DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
18535264 filed 12/11/2023 is a Continuation of 17099092, filed 11/16/2020, now U.S. Patent # 11882129 and having 1 RCE-type filing therein
17099092 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63052204, filed 07/15/2020.
Status of the Application
This Non-final office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment received by the Office on 25 August 2021. Claims 1-21 have been presented in the application, of which, claim 1 is cancelled and claims 2-21 are new. Accordingly, pending claims 2-21 are addressed herein.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 12/29/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
Claim limitations “stationary ground unit” (claims 2-21) and “mobile robotic units" (claims 2-21) have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “configured to” coupled with functional language “providing a mobile perimeter” (claims 2-21) and “communicatively coupled” (claims 2-21) without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 2-21 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification, referenced by the PGPUB, for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
• “stationary ground unit” – Specification, fig. 1A – It appears that the corresponding structure is a combination of sensor suite 122, mesh radio 127 and LTE core unit 124.
• “mobile robotic units" – Specification fig. 1A, para. 35, lines 1-5 – It appears that the corresponding structure is a mobile ground unit/ robot.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruemmer (US 2008/0009970) in view of Pichna et al (US 2003/0235174) and further in view of Meeker et al (US 2018/0024556)
Regarding claim 2, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system) comprising:
at least one stationary ground unit associated with providing a mobile perimeter (Fig. 2, Robot controller #180 which may be stationary and Robots #100a-c. “perimeter surveillance”, [0018], lines 1-2 and [0180], lines 1-3) for a perimeter protected entity (Figs. 7 and 38, “perimeter” that can be patrolled and based on changes to the perimeter (ie. at least obstacles), the robots can autonomously avoid said obstacles and dynamically change the perimeter (See PATROL REGION and SEARCH REGION in Fig. 38 which can be different/changed each time the robot patrols/searches depending on if the landscape has changed), [0126], lines 1-7 and [0128], lines 1-7, [0197], lines 1-9, [0395], lines 1-9);
a plurality of mobile robotic units communicatively coupled, via at least one of the private network and the second network, to the at least one stationary ground unit, the mobile perimeter provided using the at least one stationary ground unit deployed within the mobile perimeter and the communicatively coupled plurality of mobile robotic units deployed along a boundary of the mobile perimeter, each mobile robotic unit (Fig. 2, Robot controller #180 which may be stationary and Robots #100a-c. “perimeter surveillance”, [0018], lines 1-2, [0171], lines 1-2 and [0180], lines 1-3) comprising:
a plurality of sensors (fig. 12, sensors, [0067], lines 1-7, [0168], lines 1-6 and [0069], lines 1-2) configured to continuously ingest a plurality of perimeter data streams from a surrounding environment of the mobile robotic unit (myriad sensors being located on the robots and can ingest/obtain data from surrounding environments, [0080], lines 1-7, [0081], lines 1-11, [0083], lines 1-4, [0084], lines 1-7 and [0085], lines 1-8, [0095], lines 1-4, [0122], lines 1-6, [0125], lines 1-8, [0127], lines 1-11);
a locomotion device for maneuvering and propelling the mobile robotic unit within the surrounding environment (The locomotors 175 may include one or more wheels, tracks, legs, rollers, propellers, and the like. For providing the locomotive power and steering capabilities, the locomotors 175 may be driven by motors, actuators, levers, relays and the like. Furthermore, perceptors 165 may be configured in conjunction with the locomotors 175, such as, for example, odometers and pedometers and that that the robot can “move through its environment”, [0070], lines 1-4 and [0127], lines 1-11); and
a controller (Fig. 1 shows a robot’s System Controller #110), wherein the plurality of controllers of the plurality of mobile robotic units are communicatively linked (Figure 1 shows Communication Devices #155 and Figure 2 shows the robots communicatively linked via communication links #160) such that the mobile robotic units create the mobile perimeter around the perimeter protected entity (Figs. 7 and 38 show a “perimeter” that can be patrolled and based on changes to the perimeter (ie. at least obstacles), the robots can autonomously avoid said obstacles and dynamically change the perimeter (See PATROL REGION and SEARCH REGION in Fig. 38 which can be different/changed each time the robot patrols/searches depending on if the landscape has changed), [0126], lines 1-7 and [0128], lines 1-7, [0197], lines 1-9, [0395], lines 1-9) and a movable extension, wherein the controllers generate locomotion control signals to cause least a portion of the plurality of mobile robotic units to reposition themselves within the surrounding environment and provide continuous coverage from the private network to the perimeter protected entity as one or more locations of the perimeter protected entity change (the robots have an autonomous mode where they can at least autonomously move and monitor/patrol areas, etc., [0143], lines 1-9, [0156], lines 1-15, [0176], lines 1-7, [0180], lines 1-3 and [0183], lines 1-5); and
