DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and SNV in the reply filed on 5/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4,19,47,57,60,73-75,81,84-85,91,94-95,97,99 are pending. Claims 5-18,20-46,48-56,58-59,61-72,76-80,82-83,86-90,92-93,96,98,100-106 have been cancelled.
An action on the merits is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4,19,47,57,60,73-75,81,84-85,91,94-95,97,99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4,19, 47,57,60,73-75,81,84-85,91,94-95,97, 99 are indefinite over “or a complement” as the conjugate does not have a complement, but rather requires an antibody-oligonucleotide in claims 1, 19 and 99. Further the claims are unclear as the claims encompass “optionally” however, it is not clear which steps after the term is optional in claims 1, 19 and 99.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,19,73,74,75,81,84,94,95,97 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stoeckius et al. (Nature Methods September 2017 Vol 14 p. 865).
With regard to claim 1, Stoeckius et al. teaches providing an antibody-oligonucleotide conjugate to a permeabilized cell such that the analyte is internal in the cell (p. 867, figure 1). Stoeckius et al. teaches a method of performing a single cell analysis using droplet assay techniques for sequencing (p 867).
With regard to claim 2, Stoeckius et al. teaches a method of obtaining a permeabilized cell that comprises fixing, quenching and permeabilization of the cell (p. 867).
With regard to claims 3-4, Stoeckius et al. teaches incubating the permeabilized ell with the conjugate and washing and as Stoeckius et al. teaches washing, Stoeckius et al. teaches washing one time (p. 865 2nd column).
With regard to claim 19, Stoeckius et al. teaches providing an antibody-oligonucleotide conjugate to a permeabilized cell such that the analyte is internal in the cell (p. 867, figure 1). Stoeckius et al. teaches a method of performing a single cell analysis using droplet assay techniques for sequencing (p 867). Stoeckius et al. teaches multiple antibody-oligonucleotide conjugates and sequencing (figure 2).
With regard to claim 73, Stoeckius et al. teaches a single cell analysis that is capable of performing the workflow of million of cells (Online methods antibody oligo sequences).
With regard to claims 74-75, Stoeckius et al. teaches a method of antibody tag primers of at least 10 (online methods CITE seq and antibody oligo sequences).
With regard to claim 81, Stoeckius et al. teaches a method of PCR (online methods Antibody oligo sequences).
With regard to claim 84, Stoeckius et al. teaches genomic DNA or RNA (figure 1, p 866).
With regard to claim 94, Stoeckius et al. teaches application to cell lines (figure 3).
With regard to claim 95, Stoeckius et al. teaches a method wherein the analyte is a surface protein (p. 866 last paragraph).
With regard to claim 97, Stoeckius et al. teaches generating cDNA (p. 866).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 47,57,60,91,99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoeckius et al. (Nature Methods September 2017 Vol 14 p. 865) in view of Schwartz et al. (US Patent Application 2013/0344508 December 26, 2013).
Stoeckius et al. teaches providing an antibody-oligonucleotide conjugate to a permeabilized cell such that the analyte is internal in the cell (p. 867, figure 1). Stoeckius et al. teaches a method of performing a single cell analysis using droplet assay techniques for sequencing (p 867).
However, Stoeckius et al. does not teach the fixing requirements.
With regard to claim 47, Schwartz et al. teaches use of antibody oligonucleotide conjugates (para 506). Schwartz et al teaches fixative with DPBS for two hours (para 577).
With regard to claims 57 and 60, Schwartz et al. teaches .5 ml of DPBS (para 580).
With regard to claim 91, Schwartz et al teaches lysing the permeabilized with reagents (para 580). It is noted that the claims do not limit the claims to DTT, but rather extra reagent.
With regard to claim 99, Stoeckius et al. teaches providing an antibody-oligonucleotide conjugate to a permeabilized cell such that the analyte is internal in the cell (p. 867, figure 1). Stoeckius et al. teaches a method of performing a single cell analysis using droplet assay techniques for sequencing (p 867). Schwartz et al. teaches that nuclei can be isolated from the cell (para 588-589).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Stoeckius et al. to use the known samples and reagents of Schwartz et al. who further teaches methods of use of antibody oligonucleotide conjugates. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to use known finite types of samples and reagents in order to detect in the nuclei using an antibody oligonucleotide conjugate.
Claim(s) 85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoeckius et al. (Nature Methods September 2017 Vol 14 p. 865) in view of West et al (US Patent Application Publication 20180051338 Feb 22, 2018).
Stoeckius et al. teaches providing an antibody-oligonucleotide conjugate to a permeabilized cell such that the analyte is internal in the cell (p. 867, figure 1). Stoeckius et al. teaches a method of performing a single cell analysis using droplet assay techniques for sequencing (p 867).
However, Stoeckius et al. does not teach measuring SNPs.
With regard to claim 85, West et al. teaches methods of using oligonucleotide antibody conjugates (para 74-75). West et al. teaches that the sequencing is used to detect SNPs, insertions, deletions or copy number variations (para 96-118).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Stoeckius et al to use the method step of sequencing to detect SNPs, insertions, deletions or copy number variations as taught by West et al. The ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success as West et al. teaches use of oligonucleotide antibody conjugates to detect differences in sequences.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3,19,,99 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21-40 of copending Application No. 19299158(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each binds to a protein-oligonucleotide tag to permeabilize cells and using to detect amplificant.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682