DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. The applicant argues that neither Khaund (US 2020/0358784), hereon referred to as Khaund, nor Bernardi (US 2024/0185191), hereon referred to as Bernardi, nor Mallela et al. (US 2021/0224794), hereon referred as Mallela, alone or in combination teach/suggest all of the elements of the independent claim(s). Specifically, the applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose wherein requesting encryption of the operation by the private key associated with the identifier comprises: transmission of the operation and the identifier to a key manager; and execution of the key manager to: retrieve a stored primary key identifier associated with the identifier; and transmit the primary key identifier and the operation to a key vault. The applicant argues that Khaund only teaches of general blockchain protection instead of the specific flow mentioned in the claims; Bernardi only discloses transmitting encrypted data to a Web3 decentralized blockchain based NFT framework; and Mallela only addresses mapping and distributed ledger transaction management, which cannot teach the use of the database identifier, a key manager, a primary key identifier and a key vault.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection is a combination of the prior art, how they combine, and work in view of each other; not what any reference discloses independently. Khaund discloses the authentication platform, the off-chain registries, the server side signing and the two tier identifier retrieval, not for key custody. Bernardi discloses managing keys and performs encryption and signature functions or its proxy conducting key cryptography for a device not trusted. Finally, Mallela discloses the key management integration element to facilitate signing, the private key mapping and key vault, the address book queried by client identifier of DDA number and the signing of the operation. These three references, in combination, in view of each other teach/suggest all the elements of the independent claim(s). Lastly, the applicant’s arguments about custody without external exposure of the private keys is not explicitly mentioned in the claim language as currently presented. Limitations form the specification are not read into the claims.
Applicants’ arguments regard the 112(b) rejection have been considered and deemed persuasive. The rejection for 35 USC 112(b) has been removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Khaund (US 2020/0358784), hereon referred to as Khaund, in view of Bernardi (US 2024/0185191), hereon referred to as Bernardi, and in view of Mallela et al. (US 2021/0224794), hereon referred as Mallela.
In regards to claims 1, 8 & 15 Khaund discloses receive credentials of a user at a Web server; authenticate the user based on the credentials; receive a request from the user to transmit an operation to a Web3 database (Each of primary access assignment system and secondary access assignment system can include a web server that processes and responds to HTTP requests. Web server can identify a resource, identify a characteristic of each of one or more access rights for the resource, include an invitation to request assignment of an access right, facilitate establishment or updating of a profile, and/or identify characteristics of one or more assigned access rights. Primary load management system may be a Blockchain-based system that uses Blockchain nodes to manage the generation, ownership, and transfer of secure digital assets (e.g., smart contracts) that represent electronic access rights to resources; The block-chain system creates a web3 asset, which is stored via blockchain nodes; reordering of smart contracts based on the metadata associated with the smart contracts, smart contracts are generated to represent secure access rights to resources; Network environment may include access right generation system 1170, which communicates with Blockchain system to generate a smart contract with one or more attributes, functions, and/or policies that mimic or represent a digital access right to a resource; Paragraphs 0050-0055; 0210-0220; 0240-0245; Figs.12-14); and in response to the received request: query a Web2 database for an identifier associated with the user (Metadata is generated, which is associated with access right requests. The metadata is linked to specific users, It supports that a user ID is stored in association with a Web3 asset and includes a system receiving instructions and storing data as part of that response; Storage could be cloud storage as well; Paragraphs 0030-0040; 0050-0055); request encryption of the operation by a private key associated with the identifier; receive an encrypted operation in response to the requested encryption of the operation (Blockchain provides a decentralized approach to verifying the authenticity of information, including data representing transactions; Convert access rights into secure digital assets protected by cryptographic public/private keys; A secure digital asset may be a smart contract. The converted access rights (i.e., the secure digital assets) can then be published on a Blockchain (e.g., posted to a public ledger on a Blockchain, such as an Ethereum Blockchain); A public ledger enables the primary load management system to track the ownership of an access right throughout the lifecycle of the access right. Further, by structuring access rights as secure digital assets, such as smart contracts, can serve as a self-policing escrow, while simultaneously allowing the primary load management system greater control over the access right after the access right has been initially sold to a user; Enable the primary load management system to manage and control the reassignment transactions of access rights, regardless of which platform facilitates the reassignment of the access right; The conversion of access rights into cryptographically secured digital assets (i.e. smart contracts) that are then published to a blockchain, is generating a secure, encrypted operation to create a Web3 asset on a Web3 database; Paragraphs 0007; 0050-0055; 0210-0220; 0240-0245; Figs.12-14).
However, Khaund does not disclose transmit the encrypted operation to the Web3 database. In an analogous art Khaund discloses transmit the encrypted operation to the Web3 database (The encrypted data and can be transmitted to a Web3 database and/or a decentralized storage system; Paragraphs 0090-0095; 0134; 0142; 0160; 0305-0310; 0444).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by Khaund, with the teachings disclosed by Bernardi regarding transmit the encrypted operation to the Web3 database. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide additional security in Web3 decentralized systems (Bernardi; Paragraph 0001).