Bruemmer does not specifically disclose concept of each stationary ground unit including at least one primary transceiver for creating a first private network different from a public network, and at least one secondary transceivers for providing at least a second network different from the private network;
a network node for extending the private network, wherein the private network is extended based on direct connections among the at least one primary transceiver and the respective network nodes of each mobile robotic unit of the plurality of mobile robotic units;
one or more secondary mobile transceivers for communicating with the stationary ground unit via at least the second network;
and a movable extension of the private network;
However, Pichna et al specifically teaches concept of each stationary ground unit including at least one primary transceiver for creating a first private network different from a public network, and at least one secondary transceivers for providing at least a second network different from the private network (fig. 3, ad hoc networking of terminals that support both CELLULAR and WLAN protocols. Figure 3 shows Terminal #3 (T3) that can support both WLAN and CELLULAR communications as well as a link between two terminals (see #380, WLAN Ad Hoc Link). Hence, Pichna teaches support for “telecommunication network” (communications between the devices using Cellular and/or Bluetooth/WLAN) , “one or more secondary transceivers for providing at least a second telecommunication network different from the private telecommunication network” (communications via Cellular or Bluetooth/WLAN), “a broadband cellular network node for extending the private telecommunication network provided by the cellular network core of the stationary ground unit” (communications linke #380 can extend the coverage from T3 to T4 and/or that same link could extend the cellular coverage from T4 to T3, ie. Bluetooth Relay) and “a second telecommunication network” (communications via either WLAN/Bluetooth or Cellular), “one or more secondary mobile transceivers for communicating with the stationary ground unit via at least the second telecommunication network” (communications between the devices can be via WLAN/Bluetooth or Cellular and the Robots and Stationary device would have same/similar transceivers to communicate over the different communications networks) and “a movable extension of the private telecommunication network” (communications will “move/extend” and the users move, ie. T3 and/or T4 can move and therefore extend the coverage areas to other users if/when T3 or T4 move nearby them) and “provide continuous coverage from the private telecommunication network to the perimeter protected entity as one or more locations of the perimeter protected entity change” (communications via T3 or T4 provides coverage of either WLAN/Bluetooth or Celluar and will extend to the perimeter (or within the Robot’s communication range) as it roams (or its patrol area changes either via command or autonomously), [0038], lines 1-6, [0039], line 1, [0040], lines 1-3, [0041], lines 1-7 and [0042], lines 1-4);
a network node for extending the private network, wherein the private network is extended based on direct connections among the at least one primary transceiver and the respective network nodes of each mobile robotic unit of the plurality of mobile robotic units (fig. 3, communications link #380 can extend the coverage from T3 to T4 and/or that same link could extend the cellular coverage from T4 to T3, ie. Bluetooth Relay) and “a second telecommunication network” (communications via either WLAN/Bluetooth or Cellular), “one or more secondary mobile transceivers for communicating with the stationary ground unit via at least the second telecommunication network” (communications between the devices can be via WLAN/Bluetooth or Cellular and the Robots and Stationary device would have same/similar transceivers to communicate over the different communications networks) and “a movable extension of the private telecommunication network” (communications will “move/extend” and the users move, ie. T3 and/or T4 can move and therefore extend the coverage areas to other users if/when T3 or T4 move nearby them) and “provide continuous coverage from the private telecommunication network to the perimeter protected entity as one or more locations of the perimeter protected entity change” (communications via T3 or T4 provides coverage of either WLAN/Bluetooth or Celluar and will extend to the perimeter (or within the Robot’s communication range) as it roams (or its patrol area changes either via command or autonomously), [0038], lines 1-6, [0039], line 1, [0040], lines 1-3, [0041], lines 1-7 and [0042], lines 1-4);
