DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because, contrary to the Applicant’s argument, Kim discloses the argued limitation.
On page 10-13, the Applicant argues that Kim does not disclose the r-TWT SPs corresponding to different STAs may overlap with each other.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. In paragraph [0093]-[0094], Kim is describing the STAs are r-TWT scheduled. Referring back to figs. 3-4, it is clear that different TWT SPs corresponding to different STAs (e.g. TWT SP 430-1 corresponding to STA 421, TWT SP 430-2 corresponding to STA 422, TWT SP 430-3 corresponding to STA 423, and so on). It is also clear that each of the TWT SPs (TWT SP 430-1, 430-2, and TWT SP 430-3) associated to respective STAs (STAs 421, 422, and 423) are overlapped or aligned each other (e.g. fig. 4; paragraph [0062]).
Therefore, the above arguments is not persuasive in view of Kim and the brief response to the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2023/0413343 A1).
Regrading claim 1, Kim discloses a long-distance Wi-Fi communication method, which is performed by an apparatus (e.g. fig. 2; paragraph [0051]-[0057]; [0143]; and on, illustrating Wi-Fu communication between STA and AP), comprising: connecting with a network node at a contention access stage (paragraph [0004]; [0134]-[0135]; [0142]-[0146]; [0058]; and etc., explaining connecting the STA and AP at contention-based channel access); receiving a target wake time (TWT) configuration at the contention access stage from a network node, wherein the TWT configuration comprises a TWT service period (SP) and a TWT interval associated with the apparatus (figs. 3, 17-18, 24, 32-33, paragraph [0058]; [0157]; [0118]-[0120]; [0184]; [0204]; [0250] and so on, describing the reception of TWT configuration at the contention-based access from the AP, where the TWT configuration comprises TWT SP and interval or duration or time period related to the STA); and performing a communication with the network node during the TWT SP based on the TWT configuration at a contention-free stage (paragraph [0250]; [0143]-[0145]; and so on, the STA communicates with the AP during the TWT SP at a contention-free channel access), wherein the TWT SP associated with the apparatus overlaps with another TWT SP associated with another apparatus (figs. 3-4; 7-8, 14-15,19-21, paragraph [0062]; [0093]; [0113]; and so on); wherein the another TWT SP is configured to the another apparatus by the network to communicate with the network node during the another TWT SP (figs. 3-4; paragraph [0058]-[0062]; and so on).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a long-distance Wi-Fi communication method, which is performed by a network node (e.g. fig. 2; paragraph [0051]-[0057]; [0143]; and on), comprising: connecting with at least one station (STA) at a contention access stage (paragraph [0004]; [0134]-[0135]; [0142]-[0146]; [0058]; and etc.); transmitting at least one target wake time (TWT) configuration to the at least one STA at the contention access stage, wherein each TWT configuration comprises a TWT service period (SP) and a TWT interval associated with the STA (figs. 3, 17-18, 24, 32-33, paragraph [0058]; [0157]; [0118]-[0120]; [0184]; [0204]; [0250] and so on); and performing a communication with the at least one STA during the corresponding TWT SP based on the at least one TWT configuration at a contention-free stage (paragraph [0250]; [0143]-[0145]; and so on), wherein the at least one STA comprises a first STA and a second STA, the first TWT SP associated with the first STA overlaps with a second TWT SP associated with a second STA (figs. 3-4, 7-8, 14-15,19-21, paragraph [0058]-[0062]; [0093]; [0113]; and so on).
Regarding claim 18, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejected to claim 1. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding apparatus, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the step of performing the communication with the network node comprises receiving or transmitting a data frame or a management frame from or to the network node (paragraph [0063]-[0064]; [0071]; [0080]; [0092]-[0094]; [0097]-[0098]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 3, 13, and 20, Kim further discloses comprising: not receiving or transmitting data from or to the network node at the contention access stage (paragraph [0143]-[0145]; [0152]-[0156]; and so on).
