DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2023 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1 line 10 applicant claims “event ,”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2 and 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE (US PgPub No. 20120307042).
Regarding claim 1, LEE teaches a focusing method being applied to an unmanned aerial vehicle (figure 1 item 100), the unmanned aerial vehicle being provided with an aerial camera (figure 1 item 30), the method comprising: obtaining an far focus of the aerial camera, in response to the unmanned aerial vehicle is at a high altitude (paragraphs 0022 – 0023; obtain focus and adjusting focus based on flight paragraphs 0009 - 0011, 0020, and 0025); obtaining a preset focus interval according to the far focus, wherein a minimum value of the preset focus interval is less than the far focus, and a maximum value of the preset focus interval is greater than or equal to the far focus (paragraphs 0022 – 0024, focus range with minimum and maximum ratio to fall within the preset range); and in response to a current image site of the aerial camera is greater than the maximum value, or the current image site is less than the minimum value, obtaining a first sharpness statistical value from a last focusing event, and determining whether to perform focus according to the first sharpness statistical value (figure 2B item S212 “No” then proceeds to items S214 – S215; sharpness statistical value being focus threshold value).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, LEE teaches in response to the unmanned aerial vehicle is not at the high altitude, determining whether to perform focus according to the first sharpness statistical value (figure 2B items S210, “No at item S210 to go to S212 leading to item S214; sharpness statistical value being focus threshold value).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, LEE teaches wherein the method further comprises: in response to the current image site is less than or equal to the maximum value of the preset focus interval, and the current image site is greater than or equal to the minimum value of the preset focus interval, determining not to perform focus (figure 2B item S213; focus within range and stop).
Regarding claim 8, LEE teaches a focusing device applied to an unmanned aerial vehicle (figure 1 item 100) on which an aerial camera is provided (figure 1 item 30), wherein the device comprises: a first acquisition unit configured to obtain a far focus of the aerial camera in response to the unmanned aerial vehicle is at a high altitude (paragraphs 0022 – 0023; obtain focus and adjusting focus based on flight paragraphs 0009 - 0011, 0020, and 0025); a second acquisition unit configured to obtain a preset focus interval according to the far focus, wherein a minimum value of the preset focus interval is less than the far focus, and a maximum value of the preset focus interval is greater than or equal to the far focus (paragraphs 0022 – 0024, focus range with minimum and maximum ratio to fall within the preset range); and a determination unit is configured to, in response to a current image site of the aerial camera is greater than the maximum value, or the current image site is less than the minimum value, obtain a first sharpness statistical value when a last focusing ends, and determine whether to perform focus according to the first sharpness statistical value (figure 2B item S212 “No” then proceeds to items S214 – S215; sharpness statistical value being focus threshold value).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 8, LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, LEE teaches in response to the unmanned aerial vehicle is not at the high altitude, determine whether to perform focus according to the first sharpness statistical value (figure 2B items S210, “No at item S210 to go to S212 leading to item S214; sharpness statistical value being focus threshold value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (US PgPub No. 20190187725) in view of LEE (US PgPub No. 20120307042).
Regarding claim 11, ZHANG teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle (figure 1; unmanned aerial vehicle 10) comprising: a fuselage (figure 1 item 11 body); an engine arm connected to the fuselage (figure 1 item 132 also paragraph 0065); a power device provided to the engine arm (figure 11 item 27 and 25), the power device being configured to provide flying power to the unmanned aerial vehicle (figure 11 item 25 and 27 also paragraphs 0065 and 0121; a gimbal connected to the fuselage (figure 1 item 15); an aerial camera being loaded on the unmanned aerial vehicle via the gimbal (figure 1 item 14); and at least one processor and a memory connected in communication with the at least one processor, wherein the memory stores an instruction executable by the at least one processor, the instruction being executed by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to execute a focusing method (figure 1 items 16 and 17 also figure 3).
