DETAILED ACTION
Application and Claims Status
Applicant’s preliminary amendments filed on July 25, 2024 are acknowledged and entered.
Claims 1-20 were pending. In the amendment as filed on July 25, 2024, applicants have amended no claims; cancelled claims 1-20; and added new claims 21-22. Therefore, claims 21-22 are currently pending. Additionally, the present specification is also amended to: include the instant application’s proper relationship to other applications in the patent family; correct the labeling of figures.
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 17/307,985, filed on May 04,
2021 now abandoned, which is a divisional of U.S. Application No. 16/348,138, filed May 7, 2019
now granted as US11,034,690, which is a U.S. National Phase application, filed under 35 U.S.C.
§ 371, of International Application No. PCT/US2017/061330, filed on November 13, 2017, which
claims priority to, and the benefit of, U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/574,497, filed October
19, 2017; and U.S. Application No. 15/349,960, filed on November 11, 2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The three information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on July 1, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. All references have been considered except where marked with a strikethrough. A signed copy of Forms 1449 are included with this Office Action.
Examiner notes that the following minor informalities on the submitted IDS:
The following publication is listed twice on the IDS and is also provided twice in the Image File Wrapper: Sanders et al. “De novo lipogenesis in the liver in health and disease: more than just a shunting yard for glucose.” Biol. Rev. 91 (2016), pg 452-468.
The publication labeled “FINAL-OA-14874961_2017-04-11 (12 PAGES)” is misidentified as containing 12 pages, when it, in fact, contains 8 pages.
Specification – Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Exemplification of a species could be illustrative of members of the class. For processes, the type of reaction, reagents and process conditions should be stated, generally illustrated by a single example unless variations are necessary.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: it does not define the general nature of the compound or composition; it does not properly identify that the method is for treating acne. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification - Drawings
Acknowledgement is made of the replacement drawings received July 25, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification - Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any of the errors of which applicant may become aware of in the specification.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AlA), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treatment, does not reasonably provide enablement for prevention. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The following Wands factors have been considered if not explicitly discussed: (A) The breadth of the claims, (B) The nature of the invention, (C) The state of the prior art, (D) The level of one of ordinary skill, (E) The level of predictability in the art, (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor, (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The term “treating” is defined on page 188, para 00185 of the specification and said definition also embraces prevention.
It is presumed “prevention” of the claimed condition would require a method of identifying those individuals who will develop the claimed condition before they exhibit symptoms.
The factors to be considered in making an enablement rejection were summarized above. 1) Preventing diseases requires identifying those patients who will acquire the condition before the symptoms occur. This would require extensive and potentially open-ended clinical research on healthy subjects. 2) There is no working example of such a preventive procedure in man or animal in the specification. 4) The claims rejected are drawn to clinical pharmacology and are therefore physiological in nature. 5) The state of the art is that no general procedure is art-recognized for determining which patients generally will develop acne before the fact. 6) The artisan using Applicants invention would be a Board Certified physician. Despite intensive efforts, pharmaceutical science has been unable to find a way of getting a compound to be effective for the prevention of acne. Under such circumstances, it is proper for the PTO to require evidence that such an unprecedented feat has actually been accomplished, In re Ferens, 163 USPQ 609. No such evidence has been presented in this case. The failure of skilled scientists to achieve a goal is substantial evidence that achieving such a goal is beyond the skill of practitioners in that art, Genentech vs. Novo Nordisk, 42 USPQ2nd 1001, 1006. This establishes that it is not reasonable for any agent to be able to prevent acne. 7) It is well established that "the scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved" and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). 8) The claims broadly read on all patients, not just those undergoing therapy for the claimed conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 8,871,790 B2 in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,614,238 B2 and D’Arcangelis et al. (US 2005/0053661 A1; 3/10/2005).
‘790 claims the compound employed herein, particularly, pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, and compositions comprising the same.
‘790 does not expressly claim a method for treating acne using claimed compound.