one or more secondary mobile transceivers for communicating with the stationary ground unit via at least the second network (fig. 3, communications between the devices can be via WLAN/Bluetooth or Cellular and the Robots and Stationary device would have same/similar transceivers to communicate over the different communications networks) and “a movable extension of the private telecommunication network” (communications will “move/extend” and the users move, ie. T3 and/or T4 can move and therefore extend the coverage areas to other users if/when T3 or T4 move nearby them) and “provide continuous coverage from the private telecommunication network to the perimeter protected entity as one or more locations of the perimeter protected entity change” (communications via T3 or T4 provides coverage of either WLAN/Bluetooth or Celluar and will extend to the perimeter (or within the Robot’s communication range) as it roams (or its patrol area changes either via command or autonomously), [0038], lines 1-6, [0039], line 1, [0040], lines 1-3, [0041], lines 1-7 and [0042], lines 1-4);
and a movable extension of the private network (communications will “move/extend” and the users move, ie. T3 and/or T4 can move and therefore extend the coverage areas to other users if/when T3 or T4 move nearby them) and “provide continuous coverage from the private telecommunication network to the perimeter protected entity as one or more locations of the perimeter protected entity change” (communications via T3 or T4 provides coverage of either WLAN/Bluetooth or Celluar and will extend to the perimeter (or within the Robot’s communication range) as it roams (or its patrol area changes either via command or autonomously), [0038], lines 1-6, [0039], line 1, [0040], lines 1-3, [0041], lines 1-7 and [0042], lines 1-4);
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bruemmer with concept of each stationary ground unit including at least one primary transceiver for creating a first private network different from a public network, and at least one secondary transceivers for providing at least a second network different from the private network; a network node for extending the private network, wherein the private network is extended based on direct connections among the at least one primary transceiver and the respective network nodes of each mobile robotic unit of the plurality of mobile robotic units; one or more secondary mobile transceivers for communicating with the stationary ground unit via at least the second network; and a movable extension of the private network of Pichna et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve establishing ad hoc networking among terminals aided by a cellular network, (Pichna et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Bruemmer and Pichna et al do not specifically disclose concept of threat detection system configured to receive as input at least a portion of the plurality of perimeter data streams from one or more of the mobile robotic units and analyzes the inputted perimeter data streams to identify and classify threats present at the mobile perimeter.
However, Meeker et al specifically teaches concept of threat detection system configured to receive as input at least a portion of the plurality of perimeter data streams from one or more of the mobile robotic units and analyzes the inputted perimeter data streams to identify and classify threats present at the mobile perimeter (The ducted fan engines allow a large thrust to be created in a physically small package. Unlike other hybrid air/ground robots, the ducted fans leave most of the surface of the robot available for other uses, particularly for the mounting of payloads. The ducted fans also allow enough thrust for the mass of these payloads to be accommodated in “short hop” flights. Typical payloads could include a lightweight robotic arm, a CBRNE (Chemical, Biological, Radiological, Nuclear, and Explosive) sensor suite, or additional camera equipment and illumination sources. The robot may incorporate multiple ducted fans to provide a limited-duration flight capability. The use of ducted fans utilizes only a small fraction of the robot's surface, allowing the rest of the space to be used for the mounting of sensors or payloads. The use of ducted fans allows high thrust to be created so that significant payload mass can be accommodated. Potential payloads include: a robotic arm; a CBRNE sensor suite; and/or additional cameras and/or illumination (e.g. thermal imaging or high resolution cameras); hence robot with CBRNE sensor suite would be able to detect, analyze and classify any of these threats if/when found by the robot, [0035], lines 1-5 and [0043], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bruemmer with concept of each stationary ground unit including at least one primary transceiver for creating a first private network different from a public network, and at least one secondary transceivers for providing at least a second network different from the private network; a network node for extending the private network, wherein the private network is extended based on direct connections among the at least one primary transceiver and the respective network nodes of each mobile robotic unit of the plurality of mobile robotic units; one or more secondary mobile transceivers for communicating with the stationary ground unit via at least the second network; and a movable extension of the private network of Pichna et al and concept of threat detection system configured to receive as input at least a portion of the plurality of perimeter data streams from one or more of the mobile robotic units and analyzes the inputted perimeter data streams to identify and classify threats present at the mobile perimeter of Meeker et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve indoor surveillance mission, (Meeker et al, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 3, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system), wherein the mobile perimeter (FIG. 7 illustrates an occupancy grid map that may be developed by embodiments of the present invention, [0023], line 1):
