CTNF 18/535,025 CTNF 101857 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-27 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2021-176701 , filed on October 28, 2021 . 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi et al (JP2012096961A) in view of Baumann et al (US PGPub 20150318096) . Regarding claim 1 , Takagi et al (JP2012096961A) teaches a sintered ferrite oxide containing main constituents of Fe, Zn, Ni, and Cu along with Zr and Mn as additives (with Al, Cr, and Co as inherent impurities ). Takagi discloses a preferable mol% of Fe as 47.1 to 49.95% (most preferably 49.0-49.5%, overlapping with Fe being 100 mole parts as explained in paragraph [0059] or equation 2a of disclosure: “48.67 < Fe2O3< 49.91”), citing concerns of decreasing initial permeability and increasing power loss if content is too small and concerns of decreasing initial magnetic permeability and specific resistance and increasing power loss if content is too high . When Fe is present around ~49-49.5%, then Zn, Ni, and Cu (a, b, and c) are present in a total amount of 50.5-51 %. Takagi discloses that Mn can exist in an amount of 0.01-1.1mol% with rationale that if the amount is too large, then the initial magnetic permeability tends to decrease and the power loss increases . Furthermore, Takagi discloses a Zr (or d) content of 43 to 4530 ppm (0.043-0.453 wt%), citing that Zr content being too high or low will also affect power loss. At a low presence, the wt% can be roughly estimated to the mol% in a 1:1 ratio. Takagi discloses unavoidable impurities of Al, Co, and Cr that exist . It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to optimize these various impurities or additives to include smaller amounts. However, Takagi does not disclose the identity of the sintered ferrite as of spinel structure. Baumann et al teaches production of a magnetic core by sintering two materials: a first ferrite and a second ferrite or oxide ceramic material (paragraph [0013]). Baumann discloses that the oxide ceramic may comprise aluminum oxide or zirconium oxide in paragraph [0062], thus obvious to select either . In embodiment 4 (paragraph [0153]), Baumann teaches that additives comprising at least one of Al, Cr, Co, Mn, and Co (in pure elemental form or oxide form) may be added to the first and/or second materials before the sintering process, and that these additives serve to adjust the magnetic, mechanical, thermal, and/or electric properties of either material (paragraph [0016]). Baumann suggests in the same paragraph that an advantageous adjustment of any of these properties with respect to the core to be fabricated may be effected, so that the latter (the core) has an improved mechanical, magnetic, thermal, and/or electric stability . Additionally, the additives are suggested to be added into “ the spinel grid of at least one ferrite material ” (paragraph [0074]) to ensure a desired fine tuning of mechanical and/or magnetic properties . Baumann also discloses in the process that the first and second materials may already be sintered or contain solely the precursor oxides or compounds/additives, thus obvious to start with either. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to create a sintered body using an already sintered spinel ferrite oxide or components of the oxide (for ensured desired fine tuning of properties), as established by Takagi, and a ceramic oxide of Al and/or Zr of different Curie temperatures and/or magnetic properties along with additives of Co, Cr, and Mn under the teachings of Baumann to create a sintered body having an advantageous adjustment of magnetic, thermal, magnetic, or electric properties with respect to the core . Using the established baseline amounts of Zn, Ni, and Cu (a, b, c summing to 50.5-51 mol%) along with the amounts of Zr, Mn, Al, Co, and Cr (d, e, f, g, h) as taught by Takagi, one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive to such allowable ranges of the inequalities as laid out in claim 1. Before considering additions of Zr or Mn, Takagi establishes a totality of Zn, Ni, and Cu, using his optimal/preferred amount of Fe, of 50.5-51. