DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the claims received on 7/6/2026.
Communications via email (MPEP 502.03)
In order to advance prosecution of the instant application, the Applicants are invited to file a form PTO/SB/439, and to include, in their response, the Applicants’ contact telephone number and e-mail address:
http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf
Examiner's Recommendations
The following are suggestions for the Applicants to overcome the rejections in the current office action; however, an additional search would be required in order to determine allowability. The disclosure enables this suggestion on par. 90 of the specification in reference to Fig. 5 steps 518-522 where the UE requests a preferred MGL and the gNB determines whether the preferred MGL conflicts, or not, with other measurements. The gNB then decides whether it will need to override the requested MGL.
26. (Amended) An apparatus of a New Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE), the apparatus including a processing circuitry and a radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface to couple the processing circuitry to an RF circuitry of the UE, the processing circuitry to:
decode a configuration message from a NR Node B (gNB) ;
configure , based on the decoded configuration message, the UE with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL)
determine, by the UE, the MGL from the configuration message; and
perform , by the UE, reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements based on the MGL;
request, by the UE, a preferred MGL; and
determine, by the gNB, whether one or more measurement operations overlaps the preferred MGL.
36. (Amended) An apparatus of a New Radio (NR) Node B (gNB), the apparatus including a processing circuitry and a radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface to couple the processing circuitry to an RF circuitry of the gNB, the processing circuitry to:
encode a configuration message to a NR User Equipment (UE) ;
send the configuration message for transmission to the UE;
configure, based on the decoded configuration message, the UE with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL), wherein the MGL is greater than 6 ms;
determine, by the UE, the MGL from the configuration message; and
perform, by the UE, reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements based on the MGL;
request, by the UE, a preferred MGL; and
determine, by the gNB, whether one or more measurement operations overlaps the preferred MGL.
43. (Amended) A tangible non-transitory machine-readable storage medium including code which, when executed by processing circuitry of a New Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE), causes the processing circuitry to perform operations including:
decoding a configuration message from a NR Node B (gNB) ;
configuring, based on the decoded configuration message, the UE with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL)
determining, by the UE, the MGL from the configuration message; and
performing , by the UE, reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements based on the MGL;
requesting, by the UE, a preferred MGL; and
determining, by the gNB, whether one or more measurement operations overlaps the preferred MGL.
49. (Amended) A method to be performed at processing circuitry of a New Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE), the method including:
decoding a configuration message from a NR Node B (gNB) ;
configuring, based on the decoded configuration message, the UE with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL)
determining, by the UE, the MGL from the configuration message; and
performing , by the UE, reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements based on the MGL;
requesting, by the UE, a preferred MGL; and
determining, by the gNB, whether one or more measurement operations overlaps the preferred MGL.
Claim Interpretation
Plain Meaning (MPEP 2111.01): MPEP 2111.01 states: The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification. An applicant is entitled to be their own lexicographer and may rebut the presumption that claim terms are to be given their ordinary and customary meaning by clearly setting forth a definition of the term that is different from its ordinary and customary meaning(s) in the specification at the relevant time. See In re Paulsen, 30 F.3d 1475, 1480, 31 USPQ2d 1671, 1674 (Fed. Cir. 1994). MPEP 2111.01 part III explains that in some cases it is also appropriate to look to how the claim term is used in the prior art, which includes prior art patents, published applications, trade publications, and dictionaries. Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1317, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005). In this case:
"Tangible non-transitory machine-readable storage medium": Claim 43 recites a "tangible non-transitory machine-readable storage medium". The specification mentions terms "tangible", "non-transitory", "machine-readable storage medium" in par. 66, 155, 195, 249, without redefining these terms; therefore, they have their original meanings. Therefore, claimed "tangible non-transitory machine-readable storage medium" is interpreted as a memory device, which isn’t a nonce word or a replacement for “means” as explained in MPEP 2181. Claimed "tangible non-transitory machine-readable storage medium" also excludes transitory embodiments, and therefore, this claim is eligible under 35 USC 101.
MPEP 2111.05 Functional and nonfunctional descriptive material
MPEP 2111.05 explains: “The first step of the printed matter analysis is the determination that the limitation in question is in fact directed toward printed matter. "Our past cases establish a necessary condition for falling into the category of printed matter: a limitation is printed matter only if it claims the content of information. See In re DiStefano, 808 F.3d 845, 848, 117 USPQ2d 1265, 1267 (Fed. Cir. 2015).” In this case, independent claims 26, 36, 43, 49 recite: “decode a configuration message from a NR Node B (gNB) to configure the UE with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL) corresponding to performance by the UE of reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements, wherein the MGL is greater than 6 ms”, where claimed "to configure the UE with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL) corresponding to performance by the UE of reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements, wherein the MGL is greater than 6 ms" is the content of information in the claimed "configuration message"; therefore, this limitation comprises printed matter. MPEP 2111.05 also explains: “To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. However, where the printed matter and product do not depend upon each other, no functional relationship exists. For example, in a kit containing a set of chemicals and a printed set of instructions for using the chemicals, the instructions are not related to that particular set of chemicals. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d at 1339, 70 USPQ2d at 1864.” In this case, this printed matter comprises nonfunctional descriptive material, because the configuration message can be decoded regardless of its contents. Therefore, the claim fails to establish a functional relationship between the printed matter and the claimed product; therefore, the printed matter does not have weight. In order to have patentable weight, it would be necessary to positively recite the steps corresponding to the printed matter as in the Examiner's Recommendations section of this office action.
