DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a) On line 3 of claim 1, the abbreviation, "USIM" should be presented for what it stands for. It is same for claim 10.
b) On line 7 of claim 1, the phrase, "a device profile", seems refer back “a device profile” recited on line 4 of claim 1. If it is true, It is suggested to change “a device profile” to “the device profile”. It is same for claim 10.
c) On line 5 of claim 1, the phrase, "in in" should be change to “in”. It is same for claim 10.
d) On line 7 of claim 1, the word, "on" should be change to “one”. It is same for claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hentschel (US Pat Pub. No. 2018/0054517).
Regarding claim 1, Hentschel discloses a computer-implemented method of providing a virtual SIM-based card pool, the method comprising steps of:
downloading a USIM profile and associated information, the associated information including a device profile, a cryptographic signature corresponding to the USIM profile, or both (See at least paragraphs 36 and 42 discloses wherein SIM activation equipment download and store SIM profiles and related information; SIM profile including personal identifier (PIN) is downloaded; verify the UE for cellular communication system associated with the SIM profiles; further paragraph 31 shows SIM profile includes information specifies a cellular network phone number, authentication procedure which includes IMSI, key, PIN and PUK);
storing the USIM profile in in a profile information database, the profile information database including a plurality of USIM profiles (See at least paragraph 36 discloses wherein SIM activation equipment download and store SIM profiles and related information; paragraph 39 discloses SIM profiles stores in the SIM profile database);
wherein a device profile includes one or more indications of mobile device types,
on or more indications of telecommunication carriers, one or more indications of Application Programmiong Interfaces (APIs), or combinations thereof (paragraph 8 and 53 discloses a smart phone can be activated and verified of the SIM profile loaded into the eSIM for the UE; paragraph 38 further discloses a network provider of cellular system for which the UE being configured), and
wherein the steps are performed by a computing device including one or more processors coupled to one or more hardware memories (See at least paragraphs 40 and 43 discloses eSIM activation device having controller which performs the functions).
Regarding claim 2, Hentschel discloses downloading the USIM profile comprises: receiving a triggering instruction; establishing a data connection with a remote server; downloading the USIM profile and the associated information from the remote server using the data connection (See at least paragraphs 42 and 53 discloses eSIM activation device to establish data connection to download the eSIM profile).
Regarding claim 3, Hentschel discloses downloading the USIM profile is performed in response to receiving an activation code through a user interface (See at least paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 4, Hentschel discloses downloading the USIM profile comprises: establishing a data connection with a first remote server; receiving a routing instruction from the first remote server, downloading the USIM profile and the associated information from a second remote server determined using the routing instruction; and verifying the source of the USIM profile using the cryptographic signature (See at least paragraphs 42 and 53 discloses eSIM activation device to establish data connection to download the eSIM profile).
Regarding claim 5, Hentschel discloses generating, based on the USIM profile stored in the profile information database and the associated information, a USIM instance stored as software in a virtual SIM container of a virtual card pool, the virtual card pool including a plurality of virtual SIM containers (See at least paragraphs 37-38); receiving an external SIM authentication request generated by a mobile device; generating, using the USIM instance, a response to the external SIM authentication request; and causing the response to be transmitted to the mobile device (See at least paragraphs 38-39).
Regarding claim 6, Hentschel discloses generating the USIM instance comprises verifying the source of the USIM profile using the cryptographic signature included in the associated information (See at least paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 8, Hentschel discloses causing the USIM profile and the cryptographic signature included in the associated information to be transmitted to an external application, wherein the cryptographic signature is configured to enable the mobile device to verifying the source of the USIM profile (See at least paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 9, Hentschel discloses causing the USIM profile and the device profile included in the associated information to be transmitted to an external application, wherein the device profile is configured to enable the external application to determine the capabilities of the USIM profile, the capabilities including one or more device types the USIM profile is configured for use in, one or more telecommunication carriers the USIM profile is configured to communication with, one or more APIs the USIM profile is configured to use, or combinations thereof (See at least paragraphs 42 and 53 discloses verification of the SIM profile).