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the allowable ranges of Zn and Mn such that “2d + e/2” is greater than 0.5 and less than 1 and such that “d +e/2” is greater than 0.3 and less than 1.7, considering it is known that Zr and Mn affect magnetic permeability, power loss, and mechanical/thermal/electric properties. Therefore, Takagi and Baumann teach the claimed “ A sintered body comprising: a spinel ferrite oxide having a main constituent of metal elements of Fe, Ni, Cu, and Zn; and Zr, Mn, Al, Co, and Cr, wherein, when Zn, Ni, Cu, Zr, Mn, Al, Co, and Cr have a contained mole part: “a”, “b”, “c”, “d”, “e”, “f”, “g”, and “h”, respectively, and based on Fe being 100 mole parts: 49.0 < 100 - a - b - c + 2d + (1/2)e < 50.0, 50.2 < a + b + c + d + e/2 < 52.7, 0.0012 ≤ f ≤ 0.010, 0.0005 ≤ g ≤ 0.0015, and 0.0005 ≤ h ≤ 0.004 ”. Regarding claim 2 , Takagi and Baumann teach the sintered body according to claim 1 . Takagi discloses Zn at 27.6-32.0 mol% ( contained within claim 2: 23.9 ≤ a ≤ 34.6 ), Cu at 2.3-10.0 mol% ( contained within claim 2: 0.1 ≤ c ≤ 10.2 ), and Ni as the balance at 8.05-23.0% ( contained within claim 2: 6.7 ≤ b ≤ 27.0). Therefore, Takagi and Baumann teach the claimed “ The sintered body according to claim 1, wherein, based on Fe being 100 mole parts: 23.9 ≤ a ≤ 34.6, 6.7 ≤ b ≤ 27.0, and 0.1 ≤ c ≤ 10.2 .”. Regarding claim 3 , Takagi and Baumann teach the sintered body according to claim 1 . As described in the rejection for claim 1, Takagi teaches the effects of the presence of Zr and Al in regards to magnetic permeability and power loss. Takagi also gives guidance on allowable ranges for each. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to tailor the composition of the sintered body containing Zr and Al such that power loss and magnetic permeability are in a desired range and arrive at the claimed invention within the overlapping ranges. Therefore, Takagi and Baumann teach the claimed “ The sintered body according to claim 1, wherein 0.10 ≤ d ≤ 0.50, and 0.055 ≤ e ≤ 0.25 ”. Regarding claim 4 , Takagi and Baumann teach the sintered body according to claim 1 . As described in the rejections for claim 1 and 3, Takagi teaches the effects of the presence of Zr and Al in regards to magnetic permeability and power loss. Takagi also gives guidance on allowable ranges for each. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to tailor the composition of the sintered body containing Zr and Al such that power loss and magnetic permeability are in a desired range and arrive at the claimed invention within the overlapping ranges. Therefore, Takagi and Baumann teach the claimed “ The sintered body according to claim 1, wherein 0.10 ≤ d ≤ 0.50, and 0.055 ≤ e ≤ 0.25 ”. Regarding claim 5 , Takagi and Baumann teach the sintered body according to claim 1 . Baumann teaches in paragraph [0137] and in Fig. 3 that the mass amount of the first ferrite material and mass amount of the second material varies along the core. Typically, the first material exists at a mass % of greater than 90 throughout the composition. According to paragraph [0043], the clearly separated regions along the core are defined so that magnetic cores (sintered body) with exactly predefined magnetic, mechanical, thermal, and/or electric properties are provided. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to “fix” the mass % to an amount that dictates desired properties of the sintered body and arrive at a constant mass proportion greater than 90%. Together, Takagi and Baumann teach the claimed “ The sintered body according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of the spinel ferrite oxide in the sintered body is 90 mass% or more .”. Regarding claim 6 , Takagi and Baumann teach the sintered body according to claim 1 . As described in the rejection for claim 1, Takagi discloses unavoidable impurities of Al, Co, and Cr. Baumann also teaches that any or all of these elements can serve as additives for improving magnetic properties of the sintered body or individual ferrite/ceramic. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to optimize these various impurities or additives to include smaller amounts and arrive within the claimed invention. Together, Takagi and Baumann exemplify the claimed “ The sintered body according to claim 1, wherein: 0.0015 ≤ f ≤ 0.005, 0.0006 ≤ g ≤ 0.0010, and 0.0007 ≤ h ≤ 0.0030 .”. Regarding claim 7 , Takagi and Baumann teach the sintered body according to claim 1 . As described in the rejection for claim 1, Takagi discloses unavoidable impurities of Al, Co, and Cr. Baumann also teaches that any or all of these elements can serve as additives for improving magnetic properties of the sintered body or individual ferrite/ceramic. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to optimize these various impurities or additives to include smaller amounts and arrive within the claimed invention. Together, Takagi and Baumann exemplify the claimed “ The sintered body according to claim 1, wherein: 0.0020 ≤ f ≤ 0.003, 0.0007 ≤ g ≤ 0.0008, and 0.0010 ≤ h ≤ 0.0015 .”