Therefore, the independent claims are interpreted as follows:
26. (Amended) An apparatus of a New Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE), the apparatus including a processing circuitry and a radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface to couple the processing circuitry to an RF circuitry of the UE, the processing circuitry to:
decode a configuration message from a NR Node B (gNB; no patentable weight is given from here to the end of this limitation) to configure the UE with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL) corresponding to performance by the UE of reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements, wherein the MGL is greater than 6 ms (no patentable weight is given until this point);
determine (this determination step has patentable weight because it is positively recited) the MGL from the configuration message; and
perform (this performing step has patentable weight because it is positively recited) the RSTD measurements based on the MGL.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with regards to claims and rejection analysis have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: Applicants argue, on page 8, 3rd par. to page 9, 2nd par., that the Office Action determines that the priority provisional application, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/025,031 (filed May 14, 2020), does not provide adequate written description or enablement support under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for the claimed limitation requiring configuration of a UE with a PRS-based measurement gap length greater than 6 ms, and on that basis determines that the present application is not entitled to a filing date earlier than its actual filing date for the independent claims and the dependent claims that inherit this limitation. Applicant respectfully submits that this determination does not account for the full priority claim of the present application. In addition to Provisional Application No. 63/025,031, the present application also claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/035,536, filed June 5, 2020, which expressly discloses the disputed subject matter. Provisional Application No. 63/035,536 states that this disclosure proposes to introduce new measurement gap patterns to support gap based inter-frequency RSTD measurement for 5G NR, such that a MGL length can be higher than 6 ms (pp. 4-5), and separately recites a method. comprising receiving configuration information to indicate a gap pattern for an inter-frequency positioning reference signal (PRS) measurement, wherein a length of the gap pattern is longer than 6 milliseconds (ms), and performing the inter-frequency PRS measurement based on the indicated gap pattern (p. 26). The same disclosure further describes a message flow in which a UE determines a preferred RSTD measurement gap pattern based on PRS pattern information and requests that pattern from the serving gNB, which then configures the final measurement gap pattern for RSTD measurement (pp. 5-6, Fig. 1), and provides a table of specific gap length and gap period values, including 10 ms and 20 ms gap lengths (p. 3), matching the specific MGL values recited in dependent claims 28, 29, 38, 39, 45, and 46. Accordingly, even if Provisional Application No. 63/025,031 alone were insufficient to support the disputed limitation, the independent claims and their dependent claims are entitled to the benefit of the filing date of Provisional Application No. 63/035,536, June 5, 2020, under 35 U.S.C. § 119(e). Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner reconsider the priority entitlement determination in view of Provisional Application No. 63/035,536.
Examiner’s response to Argument 1: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because the Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c), because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. In this case, Argument 1 is in reference to a provisional application different than provisional application no. 63/025031. Therefore, provisional application no. 63/025031 still fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Argument 2: Applicants argue, on page 11, 2nd to 3rd par., that the Office Action cites Sahai for the proposition that Sahai's UE 120, processor 902, and transceiver 910 (Sahai par. 157-159) correspond to the claimed apparatus, processing circuitry, and RF circuitry interface, and that Sahai's eNB 140 configuring a "dedicated gap" of a length greater than 6 ms for UE 120 to perform RSTD measurements based on PRS assistance data corresponds to decoding a configuration message from a gNB for a PRS-based MGL greater than 6 ms corresponding to RSTD measurements, determining the MGL, and performing RSTD measurements based on the MGL. The Office Action concedes that Sahai does not disclose or suggest a "New Radio (NR)" system or a "gNB," and turns to Cui solely for these two terms, citing Cui's RF circuitry 1206 and Cui's UE and gNB as devices capable of encoding and decoding messages (Cui par. 85, 90). Assuming arguendo that Sahai's dedicated-gap teaching corresponds to a PRS-based MGL greater than 6 ms for RSTD measurements as recited in claim 26, a reading that Applicant does not necessarily concede, the Office Action's reliance on Cui to supply the "New Radio" and "gNB" terminology independently fails to support the rejection, because the rationale the Office Action borrows from Cui is Cui's own reason for its own invention, not a reason to modify Sahai.
Examiner’s response to Argument 2: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Sahai, by deploying Cui's RF circuitry 1206 interfacing with the front-end module 1208, by enabling the UE to encode measurements, decode gap patterns, by enabling the gNB to encode measurement assistance information being equipped with an encoder and a decoder, as suggested by Cui, in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE (Cui par. 28); in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE to indicate a measurement gap pattern to the UE so that the UE can receive SS blocks received from the network (Cui par. 36); because based on the measurement assistance information received from the network, the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and the UE can determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency (Cui par. 40). Also in order to provide to the UE the OTDOA assistance information indicating the configuration of dedicated measurement gaps so that the UE can then perform measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps as configured (Sahai par. 55, 56). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Argument 3: Applicants argue, on page 11, 4th par. to page 12, 1st par., that Cui explains that its measurement gap pattern exists to solve a problem specific to synchronization-signal-based cell measurement in NR: because the SS "can have a different periodicity on different frequency layers ... or for different cells, an identical measurement gap pattern may not be feasible," so "network assistance can be used to convey the measurement gap pattern to the UE" (Cui par. 28; see also par. 50, describing the same SS-periodicity-driven. redesign). Every rationale the Office Action quotes from Cui, that the modification is made "in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE" (Cui par. 28), "in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE ... so that the UE can receive SS blocks" (Cui par. 36), and "because ... the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and ... determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency" (Cui par. 40), is drawn directly from Cui's own explanation of why Cui needed a configurable, per-frequency-layer SS-block gap pattern. None of it explains why a person of ordinary skill, working from Sahai's disclosure, would have had any reason to introduce NR or gNB terminology into Sahai's system. Sahai's dedicated gap already solves Sahai's own stated problem, accommodating dense PRS configurations for eMTC/FeMTC positioning, without any of the SS-periodicity concerns that motivated Cui. Reciting Cui's own justification for Cui's own invention, without connecting it to a need or problem that exists in Sahai, does not establish an articulated reason with rational underpinning for the combination; it shows only that Cui happens to use the words "NR" and "gNB" in an unrelated context.