encloses the perimeter protected entity (fig. 7, illustrates an encloses the perimeter protected entity, [0023], line 1);
comprises one or more of the plurality of mobile robotic units deployed to execute a specified patrol formation along the boundary of the mobile perimeter (Figs. 7 and 38, “perimeter” that can be patrolled and based on changes to the perimeter (ie. at least obstacles), the robots can autonomously avoid said obstacles and dynamically change the perimeter (See PATROL REGION and SEARCH REGION in Fig. 38 which can be different/changed each time the robot patrols/searches depending on if the landscape has changed), [0126], lines 1-7 and [0128], lines 1-7, [0197], lines 1-9, [0395], lines 1-9); and
is monitored based one or more of ingested sensor data or ingested environmental monitoring data obtained from respective mobile robotic units of the plurality of mobile robotic units deployed along the boundary of the mobile perimeter (the robots have an autonomous mode where they can at least autonomously move and monitor/patrol areas, etc., [0143], lines 1-9, [0156], lines 1-15, [0176], lines 1-7, [0180], lines 1-3 and [0183], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 8, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system), wherein the displaying and receiving are performed by a user interface of a control unit computing device of the perimeter protected entity (Fig. 2 illustrates a representative robot control environment including a plurality of robot platforms (100A, 100B, and 100C) and a robot controller 180. The robot controller 180 may be a remote computer executing a software interface from which an operator may control one or more robot platforms (100A, 100B, and 100C) individually or in cooperation. The robot controller 180 may communicate with the robot platforms (100A, 100B, and 100C), and the robot platforms (100A, 100B, and 100C) may communicate with each other, across the communication channels 160. While Fig. 2 illustrates one robot controller 180 and three robot platforms (100A, 100B, and 100C) those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that a robot control environment may include one or more robot platforms 100 and one or more robot controllers 180. In addition, the robot controller 180 may be a version of a robot platform 100, [0071], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 10, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system), wherein the plurality of mobile robotic units includes one or more mobile ground units, the locomotion devices of the mobile ground units including wheels, tracks, and legs (The locomotors 175 may include one or more wheels, tracks, legs, rollers, propellers, and the like. For providing the locomotive power and steering capabilities, the locomotors 175 may be driven by motors, actuators, levers, relays and the like. Furthermore, perceptors 165 may be configured in conjunction with the locomotors 175, such as, for example, odometers and pedometers and that that the robot can “move through its environment”, [0070], lines 1-4 and [0127], lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 11, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system), wherein the plurality of sensors of the mobile robotic units include one or more of: LIDAR, radar, depth or stereo cameras and sensors, electro-optical sensors, infrared sensors, GPS sensors, location or position sensors, inertial measurement units (IMUs), seismic sensors, microphones, and sound sensors (perceptors 165 may include inertial sensors, thermal sensors, tactile sensors, compasses, range sensors, sonar, Global Positioning System (GPS), Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR), lasers for object detection and range sensing, imaging devices, and the like. Furthermore, those of ordinary skill in the art will understand that many of these sensors may include a generator and a sensor to combine sensor inputs into meaningful, actionable perceptions. For example, sonar perceptors and GPR may generate sound waves or sub-sonic waves and sense reflected waves. Similarly, perceptors including lasers may include sensors configured for detecting reflected waves from the lasers for determining interruptions or phase shifts in the laser beam. Imaging devices may be any suitable device for capturing images, such as, for example, an infrared imager, a video camera, a still camera, a digital camera, a Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) imaging device, a charge coupled device (CCD) imager, and the like. In addition, the imaging device may include optical devices for modifying the image to be captured, such as, for example, lenses, collimators, filters, and mirrors. For adjusting the direction at which the imaging device is oriented, a robot platform 