. Regarding claim 8 , Takagi and Baumann teach the sintered body according to claim 1 . By arriving at the sintered body taught by Takagi and Baumann of claim 1, the sintered body would be an oxide containing Fe, Ni, Cu, Zn, Zr, Mn, Al, Co, and Cr . Therefore, Takagi and Baumann teach the claimed “ The sintered body according to claim 1, wherein the sintered body is a complex oxide of Fe, Ni, Cu, Zn, Zr, Mn, Al, Co, and Cr ”. Regarding claim 9 , Takagi and Baumann teach the sintered body according to claim 1 . Takagi discloses Zn at 27.6-32.0 mol% , Cu at 2.3-10.0 mol% , and Ni as the balance at 8.05-23.0%. Takagi also teaches that when there is too little Cu, the ability to sinter the composite decreases, thus allowing for power loss. Too much Cu will also result in power loss. Takagi also teaches that when Zn is too small, then magnetic permeability tends to decrease; and if the amount of Zn is too large, then the Curie point tends to decrease. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to optimize the amounts of Zn and Cu as taught by Takagi within the sintered body as claimed (taught by both Takagi and Baumann) to modulate power loss and magnetic permeability and arrive to the claimed invention. Therefore, Takagi and Baumann teach the claimed “ The sintered body according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of (Ni + Cu)/Zn is 0.5 to 1.1 ” . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi in view of Baumann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shibayama et al (US PGPub 20190221344). Takagi discloses Zn at 27.6-32.0 mol% , Cu at 2.3-10.0 mol% , and Ni as the balance at 8.05-23.0%. Takagi also teaches that when there is too little Cu, the ability to sinter the composite decreases, thus allowing for power loss. Too much Cu will also result in power loss. Takagi also teaches that when Zn is too small, then magnetic permeability tends to decrease; and if the amount of Zn is too large, then the Curie point tends to decrease. Shibayama in Table 1 highlights samples 1-8, 13-17, and 20-25 as having superior magnetic permeability. Each of these samples possess a (Ni+Cu)/Zn around 0.55-0.70. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to modulate the ratio of the sum of Ni and Cu to Zn within the range taught by Shibayama as a reference to improve magnetic permeability. Therefore, Takagi, Baumann, and Shibayama teach the claimed “ The sintered body according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of (Ni + Cu)/Zn is 0.5 to 1.1” . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Imaoka et al (US PGPub 20190105708) and Yamamoto et al (US PGPub 20190375004) each describe ferrite-nickel or ferrite manganese oxides possessing disclosed main consitituents and zirconium in claimed amounts of claim 1. Each further describe unavoidable impurity elements such as Al and Cr (0.05wt% or less). Takenoshita Hidehiro (JP2001176717A) discusses a ferrite material containing relevant compositions of Fe, Zn, Ni, Cu and Mn oxides as well as additive amounts of Zr, Al, and Cr oxides but not Co. Komuro et al (US PGPub 20080241513) discloses infusion of Al, Cr, Mn, or Co into a sintered magnet (NdFeB) at relevant ratios within claimed limitations to improve magnetic properties. Chen (CN106587977A) teaches a sintered ferrite oxide material containing elements of claim 1 (outside of Al) within acceptable ranges for all excluding Co and Cr . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Noa W. F. Grooms whose telephone number is (571)272-9981. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-3:30PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Curtis Mayes can be reached at (571) 272-1234. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NWFG/Examiner, Art Unit 1759 /MELVIN C. MAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/535,025 Page 2 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/535,025 Page 3 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/535,025 Page 4 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/535,025 Page 5 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/535,025 Page 6 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/535,025 Page 7 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/535,025 Page 8 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/535,025 Page 9 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/535,025 Page 10 Art Unit: 1759