Regarding claim 10, Hentschel discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media (CRM) comprising computer programming instructions which, when executed by a processor of a device (See at least paragraphs 40 and 43 discloses eSIM activation device having a memory and a controller which performs the functions), cause the device to perform steps comprising:
downloading a USIM profile and associated information, the associated information including a device profile, a cryptographic signature corresponding to the USIM profile, or both (See at least paragraphs 36 and 42 discloses wherein SIM activation equipment download and store SIM profiles and related information; SIM profile including personal identifier (PIN) is downloaded; verify the UE for cellular communication system associated with the SIM profiles; further paragraph 31 shows SIM profile includes information specifies a cellular network phone number, authentication procedure which includes IMSI, key, PIN and PUK);
storing the USIM profile in in a profile information database, the profile information database including a plurality of USIM profiles (See at least paragraph 36 discloses wherein SIM activation equipment download and store SIM profiles and related information; paragraph 39 discloses SIM profiles stores in the SIM profile database);
wherein a device profile includes one or more indications of mobile device types, on or more indications of telecommunication carriers, one or more indications of Application Programming Interface (APIs), or combinations thereof (See at least paragraph 8 and 53 discloses a smart phone can be activated and verified of the SIM profile loaded into the eSIM for the UE; paragraph 38 further discloses a network provider of cellular system for which the UE being configured), and
wherein the steps are performed by a computing device including one or more processors coupled to one or more hardware memories (See at least paragraphs 40 and 43 discloses eSIM activation device having controller which performs the functions).
Regarding claim 11, Hentschel discloses downloading the USIM profile comprises: receiving a triggering instruction; establishing a data connection with a remote server; downloading the USIM profile and the associated information from the remote server using the data connection (See at least paragraphs 42 and 53 discloses eSIM activation device to establish data connection to download the eSIM profile).
Regarding claim 12, Hentschel discloses downloading the USIM profile is performed in response to receiving an activation code through a user interface (See at least paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 13, Hentschel discloses downloading the USIM profile comprises: establishing a data connection with a first remote server; receiving a routing instruction from the first remote server, downloading the USIM profile and the associated information from a second remote server determined using the routing instruction; and verifying the source of the USIM profile using the cryptographic signature (See at least paragraphs 42 and 53 discloses eSIM activation device to establish data connection to download the eSIM profile).
Regarding claim 14, Hentschel discloses the steps further comprise: generating, based on the USIM profile stored in the profile information database and the associated information, a USIM instance stored as software in a virtual SIM container of a virtual card pool, the virtual card pool including a plurality of virtual SIM containers (See at least paragraphs 37-38); receiving an external SIM authentication request generated by a mobile device; generating, using the USIM instance, a response to the external SIM authentication request; and causing the response to be transmitted to the mobile device (See at least paragraphs 38-39).
Regarding claim 15, Hentschel discloses generating the USIM instance comprises verifying the source of the USIM profile using the cryptographic signature included in the associated information (See at least paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 17, Hentschel discloses the steps further comprise: causing the USIM profile and the cryptographic signature included in the associated information to be transmitted to an external application, wherein the cryptographic signature is configured to enable the mobile device to verifying the source of the USIM profile (See at least paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 18, Hentschel discloses causing the USIM profile and the device profile included in the associated information to be transmitted to an external application, wherein the device profile is configured to enable the external application to determine the capabilities of the USIM profile, the capabilities including one or more device types the USIM profile is configured for use in, one or more telecommunication carriers the USIM profile is configured to communication with, one or more APIs the USIM profile is configured to use, or combinations thereof (See at least paragraphs 42 and 53 discloses verification of the SIM profile).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0104401) are cited to show an electronic device for downloading a profile for service provision.
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642