DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Franklin et al. (US 2013/0203522).
Regarding claim 1, Franklin et al. discloses a putter having a first body including a striking face and a rear portion extending rearward from the striking face. Franklin et al. also discloses a centerline CL which would be equivalent to a face center plane (See Figure 3). The centerline passes through the face center of the striking face and is perpendicular to the ground plane. Franklin et al. also discloses the angle surface members on the heel 26 and toe 28 of the putterhead wherein the angle between the two toe surface angle surfaces 28 and 46 is 95 to 175 degrees (See Paragraph 0063). If a line parallel to the striking face is drawn through the center of the angle, the angle of the toeward angled surface 28 in relation to the parallel line is 47.5 to 87.5 degrees. This implies that the angle from the centerline to the toe angle surface 28 is 2.5 to 42.5 degrees.
Regarding claim 2, see the above regarding claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franklin eta l. (US 2013/0203522).
Regarding claim 3, Franklin et al. discloses the first body member including an angled toe surface having an angle relative to the face center plane wherein the plane extending along the angle toe surface intersects the face center plane at a distance. Since the angle can vary, the distance would vary due to its dependency on the angle of the toe surface angle. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the intersection point of plane extending along the angled toe surface and the face center plane of any distance, as taught by Franklin et al., in order to distribute the weight of the putter head as desired.
Regarding claim 4, see the above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Franklin et al. discloses the first body member including an angled heel surface having an angle relative to the face center plane wherein the plane extending along the angle heel surface intersects the face center plane at a distance. Since the angle can vary, the distance would vary due to its dependency on the angle of the heel surface angle. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the intersection point of plane extending along the angled toe surface and the face center plane of any distance, as taught by Franklin et al., in order to distribute the weight of the putter head as desired.
Regarding claim 11, Franklin et al. discloses a putter having a first body including a striking face and a rear portion extending rearward from the striking face. Franklin et al. also discloses a centerline CL which would be equivalent to a face center plane (See Figure 3). The centerline passes through the face center of the striking face and is perpendicular to the ground plane. Franklin et al. also discloses the angle surface members on the heel 26 and toe 28 of the putterhead wherein the angle between the two toe surface angle surfaces 28 and 46 is 95 to 175 degrees (See Paragraph 0063). If a line parallel to the striking face is drawn through the center of the angle, the angle of the toeward angled surface 28 in relation to the parallel line is 47.5 to 87.5 degrees. This implies that the angle from the centerline to the toe angle surface 28 is 2.5 to 42.5 degrees. Since the angle of the toe angle surface can vary, a distance between the face center plane and a plane extending along the angled toe surface would vary due to its dependency on the angle of the toe surface angle. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the intersection point of plane extending along the angled toe surface and the face center plane of any distance, as taught by Franklin et al., in order to distribute the weight of the putter head as desired.
Regarding claim 12, see the above regarding claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Franklin et al. discloses the first body member including an angled heel surface having an angle relative to the face center plane wherein the plane extending along the angle heel surface intersects the face center plane at a distance. Since the angle can vary, the distance would vary due to its dependency on the angle of the heel surface angle.
Regarding claim 14, Franklin et al. discloses the angled heel surface being symmetrical with the angled toe surface about the face center (See Figure 3, 16, and Paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 15, see the above regarding claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711