DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant hereby elects Species (Embodiment) I as identified by the Examiner and identifies claims 1-3, 6-10, 16, 17, 19 and 20 as encompassing the elected species. Claims 4, 5 and 18 are hereby withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 11, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Yim et al. (US 10/071,639).
Regarding claim 1, Yim et al. in [Fig. 1], discloses a system for an electric vehicle [see col. 3, ll. 5-18], the system comprising:
a battery [see 101];
a power electronics module [see inverter 115 corresponding to the power electronics module] to connect to the battery [see 101];
an electric motor [see 117] comprising a plurality of phase windings [see phase windings of motor 117] and a neutral point [see neutral “wire” point connected in series with switch 121 of the motor 117], each of the plurality of phase windings [see phase windings of motor 117] connected between the power electronics module [see 115] and the neutral point [see neutral “wire” point out connected in series with switch 121 of motor 117];
a port to connect to an external device [see external power supply 123 corresponding to the external device is connected to the charging system via a plug in ports which are connected to a positive and negative electrode bus of the charging system], the port comprising a first terminal and a second terminal [such that the plug in type external power supply 123 would be include a first and second terminal ports connected to the respective positive and negative electrode buses of the charging system];
and at least one electrical switch [see switches 119 and 121] to selectively connect the first “positive” terminal of the port to the neutral point of the electric motor [see motor 117] and to selectively connect via switches 119 and 121 the second “negative” terminal of the port to the power electronics module [see 115].
Regarding claim 3, Yim et al. in [Fig. 1],discloses the system of claim 2, wherein: the external device [see 123] comprises a charger providing alternating current (AC) power [see col. 4, ll. 26-34]; and the electric motor [see 117] and the power electronics module [see 115] are to rectify and boost the AC power to charge the battery [see 101 and col. 5, ll. 49-55].
Regarding claim 16, Yim et al. in [Fig. 1], discloses a method for an electric vehicle [see 0003] comprising an electric motor [see 120 and 0043], a power electronics module [see motor controller 120 corresponding to the power electronics module], and a port [see DC charging and discharging ports connected to a bus positive electrode and a bus negative electrode of the motor controller 120 and 0044], the method comprising: connecting via switch K4 a neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N in Fig. 2] of the electric motor [see 130] to the power electronics module [see 120] to drive the electric motor [see 0044]; and responsive to an external device being connected to the port [see respective ports of the external DC charging and discharging device connected to a bus positive electrode of the motor controller 120, a positive series connection switch K4 of the DC charging and discharging port is connected to the lead-out neutral wire of the motor and a negative series connection switch K3 of the DC charging and discharging port is connected to a bus negative electrode of the motor controller 120 and 0044]: connecting via switch K4 the neutral point [see labeled N in Fig. 2] of the electric motor [130] to a first terminal of the port [see first terminal of DC charging and discharging device port connected to the bus positive electrode of 120 and 0044], and connecting via switch K3 the power electronics module [see 120 and 0044] to a second terminal of the port [see second terminal of DC charging and discharging device port connected the bus negative electrode of 120 and 0044].
Regarding claim 17, Yim et al. in [Fig. 1], discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the external device [see 123] comprises a charger providing alternating current (AC) power [see col. 4, ll. 26-34], the method comprising: operating the power electronics module [see 115] to rectify and boost the AC power to produce direct current (DC) power to charge a battery [see 101 and col. 5, ll. 49-55] of the electric vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2025/0286387).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. in [Fig. 2], discloses a system for an electric vehicle [see 0003], the system comprising:
a battery [see power battery 110];
a power electronics module [see motor controller 120 corresponding to the power electronics module] to connect to the battery [see 110];
an electric motor [see 130] comprising a plurality of phase windings [see 131] and a neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N out from the motor 130 and 0043-0044], each of the plurality of phase windings [see 131] connected between the power electronics module [see 120] and the neutral point [see neutral “wire” point out labeled N from the motor 130 and 0043-0044];
a port to connect to an external device, the port comprising a first terminal and a second terminal [see respective ports of the external DC charging and discharging device connected to a bus positive electrode of the motor controller 120, a positive series connection switch K4 of the DC charging and discharging port is connected to the lead-out neutral wire of the motor and a negative series connection switch K3 of the DC charging and discharging port is connected to a bus negative electrode of the motor controller 120 and 0044];
and at least one electrical switch [see switch K4] to selectively connect the first terminal of the port to the neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N] of the electric motor [see motor 130] and to selectively connect via switch K3 the second terminal of the port to the power electronics module [see motor controller 120].