Examiner’s response to Argument 3: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Sahai, by deploying Cui's RF circuitry 1206 interfacing with the front-end module 1208, by enabling the UE to encode measurements, decode gap patterns, by enabling the gNB to encode measurement assistance information being equipped with an encoder and a decoder, as suggested by Cui, in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE (Cui par. 28); in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE to indicate a measurement gap pattern to the UE so that the UE can receive SS blocks received from the network (Cui par. 36); because based on the measurement assistance information received from the network, the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and the UE can determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency (Cui par. 40). Also in order to provide to the UE the OTDOA assistance information indicating the configuration of dedicated measurement gaps so that the UE can then perform measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps as configured (Sahai par. 55, 56). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Argument 4: Applicants argue, on page 12, 2nd par. to page 13, 1st par., that this gap between the stated rationale and the actual modification is reinforced by the difference in architecture between the two references. Sahai's dedicated gap is DE-initiated: the UE receives an RSTD measurement request, determines a desired gap configuration from PRS assistance data and its coverage-enhancement mode, requests the gap from the eNB, and only then receives a configuration response, all using the LTE Positioning Protocol (Sahai par. 35, 96- 108, Fig. 4A). Cui's measurement gap pattern is gNB-initiated, conveyed as "measurement assistance information" identifying a per-frequency-range, per-frequency-layer, per-cell, or per UE gap pattern so the UE can receive SS blocks for cell identification (Cui par. 26, 30-33, 36, 66). Cui's own example measurement gap length is fixed at the legacy 6 ms value (Cui par. 30; Cui claim 5). The Office Action does not explain how these two distinct signaling architectures would be reconciled if Sahai's system were relabeled as an NR/gNB system, and offers no. rationale beyond Cui's own SS-block-specific reasoning to bridge that gap. Absent that explanation, the only apparent basis for pairing these two specific references, out of the many "NR" and "gNB" references potentially available, is the claim itself, which is the definition of impermissible hindsight.
Examiner’s response to Argument 4: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because in response to applicant’s argument that the examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, the analysis under 35 USC 103 is based on the prior art of record. In response to applicant’s argument that "The Office Action does not explain how these two distinct signaling architectures would be reconciled if Sahai's system were relabeled as an NR/gNB system", the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, the analysis under 35 USC 103 demonstrates how the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Subject Matter Eligible under 35 USC 101
Please refer to the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes in MPEP 2106 and in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, hereinafter, the “2019 PEG”:
Step 1: See MPEP 2106.03: 35 U.S.C. 101 enumerates four categories of subject matter that Congress deemed to be appropriate subject matter for a patent: processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter. Claims 26-50 include claims directed to a process, and claims directed to a machine, which are statutory categories.
Step 2A: MPEP 2106 subclause II. “ELIGIBILITY STEP 2A: WHETHER A CLAIM IS DIRECTED TO A JUDICIAL EXCEPTION” explains that Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry, in which examiners determine in Prong One whether a claim recites a judicial exception, and if so, then determine in Prong Two if the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception. Together, these prongs represent the first part of the Alice/Mayo test, which determines whether a claim is directed to a judicial exception.
Step 2A prong 1: The 2019 PEG explains that Step 2A prong 1 procedure for determining whether a claim “recites” an abstract idea is: identify the specific limitation(s) in the claim under examination that the examiner believes recites an abstract idea; and determine whether the identified limitation(s) falls within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the 2019 PEG, which are: Mathematical Concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations), Mental Processes, concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), and Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). In this case, the independent claims recite an abstract idea of a mathematical relationship of a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL) corresponding to performance by the UE of reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements, wherein the MGL is greater than 6 ms; therefore, the answer to Step 2 prong 1 is YES.
Step 2A prong 2: Yes, the claim does recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. Par. 77 of the specification describes a problem of prior art systems where, for the existing inter-frequency gap pattern, which is used for SSB based inter-frequency measurement, a maximum measurement gap length (MGL) is only up to 6 ms. As a result, a UE may make very limited number of PRS resource repetitions which are captured within an single inter-frequency measurement gap. Depending on PRS resource configuration and gap pattern configuration, the number of PRS resources within a gap can be even less than 1. Par. 83-84 and Table 2 of the specification describe a solution to the problem, which comprises increasing the MGL to values which are greater than 6 ms in order to capture an entire positioning reference signal repetition duration, instead of capturing only a part of the signals. In other words, a value greater than 6ms would enable capturing the PRS completely. Please refer to MPEP 2106.04(d): "Integration of a Judicial Exception Into A Practical Application" under the header "Relevant considerations for evaluating whether additional elements integrate a judicial exception into a practical application": "Limitations the courts have found indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the exception into a practical application include: • An improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a)". See for example the court decision in 118 USPQ2d 1684 Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp; U.S. Court of Appeals Federal Circuit, page 1689: “much of the advancement made in computer technology consists of improvements to software that, by their very nature, may not be defined by particular physical features but rather by logical structures and processes”. Therefore, the answer to prong 2 is YES, and the claims are eligible in step 2A.
Conditions for Benefit Claims Under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c)
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows: The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or earlier-filed nonprovisional application or provisional application for which benefit is claimed). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994). In this case, the disclosure of the prior-filed application, provisional application no. 63/025031, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The independent claims require "a configuration message from a NR Node B (gNB) to configure the UE with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL) corresponding to performance by the UE of reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements, wherein the MGL is greater than 6 ms". The specification enables this feature in par. 90 in reference to Fig. 5 where, at operation 516, the serving gNB 504 sends a message to the UE to configure the UE with the dedicated, preferred RSTD measurement gap pattern length for PRS measurement; at operation 518, the UE performs the PRS measurement within a gap corresponding with the preferred RSTD measurement gap pattern (e.g. measurement gap length (MGL) of >6ms).
The provisional application no. 63/025031 mentions "measurement gap sharing" on page 6 and page 7 Table 9.1.2.1a-1, for example, and mentions "MGL" in the list of acronyms on page 26; however, there is no drawing such as Fig. 5 or even Fig. 4, there is no mention of a configuration message for configuring the MGL, and there is no mention of MGL > 6ms. Regarding the dependent claims, they incorporate all limitations of the independent claims; therefore, the same provisional application fails to provide adequate support or enablement for the same above reasons.
