DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sinofsky (USPN 5,773,835-Cited by the Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Sinofsky discloses a system comprising: an elongated body defining a lumen, the elongated body comprising a proximal portion and a distal portion (figures 1-3); a fluorescent material configured to be in fluid communication with a fluid in the lumen (Col.2 lines 45-66); and a diffuse reflector configured to: diffuse excitation light received from an excitation light source and direct the diffused excitation light toward the fluorescent material (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60); and diffuse the fluoresced light received from the fluorescence material and direct the fluoresced light toward a fluorescent light detector, wherein the fluoresced light is produced by the fluorescent material based on the excitation light (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60).
Regarding claim 2, Sinofsky discloses the fluorescent material is configured to fluoresce in response to the excitation light from the excitation light source incident on the fluorescence material via the diffuse reflector, wherein the amount of fluoresced light measured by the fluorescent light detector is substantially independent of an angle of incidence of the excitation light from the excitation light source on the diffuse reflector, and wherein the amount of fluoresced light measured by the fluorescent light detector is substantially independent of a view angle of the fluorescent light detector with respect to the diffuse reflector (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60).
Regarding claim 3, Sinofsky discloses a housing comprising at least one aperture and configured to allow the liquid to enter and exit the housing, wherein the fluorescence material is disposed within the housing, wherein the diffuse reflector is disposed within the housing, and wherein the housing is configured to substantially block the fluorescence material and the diffuse reflector from ambient light (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60).
Regarding claim 4, Sinofsky discloses the housing is configured to fit within the lumen (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60).
Regarding claim 5, Sinofsky discloses that the housing comprises an integrated sphere (figures 2-3)
Regarding claim 6, Sinofsky discloses the excitation light source is configured to direct excitation light through the at least one aperture and to the diffuse reflector, and wherein the fluorescent light detector is configured to receive fluoresced light from the diffuse reflector through the at least one aperture (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60).
Regarding claim 7, Sinofsky discloses the diffuse reflector forms at least a portion of an inner surface of the housing (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60).
Regarding claim 8, Sinofsky discloses the fluorescence material forms at least a portion of the inner surface of the housing (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60).
Regarding claim 9, Sinofsky discloses the excitation light source configured to emit the excitation light; and the fluorescent light detector configured to measure an amount of the fluoresced light (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60).
Regarding claim 10, Sinofsky discloses the excitation light source and the fluorescent light detector are each releasably coupled to the elongated body (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60).
Regarding claim 11, Sinofsky discloses a computing device configured to determine at least one of an amount of oxygen or a concentration of oxygen in the fluid based on the amount of fluoresced light detected by the fluorescent light detector (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60).
Regarding claim 12, Sinofsky discloses the computing device is configured to determine a flow rate of the fluid based on the amount of fluoresced light detected by the fluorescent light detector ((Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60)).
Regarding claim 13, Sinofsky discloses the elongated body comprises a catheter (Col.2 lines 45-66, Col.3 lines 5-60).
Regarding claim 14, Sinofsky discloses that the diffuse reflector comprises a first portion and a second portion, and wherein the first portion of the diffuse reflector is configured to diffuse the excitation light received from the excitation light source and to direct the diffused excitation light toward the fluorescent material (figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 15, Sinofsky discloses that the second portion of the diffuse reflector is configured to diffuse the fluoresced light received from the fluorescent material and direct the fluoresced light toward the fluorescent light detector (figures 2-3).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 U.S. Patent No. 11,872,038. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than those of the Patent. As, such, any invention meeting the limitations of the claims of the Patent would necessarily meet those of the instant application as well.
Conclusion
/MARJAN FARDANESH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791