However, the disclosed utilities of claimed compound and pharmaceutical composition of ‘790 are for the treatment of fatty acid synthase (FAS)-associated disorders by inhibiting fatty acid synthase, for example, in treating metabolic disorders such as steatosis and diabetes. See col 22, lines 15-49; col 95, lines 7-28.
‘238 teaches, “FAS is highly expressed in human sebocytes, lipid producing cells in the sebaceous glands. Acne is the most common disorder involving the sebaceous gland. The pathogenesis of acne involves lipid (over)production by the sebaceous gland” (col 1, lines 36-40). D’Argcangelis et al. teaches inhibitors of mammalian FAS that inhibit the production of sebum in sebocytes and that excessive sebum production is associated with acne. See, for example, Abstract; page 1, para 0004, 0019, 0023; page 2, para 0034; claim 1, claim 6, claim 12.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to practice the disclosed utility of ‘790 with the claimed compounds and pharmaceutical composition: treating acne. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the FAS inhibitor of ’790 for treating acne because the compound is particularly known as a FAS inhibitor. Further ‘238 and D’Arcangelis teach that FAS is highly expressed in sebocytes, acne is caused by lipid overproduction of sebaceous glands, and that inhibitors of mammalian FAS inhibit the production of sebum. Thus, treatment of the underlying etiology (sebum overproduction) would have a reasonable expectation of ameliorating the symptom (acne).
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings. (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 9,428,502 B2 in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,614,238 B2 and D’Arcangelis et al. (US 2005/0053661 A1; 3/10/2005). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of treating acne of instant independent claims 21-22 overlap in claimed matter with at least claim 4 of the issued U.S. patent.
In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See also Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharm. USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353, 86 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2008);Geneva Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F3d 1373, 1385-86, 68 USPQ2d 1865, 1875 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Here, the same compounds are recited in both the instant application and the reference patent. Claim 4 of ‘502 claims a method of inhibiting fatty acid synthase activity in subject by administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound that reads on the FAS inhibitor of instant claims 21-22. Claim 4 does not claim a method of treating acne using the compound of instant claims 21-22. As with the explanation for the USC § 103 rejection above, ‘238 B2 and D’Arcangelis teach that a FAS inhibitor reduces sebum production, where excess sebum production by the sebaceous glands is associated with acne.
The ordinary artisan would recognize as obvious that determination of whether acne is treatable with an FAS inhibitor is present, per instant claims 21-22, is implicit in the patented claim in view of Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, LTD. v. Eli Lilly and Company which states the following: “Similarly, in Pfizer, the earlier patent claimed several compounds and the specification disclosed their use in treating inflammation and inflammation-associated disorders. 518 F.3d at 1363 & n.9; see 5,563,165 (“’165 patent”), at [57], col.1 11.11-14, col.3 11.3-27. The later patent then claimed a method of using these compounds for treating inflammation, inflammation-associated disorders, and specific inflammation-associated disorders, including arthritis, pain, and fever. Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363 & n.9; see U.S. Patent No. 5,760,068 (“’068 patent”) col.97 1.49- col. 108 1.29. After rejecting the patentee’s objection to our consideration of the specification of the earlier patent, we determined that the later patent “merely claims a particular use described in the [earlier] patent of the claimed compositions of the [earlier] patent.” Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363 & n.8. As such, we concluded that the asserted claims of the later patent were not “patentably distinct” from the claims of the earlier patent, and thus the later patent was invalid for obviousness-type double patenting. Id. at 1368.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to practice the disclosed utility of ‘502 with the claimed compounds and pharmaceutical composition: treating acne. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the compound of ‘502 for inhibiting FAS activity and use it to treat acne, which is another condition that can be ameliorated through inhibition of FAS activity.
Claims 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,871,790 B2 in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,614,238 B2 and D’Arcangelis et al. (US 2005/0053661 A1; 3/10/2005). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of treating acne of instant independent claims 21-22 overlap in claimed matter with at least claim 20 and the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure of the issued U.S. patent. The exact same reasoning for this NSDP rejection is applied from the previous reasoning of the first NSDP rejection written above.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/L.A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624