DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 11, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US Pub. 20160238894). As per claim 1, Choi teaches (in figures 1-4B) a display device comprising: a case (top cover 400-T and bottom portion 400-BP of bottom cover 400-B ); a circuit board (circuit boards PCB) and including a first region (center of the first region R1 where the optical distance H1-Max is formed between the light emitting diodes LEP1 and the optical member 200 ) and a second region (region of the first region R1 closer to the second region R2 where the optical distance H1-Min is formed between the light emitting diodes LEP1 and the optical member 200 ) positioned closer to an outer peripheral side than the first region and having electronic components (light emitting diodes LEP1 and LEP 2 ) arranged in the first region and the second region; and a member ( sidewall 400-SW of bottom cover 400-B and optical member 200) provided inside the case and arranged to face the circuit board, wherein the electronic components are arranged to be spaced apart from the member, and the electronic components include one or more of first electronic component (light emitting diodes LEP1 located at the center of the first region R1) in the first region and one or more of second electronic component (light emitting diodes LEP1 located in the first region R1 closer to second region R2) in the second region, a distance between an end surface of the first electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of first electronic components arranged in the first region (optical distance H1-Max) , a distance between an end surface of the second electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of second electronic components arranged in the second region (optical distance H1-Min) , the electronic components being arranged in such a manner that the distance between the end surface of the first electronic component and the member is greater than the distance between the end surface of the second electronic component and the member ( see figure 4B and paragraphs 67-69) . As per claim 2 , Choi teaches (in figures 1-4B) that the circuit board includes a third region (second region R2) positioned closer to the outer peripheral side than the second region (regions of the first region R1 closer to the second region R2 with optical distance H1-Min) . As per claim 3 , Choi teaches (in figures 1-4B) that one or more of the electronic components (light emitting diodes LEP1 and LEP2) are arranged in the third region. As per claim 4 , Choi teaches (in figures 1-4B) that the electronic components (light emitting diodes LEP1 and LEP2) include a third electronic component in the third region (light emitting diodes LEP2) , a distance (optical distance of H2-Min) between an end surface of the third electronic component and the member ( sidewall 400-SW of bottom cover 400-B and optical member 200 ) being shortest among the one or more of the electronic components arranged in the third region, the electronic components being arranged in such a manner that the distance between the end surface of the second electronic component and the member (optical distance H1-Min) is greater than the distance between the end surface of the third electronic component and the member (optical distances H2-Min)(see figure 4B and paragraph 68) . As per claim 5 , Choi teaches (in figures 1-4B) a light emitting body (light emitting diodes LEP3) arranged on the circuit board (circuit boards PCB) . As per claim 6 , Choi teaches (in figures 1-4B) that the member ( sidewall 400-SW of bottom cover 400-B and optical member 200 ) includes a light guide plate ( optical member 200 see paragraph 57) arranged to face the circuit board. As per claim 10 , Choi teaches (in figures 1-4B) that the member ( sidewall 400-SW of bottom cover 400-B and optical member 200 ) includes a light guide plate ( optical member 200 see paragraph 57) arranged to face the first region and the second region of the circuit board. As per claim 11 , Choi teaches (in figures 1-4B) that the member (sidewall 400-SW of bottom cover 400-B and optical member 200) includes an inner case (sidewall 400-SW of bottom cover 400-B) which is arranged to face the third region (second region R2) of the circuit board and which supports an outer peripheral portion of the light guide plate (optical member 200) (see figures 3 and 4A) . As per claim 16 , Choi teaches (in figures 1-4B) that the light emitting body (light emitting diodes LEP3) comprises a plurality of light emitting bodies (light emitting diodes LEP3) . As per claim 17 , Choi teaches (in figures 1-4B) that in plan view from a viewing side, the second region (region of the first region R1 closer to the second region R2 where the optical distance H1-Min is formed between the light emitting diodes LEP1 and the optical member 200) covers an entire outer periphery of the first region (center of the first region R1 where the optical distance H1-Max is formed between the light emitting diodes LEP1 and the optical member 200) , and the third region (second region R2) is disposed on an outer peripheral side of the second region and is disposed between the plurality of light emitting bodies (light emitting diodes LEP3) (see figures 3 and 4A) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US Pub. 20100020267, Kobayashi) in