100 may also include pan and tilt mechanisms coupled to the imaging device. Furthermore, a robot platform 100 may include a single imaging device or multiple imaging devices, [0067], lines 1-7 and [0068], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 12, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system), wherein the private network implements at least a 3G telecommunication standard (communication channels 160 may be adaptable to both wired and wireless communication, as well as supporting various communication protocols. By way of example, and not limitation, the communication channels may be configured as a serial or parallel communication channel, such as, for example, USB, IEEE-1394, 802.11a/b/g, cellular telephone, and other wired and wireless communication protocols. Communication abstractions present substantially common communications interfaces to a variety of communication protocols and physical interfaces. The communication channels 160 may be adaptable to both wired and wireless communication, as well as supporting various communication protocols. By way of example, and not limitation, the communication abstractions may be configured to support serial and parallel communication channels, such as, for example, USB, IEEE-1394, 802.11 a/b/g, cellular telephone, and other wired and wireless communication protocols, [0066], lines 1-4 [0091], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 13, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system), wherein the private network implements at least a 4G telecommunication standard (communication channels 160 may be adaptable to both wired and wireless communication, as well as supporting various communication protocols. By way of example, and not limitation, the communication channels may be configured as a serial or parallel communication channel, such as, for example, USB, IEEE-1394, 802.11a/b/g, cellular telephone, and other wired and wireless communication protocols. Communication abstractions present substantially common communications interfaces to a variety of communication protocols and physical interfaces. The communication channels 160 may be adaptable to both wired and wireless communication, as well as supporting various communication protocols. By way of example, and not limitation, the communication abstractions may be configured to support serial and parallel communication channels, such as, for example, USB, IEEE-1394, 802.11 a/b/g, cellular telephone, and other wired and wireless communication protocols, [0066], lines 1-4 [0091], lines 1-5)..
Regarding claim 14, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system), wherein the private network implements at least a 5G telecommunication standard (communication channels 160 may be adaptable to both wired and wireless communication, as well as supporting various communication protocols. By way of example, and not limitation, the communication channels may be configured as a serial or parallel communication channel, such as, for example, USB, IEEE-1394, 802.11a/b/g, cellular telephone, and other wired and wireless communication protocols. Communication abstractions present substantially common communications interfaces to a variety of communication protocols and physical interfaces. The communication channels 160 may be adaptable to both wired and wireless communication, as well as supporting various communication protocols. By way of example, and not limitation, the communication abstractions may be configured to support serial and parallel communication channels, such as, for example, USB, IEEE-1394, 802.11 a/b/g, cellular telephone, and other wired and wireless communication protocols, [0066], lines 1-4 [0091], lines 1-5)..
Regarding claim 15, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system), wherein the private network implements at least an LTE telecommunication standard (communication channels 160 may be adaptable to both wired and wireless communication, as well as supporting various communication protocols. By way of example, and not limitation, the communication channels may be configured as a serial or parallel communication channel, such as, for example, USB, IEEE-1394, 802.11a/b/g, cellular telephone, and other wired and wireless communication protocols. Communication abstractions present substantially common communications interfaces to a variety of communication protocols and physical interfaces. The communication channels 160 may be adaptable to both wired and wireless communication, as well as supporting various communication protocols. By way of example, and not limitation, the communication abstractions may be configured to support serial and parallel communication channels, such as, for example, USB, IEEE-1394, 802.11 a/b/g, cellular telephone, and other wired and wireless communication protocols, [0066], lines 1-4 [0091], lines 1-5)..
Regarding claim 16, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system),
Bruemmer and Meeker et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the at least one second network uses a different communication modality than the private network, the second network communication modalities including one or more of:
MANET (Mobile Ad-hoc Network);
VLC (Visible Light Communication);
DDL (Direct Data Link); and
satellite communications.
