provide more in depth information on location and sources of potential side-channel attacks.
Belenky et al and Walters et al do not explicitly teach the set of possible values including correct intermediate value candidates and incorrect intermediate value candidates.
However, Choi teaches the set of possible values including correct intermediate value candidates (fig. 5-6, par [0009], par [0032], and par [0041], lines 8-25, which disclose providing a potential adversary with a true leak of a possibility of values required in a cryptographic operation) and incorrect intermediate value candidates (fig. 5-6, par [0009], par [0032], and par [0041], lines 8-25, which disclose simultaneously providing the potential adversary with false decoy data along with the true leak values, to prevent the potential adversary from executing an attack).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi within the disclosure of Belenky et al and Walters et al in order to improve attack prevention by providing potential attackers with decoy candidate cryptographic key values (as disclosed in par [0039], lines 10-20 of Choi) because this feature would decrease potential side-channel attacks by confusing attackers by providing attackers with fraudulent data rather than data required to access the secure device each attacker is attempting to access.
Regarding claim 31, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the cryptographic device leaks the set of possible values of the at least one intermediate result after the processing unit has generated said set.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the cryptographic device leaks the set of possible values of the at least one intermediate result after the processing unit has generated said set (fig. 9, which discloses providing leaking instruction output data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 30.
Regarding claim 32, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the possible values of the at least one intermediate result are generated and leaked one at a time.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the possible values of the at least one intermediate result are generated and leaked one at a time (fig. 9, which discloses providing leaking instruction output data sequentially).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 30.
Regarding claim 33, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the cryptographic device leaks the possible values using a leakage register.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the cryptographic device leaks the possible values using a leakage register (par [0112], lines 12-14, which discloses registers were leaked intermediate data is confined to).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al because incorporating the feature of detecting side channel attack vulnerabilities by providing dummy index of intermediate values (as disclosed in fig. 14A & par [0115], lines 20-24 of Walters et al) would allow for improved tracing of leakage source because the intermediate values are used to provide more in depth information on location and sources of potential side-channel attacks.
Regarding claim 34, Belenky et al, Walters et al, and Choi teach the limitations of claim 30.
Belenky et al further teaches wherein the cryptographic operation uses a key (par [0038]), and wherein the processing unit derives the possible values of the at least one intermediate result from possible values of said key (par [0038], which discloses generating input data to prevent from being provided to an attacker using a secret key).
Regarding claim 35, Belenky et al does not explicitly teach wherein the cryptographic operation comprises an advanced encryption standard, AES, block cipher.
However, Walters et al teaches wherein the cryptographic operation comprises an advanced encryption standard, AES, block cipher (par [0073], lines 5-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Walters et al within the disclosure of Belenky et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 33.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RANDY A SCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439 20260720