view of joseph et al. (US Pub. 20230393432, Joseph ). As per claim 1, Kobayashi teaches (in figures 12A and 12B ) a display device comprising: a circuit board ( substrate 520 ) including a first region ( center region in which the distance between LEDs 310 and diffuser plate 330 is Tc ) and a second region ( outer region in which the distance between LEDs 310 and diffuser plate 330 is Te ) positioned closer to an outer peripheral side than the first region and having electronic components arranged in the first region and the second region; and a member ( diffuser plate 330 ) arranged to face the circuit board, wherein the electronic components are arranged to be spaced apart from the member, and the electronic components include one or more of first electronic component ( LEDs 310 which are located at a distance of Tc from the diffuser plate ) in the first region and one or more of second electronic component (LEDs 310 which are located at a distance of Te from the diffuser plate) in the second region, a distance between an end surface of the first electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of first electronic components arranged in the first region, a distance between an end surface of the second electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of second electronic components arranged in the second region, the electronic components being arranged in such a manner that the distance between the end surface of the first electronic component and the member is greater than the distance between the end surface of the second electronic component and the member (see figure 12B and paragraphs 184-191 ) . Kobayashi does not specifically teach a case wherein the member is provided inside the case . However, Joseph teaches (in figure 1) providing case (housing 8 and cover glass 4) around a display panel (display panel 2 and backlight 3) comprising a member (housing 7/carrier element 70). I t would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the case of Joseph around the display of Kobayashi in order to protect the display panel. As per claim 6 , Kobayashi teaches (in figures 12A and 12B) that the member (diffuser plate 330) includes a light guide plate (diffuser plate 330) arranged to face the circuit board ( substrate 520 ) . As per claim 7 , Kobayashi teaches (in figures 12A and 12B) that the light guide plate (diffuser plate 330) is formed into a flat plate shape in the first region and the second region (see figure 12B) . As per claim 8 , Kobayashi teaches (in figures 12A and 12B) that the first region (center region in which the distance between LEDs 310 and diffuser plate 330 is Tc) is a region containing a center of the circuit board (see figures 12A-12B) . Claim(s) 1-4, 9, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (USP 10146076, Kim) in view of joseph et al. (US Pub. 20230393432, Joseph ). As per claim 1, Kim teaches (in figures 1-3 and 5) a display device comprising: a circuit board (circuit board 331) including a first region (region shown as R1 in the annotated figure below) and a second region (region shown as R2 in the annotated figure below) positioned closer to an outer peripheral side than the first region and having electronic components (electronic elements 322) arranged in the first region and the second region; and a member (frame 210) arranged to face the circuit board, wherein the electronic components are arranged to be spaced apart from the member, and the electronic components include one or more of first electronic component (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R1 in the annotated figure below) in the first region and one or more of second electronic component (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R2 in the annotated figure below) in the second region, a distance between an end surface of the first electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of first electronic components arranged in the first region, a distance between an end surface of the second electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of second electronic components arranged in the second region, the electronic components being arranged in such a manner that the distance between the end surface of the first electronic component and the member is greater than the distance between the end surface of the second electronic component and the member (see figure 5 and Col. 7 lines 26-30) . Kim does not specifically teach a case wherein the member is provided inside the case . However, Joseph teaches (in figure 1) providing case (housing 8 and cover glass 4) around a display panel (display panel 2 and backlight 3) comprising a member (housing 7/carrier element 70). I t would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the case of Joseph around the display of Kim in order to protect the display panel. As per claim 2 , Kim teaches (in figures 1-3 and 5) that the circuit board includes a third region (region shown as R3 in the annotated figure above) positioned closer to the outer peripheral side than the second region (region shown as R2 in the annotated figure above). As per claim 3 , Kim teaches (in figures 1-3 and 5) that one or more of the electronic components are arranged in the third region (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R3 in the annotated figure above). As per claim 4 , Kim teaches (in figures 