Double Patenting
Application number 18/315,165 has the same inventive entity as the instant application, and their claims are similar to the claims of the instant case; however, a double patenting rejection does not need to be applied because this reference application is abandoned.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure: ETSI TS 138 133 V15.9.0 (2020-04), ETSI Technical Specification for 5G N R requirements for support of radio resource management (3GPP TS 38.133 version 15.9.0 Release 15), hereinafter ETSI TS 138 133 V15.9.0. (Year: 2020), cited in IDS, includes a section 9.1.2 about the "measurement gap". A UE requires measurement gaps to identify and measure intra-frequency cells and/or inter-frequency cells and/or inter-RAT E-UTRAN cells, and the UE supports independent measurement gap patterns for different frequency ranges. The network must provide either per-FR measurement gap patterns for frequency range where UE requires per-FR measurement gap for concurrent monitoring of all frequency layers of each frequency range independently. During the measurement gaps, the UE decodes PRS signals. UEs shall support the measurement gap patterns listed in Table 9.1.2-1. However, the highest value for measurement gap length listed in Table 9.1.2-1 of the standard document is 6 ms, while the claims require MGL greater than 6 ms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Joint Inventors, Common Ownership Presumed
Test for Obviousness
Claims 26-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahai et al (publication number 2019/0052996), hereinafter Sahai, and further in view of Cui et al (international publication number WO 2018/204383), hereinafter Cui.
Sahai uses terminology and acronyms as follows:
Par. 22: The terms “user equipment” (UE) or “mobile station” (UE), or “target” are used interchangeably and may refer to a device such as a cellular or other wireless communication device.
Par. 23-25: Observed Time Difference of Arrival based positioning (OTDOA); Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD); Positioning Reference Signals (PRS), which are often provided by a base station (BS); Long-Term Evolution (LTE); Resource Blocks (RBs); "base station" is the same as evolved NodeBs (eNBs);
Par. 28: “Measurement gaps” are periods that the UE uses to perform measurements. "Autonomous gaps" are periods where a UE suspends reception and transmission with a base station, while the UEs performs measurements, including PRS measurements, within specified time limits for OTDOA based positioning.
Par. 30: “Dedicated gaps” are two types: dedicated measurement gaps, and dedicated autonomous gaps. Dedicated gaps have a specified configuration, e.g., as requested by a UE and/or as configured by a BS based on a UE request. A dedicated gap configuration includes: a dedicated gap length, a dedicated gap periodicity, and/or a number of dedicated gap instances. Gap configuration includes gap length.
Par. 31: A UE may request dedicated (measurement or autonomous) gaps of a desired length from a base station (eNB).
Par. 57 explains, in reference to FIG. 2A, the structure of a LTE frame with PRS occasions. Time is shown on the X (horizontal) axis; frequency is shown on the Y (vertical) axis. Radio Frames 210 are organized into ten subframes 212 of 1 ms duration each. Each subframe 212 comprises two slots 214, each of 0.5 ms duration.
Par. 85 explains, in reference to Fig. 3B: conventionally, measurement gaps 310 have duration of 6 ms each and occur with Measurement Gap Periodicity of 80 ms.
Regarding claim 26, Sahai teaches an apparatus of a User Equipment (UE, Sahai par. 157-159: FIG. 9 shows a schematic block diagram of UE 120), the apparatus including a processing circuitry (Sahai par. 157-159 in reference to FIG. 9: processor 902) and a radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface (Sahai par. 157-159 in reference to FIG. 9: transceiver 910, e.g., wireless network interface; par. 82: "radio frequency"; "circuits" in par. 161) to couple the processing circuitry to an RF circuitry of the UE (Sahai par. 157-159: FIG. 9 shows a schematic block diagram of UE 120), the processing circuitry to (please refer to par. 89-112 in reference to Fig. 4A):
decode (Sahai par. 82, 84: UE decodes the LTE Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) in order to read the Master Information Block (MIB); par. 100: UE decodes LTE Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) symbols) a configuration message from a NR Node B (gNB, Sahai par. 106 in reference to Fig. 4A: At 440, eNB140 may configure the dedicated gap and transmit a message indicating the dedicated gap configuration) to configure the UE (Sahai par. 105 in reference to Fig. 4A: UE 120) with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL, Sahai par. 48 in reference to Fig. 1B: the UE 120 can request measurement gaps of appropriate or a desired length from the eNB 140-1 and the UE may specify that the measurement gaps are being requested for PRS measurements) corresponding to performance by the UE of reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements (Sahai par. 23: The UE measures time differences in received signals from a plurality of eNBs; to further help location determination, Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) are provided by a base station (BS) in order to improve OTDOA positioning; the UE performs RSTD measurements and determines its position), wherein the MGL is greater than 6 ms (Sahai par. 87 in reference to Fig. 3B: the UE requests dedicated measurement gaps of a desired length from the eNB; upon receiving a response confirming a dedicated measurement gap configuration from the eNB, the UE utilizes the dedicated measurement gaps to perform PRS measurements for a longer time, e.g., greater than 6 ms; par. 97: The desired dedicated gap duration may be longer or shorter than the default 6 ms measurement gap; par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 10 ms);
determine the MGL from the configuration message (Sahai par. 96 in reference to Fig. 4A: In block 420, UE 120 determines a desired dedicated gap configuration, for RSTD measurements, based on the assistance data received in 410; par. 30: gap configuration includes gap length); and
perform the RSTD measurements based on the MGL (Sahai par. 108 in reference to Fig. 4A: in block 445, the UE 120 measures RSTDs using the dedicated measurement gap length).
Sahai does not explicitly teach: "New Radio (NR)"; "gNB".
Cui teaches that in 5G New Radio (NR) wireless communication systems, a new synchronization signal (SS) is used for cell identification and measurement (par. 24). In legacy LTE, the synchronization signal's periodicity is fixed as 5ms, so an identical measurement gap pattern with a 6ms gap would apply for all cells on all frequency layers. In 5G networks, since the SS can have different periodicity values on different frequency layers (or frequency points) or for different cells, it is necessary to convey a measurement gap pattern of the SS to the UE by transmitting assistance information to the UE (par. 28). Cui proposes a 5G New Radio system where a Next Generation NodeB (gNB) encodes and transmits measurement assistance information to a user equipment (UE, par. 66). Cui utilizes the following terms and acronyms:
Par. 1: User Equipment (UE). Base Station (BS). Long Term Evolved (LTE) evolved NodeBs (eNB). New Radio (NR) next generation NodeBs (gNB). Third-Generation Partnership Project (3 GPP). Par. 24, 28: 5G New Radio (NR).
