DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 11-15 in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 and 16-17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected cathode composite, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/07/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (PGPub 2019/0296366).
Considering Claim 11, Yoon discloses a method of manufacturing an electrode composite (process of forming an electrode composite [0009]), comprising:
forming a porous structure containing an oxygen ion conductive material (preparation of porous oxide electrode [0065] that contains LSCM, YSZ [0065]);
preparing a coating solution containing an electronically conductive material precursor, urea, glycine, and a solvent (infiltration solution is prepared [0070] which contains a noble metal precursor of ceramic, solvent and a precipitating or complexing agent [0070], which is preferably urea [0057, 0070] and may be mixed with another agent such as glycine [0070], so selecting such a choice for precipitation and complexing would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art);
impregnating the coating solution into a pore of the porous structure (solution infiltrates porous electrode [0013, 0070] for internal pores [Abstract]); and
heat-treating the porous structure impregnated with the coating solution at a temperature of 600 to 800 °C to form a coating layer containing the electronically conductive material (porous infiltrated electrode is heat treated [0013, 0070] at a peak temperature of 650 °C to manufacture the nanocatalyst porous electrode [0070, Table 6]),
wherein a content of the oxygen ion conductive material is greater than that of the electronically conductive material (amount (g) of LSCM and YSZ [Tables 2 and 3] is significantly greater than amount (g) of noble metal material [0070, Table 5]).
Because Yoon discloses the same oxygen ion conductive material of YSZ [0065, Table 2, 0014 of claimed invention] and related material of LSCM [0065, Tables 2 and 3], and because the claim is not drawn to the making of the larger fuel cell combination, Yoon discloses the manufacturing of a cathode composite as claimed.
Considering Claim 12, Yoon discloses that in the forming of the porous structure,
a solution containing the oxygen ion conductive material is applied on a substrate and then sintered at a temperature of 900 to 1200 °C (lower level functional material layer applied to current collector substrate upper layer in solution and calcined at 1100 °C [0065]).
Considering Claim 13, Yoon discloses that in the forming of the porous structure,
the porous structure does not contain the electronically conductive material (noble metal precursor of ceramic is not introduced until after full formation of electrode [0070]).
Considering Claim 14, Yoon discloses that in the preparing of the coating solution, the electronically conductive material precursor is a nitrate of an element contained in the electronically conductive material (precursor of metal and precursor of ceramic may be nitrate [0049, 0054]).
Considering Claim 15, Yoon discloses that in the preparing of the coating solution, the solvent is a mixture of water and alcohol (water and alcohol used as solvent [0070]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1725