DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in the various claims.
Disclaimer
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is more than 1501 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite “means for engaging a portion of an arm” and “means for securing the shell about the portion of the arm” (see claim 8) and “means for engaging another portion of another arm” which invoke 35 USC §112(f). However, the specification fails to disclose corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the recited functions, and fails to clearly link any structure to those functions. Accordingly, the scope of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
For purpose of examination, examiner is considering shell (20) as the means for engaging a portion of an arm (or means for engaging another portion of another arm) and strap (30) as the means for securing the shell about the portion of the arm.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the shell" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elliott, Jr. (US Patent No. 4,241,922).
Regarding claim 1, Elliott discloses a golf aid (see device (5), abstract and Figures 1-5), comprising: a shell of rigid construction (10), the shell defining a shell interior (the interior of shell element 10 in which the user’s hand is to be placed as shown in all figures), the shell further defining a gap configured to insertably receive therethrough a portion of an arm distal of an elbow into the shell interior (for example, as shown in Figures 1 and 5, circular sleeve portions (6) is shown in Figure 5 is disclosed and as shown in Figure 1, the use of strap (7) is shown and the opening between the strap and the sleeve portions is considered as a gap), the shell thereby engaging the portion of the arm with a palm and a thumb exposed to control a wrist throughout a golf stroke (see Figure 1), the portion of the arm comprising distal posterior portions of a forearm (the surface of the hand touching the shell element (10)), posterior portions of a wrist (see Figure 1), and a back of a hand proximal to knuckles (see Figure 1); a strap (7) disposed about an exterior of the shell and securable to the shell while avoiding contact with the palm and thumb to secure the shell about the portion of the arm (see Figure 1); and wherein the shell maintains the wrist in a neutral position to prevent flexion and extension of the wrist during a golf stoke (see abstract).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the arm is configured as the lead arm (see claim 1 and the device as shown in Figure 1 is shown as being used by a right-handed user).
Regarding claims 3-4, wherein the arm is configured as the trail arm (the device is disclosed as being constructed in mirror-image fashion for a left-handed golfer and this disclose that the device could be used on a trail arm in column 3 lines 37-39). This left-handed golfer device is considered as a second shell as recited in claim 4.
Regarding claims 5-7, the shell material of Ellott is disclosed as a rigid plastic (see column 2 line 38). rigid plastics are considered transformable (from a compliant state to a rigid state) because they can be heated and reshaped (like in thermoforming), moving from a solid, rigid state to a pliable one and back meeting the recited feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 8 Ellott discloses a golf aid (see abstract and Figures 1-5), comprising: means for engaging a portion of an arm (10, the device used for a right-handed golfer as shown in Figure 1); and means for securing the shell about the portion of the arm (7).
Regarding claim 9, further comprising: means for engaging another portion of another arm (the device is disclosed as being constructed in mirror-image fashion for a left-handed golfer and this disclose that the device could be used on a trail arm in column 3 line 38-39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elliott in view of Duback et al. (US Patent No. 5,732,713).
Elliott does not explicitly disclose the shell of rigid construction comprises a material transformable from a compliant state to a rigid state as disclosed. Elliott discloses a method of use of a golf aid, comprising the steps of: wrapping a material about a portion of an arm (see Figure 1), the portion of the arm being distal of an elbow and the portion of the arm comprising distal posterior portions of a forearm (the upper top part of (5) as shown in Figure 1), posterior portions of a wrist (see Figure 1), and a back of a hand proximal to knuckles and leaving a palm and a thumb exposed and unencumbered (see Figure 1); forming a shell by allowing the material wrapped about the portion of the arm (see abstract and Figure 1), gripping a golf club (1) and maintaining the distal portions of the forearm, the wrist, the hand, and the golf club in alignment with the wrist in a neutral position; and maintaining the wrist in the neutral position thereby preventing flexion and extension of the wrist by engagement of the shell with the arm while performing a golf stroke (see Figure 1). Elliott does not explicitly disclose a step of activating a material in a compliant state thereby transforming the material from the compliant state to a rigid state; wrapping a material about a portion of an arm while the material is activated and compliant, and material transforming into a rigid state as recited. Elliott discloses a golf aid configured to be wrapped around a user’s arm to form a shell that supports and stabilizes the wrist as disclosed in the abstract and all figures. Elliott clearly teaches that the shell maintains the wrist in a desired or controlled position when worn. Duback teaches that a method of activating a material in a compliant state thereby transforming the material from the compliant state to a rigid state (for example, claim 11 discloses “an initially flexible intermediate layer positioned adjacent a first side of the first layer, said intermediate layer comprised of a fabric impregnated with a moisture-curable resin which hardens upon curing to form a rigid structure of the fabric which retains a body part-defined shape into which it is molded during curing”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the golf aid of the Elliott device to use the remoldable material as taught by the Duback reference in order to improve fit, comfort, and effectiveness by allowing the shell to conform to the user’s arm prior to rigidization. The substitution of a remoldable material for a pre-formed rigid material represents the use of a known material for its known properties and would have yielded predictable result. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine the references in order to provide a user a custom-fitted device as stated in column 1 lines 10-11 of the Duback reference. During normal use and operation of the references combined, the method steps as recited would have obviously will be performed.
Regarding claim 11, Elliott discloses the device could be placed on the forearm as disclosed in Figure 1. The reference also discloses that another device could be used on a trail arm that is considered as another arm (the device is disclosed as being constructed in mirror-image fashion for a left-handed golfer and this disclose that the device could be used on a trail arm in column 3 lines 37-39).
Regarding claim 12, he method of claim 10, wherein a club face is oriented perpendicular to a stroke by performing the step of maintaining the wrist in a neutral position (this is an obvious step during an initial golf swing to hit a golf ball during a golf game).
Conclusion
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/NINI F LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711