Par. 26: synchronization signal (SS) block including one symbol for a primary synchronization signal (PSS), one symbol for a secondary synchronization signal (SSS).
Par. 85 in reference to Fig. 12: application circuitry 1202, baseband circuitry 1204, Radio Frequency (RF) circuitry 1206, front-end module (FEM) circuitry 1208, one or more antennas 1210, and power management circuitry (PMC) 1212.
Cui teaches:
A radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface (Cui par. 90 in reference to Fig. 12: RF circuitry 1206 may enable communication with wireless networks using modulated electromagnetic radiation; the double arrow to the right from RF circuitry 1206 represents an interface with the front-end module 1208);
an apparatus of a new Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE) capable of encoding (Cui par. 65: The UE can encode measurements for selected frequency layers for reporting to the gNB) and decoding messages (Cui par. 65: a user equipment (UE) operable to decode measurement gap patterns received from a Next Generation NodeB (gNB)); and
a NR Node B (gNB) capable of encoding (Cui par. 66: a Next Generation NodeB (gNB) operable to encode measurement assistance information for transmission to a user equipment (UE)) and decoding messages (Cui par. 85 in reference to Fig. 12: The components of the illustrated device 1200 may be included in a UE or a RAN node; par. 87: The radio control functions include signal modulation/demodulation, encoding/decoding, precoding, Low Density Parity Check (LDPC) encoder/decoder functionality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Sahai, by deploying Cui's RF circuitry 1206 interfacing with the front-end module 1208, by enabling the UE to encode measurements, decode gap patterns, by enabling the gNB to encode measurement assistance information being equipped with an encoder and a decoder, as suggested by Cui, in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE (Cui par. 28); in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE to indicate a measurement gap pattern to the UE so that the UE can receive SS blocks received from the network (Cui par. 36); because based on the measurement assistance information received from the network, the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and the UE can determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency (Cui par. 40). Also in order to provide to the UE the OTDOA assistance information indicating the configuration of dedicated measurement gaps so that the UE can then perform measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps as configured (Sahai par. 55, 56). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 27, Sahai teaches: encode (Sahai par. 82, 84: UE decodes the LTE Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) in order to read the Master Information Block (MIB); par. 100: UE decodes LTE Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) symbols) a message to the gNB, the message including information to indicate the MGL (Sahai par. 98 in reference to Fig. 4A: At 430, UE requests a dedicated gap configuration by transmitting a request for dedicated gaps to eNB 140); and send the message to the gNB for transmission to the gNB (Sahai par. 98 in reference to Fig. 4A: Arrow 430 indicating that the UE transmits the requested dedicated gap configuration to eNB 140).
Regarding claim 28, Sahai teaches wherein the MGL is 10 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 10 ms).
Regarding claim 29, Sahai teaches wherein the MGL is 20 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 14 ms or 24 ms – it would have been obvious to select a value of 20 ms. Sahai par. 103, 119, 134: The requested dedicated (measurement or autonomous) gap configuration may be based on the length of a positioning occasion (e.g. 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 20, 40, 80, or 160 subframes) and/or the periodicity of the positioning occasions (e.g. 10, 20, 40, 80, 160, 320, 640, or 1280 subframes) – each subframe is 1 ms).
Regarding claim 30, Sahai teaches wherein a measurement gap period for the MGL is 80 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values and repetition periods. The repetition period value may be 80 ms).
Regarding claim 31, Sahai teaches wherein the MGL is 20 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 14 ms or 24 ms – it would have been obvious to select a value of 20 ms. Sahai par. 103, 119, 134: The requested dedicated (measurement or autonomous) gap configuration may be based on the length of a positioning occasion (e.g. 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 20, 40, 80, or 160 subframes) and/or the periodicity of the positioning occasions (e.g. 10, 20, 40, 80, 160, 320, 640, or 1280 subframes) – each subframe is 1 ms) and a measurement gap period for the MGL is 160 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values and repetition periods. The repetition period value may be 160 ms).
Regarding claim 32, Sahai does not explicitly teach: "wherein the UE is a dual connectivity UE".
Cui teaches wherein the UE is a dual connectivity UE (Cui par. 1, 70 and Fig. 11: UEs are configured to connect, e.g., communicatively couple, with a radio access network (RAN) 1110; the UEs utilize connections 1103 and 1104, respectively, each of which comprises a physical communications interface to enable communicative coupling and are consistent with the following cellular communications protocols: Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) protocol, a code-division multiple access (CDMA) network protocol, a Push-to-Talk (PTT) protocol, a PTT over Cellular (POC) protocol, a Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) protocol, a 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) protocol, a fifth generation (5G) protocol, a New Radio (NR) protocol – therefore, the UE has dual connectivity capabilities, i.e. the capability to connect with networks of several different technologies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Sahai, by enabling the UE's to connect with GSM, CDMA, a Push-to-Talk (PTT), UMTS, LTE, 5G, a New Radio (NR) protocol, as suggested by Cui, in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE (Cui par. 28); in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE to indicate a measurement gap pattern to the UE so that the UE can receive SS blocks received from the network (Cui par. 36); because based on the measurement assistance information received from the network, the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and the UE can determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency (Cui par. 40). Also in order to provide to the UE the OTDOA assistance information indicating the configuration of dedicated measurement gaps so that the UE can then perform measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps as configured (Sahai par. 55, 56). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 33, Sahai does not explicitly teach: "further including the RF circuitry".