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al. in [Fig. 2], discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one electrical switch [see switches K3 and K4] is to connect the first terminal of the port to the neutral point of the electric motor [see motor 130] and to connect the second terminal of the port to the power electronics module [see motor controller 120] when the port is connected to the external device [see DC charging and discharging corresponding to the external device and 0043-0044].
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. in [Fig. 2], discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the at least one electrical switch [see switches K3 and K4] is to disconnect the first terminal of the port from the neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N] of the electric motor [see 130] and to disconnect the second terminal of the port from the power electronics module [see motor controller 120] when the port is disconnected from the external device [see DC charging and discharging corresponding to the external device and 0043-0044].
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al. in [Fig. 2], discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the at least one electrical switch [see switch K6] is to connect the neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N] of the electric motor [see 130] to the power electronics module [see 120] when the port [see via switch K4 and K5 is open or disconnected] is disconnected from the external device [see DC charging and discharging corresponding to the external device and 0043-0044].
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al. in [Fig. 2], discloses the system of claim 6, wherein when the port is disconnected from the external device [see via switch K4 and K5 is open or disconnected from the DC charging and discharging device], the power electronics module [see 120] is to invert direct current (DC) power from the battery [see 110] to produce alternating current (AC) power to drive the electric motor [see 130 and 0044].
Regarding claim 16, Zhang et al. in [Fig. 2], discloses a method for an electric vehicle [see 0003] comprising an electric motor [see 120 and 0043], a power electronics module [see motor controller 120 corresponding to the power electronics module], and a port [see DC charging and discharging ports connected to a bus positive electrode and a bus negative electrode of the motor controller 120 and 0044], the method comprising: connecting via switch K4 a neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N in Fig. 2] of the electric motor [see 130] to the power electronics module [see 120] to drive the electric motor [see 0044]; and responsive to an external device being connected to the port [see respective ports of the external DC charging and discharging device connected to a bus positive electrode of the motor controller 120, a positive series connection switch K4 of the DC charging and discharging port is connected to the lead-out neutral wire of the motor and a negative series connection switch K3 of the DC charging and discharging port is connected to a bus negative electrode of the motor controller 120 and 0044]: connecting via switch K4 the neutral point [see labeled N in Fig. 2] of the electric motor [130] to a first terminal of the port [see first terminal of DC charging and discharging device port connected to the bus positive electrode of 120 and 0044], and connecting via switch K3 the power electronics module [see 120 and 0044] to a second terminal of the port [see second terminal of DC charging and discharging device port connected the bus negative electrode of 120 and 0044].
Regarding claim 19, Zhang et al. in [Fig. 2], discloses the method of claim 16, comprising: responsive to the external device [see DC charging and discharging device] being disconnected via switch K4 from the port [see 0044], reconnecting via switch K6 the neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N in Fig. 2] of the electric motor [see 130] power electronics module [0044].
Regarding claim 20, Zhang et al. in [Fig. 2], discloses the method of claim 16, comprising: operating the power electronics module [see 120] to invert direct current (DC) power from a battery [see 110] of the electric vehicle to produce alternating current (AC) power to drive the electric motor [see 130] when the external device [see DC charging and discharging device] is disconnected via switches K4 and K5 from the port [see 0044].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lian et al. (US 2022/0289053).
Regarding claim 1, Lian et al. in [Fig. 12], discloses a system for an electric vehicle [see 0003], the system comprising:
a battery [see 101];
a power electronics module [see PWM rectifier 102 corresponding to the power electronics module] to connect to the battery [see 101];
an electric motor [see 103] comprising a plurality of phase windings [see phases labeled A2-C2] and a neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N2 out from the motor 103], each of the plurality of phase windings [see AC-C2] connected between the power electronics module [see 102] and the neutral point [see neutral “wire” point out labeled N2 from the motor 130];
a port to connect to an external device [see negative and positive ports of the DC port which is connected to an external DC device terminals and 0057], the port comprising a first terminal and a second terminal [see respective ports of the DC port connected to a bus positive electrode, a positive series connection switches K4 and K5, and a bus negative electrode of PWM rectifier 102 via switch K6];
and at least one electrical switch [see switches K4 and K5] to selectively connect the first terminal of the port to the neutral point [see N2] of the electric motor [see motor 103] and to selectively connect via switch K6 the second terminal of the port [e.g. negative port] to the power electronics module [see PWM rectifier 102].
