DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on 06/22/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn. A first action on the merits of claims 1-18 is as follows.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/22/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He (U.S. PGPub No. 2016/0143541).
Regarding claim 1, He teaches A multimodal electric and magnetic sensing apparatus to detect neuronal activity in a target, the apparatus comprising: a magnetometer configured to sense a target magnetic field generated by the neuronal activity in the target (Fig 12, TMR sensors 1206); and an electrode configured to contact a surface of the target and sense a target electric field generated by the neuronal activity in the target (Fig 12 EEG sensors 1215), wherein the electrode is coupled to the magnetometer (Fig 12 eeg sensors 1215 are indirectly coupled to TMR sensors 12016 via the EEG-MEG device 1200).
Regarding claim 3, He teaches wherein the electrode comprises an Electroencephalography (EEG) electrode (Fig 12, EEG sensors 1215).
Regarding claim 5, He further teaches an electrode cap (Fig 12 eeg cap 1217); and wherein: the electrode is embedded into the surface of the electrode cap (Fig 12 and [0063] EEG electrodes 1215 are provided “underneath” eeg cap 1217 (i.e., embedded)); and the electrode cap is coupled to the magnetometer and is configured to contact the electrode to the surface of the target (Fig 12, EEG cap 1217 is functionally coupled to MEG magnetometers and contacts skin surface for EEG acquisition).
Regarding claim 10, He teaches A multimodal sensing system to detect neuronal activity in a target, the system comprising: a sensor mount configured to mount a multimodal sensor array (Fig 12 EEG-MEG device 1200); the multimodal sensor array comprising magnetometers and electrodes (TRM sensors 1206 and EEG sensors 1215); the magnetometers configured to sense a target magnetic field generated by the neuronal activity in the target (TRM sensors 1206 are capable of performing claimed function); the electrodes configured to contact a surface of the target and sense a target electric field generated by the neuronal activity in the target (EEG sensors 1215 are capable of performing the claimed function), wherein each of the electrodes is coupled to a corresponding one of the magnetometers (Fig 12 eeg sensors 1215 are indirectly coupled to TMR sensors 12016 via the EEG-MEG device 1200); a controller communicatively coupled to the magnetometers and the electrodes configured to process signaling received from the magnetometers and the electrodes to characterize the target magnetic field and the target electric field (Fig 12 EEG signal cable 1216 and MEG signal capable 1207 communicate downstream to processing circuitry in controller; see processor of Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Oida (U.S. PGPub No. 2021/0389400).
Regarding claim 2, in view of claim 1 above, He fails to teach wherein the magnetometer comprises a Magnetoencephalography (MEG) Optically Pumped Magnetometer (OPM).
In related prior art, Oida teaches a similar device comprising: a magnetometer configured to sense a target magnetic field generated by the neuronal activity in the target (Fig 1, optically pumped magnetometers 1A). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetometer of He in view of Oida to incorporate the optically pumped magnetometer to arrive at claim 2. Doing so would be a simple substitution of one well-known MEG magnetometer (He, disclosing TMR magnetometers for MEG) for another well-known MEG magnetometer (Oida disclosing OPMs) to yield the predictable result of a magnetometer capable of performing MEG sensing.
Regarding claim 11, He teaches wherein the electrode comprises an Electroencephalography (EEG) electrode (Fig 12, EEG sensors 1215).
He fails to teach wherein the magnetometer comprises a Magnetoencephalography (MEG) Optically Pumped Magnetometer (OPM).
In related prior art, Oida teaches a similar device comprising: a magnetometer configured to sense a target magnetic field generated by the neuronal activity in the target (Fig 1, optically pumped magnetometers 1A). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetometer of He in view of Oida to incorporate the optically pumped magnetometer to arrive at claim 11. Doing so would be a simple substitution of one well-known MEG magnetometer (He, disclosing TMR magnetometers for MEG) for another well-known MEG magnetometer (Oida disclosing OPMs) to yield the predictable result of a magnetometer capable of performing MEG sensing.
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Jordan (U.S. PGPub No. 2021/0015393).
Regarding claim 4, He teaches the device of claim 1.
He fails to teach wherein the electrode is coupled to the magnetometer by at least one of an adhesive, a male/female socket connection, a threaded connection, or hook- and-loop fasteners.
In related prior art, Jordan teaches wherein hook and loop and/or snap fasteners are well-known in the art to couple EEG related materials together ([0054]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the EEG-MEG device of He in view of Jordan to incorporate a hook and loop interconnection between the magnetometer sensor array and EEG sensor array such that the electrode is at least indirectly coupled to the magnetometer by at least one of a hook-and-loop fastener to arrive at claim 4. Providing said hook and loop fastener would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the use of hook and loop fasteners are well-known in the art for providing releasable fastening between components in a system.
Regarding claim 6, He teaches the device of claim 5.
He fails to teach wherein the electrode cap is coupled to the magnetometer by at least one of an adhesive, a male/female socket connection, a threaded connection, or hook-and-loop fasteners.
In related prior art, Jordan teaches wherein hook and loop and/or snap fasteners are well-known in the art to couple EEG related materials together ([0054]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the EEG-MEG device of He in view of Jordan to incorporate a hook and loop interconnection between the magnetometer sensor array and the electrode cap such that the electrode cap is at least indirectly coupled to the magnetometer by at least one of a hook-and-loop fastener to arrive at claim 6. Providing said hook and loop fastener would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the use of hook and loop fasteners are well-known in the art for providing releasable fastening between components in a system.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Kayyali (U.S. PGPub No. 2002/0188216).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, in view of claims 1 and 10 respectively above, He is silent to the specific material selection of the EEG electrode.