Cui teaches further including a radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface (Cui par. 90 and Fig. 12: RF circuitry 1206 may enable communication with wireless networks using modulated electromagnetic radiation; the double arrow to the right from RF circuitry 1206 represents an interface with the front-end module 1208), further including a radio frequency front end (RFFE) coupled to the RF circuitry (Cui par. 85 and Fig. 12: Radio Frequency (RF) circuitry 1206, front-end module (FEM) circuitry 1208; par. 90: RF circuitry 1206 includes transmit and receive signal paths provide RF output signals to the FEM circuitry 1208 for transmission and also receive RF signals from FEM circuitry 1208), wherein the RFFE includes antenna panels (Cui par. 101: FEM circuitry 1208 operates on RF signals transmitted to and received from antennas 1210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Sahai, by deploying Cui's RF circuitry 1206 interfacing with the front-end module 1208, by deploying RF circuitry 1206 including transmit and receive signal paths provide RF output signals to the FEM circuitry 1208 for transmission and also receive RF signals from FEM circuitry 1208, and deploying antennas 1210, as suggested by Cui, in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE (Cui par. 28); in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE to indicate a measurement gap pattern to the UE so that the UE can receive SS blocks received from the network (Cui par. 36); because based on the measurement assistance information received from the network, the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and the UE can determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency (Cui par. 40). Also in order to provide to the UE the OTDOA assistance information indicating the configuration of dedicated measurement gaps so that the UE can then perform measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps as configured (Sahai par. 55, 56). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 34, Sahai does not explicitly teach: "further including a radio frequency front end (RFFE) coupled to the RF circuitry".
Cui teaches further including a radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface (Cui par. 90 and Fig. 12: RF circuitry 1206 may enable communication with wireless networks using modulated electromagnetic radiation; the double arrow to the right from RF circuitry 1206 represents an interface with the front-end module 1208), further including a radio frequency front end (RFFE) coupled to the RF circuitry (Cui par. 85 and Fig. 12: Radio Frequency (RF) circuitry 1206, front-end module (FEM) circuitry 1208; par. 90: RF circuitry 1206 includes transmit and receive signal paths provide RF output signals to the FEM circuitry 1208 for transmission and also receive RF signals from FEM circuitry 1208), wherein the RFFE includes antenna panels (Cui par. 101: FEM circuitry 1208 operates on RF signals transmitted to and received from antennas 1210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Sahai, by deploying Cui's RF circuitry 1206 interfacing with the front-end module 1208, by deploying RF circuitry 1206 including transmit and receive signal paths provide RF output signals to the FEM circuitry 1208 for transmission and also receive RF signals from FEM circuitry 1208, and deploying antennas 1210, as suggested by Cui, in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE (Cui par. 28); in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE to indicate a measurement gap pattern to the UE so that the UE can receive SS blocks received from the network (Cui par. 36); because based on the measurement assistance information received from the network, the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and the UE can determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency (Cui par. 40). Also in order to provide to the UE the OTDOA assistance information indicating the configuration of dedicated measurement gaps so that the UE can then perform measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps as configured (Sahai par. 55, 56). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 35, Sahai does not explicitly teach: "wherein the RFFE includes antenna panels".
Cui teaches further including a radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface (Cui par. 90 and Fig. 12: RF circuitry 1206 may enable communication with wireless networks using modulated electromagnetic radiation; the double arrow to the right from RF circuitry 1206 represents an interface with the front-end module 1208), further including a radio frequency front end (RFFE) coupled to the RF circuitry (Cui par. 85 and Fig. 12: Radio Frequency (RF) circuitry 1206, front-end module (FEM) circuitry 1208; par. 90: RF circuitry 1206 includes transmit and receive signal paths provide RF output signals to the FEM circuitry 1208 for transmission and also receive RF signals from FEM circuitry 1208), wherein the RFFE includes antenna panels (Cui par. 101: FEM circuitry 1208 operates on RF signals transmitted to and received from antennas 1210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Sahai, by deploying Cui's RF circuitry 1206 interfacing with the front-end module 1208, by deploying RF circuitry 1206 including transmit and receive signal paths provide RF output signals to the FEM circuitry 1208 for transmission and also receive RF signals from FEM circuitry 1208, and deploying antennas 1210, as suggested by Cui, in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE (Cui par. 28); in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE to indicate a measurement gap pattern to the UE so that the UE can receive SS blocks received from the network (Cui par. 36); because based on the measurement assistance information received from the network, the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and the UE can determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency (Cui par. 40). Also in order to provide to the UE the OTDOA assistance information indicating the configuration of dedicated measurement gaps so that the UE can then perform measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps as configured (Sahai par. 55, 56). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 36, Sahai teaches an apparatus of a New Radio (NR) Node B (gNB, Sahai par. 89 in reference to Fig. 4A: base station eNB 140), the apparatus including a processing circuitry (Sahai par. 157-159 in reference to FIG. 9: processor 902) and a radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface (Sahai par. 157-159 in reference to FIG. 9: transceiver 910, e.g., wireless network interface; par. 82: "radio frequency"; "circuits" in par. 161) to couple the processing circuitry to an RF circuitry of the gNB (Sahai par. 89 in reference to Fig. 4A: base station eNB 140), the processing circuitry to:
encode (Sahai par. 109 in reference to Fig. 4A: the UE decodes a threshold number of PDSCH symbols and, based on the decoding, may send acknowledgment (ACK) or no acknowledgment (NAK) signals to the serving eNB – therefore, the eNB can encode a message) a configuration message (Sahai par. 106 in reference to Fig. 4A: At 440, eNB140 may configure the dedicated gap and transmit a message indicating the dedicated gap configuration) to a NR User Equipment (UE, Sahai par. 105 in reference to Fig. 4A: UE 120) to configure the UE (Sahai par. 105 in reference to Fig. 4A: UE 120) with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL, Sahai par. 48 in reference to Fig. 1B: the UE 120 can request measurement gaps of appropriate or a desired length from the eNB 140-1 and the UE may specify that the measurement gaps are being requested for PRS measurements) corresponding to performance by the UE of reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements (Sahai par. 23: The UE measures time differences in received signals from a plurality of eNBs; to further help location determination, Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) are provided by a base station (BS) in order to improve OTDOA positioning; the UE performs RSTD measurements and determines its position), wherein the MGL is greater than 6 ms (Sahai par. 87 in reference to Fig. 3B: the UE requests dedicated measurement gaps of a desired length from the eNB; upon receiving a response confirming a dedicated measurement gap configuration from the eNB, the UE utilizes the dedicated measurement gaps to perform PRS measurements for a longer time, e.g., greater than 6 ms; par. 97: The desired dedicated gap duration may be longer or shorter than the default 6 ms measurement gap; par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 10 ms); and
send the configuration message for transmission to the UE (Sahai par. 106 in reference to Fig. 4A: At 440, eNB140 may configure the dedicated gap and transmit a message indicating the dedicated gap configuration to UE 120).