Regarding claim 2, Lian et al. in [Fig. 12], discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one electrical switch [see switches K4 and K5] is to connect the first terminal of the port [see positive port] to the neutral point [see N2] of the electric motor [see motor 103] and to connect the second terminal via switch K6 of the port [see negative port] to the power electronics module [see PWM rectifier 102] when the port is connected to the external device [see DC port which is connected to an external DC device and 0057].
Regarding claim 6, Lian et al. in [Fig. 12], discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the at least one electrical switch [see switches K4 and K5] is to disconnect the first terminal of the port [see positive port] from the neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N2] of the electric motor [see 103] and to disconnect the second terminal via switch K6 of the port [see negative port] from the power electronics module [see PWM rectifier 102] when the port is disconnected from the external device [see DC port which is connected to an external DC device 0057].
Regarding claim 7, Lian et al. in [Fig. 12], discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the at least one electrical switch [see switches K4 and K6] is to connect the neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N2] of the electric motor [see 103] to the power electronics module [see PWM rectifier 102] when the port [see via switch K5 is open or disconnected] is disconnected from the external device [see DC port].
Regarding claim 8, Lian et al. in [Fig. 12], discloses the system of claim 6, wherein when the port is disconnected from the external device [see via switch K4 and K5 is open or disconnected from the DC port], the power electronics module [see PWM rectifier 102] is to invert direct current (DC) power from the battery [see 101] to produce alternating current (AC) power to drive the electric motor [see 103 and 0056 and 0136].
Regarding claim 9, Lian et al. in [Fig. 12], discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of phase windings [see phases labeled A2-C2] comprises three phase windings [see 0052]; the power electronics module [see PWM rectifier 102] comprises three sets of electrical switches [see VT1-VT6] connected at points A, B, C to three phase windings [see A2-C2], respectively; and the power electronics module [see PWM rectifier 102] further comprises a fourth set of electric switches [see VT7-VT8] to connect to the second “negative” terminal of the port [see DC port which is connected to an external DC device and 0057].
Regarding claim 16, Lian et al. in [Fig. 12], discloses a method for an electric vehicle [see 0003] comprising an electric motor [see 103], a power electronics module [see PWM rectifier 102 corresponding to the power electronics module], and a port [see positive and negative ports connected to a bus positive electrode and a bus negative electrode DC port], the method comprising: connecting via switches K4 and K5 a neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N2 in Fig. 12] of the electric motor [see 103] to the power electronics module [see 102] to drive the electric motor [see 103]; and responsive to an external device being connected to the port [see respective positive and negative ports of the external DC device connected to the DC ports], the method comprising: connecting via switches K4 and K5 the neutral point [see labeled N2 in Fig. 12] of the electric motor [103] to a first terminal of the port [see first “positive” terminal of DC device port connected to the bus positive electrode], and connecting via switch K6 the power electronics module [see PWM rectifier 102] to a second terminal of the port [see second “negative” terminal of DC device port connected the bus negative electrode of the PWM rectifier 102].
Regarding claim 19, Lian et al. in [Fig. 12], discloses the method of claim 16, comprising: responsive to the external device [see DC port which is connected to an external DC device] being disconnected via switch K4 from the port [e.g. positive port], reconnecting via switch K6 the neutral point [see neutral “wire” point labeled N2 in Fig. 2] of the electric motor [see 103] power electronics module [0044].
Regarding claim 20, Lian et al. in [Fig. 12], discloses the method of claim 16, comprising: operating the power electronics module [see PWM rectifier 102] to invert direct current (DC) power from a battery [see 101] of the electric vehicle to produce alternating current (AC) power to drive the electric motor [see 103] when the external device [see DC port which is connected to an external device and 0056- 0057 and 0137] is disconnected via switches K4 and K5 from the “positive” port.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0286387) and in view of Yim et al. (US 10/071,639).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang et al. in [Fig. 2], discloses the system of claim 2, except for wherein: the external device comprises a charger providing alternating current (AC) power; and the electric motor and the power electronics module are to rectify and boost the AC power to charge the battery.
