CTNF 18/535,246 CTNF 85892 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub No. 2021/0000556 to Timperley et al . As to Claim 1 , Timperley discloses a robotic system [0008, 0071]. The system comprises a surgical robotic manipulator (1402), an end effector (20) coupled to the manipulator [0131], and a controller (60) configured to cause the end effector to hold an implant (604) in a final implant position within a patient's anatomy (within 903) until the controller determines that cement located adjacent to the implant has reached a predetermined cure state (described in [0131-0132]). As to Claim 2 , Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the predetermined cure state is a completely cured state [0131-0132]. As to Claim 3 , Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the controller (60) is configured to cause the end effector (20) to move in synchrony with a portion of the patient's anatomy [0130] within which the final implant position is located while holding the implant in the final implant position (final insertion position of [0131]). As to Claim 4 , Timperley discloses a robotic system comprising a localizer (44) configured to monitor a position of the portion of the patient's anatomy and transmit signals representative of the position to the controller [0048, 0051, 0085]. As to Claim 5 , Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the controller (60) is configured to cause the end effector (20) to press against the implant with a predetermined force while holding the implant in the final position [0131]. As to Claim 6 , Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the determination that cement located adjacent to the implant (20) has reached the predetermined cure state is based upon passage of a predetermined amount of time while the end effector holds the implant (604) in the final position (described in [0009, 0131]). As to Claim 7 , Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the controller (60) is configured to automatically release the implant (604) from the end effector (20) when the controller (60) determines that the cement located adjacent to the implant has cured [0132]. As to Claim 8 , Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the controller (60) is configured to cause the end effector (20) to lock in place such that the end effector is prevented from moving and maintains the implant in the final position until the controller determines that cement located adjacent to the implant has reached the predetermined cure state (hold described in [0129, 0131]). As to Claim 9 , Timperley discloses a robotic system wherein the controller (60) is configured to use the end effector to press the implant along an insertion path to a depth to achieve a desired thickness of the cement between the implant and the patient's anatomy (via positioning tool 1402, [0129]). As to Claim 10 , Timperley discloses a robotic system comprising a positioning tool (1402) provided on the end effector (20), wherein the positioning tool is configured to receive an implant specifically for knee replacement surgery (knee replacement procedure described in [0068, 0073]). As to Claim 11 , Timperley discloses a method (400) of placing an orthopedic implant [0015-0016, 0068]. The method comprises preparing a bone (404) to receive an implant in a final implant position within the bone [0069], including applying cement (412) to a cavity in the bone [0070], and employing a robotic surgical system [0008, 0071] to execute an automated process of using an end effector (20) to hold the implant (604) in the cavity until the cement has reached a predetermined cure state [0071, 0077]. As to Claim 12 , Timperley discloses a method wherein the implant is an implant for knee replacement surgery (knee replacement procedure described in [0068, 0073]). As to Claim 13 , Timperley discloses a method wherein the predetermined cure state may be a completely cured state [0131-0132]. As to Claim 14 , Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes controlling the end effector (20) to move in synchrony with a portion of a patient's anatomy [0130] within which the final implant position is located while holding the implant in the final implant position (final insertion position of [0131]). As to Claim 15 , Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes controlling the end effector (20) to press against the implant with a predetermined force while holding the implant in the final position [0131]. As to Claim 16 , Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes an automated determination of whether the cement has reached the predetermined cure state [0071, 0131-0132]. As to Claim 17 , Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated determination is based upon passage of a predetermined amount of time while the end effector (20) holds the implant (604) in the final position (described in [0009, 0131]). As to Claim 18 , Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes automatically releasing the implant (604) from the end effector (20) when a controller determines that the cement located adjacent to the implant has cured [0132]. As to Claim 19 , Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes locking the end effector (20) in place such that the end effector is prevented from moving and maintains the implant in the final position until a controller determines that cement located adjacent to the implant has reached the predetermined cure state (hold described in [0129, 0131]). As to Claim 20 , Timperley discloses a method wherein the automated process includes using the end effector (20) to press the implant (406) along an insertion path to a depth to achieve a desired thickness of the cement between the implant and the bone (via positioning tool 1402, [0129]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA whose telephone number is (571)270-7391. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:30-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Truong can be reached at 571-272-4705. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775 Application/Control Number: 18/535,246 Page 2 Art Unit: 3775 Application/Control Number: 18/535,246 Page 3 Art Unit: 3775 Application/Control Number: 18/535,246 Page 4 Art Unit: 3775