Regarding claim 4, 14, and 19, Kim discloses wherein the TWT configuration is transmitted by the network node through an un-solicited response at the contention access stage (paragraph [0070]-[0071; [0078]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim further discloses comprising: receiving a trigger frame from the network node at a beginning of the TWT SP (paragraph [0076]; [0080]-[0081];[0083]-[0084]; [0120]-[0121]; [0124]-[0126]; [0129]-[0131]; [0133]-[0140]; and so on); transmitting a power saving (PS)-poll frame to the network node to indicate the start of handshake of the TWT SP (paragraph [0080]; [0084]; and etc.); and receiving an acknowledgement (ACK) frame for the PS-poll frame from the network node during the TWT SP (paragraph [0080]; [0084]; and so on).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the step of performing the communication with the network node further comprising: receiving a downlink (DL) data frame from the network node during the TWT SP (figs. 7-9; paragraph [0080]; [0084]; [0089]); and transmitting a block acknowledgement (BA) frame for the DL data frame to the network node during the TWT SP (figs. 7-9; paragraph [0080]; [0084]; [0089]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the step of performing the communication with the network node further comprising: receiving a buffer state report poll (BSRP) frame from the network node during the TWT SP (paragraph [0133]; [0154]; [0193]; [0228]; [0248]-[0252]); transmitting a buffer state report (BSR) in response to the BSRP to the network node during the TWT SP (paragraph [0133]); receiving a BA frame for the BSR from the network node during the TWT SP (paragraph [0133]); receiving a trigger frame from the network node during the TWT SP (paragraph [0120]-[0121]; [0135]; [0224]; and so on); and transmitting an uplink (UL) trigger-based (TB) packet protocol data unit (PDDU) to the network node during the TWT SP (paragraph [0124]; [0172]-[0173]; [0241]-[0242]; and so on).
Regarding claim 10, Kim further discloses comprising: setting a timer to a specific value to disable the contention access procedure after receiving the TWT configuration (paragraph [0212]; [0205]-[0206]; [0186]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses wherein the step of performing the communication with the at least one STA comprises transmitting or receiving a data frame or a management frame to or from the at least one STA to realize a time division multiple access (TDMA) communication (paragraph [0063]-[0064]; [0071]; [0080]; [0092]-[0094]; [0097]-[0098]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses when the communication between the first STA and the network node is completed before the first TWT SP ends, the method further comprises: transmitting a trigger frame to the second STA at in a section of the second TWT SP overlapping with the first TWT SP after the communication between the first STA and the network node is completed (figs. 3-4, 7-8, 14-15,19-21, paragraph [0058]-[0062]; [0093]; [0113]; and so on); receiving a PS-Poll frame for indicating a start of handshake of the second TWT SP from the second STA during the second TWT SP; and transmitting an acknowledgement (ACK) frame for the PS-poll frame to the second STA during the second TWT SP (figs. 7-8, 14-15, and19-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim over Jeong et al. (US 2018/0213464 A1).
Regarding claim 9 and 17, as applied above, Kim discloses block acknowledgement (BA) and acknowledgement (ACK). However, Kim doesn’t disclose comprising: setting a BA waiting timeout or an ACK waiting timeout in the long-distance Wi-Fi communication, wherein the BA waiting timeout or the ACK waiting timeout in the long-distance Wi-Fi communication is longer than a default BA waiting timeout or a default ACK waiting timeout.
Jeong teaches BA and ACK. However, Kim doesn’t disclose comprising: setting a BA waiting timeout or an ACK waiting timeout in the long-distance Wi-Fi communication, wherein the BA waiting timeout or the ACK waiting timeout in the long-distance Wi-Fi communication is longer than a default BA waiting timeout or a default ACK waiting timeout (paragraph [0213]; [0236]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to use BA and ACK. However, Kim doesn’t disclose comprising: setting a BA waiting timeout or an ACK waiting timeout in the long-distance Wi-Fi communication, wherein the BA waiting timeout or the ACK waiting timeout in the long-distance Wi-Fi communication is longer than a default BA waiting timeout or a default ACK waiting timeout as taught by Jeong into Kim in order to improve efficiency and quality of communication.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461