However, the combination Khaund and Bernardi does not disclose transmit the database identifier to a key manager; execute the key manager to retrieve a stored primary key identifier associated with the database identifier…a database identifier; and …stored in a key vault. In an analogous art Mallela discloses transmit the database identifier to a key manager (Gateway communication service 160 may be a general-purpose mechanism for connecting non-distributed ledger internal/external systems (not shown), with distributed ledger platforms. Gateway communication service 160 may include messaging component 162, translation component 164, and key management integration component; Paragraphs 0047-0057); execute the key manager to retrieve a stored primary key identifier associated with the database identifier …a database identifier (Private key mapping may be used to map blockchain public addresses, which may be extracted from a key management solution through gateway communication service 160 for digital coin transactions (e.g., issuance, transfer, and redemption balance changes). These keys may be secured a key-vault; Paragraphs 0052; 0248-0250); and …stored in a key vault (Address book 134 may be a directory that maintains a mapping between a demand deposit account (DDA), distributed ledger addresses, and other entity identifier information applicable to permissioned participants of the distributed ledger. Address Book 134 may be referenced during issuance and redemption of digital coins; Private key mapping may be used to map blockchain public addresses, which may be extracted from a key management solution through gateway communication service 160 for digital coin transactions (e.g., issuance, transfer, and redemption balance changes). These keys may be secured a key vault; Paragraphs 0039; 0050-0055).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by the combination Khaund and Bernardi, with the teachings disclosed by Mallela regarding transmit the database identifier to a key manager; execute the key manager to retrieve a stored primary key identifier associated with the database identifier; …a database identifier; and …stored in a key vault The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide additional security for conducting and managing cryptocurrency transactions (Mallela; Paragraph 0002).
In regard to claim 2, 9 & 16, Khaund discloses determine whether the user is authorized to transmit the operation to the Web3 database (After the Web3 finalizes the transaction and protecting the transfer, digital assets can be encrypted; the user ID association comes from the code stored to indicate that user is authorized, the Web3 asset identifies a resource, and the metadata can be used to indicate that an user is authorized for access of a resource and transmission; Paragraphs 0050-0055; 0110-0115; 0217).
In regards to claims 3, 10 & 17, the combination of Khaund, Bernardi and Mallela discloses. determination of a JavaScript Object Notation Remote Procedure Call corresponding to the operation; and execution of the JavaScript Object Notation Remote Procedure Call to transmit the encrypted operation to the Web3 database (The elements presented in the claim(s) do not contain any additional features, do not present any inventive step or novelty not addressed/presented in the combination of Khaund, Bernardi and Mallela. Examiner takes official notice that these elements are commonly known, minor design details that are derivable from the prior art and are well known, and obvious to an ordinary skill in the art. The additional features of these claims represent normal design options, which the skilled person would implement the combination of Khaund, Bernardi and Mallela, depending on the circumstances, without exercising any inventive activity).
In regards to claims 4, 11 & 18, the combination of Khaund, Bernardi and Mallela discloses wherein the received request to transmit the operation to the Web3 database comprises a Hypertext Transfer Protocol Remote Procedure Call (The elements presented in the claim(s) do not contain any additional features, do not present any inventive step or novelty not addressed/presented in the combination of Khaund, Bernardi and Mallela. Examiner takes official notice that these elements are commonly known, minor design details that are derivable from the prior art and are well known, and obvious to an ordinary skill in the art. The additional features of these claims represent normal design options, which the skilled person would implement the combination of Khaund, Bernardi and Mallela, depending on the circumstances, without exercising any inventive activity).
In regards to claims 6 & 13, Khaund discloses receive second credentials of a second user at the Web server; authenticate the second user based on the second credentials; receive a second request from the second user to transmit a second operation to a second Web3 database; and in response to the received second request: query the Web2 database for a second identifier associated with the second user; request encryption of the second operation by a second private key associated with the second identifier; receive a second encrypted operation in response to the requested encryption of the second operation; and transmit the second encrypted operation to the second Web3 database (Metadata is linked to specific users and a user ID is stored in association with a Web3 asset and explicitly includes a system receiving instructions and storing data as part of that response. Metadata is associated with the access right request, and suggests that the system stores and/or uses that metadata in connection with the access; User identifier, Web3 asset identifiers, access enabling codes are stored in a data store; After the Web3 finalizes the transaction and protecting the transfer, digital assets can be encrypted; the user ID association comes from the code stored to indicate that user is authorized, the Web3 asset identifies a resource, and the metadata can be used to indicate that an user is authorized for access of a resource; Paragraphs 0030-0035; 0050-0055; 0110-0115; 0217).
In regards to claims 7, 14 & 20, Khaund discloses receive second credentials of a second user at the Web server; authenticate the second user based on the second credentials; receive a second request from the second user to transmit a second operation to a second Web3 database; and in response to the received second request: request encryption of the second operation by the private key associated with the identifier; receive a second encrypted operation in response to the requested encryption of the second operation; and transmit the second encrypted operation to the second Web3 database (Metadata is linked to specific users and a user ID is stored in association with a Web3 asset and explicitly includes a system receiving instructions and storing data as part of that response. Metadata is associated with the access right request, and suggests that the system stores and/or uses that metadata in connection with the access; User identifier, Web3 asset identifiers, access enabling codes are stored in a data store; After the Web3 finalizes the transaction and protecting the transfer, digital assets can be encrypted; the user ID association comes from the code stored to indicate that user is authorized, the Web3 asset identifies a resource, and the metadata can be used to indicate that an user is authorized for access of a resource; Paragraphs 0030-0035; 0050-0055; 0110-0115; 0217).
Conclusion
/SHARIF E ULLAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495