Sahai does not explicitly teach: "New Radio (NR)"; "gNB".
Cui teaches:
A radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface (Cui par. 90 in reference to Fig. 12: RF circuitry 1206 may enable communication with wireless networks using modulated electromagnetic radiation; the double arrow to the right from RF circuitry 1206 represents an interface with the front-end module 1208);
an apparatus of a new Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE) capable of encoding (Cui par. 65: The UE can encode measurements for selected frequency layers for reporting to the gNB) and decoding messages (Cui par. 65: a user equipment (UE) operable to decode measurement gap patterns received from a Next Generation NodeB (gNB)); and
a NR Node B (gNB) capable of encoding (Cui par. 66: a Next Generation NodeB (gNB) operable to encode measurement assistance information for transmission to a user equipment (UE)) and decoding messages (Cui par. 85 in reference to Fig. 12: The components of the illustrated device 1200 may be included in a UE or a RAN node; par. 87: The radio control functions include signal modulation/demodulation, encoding/decoding, precoding, Low Density Parity Check (LDPC) encoder/decoder functionality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Sahai, by deploying Cui's RF circuitry 1206 interfacing with the front-end module 1208, by enabling the UE to encode measurements, decode gap patterns, by enabling the gNB to encode measurement assistance information being equipped with an encoder and a decoder, as suggested by Cui, in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE (Cui par. 28); in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE to indicate a measurement gap pattern to the UE so that the UE can receive SS blocks received from the network (Cui par. 36); because based on the measurement assistance information received from the network, the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and the UE can determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency (Cui par. 40). Also in order to provide to the UE the OTDOA assistance information indicating the configuration of dedicated measurement gaps so that the UE can then perform measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps as configured (Sahai par. 55, 56). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 37, Sahai teaches: decode (Sahai par. 82, 84: UE decodes the LTE Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) in order to read the Master Information Block (MIB); par. 100: UE decodes LTE Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) symbols) a message from the UE, the message including information to indicate the MGL (Sahai par. 98 in reference to Fig. 4A: At 430, UE requests a dedicated gap configuration by transmitting a request for dedicated gaps to eNB 140); and encode (Sahai par. 109 in reference to Fig. 4A: the UE decodes a threshold number of PDSCH symbols and, based on the decoding, may send acknowledgment (ACK) or no acknowledgment (NAK) signals to the serving eNB – therefore, the eNB can encode a message) the configuration message to the UE based on determination of the MGL from the message from the UE (Sahai par. 106 in reference to Fig. 4A: At 440, eNB140 may configure the dedicated gap and transmit a message indicating the dedicated gap configuration to UE 120).
Regarding claim 38, Sahai teaches wherein the MGL is 10 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 10 ms).
Regarding claim 39, Sahai teaches wherein the MGL is 20 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 14 ms or 24 ms – it would have been obvious to select a value of 20 ms. Sahai par. 103, 119, 134: The requested dedicated (measurement or autonomous) gap configuration may be based on the length of a positioning occasion (e.g. 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 20, 40, 80, or 160 subframes) and/or the periodicity of the positioning occasions (e.g. 10, 20, 40, 80, 160, 320, 640, or 1280 subframes) – each subframe is 1 ms).
Regarding claim 40, Sahai teaches wherein a measurement gap period for the MGL is 80 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values and repetition periods. The repetition period value may be 80 ms).
Regarding claim 41, Sahai teaches wherein the MGL is 20 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 14 ms or 24 ms – it would have been obvious to select a value of 20 ms. Sahai par. 103, 119, 134: The requested dedicated (measurement or autonomous) gap configuration may be based on the length of a positioning occasion (e.g. 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 20, 40, 80, or 160 subframes) and/or the periodicity of the positioning occasions (e.g. 10, 20, 40, 80, 160, 320, 640, or 1280 subframes) – each subframe is 1 ms) and a measurement gap period for the MGL is 160 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values and repetition periods. The repetition period value may be 160 ms).
Regarding claim 42, Sahai does not explicitly teach: "further including the RF circuitry, a radio frequency front end (RFFE) coupled to the RF circuitry, the RFFE including antenna panels".