In related prior art, Kayyali teaches a similar EEG electrode comprising a gold-plated electrode ([0087] electrodes may be gold plated). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the EEG electrodes of He in view of Kayyali to incorporate the gold-plated electrodes to arrive at claims 7 and 14. Doing so would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the use of gold-plated EEG electrodes is well-known in the art to yield predictable results therein.
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Goldstein (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0235541).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, in view of claims 1 and 10 respectively above, He further teaches wherein the EEG electrode may be wet electrodes ([0063]).
He is silent to the specific material selection of the EEG electrode.
In related prior art, Goldstein teaches a similar EEG electrode comprising a sponge ([0028] sponge for soaking conductive gel). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the EEG electrodes of He in view of Goldstein to incorporate the sponge to arrive at claims 8 and 15. Doing so would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the use of a sponge within wet EEG electrodes is well-known in the art to yield predictable results therein.
Claim(s) 9 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Bly (U.S. PGPub No. 2009/0076363).
Regarding claims 9 and 16-17, in view of claims 1 and 10 above,
He is silent to the specific shape of the EEG electrode.
In related prior art, Bly teaches a similar electrode may be star shaped among a plurality of other geometric shapes ([0080] star shaped electrode; examiner notes the disclosed shape is capable of inhibiting eddy currents as claimed). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the EEG electrodes of He in view of Bly to incorporate the star shape to arrive at claims 9 and 16-17. Doing so would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as it is known in the art that an electrode may comprise a star shape to yield predictable results therein ([0080]).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Jordan (U.S. PGPub No. 2021/0015393) and Hampstead (U.S. PGPub No. 2021/0268266).
Regarding claims 12-13, He teaches the device of claim 10 as stated above.
He fails to teach electrode caps configured to couple the electrodes to the magnetometers; and wherein:the electrodes are embedded into the electrode caps; and each of the electrode caps is coupled to the corresponding one of the magnetometers and are configured to contact the electrodes to the surface of the target; wherein the electrode caps are coupled to the magnetometers by at least one of an adhesive, a male/female socket connection, a threaded connection, or hook-and-loop fasteners.
In related prior art, Hampstead teaches a similar EEG cap comprising a plurality of electrode caps wherein:the electrodes are embedded into the electrode caps (Fig 4 holders 14 function as female snap fit connectors for EEG electrodes to be embedded therein). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the EEG cap of He in view of Hampstead to incorporate the EEG cap comprising a plurality of EEG caps for the electrodes to be respectively embedded therein and coupled to the corresponding magnetometers. Doing so would advantageously provide the EEG cap with designated slots for embedding the EEG electrodes therein for precise and repeatable placement of the EEG electrodes on a user’s head.
He/Hampstead fails to teach wherein the electrode caps are coupled to the magnetometers by at least one of an adhesive, a male/female socket connection, a threaded connection, or hook-and-loop fasteners.
In related prior art, Jordan teaches wherein hook and loop and/or snap fasteners are well-known in the art to couple EEG related materials together ([0054]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the EEG-MEG device of He in view of Hampstead and Jordan to incorporate a hook and loop interconnection between the magnetometer sensor array and the electrode cap such that the electrode caps are at least indirectly coupled to the magnetometers by at least one of a hook-and-loop fastener to arrive at claims 12-13. Providing said hook and loop fastener would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the use of hook and loop fasteners are well-known in the art for providing releasable fastening between components in a system.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Ilmoniemi (U.S. Patent No. 4,995,395).
Regarding claim 18, He teaches the device of claim 10 as stated above.
He fails to teach sensor localization coils; and wherein: the sensor mount is configured to mount the multimodal sensor array and the sensor localization coils; the controller is configured to supply electric current to the sensor localization coils; the sensor localization coils are configured to receive the electric current and generate coil magnetic fields; the magnetometers are configured to measure strengths of the coil magnetic fields; the controller is configured to determine locations of the magnetometers based on the measured strengths of the coil magnetic fields and the spatial locations of the sensor localization coils; and the controller is configured to determine locations of the electrodes based on the locations of the magnetometers.
In related prior art, Ilmoniemi teaches sensor localization coils (Fig 1 coils 2) ; and wherein: the sensor mount is configured to mount the multimodal sensor array and the sensor localization coils; the controller is configured to supply electric current to the sensor localization coils (Fig 1 current source 1); the sensor localization coils are configured to receive the electric current and generate coil magnetic fields (Col 3 lines 46-63); the magnetometers are configured to measure strengths of the coil magnetic fields (Col 3 lines 46-63); the controller is configured to determine locations of the magnetometers based on the measured strengths of the coil magnetic fields and the spatial locations of the sensor localization coils (Col 4 lines 60-68 magnetometers positions are determined); and the controller is configured to determine locations of the electrodes based on the locations of the magnetometers (Col 3 lines 46-63 system and method is for localizing eeg electrode positions). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified He in view of Ilmoniemi to incorporate the sensor localization coils to localize the locations of the magnetometers and electrodes to arrive at claim 18. Doing so would advantageously enable the system to localize the position of the electrodes in relation to the head (Col 4 lines 51-54; Col 5 lines 36-39).
Conclusion
/ADAM Z MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794