1-3 and 5) that the electronic components include a third electronic component in the third region (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R3 in the annotated figure above), a distance between an end surface of the third electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of the electronic components arranged in the third region, the electronic components being arranged in such a manner that the distance between the end surface of the second electronic component (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R2 in the annotated figure above) and the member is greater than the distance between the end surface of the third electronic component and the member (see figure 5 and Col. 7 lines 26-30). As per claim 9 , Kim teaches (in figures 1-3 and 5) that the member (frame 210) has its surface facing the circuit board (circuit board 331), and the surface is parallel to the circuit board (see figure 5 and Col. 7 lines 53-59). As per claim 12 , Kim teaches (in figures 1-3 and 5) that the one or more of the electronic components disposed in the first region (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R1 in the annotated figure above) are smaller in a maximum height than the one or more of the electronic components disposed in the second region (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R2 in the annotated figure above) (see figure 5 and Col. 7 lines 26-30). As per claim 13 , Kim teaches (in figures 1-3 and 5) that the one or more of the electronic components disposed in the second region (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R2 in the annotated figure above) are smaller in maximum height than the one or more of the electronic components disposed in the third region (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R3 in the annotated figure above) (see figure 5 and Col. 7 lines 26-30). As per claim 14 , Kim teaches (in figures 1-3 and 5) that the one or more of the electronic components disposed in the first region (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R1 in the annotated figure above) are smaller in maximum size in a facing direction than the one or more of the electronic components disposed in the second region (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R2 in the annotated figure above) (see figure 5 and Col. 7 lines 26-30). As per claim 15 , Kim teaches (in figures 1-3 and 5) that the one or more of the electronic components disposed in the second region (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R2 in the annotated figure above) are smaller in maximum size in the facing direction than the one or more of the electronic components disposed in the third region (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R3 in the annotated figure above) (see figure 5 and Col. 7 lines 26-30). Claim(s) 1-5 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonoda et al. (US Pub. 20040257496, Sonoda ) in view of Kim et al. (USP 10146076, Kim) , Kweon et al. (US Pub. 20180081392, Kweon ), and Wu et al. (US Pub. 20170278468, Wu) . As per claim 1, Sonoda teaches (in figures 3, 5, and 12) a display device comprising: a case (watchcase 1) ; a circuit board (circuit board 10) including a first region (region located at the center of the watch) and a second region (region located away from the center of the watch) positioned closer to an outer peripheral side than the first region and; and a member (light guide plate 30) provided inside the case and arranged to face the circuit board. Sonoda does not specifically teach that the circuit board having electronic components arranged in the first region and the second region wherein the electronic components are arranged to be spaced apart from the member, and the electronic components include one or more of first electronic component in the first region and one or more of second electronic component in the second region, a distance between an end surface of the first electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of first electronic components arranged in the first region, a distance between an end surface of the second electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of second electronic components arranged in the second region, the electronic components being arranged in such a manner that the distance between the end surface of the first electronic component and the member is greater than the distance between the end surface of the second electronic component and the member . However, Kim teaches (in figures 1-4) forming electronic components (electronic elements 322) for controlling a display panel (display panel 110) on a circuit board (circuit board 331) such that the electronic components are formed between the circuit board and the display device in order to protect the electronic components from electric static discharge (Col. 6 lines 33-45) wherein the circuit board comprises a first region (region shown as R1 in the annotated figure below) and a second region (region shown as R2 in the annotated figure below) positioned closer to an outer peripheral side than the first region and having electronic components (electronic elements 322) arranged in the first region and the second region; and a member (frame 210) arranged to face the circuit board, wherein the electronic components are arranged to be spaced apart from the member, and the