Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 18, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. Please direct attention to rejection below, specifically reference Sherman regarding the amended limitation of the surgical robotic manipulator having one or more force sensors, and the controller being configured to determine that the cement has reached the predetermined cure state based on load feedback measured by the one or more force sensors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub No. 2021/0000556 to Timperley et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0298668 to Sherman et al.
As to Claim 1, Timperley discloses a robotic system [0008, 0071]. The system comprises a surgical robotic manipulator (1402), an end effector (20) coupled to the manipulator [0131], and a controller (60) configured to cause the end effector to hold an implant (604) in a final implant position within a patient's anatomy (within 903) until the controller determines that cement located adjacent to the implant has reached a predetermined cure state (described in [0131-0132]).
As to Claim 2, Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the predetermined cure state is a completely cured state [0131-0132].
As to Claim 3, Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the controller (60) is configured to cause the end effector (20) to move in synchrony with a portion of the patient's anatomy [0130] within which the final implant position is located while holding the implant in the final implant position (final insertion position of [0131]).
As to Claim 4, Timperley discloses a robotic system comprising a localizer (44) configured to monitor a position of the portion of the patient's anatomy and transmit signals representative of the position to the controller [0048, 0051, 0085].
As to Claim 5, Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the controller (60) is configured to cause the end effector (20) to press against the implant with a predetermined force while holding the implant in the final position [0131].
As to Claim 6, Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the determination that cement located adjacent to the implant (20) has reached the predetermined cure state is based upon passage of a predetermined amount of time while the end effector holds the implant (604) in the final position (described in [0009, 0131]).
As to Claim 7, Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the controller (60) is configured to automatically release the implant (604) from the end effector (20) when the controller (60) determines that the cement located adjacent to the implant has cured [0132].
As to Claim 8, Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the controller (60) is configured to cause the end effector (20) to lock in place such that the end effector is prevented from moving and maintains the implant in the final position until the controller determines that cement located adjacent to the implant has reached the predetermined cure state (hold described in [0129, 0131]).
As to Claim 9, Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the controller (60) is configured to use the end effector to press the implant along an insertion path to a depth to achieve a desired thickness of the cement between the implant and the patient's anatomy (via positioning tool 1402, [0129]).
As to Claim 10, Timperley discloses a robotic system comprising a positioning tool (1402) provided on the end effector (20), wherein the positioning tool is configured to receive an implant specifically for knee replacement surgery (knee replacement procedure described in [0068, 0073]).
As to Claim 11, Timperley discloses a method (400) of placing an orthopedic implant [0015-0016, 0068]. The method comprises preparing a bone (404) to receive an implant in a final implant position within the bone [0069], including applying cement (412) to a cavity in the bone [0070], and employing a robotic surgical system [0008, 0071] to execute an automated process of using an end effector (20) to hold the implant (604) in the cavity until the cement has reached a predetermined cure state [0071, 0077].
As to Claim 12, Timperley discloses a method wherein the implant is an implant for knee replacement surgery (knee replacement procedure described in [0068, 0073]).
As to Claim 13, Timperley discloses a method wherein the predetermined cure state may be a completely cured state [0131-0132].
As to Claim 14, Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes controlling the end effector (20) to move in synchrony with a portion of a patient's anatomy [0130] within which the final implant position is located while holding the implant in the final implant position (final insertion position of [0131]).
As to Claim 15, Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes controlling the end effector (20) to press against the implant with a predetermined force while holding the implant in the final position [0131].
As to Claim 16, Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes an automated determination of whether the cement has reached the predetermined cure state [0071, 0131-0132].
As to Claim 17, Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated determination is based upon passage of a predetermined amount of time while the end effector (20) holds the implant (604) in the final position (described in [0009, 0131]).
As to Claim 18, Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes automatically releasing the implant (604) from the end effector (20) when a controller determines that the cement located adjacent to the implant has cured [0132].
As to Claim 19, Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes locking the end effector (20) in place such that the end effector is prevented from moving and maintains the implant in the final position until a controller determines that cement located adjacent to the implant has reached the predetermined cure state (hold described in [0129, 0131]).
As to Claim 20, Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes using the end effector (20) to press the implant (406) along an insertion path to a depth to achieve a desired thickness of the cement between the implant and the bone (via positioning tool 1402, [0129]).
As to Claims 1-20, Timperley discloses the claimed invention except for the surgical robotic manipulator having one or more force sensors, and the controller being configured to determine that the cement has reached the predetermined cure state based on load feedback measured by the one or more force sensors.
Sherman discloses a robotic system (100, [0035]) and method (900, [0061]) wherein a surgical robotic manipulator (110, [0035]) has one or more force sensors (118, [0042-0043]), and the controller (120) being configured to determine that the cement has reached the predetermined cure state based on load feedback measured by the one or more force sensors [0078] in order to provide indication that the implant has been properly secured to the desired location due to curing of the bone cement [0078].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the robotic system of Timperley with the force sensor modification of Sherman in order to provide indication that the implant has been properly secured to the desired location due to curing of the bone cement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775