However, Pichna et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the at least one second network uses a different communication modality than the private network, the second network communication modalities including one or more of (fig. 3, According to yet another aspect of the invention, the cellular system is not limited to the Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS). Cellular network, as used in this application refers to any mobile network operated by an operator. For example, without limiting to these, the cellular network can be a GSM, GPRS, UMTS, using various radio access network technologies, such as CDMA2000, WCDMA and WLAN. Similarly, the non-cellular network and interface for the ad-hoc link may be any of the family of short range radios including BRAN Hiperlan, Hiperlan2, IEEE 802.11a,b, g, Multimedia Mobile Access Communication (MMAC) High-Speed Wireless Access (HISWA), Bluetooth, IEEE 802.15, and the like. The short range connection may even be a wired or infrared connection without departing from the spirit of this invention. Cellular and WLAN which reads on a mobile Ad-Hoc network) and Pichna also shows that the Terminals can communicate directly, [0009], lines 1-8):
MANET (Mobile Ad-hoc Network) (fig. 3, According to yet another aspect of the invention, the cellular system is not limited to the Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS). Cellular network, as used in this application refers to any mobile network operated by an operator. For example, without limiting to these, the cellular network can be a GSM, GPRS, UMTS, using various radio access network technologies, such as CDMA2000, WCDMA and WLAN. Similarly, the non-cellular network and interface for the ad-hoc link may be any of the family of short range radios including BRAN Hiperlan, Hiperlan2, IEEE 802.11a,b, g, Multimedia Mobile Access Communication (MMAC) High-Speed Wireless Access (HISWA), Bluetooth, IEEE 802.15, and the like. The short range connection may even be a wired or infrared connection without departing from the spirit of this invention. Cellular and WLAN which reads on a mobile Ad-Hoc network) and Pichna also shows that the Terminals can communicate directly, [0009], lines 1-8);
VLC (Visible Light Communication) (fig. 3, According to yet another aspect of the invention, the cellular system is not limited to the Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS). Cellular network, as used in this application refers to any mobile network operated by an operator. For example, without limiting to these, the cellular network can be a GSM, GPRS, UMTS, using various radio access network technologies, such as CDMA2000, WCDMA and WLAN, [0009], lines 1-8);
DDL (Direct Data Link) (With reference to FIG. 1, an exemplary cellular network coupled with data networks, in which the invention may operate is illustrated. As shown in the figure, network 100 includes mobile node (MN) 105, radio access network (RAN) 110, SGSN 115, core network 120, routers 125.sub.D-F, optional authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) server 300, GGSNs 135.sub.A-B, data network 140, and data network 145, [0024], lines 1-4); and
satellite communications (fig. 3, According to yet another aspect of the invention, the cellular system is not limited to the Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS). Cellular network, as used in this application refers to any mobile network operated by an operator, [0009], lines 1-8, [0026], lines 1-6 and [0027], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bruemmer with concept of threat detection system configured to receive as input at least a portion of the plurality of perimeter data streams from one or more of the mobile robotic units and analyzes the inputted perimeter data streams to identify and classify threats present at the mobile perimeter of Meeker et al and concept of wherein the at least one second network uses a different communication modality than the private network, the second network communication modalities including one or more of: MANET (Mobile Ad-hoc Network); VLC (Visible Light Communication); DDL (Direct Data Link); and satellite communications of Pichna et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve establishing ad hoc networking among terminals aided by a cellular network, (Pichna et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 17, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system),
Bruemmer and Meeker et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the at least one stationary ground unit and the plurality of mobile robotic units each further comprise a MANET radio, wherein the MANET radio implements one or more of:
a backhaul for the private network; and
the second network.
However, Pichna et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the at least one stationary ground unit and the plurality of mobile robotic units each further comprise a MANET radio, wherein the MANET radio implements one or more of (devices having multiple transceivers that both a) provide a backhaul for the private telecommunication network (ie. can provide WLAN/Bluetooth) that extends the cellular network with “backhaul” connectivity and b) provides the second telecommunication network (WLAN/Bluetooth connectivity is interpreted as a second network that connects the devices/robots as well), [0009], lines 1-8 and [0024], lines 1-4):
a backhaul for the private network (devices having multiple transceivers that both a) provide a backhaul for the private telecommunication network (ie. can provide WLAN/Bluetooth) that extends the cellular network with “backhaul” connectivity and b) provides the second telecommunication network (WLAN/Bluetooth connectivity is interpreted as a second network that connects the devices/robots as well), [0009], lines 1-8 and [0024], lines 1-4); and
the second network (devices having multiple transceivers that both a) provide a backhaul for the private telecommunication network (ie. can provide WLAN/Bluetooth) that extends the cellular network with “backhaul” connectivity and b) provides the second telecommunication network (WLAN/Bluetooth connectivity is interpreted as a second network that connects the devices/robots as well), [0009], lines 1-8 and [0024], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bruemmer with concept of threat detection system configured to receive as input at least a portion of the plurality of perimeter data streams from one or more of the mobile robotic units and analyzes the inputted perimeter data streams to identify and classify threats present at the mobile perimeter of Meeker et al and concept of wherein the at least one stationary ground unit and the plurality of mobile robotic units each further comprise a MANET radio, wherein the MANET radio implements one or more of: a backhaul for the private network; and the second network of Pichna et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve establishing ad hoc networking among terminals aided by a cellular network, (Pichna et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 18, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system),
Bruemmer and Meeker et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the second network comprises MANET and VLC is a physical communication medium for the second network.
