CTNF 18/535,147 CTNF 95549 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 2 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 2, line 3, “first push end” should read –first push arm--. In claim 5, line 3, “the stop end” should read –a stop end --. Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-02 AIA Claim 9 is objected to because it includes reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses. Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-5, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Piantek (US 20180320414 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Piantek teaches a lock comprising: a case body (102); a latch (122) movably coupled to the case body and movable between a latching position (fig. 3A) and an unlatching position (fig. 3D); a connecting member (130, 196) pivotably connected to the case body, wherein the connecting member includes a push end (132) operatively connected to the latch, wherein pivotal movement of the connecting member actuates the latch to move from the latching position to the unlatching position (para. 0036); an anti-theft latch (150) movably coupled to the case body and movable between an anti-theft position (fig. 2A) and a non-anti-theft position (fig. 2C); a stop rod (180) pivotably connected to the case body, wherein movement of the anti-theft latch causes pivotal movement of the stop rod (fig. 6 to fig. 7), and wherein when the stop rod is not pivotable, the anti-theft latch is prevented from moving from the non-anti-theft position to the anti-theft position (para. 0033); a stop-latch (124) movably coupled to the case body, wherein the stop-latch is movable between an extended position and a retracted position, wherein when the stop-latch is in the extended position, pivotal movement of the stop rod is prevented (fig. 7, 176 holds 180 upward), and wherein when the stop-latch is in the retracted position, the stop rod is pivotable, and the anti-theft latch is movable from the non-anti-theft position to the anti-theft position (fig. 6). Regarding claim 2 , Piantek teaches the lock as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: an anti-theft control member (156, 158, 162, 157) pivotably connected to the case body, wherein the anti-theft control member includes a first push arm (156) operatively connected to the anti-theft latch and an arm (annotated fig. 1) spaced from the first push arm; and a locking spring (159 shown in fig. 6) including an end coupled to the case body and another end coupled to the push arm (156; fig. 6), wherein when the stop-latch is in the retracted position, the locking spring pivots the anti-theft control member and actuates anti-theft latch to move from the non-anti-theft position to the anti-theft position (para. 0033), and wherein when the stop-latch is in the extended position, the anti-theft latch is prevented from moving from the non-anti-theft position to the anti-theft position, and the locking spring is incapable of pivoting the anti-theft control member (para. 0033). PNG media_image1.png 215 323 media_image1.png Greyscale Annotated Figure 1 Regarding claim 3 , Piantek teaches the lock as claimed in claim 2, wherein the connecting member further includes an interlocking portion (196), wherein the anti-theft control member includes a third push end (153 connected through 155) located between the first push end and the arm in a circumferential direction (the longer circumferential direction) of a pivotal axis of the anti-theft control member, wherein when the anti-theft latch is in the non-anti-theft position, the third push end is spaced from the interlocking portion (fig. 7), and wherein when the anti-theft latch is in the anti-theft position, the third push end abuts the interlocking portion (fig. 6), such that the latch moves from the latching position to the unlatching position while the connecting member pivots, and the interlocking portion presses against the third push end to thereby pivot the anti-theft control member and actuate the anti-theft latch to move from the anti-theft position to the non-anti-theft position (para. 0040). Regarding claim 4 , Piantek teaches the lock as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an anti-theft control member (156, 158, 162, 157) pivotably connected to the case body, wherein the anti-theft control member includes a first push end (156) operatively connected to the anti-theft latch and a third push end (153) spaced from the first push end, wherein the connecting member further includes an interlocking portion (196), wherein when the anti-theft latch is in the non-anti-theft position, the third push end is spaced from the interlocking portion (fig. 7), wherein when the anti-theft latch is in the anti-theft position, the third push end abuts the interlocking portion (fig. 6), such that the latch moves from the latching position to the unlatching position while the connecting member pivots, and the interlocking portion presses against the third push end to thereby pivot the anti-theft control member and actuate the anti-theft latch to move from the anti-theft position to the non-anti-theft position (para. 0040). Regarding claim 5, Piantek teaches the lock as claimed in claim 1, wherein the anti-theft latch further includes an extension portion (154) having a stop side (160), wherein the stop-latch includes a stop arm (172), wherein a stop end (181) of the stop rod abuts the stop side, wherein when the stop-latch is in the extended position, the stop arm abuts the stop end to prevent rotation of the stop rod (para. 0030), wherein when the stop-latch is in the retracted position, the stop arm is spaced from the stop end to permit rotation of the stop rod (para. 0034). Regarding claim 8 , Piantek teaches the lock as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: an unlatching rod (157) pivotably connected to the case body, wherein the unlatching rod includes a first push portion (portion connecting to 155) and a second push portion (153) spaced from the first push portion, wherein the second push portion is operatively connected to the latch (through 196), and wherein when the unlatching rod pivots, the latch moves from the latching position to the unlatching position; an anti-theft control member (156) pivotably connected to the case body, wherein the anti-theft control member includes a first push end (156) operatively connected to the anti-theft latch and a second push end (155) spaced from the first push end; and a locking operation device (130) mounted to the case body, wherein the locking operation device includes a pivotable push block (132), wherein with the anti-theft latch in the anti-theft position and with the latch in the latching position, rotation of the push block presses against the second push end (through 153) and the first push portion to pivot the anti-theft control member and the unlatching rod, thereby actuating the anti-theft latch to move toward the non-anti-theft position and moving the latch toward the unlatching position (para. 0037). Regarding claim 9 , Piantek teaches the lock as claimed in claim 8, wherein when the anti-theft latch 86 is in the non-anti-theft position, the second push end 255 is outside of a pivotal path of the push block 119, and wherein when the anti-theft latch 86 is in the anti-theft position, the second push end 255 is on the pivotal path of the push block 119 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 6 contains allowable subject matter for disclosing an unlatching rod pivotably connected to the case body including a first push portion and a second push portion, wherein the second push portion is operably connected to the latch. With the examiner’s interpretation of Piantek’s lock device the only portion that could be interpreted as the unlatching rod is 157 which is operably coupled to the anti theft latch as well as has a lower pushing portion which cooperates with the latch through 196. Part 157 was previously utilized in claim 2 as part of the anti-theft control member, therefore Piantek does not teach an unlatching rod. Claim 7 contains allowable subject matter for depending upon claim 6 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMES EDWARD IGNACZEWSKI whose telephone number is (571)272-2732. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kristina Fulton can be reached at (571)272-7376. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.E.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/535,147 Page 2 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/535,147 Page 3 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/535,147 Page 4 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/535,147 Page 5 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/535,147 Page 6 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/535,147 Page 7 Art Unit: 3675