However, Yim et al. in [Fig. 1], discloses the system of claim 2, wherein: the external device [see 123] comprises a charger providing alternating current (AC) power [see col. 4, ll. 26-34]; and the electric motor [see 117] and the power electronics module [see 115] are to rectify and boost the AC power to charge the battery [see 101 and col. 5, ll. 49-55].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filling date of the invention to modify the external device comprising a charger of Zhang et al. with an charger providing alternating current power; and the electric motor and the power electronics module are to rectify and boost the AC power to charge the battery as taught by Yim in order to improve the existing charging system by integrating a bidirectional converter which performs boost control using the bidirectional converter to boost the input voltage to the on-board battery voltage improving the targeted battery voltage.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang et al. in [Fig. 2], discloses the method of claim 16, except wherein the external device comprises a charger providing alternating current (AC) power, the method comprising: operating the power electronics module to rectify and boost the AC power to produce direct current (DC) power to charge a battery of the electric vehicle.
However, Yim et al. in [Fig. 1], discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the external device [see 123] comprises a charger providing alternating current (AC) power [see col. 4, ll. 26-34], the method comprising: operating the power electronics module [see 115] to rectify and boost the AC power to produce direct current (DC) power to charge a battery [see 101 and col. 5, ll. 49-55] of the electric vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filling date of the invention to modify the external device comprising a charger of Zhang et al. with an charger providing alternating current power; and the electric motor and the power electronics module are to rectify and boost the AC power to charge the battery as taught by Yim in order to improve the existing charging system by integrating a bidirectional converter which performs boost control using the bidirectional converter to boost the input voltage to the on-board battery voltage improving the targeted battery voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lian et al. (US 2022/0289053) and in view of Yim et al. (US 10/071,639).
Regarding claim 3, Lian et al. in [Fig. 12], discloses the system of claim 2, except for wherein: the external device comprises a charger providing alternating current (AC) power; and the electric motor and the power electronics module are to rectify and boost the AC power to charge the battery.
However, Yim et al. in [Fig. 1], discloses the system of claim 2, wherein: the external device [see 123] comprises a charger providing alternating current (AC) power [see col. 4, ll. 26-34]; and the electric motor [see 117] and the power electronics module [see 115] are to rectify and boost the AC power to charge the battery [see 101 and col. 5, ll. 49-55].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filling date of the invention to modify the external device comprising a charger of Lian et al. with an charger providing alternating current power; and the electric motor and the power electronics module are to rectify and boost the AC power to charge the battery as taught by Yim in order to improve the existing charging system by integrating a bidirectional converter which performs boost control using the bidirectional converter to boost the input voltage to the on-board battery voltage improving the targeted battery voltage.
Regarding claim 17, Lian et al. in [Fig. 12], discloses the method of claim 16, except wherein the external device comprises a charger providing alternating current (AC) power, the method comprising: operating the power electronics module to rectify and boost the AC power to produce direct current (DC) power to charge a battery of the electric vehicle.
However, Yim et al. in [Fig. 1], discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the external device [see 123] comprises a charger providing alternating current (AC) power [see col. 4, ll. 26-34], the method comprising: operating the power electronics module [see 115] to rectify and boost the AC power to produce direct current (DC) power to charge a battery [see 101 and col. 5, ll. 49-55] of the electric vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filling date of the invention to modify the external device comprising a charger of Lian et al. with an charger providing alternating current power; and the electric motor and the power electronics module are to rectify and boost the AC power to charge the battery as taught by Yim in order to improve the existing charging system by integrating a bidirectional converter which performs boost control using the bidirectional converter to boost the input voltage to the on-board battery voltage improving the targeted battery voltage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 9, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art reference of record failed to teach or suggest
the at least one switch is to connect the second terminal of the port between the first electrical switch and the second electrical switch of the fourth set of electrical switches as set forth in the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/TERRENCE R WILLOUGHBY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 12/4/25
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836