However, Pichna et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the second network comprises MANET and VLC is a physical communication medium for the second network (fig. 3, According to yet another aspect of the invention, the cellular system is not limited to the Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS). Cellular network, as used in this application refers to any mobile network operated by an operator. For example, without limiting to these, the cellular network can be a GSM, GPRS, UMTS, using various radio access network technologies, such as CDMA2000, WCDMA and WLAN. Similarly, the non-cellular network and interface for the ad-hoc link may be any of the family of short range radios including BRAN Hiperlan, Hiperlan2, IEEE 802.11a,b, g, Multimedia Mobile Access Communication (MMAC) High-Speed Wireless Access (HISWA), Bluetooth, IEEE 802.15, and the like. The short range connection may even be a wired or infrared connection without departing from the spirit of this invention. Cellular and WLAN which reads on a mobile Ad-Hoc network) and Pichna also shows that the Terminals can communicate directly, [0009], lines 1-8).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bruemmer with concept of threat detection system configured to receive as input at least a portion of the plurality of perimeter data streams from one or more of the mobile robotic units and analyzes the inputted perimeter data streams to identify and classify threats present at the mobile perimeter of Meeker et al and concept of wherein the second network comprises MANET and VLC is a physical communication medium for the second network of Pichna et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve establishing ad hoc networking among terminals aided by a cellular network, (Pichna et al, [0001], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system),
Bruemmer and Meeker et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein one or more of the stationary ground units and one or more of the plurality of mobile robotic units further comprises a mesh radio, wherein the mesh radio is configured to communicatively couple with one or more of the private network and the second network.
However, Pichna et al specifically teaches concept of wherein one or more of the stationary ground units and one or more of the plurality of mobile robotic units further comprises a mesh radio, wherein the mesh radio is configured to communicatively couple with one or more of the private network and the second network (“mesh” network where the devices can all communicate with each other over the same OR different communications means. Pichna’s Figures show the use of Cellular and WLAN/Bluetooth between two communicating devices, hence a “mesh” can be configured with one or more of the private and second telecommunications networks across multiple devices (ie. stationary ground unit(s) and robot(s)), [0009], lines 1-8 and [0024], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bruemmer with concept of threat detection system configured to receive as input at least a portion of the plurality of perimeter data streams from one or more of the mobile robotic units and analyzes the inputted perimeter data streams to identify and classify threats present at the mobile perimeter of Meeker et al and concept of wherein one or more of the stationary ground units and one or more of the plurality of mobile robotic units further comprises a mesh radio, wherein the mesh radio is configured to communicatively couple with one or more of the private network and the second network of Pichna et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve establishing ad hoc networking among terminals aided by a cellular network, (Pichna et al, [0001], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system), wherein one or more of the stationary ground units comprises a transportable housing such that the stationary ground unit can be transported with the perimeter protected entity via the transportable housing (Figs. 19 and 31 show that the Robot controller can be a computer #2104 or #3200 which comprises a transportable housing (ie. plastic and metal encasing the computer processor and display). The examiner further interprets that the computer system could be a laptop/tablet as well), [0071], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 21, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system), wherein the transportable housing comprises a backpack (FIG. 2 illustrates a representative robot control environment including a plurality of robot platforms (100A, 100B, and 100C) and a robot controller 180. The robot controller 180 may be a remote computer executing a software interface from which an operator may control one or more robot platforms (100A, 100B, and 100C) individually or in cooperation. The robot controller 180 may communicate with the robot platforms (100A, 100B, and 100C), and the robot platforms (100A, 100B, and 100C) may communicate with each other, across the communication channels 160. While FIG. 2 illustrates one robot controller 180 and three robot platforms (100A, 100B, and 100C) those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that a robot control environment may include one or more robot platforms 100 and one or more robot controllers 180. In addition, the robot controller 180 may be a version of a robot platform 100, [0071], lines 1-8).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruemmer (US 2008/0009970) in view of Pichna et al (US 2003/0235174), Meeker et al (US 2018/0024556) and further in view of Isler et al (US 2016/0018224)
Regarding claim 9, Bruemmer discloses system (fig. 2, system),
Bruemmer, Pichna et al and Meeker et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the plurality of mobile robotic units includes one or more aerial units, drones, or unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs).
