DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GAO et al. (US 2021/0329673 A1; hereafter GAO).
With respect to claim 1, GAO discloses a method (Abstract; Title), comprising:
receiving, via one or more antennas (TRP-1 of FIG. 1; 220 of FIG. 2), a plurality of sounding reference signals from a user equipment (UE) (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2);
analyzing, the plurality of sounding reference signals during a first time period and a second time period (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12);
determining, a target correlation value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) based on analyzing the plurality of sounding reference signals (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12) during the first time period and the second time period (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]); and
determining, based on the target correlation value (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12), a mobility of the UE (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2) in a geographical area (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 2, GAO further discloses wherein the mobility of the UE in the geographical area corresponds to one of the UE (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2) being mobile or the UE being stationary (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 3, GAO further discloses 3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the analyzing of the plurality of sounding reference signals comprises: determining a first candidate correlation values associated (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) with a first set of the plurality of sounding reference signals received by the one or more antennas during the first time period (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]); and
determining a second candidate correlation values (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12) associated with a second set of the plurality of sounding reference signals (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) received by the one or more antennas during the second time period (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]).
With respect to claim 4, GAO further discloses 4. The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining of the target correlation value comprises correcting for one or more timing errors (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) associated with the UE (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 5, GAO further discloses 5. The method according to claim 4, wherein the correcting for the one or more timing errors comprises:
comparing the first candidate correlation values with a correlation threshold value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]); selecting a first subset of the first candidate correlation values (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12), the first subset including candidate correlation values that satisfy the correlation threshold value; and
determining a first subset average value using the candidate correlation values included in the first subset that satisfy the correlation value threshold (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 6, GAO further discloses wherein the determining of the target correlation value comprising:
comparing the second candidate correlation values with the correlation threshold value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]); selecting a second subset of the second candidate correlation values (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12), the second subset including candidate correlation values that satisfy the correlation threshold value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]); and
determining a second subset average value using the candidate correlation values included in the second subset that satisfy the correlation value threshold (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 7, GAO further discloses 7. The method according to claim 4, further comprising:
comparing the first subset average value and the second subset average value; and selecting a higher of the first subset average value and the second subset average value, the higher of the first subset average value and the second subset average value is the target correlation value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 8, GAO discloses an apparatus (TRP-1 of FIG. 1; 220 of FIG. 2), configured to:
receiving, via one or more antennas (TRP-1 of FIG. 1; 220 of FIG. 2), using the at least one processor, a plurality of sounding reference signals from a user equipment (UE) (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2);
analyzing the plurality sounding reference signals during a first time period (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]) and a second time period (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12);
determining a target correlation value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) based on analyzing the plurality of sounding reference signals (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12) during the first time period and the second time period (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]); and
determining based on the target correlation value (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12), a mobility of the UE (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2) in a geographical area (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 9, GAO further discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the mobility of the UE (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2) in the geographical area corresponds to one of the user being mobile or the user being stationary (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 10, GAO further discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein one of the operations of the analyzing of the plurality of sounding reference signals comprises:
determining a first candidate correlation values associated with a first set of the plurality of sounding reference signals (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) received by the one or more antennas (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12) during the first time period (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]); and
determining a second candidate correlation values (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) associated with a second set of the plurality of sounding reference signals received by the one or more antennas during the second time period (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]).
With respect to claim 11, GAO further discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein one of the operations of the determining of the target correlation value comprises correcting for one or more timing errors (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) associated with the user equipment (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 12, GAO further discloses the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein one of the operations of the correcting for the one or more timing errors comprising:
comparing the first candidate correlation values with a correlation threshold value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]); selecting a first subset of the first candidate correlation values (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12), the first subset including candidate correlation values that satisfy the correlation threshold value(paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]); and
determining a first subset average value using the candidate correlation values included in the first subset that satisfy the correlation value threshold (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 13, GAO further discloses the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the operations further comprising: comparing the second candidate correlation values with the correlation threshold value;
selecting a second subset of the second candidate correlation values, the second subset including candidate correlation values that satisfy the correlation threshold value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]); and
determining a second subset average value using the candidate correlation values included in the second subset that satisfy the correlation value threshold (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 14, GAO further discloses the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the operations further comprising:
comparing the first subset average value and the second subset average value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]); and
selecting a higher of the first subset average value and the second subset average value, the higher of the first subset average value and the second subset average value is the target correlation value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 15, GAO discloses at least one non-transitory storage media storing instructions (paragraph [0142]) that, when executed by at least one processor (1310 of FIG. 13), cause the at least one processor to perform operations (Abstract; Title) comprising:
receiving via one or more antennas (TRP-1 of FIG. 1; 220 of FIG. 2; 1320 of FIG. 13), using the at least one processor, a plurality of sounding reference signals from a user equipment (UE) (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2) that is external to the at least one processor (1310 of FIG. 13);
analyzing the plurality sounding reference signals during a first time period (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]) and a second time period (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12);
determining a target correlation value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) based on analyzing the plurality of sounding reference signals during the first time period (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]) and the second time period (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12); and
determining, based on the target correlation value (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12), a mobility of the UE (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2) in a geographical area (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 16, GAO further discloses the at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 15, wherein the mobility of the UE (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2) in the geographical area corresponds to one of the UE being mobile or the user being stationary (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 17, GAO further discloses the at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 15, wherein one of the operations of the analyzing of the plurality of sounding reference signals comprises:
determining a first candidate correlation values associated with a first set of the plurality of sounding reference signals (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) received by the one or more antennas (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12) during the first time period (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]); and
determining a second candidate correlation values associated with a second set of the plurality of sounding reference signals (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) received by the one or more antennas (910, 920 of FIG. 9; 1210, 1220 of FIG. 12) during the second time period (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]).
With respect to claim 18, GAO further discloses the at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 15, wherein one of the operations of the determining of the target correlation value comprises correcting for one or more timing errors (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]) associated with the user equipment (211, 212, 213 of FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 19, GAO further discloses the at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 18, wherein one of the operations of the correcting for the one or more timing errors comprising:
comparing the first candidate correlation values with a correlation threshold value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]);
selecting a first subset of the first candidate correlation values, the first subset including candidate correlation values that satisfy the correlation threshold value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]); and
determining a first subset average value using the candidate correlation values included in the first subset that satisfy the correlation value threshold (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
With respect to claim 20, GAO further discloses the at least one non-transitory storage media of claim 18, wherein the operations further comprising:
comparing the second candidate correlation values with the correlation threshold value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]);
selecting a second subset of the second candidate correlation values, the second subset including candidate correlation values that satisfy the correlation threshold value (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]); and
determining a second subset average value using the candidate correlation values included in the second subset that satisfy the correlation value threshold (paragraphs [0066], [0129], and [130]).
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 December 31, 2025