However, ZHANG fails to clearly teach obtaining an far focus of the aerial camera, in response to the unmanned aerial vehicle is at a high altitude; obtaining a preset focus interval according to the far focus, wherein a minimum value of the preset focus interval is less than the far focus, and a maximum value of the preset focus interval is greater than or equal to the far focus; and in response to a current image site of the aerial camera is greater than the maximum value, or the current image site is less than the minimum value, obtaining a first sharpness statistical value from a last focusing event, and determining whether to perform focus according to the first sharpness statistical value. LEE, on the other hand teaches obtaining an far focus of the aerial camera, in response to the unmanned aerial vehicle is at a high altitude; obtaining a preset focus interval according to the far focus, wherein a minimum value of the preset focus interval is less than the far focus, and a maximum value of the preset focus interval is greater than or equal to the far focus; and in response to a current image site of the aerial camera is greater than the maximum value, or the current image site is less than the minimum value, obtaining a first sharpness statistical value from a last focusing event, and determining whether to perform focus according to the first sharpness statistical value.
More specifically, LEE teaches obtaining an far focus of the aerial camera, in response to the unmanned aerial vehicle is at a high altitude (paragraphs 0022 – 0023; obtain focus and adjusting focus based on flight paragraphs 0009 - 0011, 0020, and 0025); obtaining a preset focus interval according to the far focus, wherein a minimum value of the preset focus interval is less than the far focus, and a maximum value of the preset focus interval is greater than or equal to the far focus (paragraphs 0022 – 0024, focus range with minimum and maximum ratio to fall within the preset range); and in response to a current image site of the aerial camera is greater than the maximum value, or the current image site is less than the minimum value, obtaining a first sharpness statistical value from a last focusing event, and determining whether to perform focus according to the first sharpness statistical value (figure 2B item S212 “No” then proceeds to items S214 – S215; sharpness statistical value being focus threshold value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of LEE with the teachings of ZHANG because in at least paragraphs 0022 – 0024 LEE teaches a system with improved image capture via focus, thereby improving image capture in the system of ZHANG when combined.
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, ZHANG in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, ZHANG teaches a radar sensor mounted to the fuselage, and a vision sensor loaded on the unmanned aerial vehicle via the gimbal (figure 10 item 301 – 302); wherein the radar sensor is configured to detect a distance from the unmanned aerial vehicle to ground (figure 10 item 300 obstacle detection; e.g. ground); and the vision sensor is configured to detect a distance between the unmanned aerial vehicle and an obstacle in front of the unmanned aerial vehicle (figure 10 item 300 obstacle detection; e.g. ground; also paragraphs 0010, 0027).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, ZHANG in view of LEE teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, LEE teaches wherein the focusing method further comprising: in response to the unmanned aerial vehicle is not at the high altitude, determining whether to perform focus according to the first sharpness statistical value (figure 2B items S210, “No at item S210 to go to S212 leading to item S214; sharpness statistical value being focus threshold value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of LEE with the teachings of ZHANG because in at least paragraphs 0022 – 0024 LEE teaches a system with improved image capture via focus, thereby improving image capture in the system of ZHANG when combined.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 - 6, 10, and 14 - 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 3: “wherein the determining whether to perform focus according to the first sharpness statistical value comprises: acquiring a current sharpness statistical value corresponding to the current image site; calculating an absolute value of a difference value between the current sharpness statistical value and the first sharpness statistical value; and determining whether to perform focus based on the absolute value” in combination with the other limitations in the claim and the parent claim is not discussed or suggested in any of the prior art that was searched.
Regarding claims 4 - 6, these claims are also objected to as being dependent from objected claim 3.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 10: “wherein the determine whether to perform focus according to the first sharpness statistical value comprises: obtain a current sharpness statistical value corresponding to the current image site; calculate an absolute value of a difference value between the current sharpness statistical value and the first sharpness statistical value; and determine whether to perform focus based on the absolute value” in combination with the other limitations in the claim and the parent claim is not discussed or suggested in any of the prior art that was searched.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 14: “wherein the focusing method further comprising, acquiring a current sharpness statistical value corresponding to the current image site; calculating an absolute value of a difference value between the current sharpness statistical value and the first sharpness statistical value; and determining whether to perform focus based on the absolute value” in combination with the other limitations in the claim and the parent claim is not discussed or suggested in any of the prior art that was searched.
Regarding claims 15 - 18, these claims are also objected to as being dependent from objected claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHENG (US patent No. 20170297445) teaches a AUV device with camera.
ZHAO (US patent No. 20180194488) teaches a AUV device with camera.
HAM (US patent No. 20180356840) teaches a AUV device with camera.
HONJO (US patent No. 20200130862) teaches a AUV device with camera.
ZHONG (US patent No. 20200137295) teaches a AUV device with camera.
HONJO (US patent No. 20210075973) teaches a AUV device with camera.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
11/12/2025