However, Isler et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the plurality of mobile robotic units includes one or more aerial units, drones, or unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) (system provides multiple on-demand sensing capabilities, and combines the strengths of ground and aerial robots. Ground robots are capable of traveling long distances, carrying large loads and measuring soil data. On the other hand, small aerial vehicles can take images from a low altitude but have limited battery life and the images may need to be complemented with ground measurements. In the embodiments below, a UGV is used to deploy a small, inexpensive UAV at carefully selected measurement locations. As the UAV is taking aerial pictures over a small region, the UGV will take soil measurements. The UAV will then land on the UGV, which will take the UAV to the next deployment location. The ground and aerial measurements collected by the system are used for estimating conditions across a farm field. These estimates in turn guide resource application. The capability to apply the right amount of resources at the right time can drastically reduce resource usage which is desirable from an environmental and economic standpoint, [0027], lines 1-11).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bruemmer with concept of each stationary ground unit including at least one primary transceiver for creating a first private network different from a public network, and at least one secondary transceivers for providing at least a second network different from the private network; a network node for extending the private network, wherein the private network is extended based on direct connections among the at least one primary transceiver and the respective network nodes of each mobile robotic unit of the plurality of mobile robotic units; one or more secondary mobile transceivers for communicating with the stationary ground unit via at least the second network; and a movable extension of the private network of Pichna et al, concept of threat detection system configured to receive as input at least a portion of the plurality of perimeter data streams from one or more of the mobile robotic units and analyzes the inputted perimeter data streams to identify and classify threats present at the mobile perimeter of Meeker et al and concept of wherein the plurality of mobile robotic units includes one or more aerial units, drones, or unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) of Isler et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve unmanned aerial vehicle and an unmanned surface vehicle, (Isler et al, [0004], line 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, Bruemmer discloses system, wherein the threat detection system comprises an abnormality detection performed onboard the plurality of mobile robotic units and a secondary abnormality classification, wherein the abnormality classification receives abnormality detections generated onboard one or more of the plurality of mobile robotic units and generates threat alarms based at least in part on an analysis of the received abnormality detections.
Regarding claim 5, Bruemmer discloses system, wherein the abnormality classification is performed by one or more of:
one or more of the stationary ground units;
a central computing device disposed within the perimeter protected entity;
a control unit of the perimeter protected entity; or
a cloud computing device communicatively coupled with the perimeter protected entity.
Regarding claim 6, Bruemmer discloses system, wherein the threat detection system comprises one or more trained threat detection machine learning networks, wherein the one or more trained threat detection machine learning networks are trained on a plurality of labeled training data pairs, each labeled training data pair comprising:
an input data example, the input data example generated from a portion of perimeter data streams ingested by the deployed mobile robotic units at the perimeter; and
a classification label, wherein the classification label indicates one or more ground truth classifications corresponding to objects, abnormalities, and events contained within the input portion of perimeter data streams.
Regarding claim 7, Bruemmer discloses system, wherein a given training data classification labels is automatically generated from user input provided by a user within the perimeter protected entity by:
displaying, to the user, a given portion of the perimeter data streams that were ingested by the deployed mobile robotic units at the perimeter;
receiving, from the user, one or more user inputs indicative of objects, abnormalities, events, or threats present within the given portion of the perimeter data streams displayed to the user; and
generating one or more ground truth classifications from the user input indicative of the objects, abnormalities, events, or threats.
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681