electronic components include one or more of first electronic component (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R1 in the annotated figure below) in the first region and one or more of second electronic component (electronic element 322 in the region shown as R2 in the annotated figure below) in the second region, a distance between an end surface of the first electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of first electronic components arranged in the first region, a distance between an end surface of the second electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of second electronic components arranged in the second region, the electronic components being arranged in such a manner that the distance between the end surface of the first electronic component and the member is greater than the distance between the end surface of the second electronic component and the member in order to allow for the electronic components to be spaced apart the from a curve of the display panel (see figure 4 and Col. 7 lines 26-30) . Additionally, Kweon teaches (in figures 5 and 9) that display panels (110) and light guide plates (120) are known to bend under their own weight (paragraphs 134-142). Wu teaches that light guide plates are known to deform under the influence of impact (paragraph 39). I t would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form electronic components for controlling the display panel of Sonoda in the manner suggested by Kim in order to drive the display, protect the components from electro-static discharge, and allow for deformation of the light guide plate without interfering with the electronic components. As per claim 2 , Sonoda in view of Kim teaches that the circuit board (circuit board 10 in Sonoda as modified by Kim) includes a third region (region of circuit board 10 in Sonoda corresponding to R3 in the annotated figure above) positioned closer to the outer peripheral side than the second region (region of circuit board 10 in Sonoda corresponding to R2 in the annotated figure above). As per claim 3 , Sonoda in view of Kim teaches that one or more of the electronic components (electronic element 322 from Kim) are arranged in the third region ( region of circuit board 10 in Sonoda corresponding to in the region shown as R3 in the annotated figure above). As per claim 4 , Sonoda in view of Kim teaches that the electronic components include a third electronic component in the third region (electronic element 322 from Kim in the region of circuit board 10 in Sonoda corresponding to the region shown as R3 in the annotated figure above), a distance between an end surface of the third electronic component and the member being shortest among the one or more of the electronic components arranged in the third region, the electronic components being arranged in such a manner that the distance between the end surface of the second electronic component (electronic element 322 from Kim in the region of circuit board 10 in Sonoda corresponding to the region shown as R2 in the annotated figure above) and the member is greater than the distance between the end surface of the third electronic component and the member (see figure 4 and Col. 7 lines 26-30 in Kim ). As per claim 5 , Sonoda teaches (in figures 3, 5, and 12) a light emitting body ( light-emitting element 31 ) arranged on the circuit board (circuit board 10) . As per claim 18, Sonoda in view of Kim, Kweon , and Wu teaches a watch (shown in figure 12 of Sonoda as modified in the rejection of claim 1 above) comprising: the display device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) ; a watch case ( upper and lower housing s 6 and 7 ) ; and a watch module (display device 8, circuit board 10 as modified by Kim, and battery 9) provided inside the watch case. As per claim 19, Sonoda in view of Kim, Kweon , and Wu teaches a watch comprising: the display device according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above) ; a watch case (upper and lower housings 6 and 7) ; and a watch module (display device 8, circuit board 10 as modified by Kim, and battery 9) provided inside the watch case. As per claim 20, Sonoda in view of Kim, Kweon , and Wu teaches a watch comprising: the display device according to claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above) ; a watch case (upper and lower housings 6 and 7) ; and a watch module (display device 8, circuit board 10 as modified by Kim, and battery 9) provided inside the watch case, wherein the third region (region of circuit board 10 in Sonoda corresponding to R3 in the annotated figure above) is disposed on a 6 o’clock side in plan view from a viewing side (third region formed as the outermost area of the circuit board which will correspond to an outer area of the display panel/watch and therefore be located on a 6 o’clock side as the 6 o’clock side can be defined by any radial line of a circle) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ALEXANDER P GROSS whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5660 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 9am-6pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Jennifer Carruth can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-9791 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALEXANDER P GROSS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871