Cui teaches further including a radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface (Cui par. 90 and Fig. 12: RF circuitry 1206 may enable communication with wireless networks using modulated electromagnetic radiation; the double arrow to the right from RF circuitry 1206 represents an interface with the front-end module 1208), further including a radio frequency front end (RFFE) coupled to the RF circuitry (Cui par. 85 and Fig. 12: Radio Frequency (RF) circuitry 1206, front-end module (FEM) circuitry 1208; par. 90: RF circuitry 1206 includes transmit and receive signal paths provide RF output signals to the FEM circuitry 1208 for transmission and also receive RF signals from FEM circuitry 1208), wherein the RFFE includes antenna panels (Cui par. 101: FEM circuitry 1208 operates on RF signals transmitted to and received from antennas 1210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Sahai, by deploying Cui's RF circuitry 1206 interfacing with the front-end module 1208, by deploying RF circuitry 1206 including transmit and receive signal paths provide RF output signals to the FEM circuitry 1208 for transmission and also receive RF signals from FEM circuitry 1208, and deploying antennas 1210, as suggested by Cui, in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE (Cui par. 28); in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE to indicate a measurement gap pattern to the UE so that the UE can receive SS blocks received from the network (Cui par. 36); because based on the measurement assistance information received from the network, the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and the UE can determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency (Cui par. 40). Also in order to provide to the UE the OTDOA assistance information indicating the configuration of dedicated measurement gaps so that the UE can then perform measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps as configured (Sahai par. 55, 56). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 43, Sahai teaches a tangible non-transitory machine-readable storage medium (Sahai par. 162, 164 in reference to Fig. 9: machine-readable medium tangibly embodying instructions) including code (Sahai par. 162, 164 in reference to Fig. 9: non-transitory computer-readable media used to store program code 908 in the form of instructions) which, when executed by processing circuitry (Sahai par. 157-159 in reference to FIG. 9: processor 902) of a New Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE, Sahai par. 157-159: FIG. 9 shows a schematic block diagram of UE 120), causes the processing circuitry to perform operations including:
decoding (Sahai par. 82, 84: UE decodes the LTE Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) in order to read the Master Information Block (MIB); par. 100: UE decodes LTE Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) symbols) a configuration message from a NR Node B (gNB, Sahai par. 106 in reference to Fig. 4A: At 440, eNB140 may configure the dedicated gap and transmit a message indicating the dedicated gap configuration) to configure the UE (Sahai par. 105 in reference to Fig. 4A: UE 120) with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL, Sahai par. 48 in reference to Fig. 1B: the UE 120 can request measurement gaps of appropriate or a desired length from the eNB 140-1 and the UE may specify that the measurement gaps are being requested for PRS measurements) corresponding to performance by the UE of reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements (Sahai par. 23: The UE measures time differences in received signals from a plurality of eNBs; to further help location determination, Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) are provided by a base station (BS) in order to improve OTDOA positioning; the UE performs RSTD measurements and determines its position), wherein the MGL is greater than 6 ms (Sahai par. 87 in reference to Fig. 3B: the UE requests dedicated measurement gaps of a desired length from the eNB; upon receiving a response confirming a dedicated measurement gap configuration from the eNB, the UE utilizes the dedicated measurement gaps to perform PRS measurements for a longer time, e.g., greater than 6 ms; par. 97: The desired dedicated gap duration may be longer or shorter than the default 6 ms measurement gap; par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 10 ms);
determining the MGL from the configuration message (Sahai par. 96 in reference to Fig. 4A: In block 420, UE 120 determines a desired dedicated gap configuration, for RSTD measurements, based on the assistance data received in 410; par. 30: gap configuration includes gap length); and
performing the RSTD measurements based on the MGL (Sahai par. 108 in reference to Fig. 4A: in block 445, the UE 120 measures RSTDs using the dedicated measurement gap length).
Sahai does not explicitly teach: "New Radio (NR)"; "gNB".
Cui teaches:
A radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface (Cui par. 90 in reference to Fig. 12: RF circuitry 1206 may enable communication with wireless networks using modulated electromagnetic radiation; the double arrow to the right from RF circuitry 1206 represents an interface with the front-end module 1208);
an apparatus of a new Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE) capable of encoding (Cui par. 65: The UE can encode measurements for selected frequency layers for reporting to the gNB) and decoding messages (Cui par. 65: a user equipment (UE) operable to decode measurement gap patterns received from a Next Generation NodeB (gNB)); and
a NR Node B (gNB) capable of encoding (Cui par. 66: a Next Generation NodeB (gNB) operable to encode measurement assistance information for transmission to a user equipment (UE)) and decoding messages (Cui par. 85 in reference to Fig. 12: The components of the illustrated device 1200 may be included in a UE or a RAN node; par. 87: The radio control functions include signal modulation/demodulation, encoding/decoding, precoding, Low Density Parity Check (LDPC) encoder/decoder functionality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Sahai, by deploying Cui's RF circuitry 1206 interfacing with the front-end module 1208, by enabling the UE to encode measurements, decode gap patterns, by enabling the gNB to encode measurement assistance information being equipped with an encoder and a decoder, as suggested by Cui, in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE (Cui par. 28); in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE to indicate a measurement gap pattern to the UE so that the UE can receive SS blocks received from the network (Cui par. 36); because based on the measurement assistance information received from the network, the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and the UE can determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency (Cui par. 40). Also in order to provide to the UE the OTDOA assistance information indicating the configuration of dedicated measurement gaps so that the UE can then perform measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps as configured (Sahai par. 55, 56). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 44, Sahai teaches: encoding (Sahai par. 82, 84: UE decodes the LTE Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) in order to read the Master Information Block (MIB); par. 100: UE decodes LTE Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) symbols) a message to the gNB, the message including information to indicate the MGL (Sahai par. 98 in reference to Fig. 4A: At 430, UE requests a dedicated gap configuration by transmitting a request for dedicated gaps to eNB 140); and sending the message to the gNB for transmission to the gNB (Sahai par. 98 in reference to Fig. 4A: Arrow 430 indicating that the UE transmits the requested dedicated gap configuration to eNB 140).
Regarding claim 45, Sahai teaches wherein the MGL is 10 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 10 ms).
Regarding claim 46, Sahai teaches wherein the MGL is 20 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 14 ms or 24 ms – it would have been obvious to select a value of 20 ms. Sahai par. 103, 119, 134: The requested dedicated (measurement or autonomous) gap configuration may be based on the length of a positioning occasion (e.g. 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 20, 40, 80, or 160 subframes) and/or the periodicity of the positioning occasions (e.g. 10, 20, 40, 80, 160, 320, 640, or 1280 subframes) – each subframe is 1 ms).
Regarding claim 47, Sahai teaches wherein a measurement gap period for the MGL is 80 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values and repetition periods. The repetition period value may be 80 ms).
Regarding claim 48, Sahai teaches wherein the MGL is 20 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 14 ms or 24 ms – it would have been obvious to select a value of 20 ms. Sahai par. 103, 119, 134: The requested dedicated (measurement or autonomous) gap configuration may be based on the length of a positioning occasion (e.g. 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 20, 40, 80, or 160 subframes) and/or the periodicity of the positioning occasions (e.g. 10, 20, 40, 80, 160, 320, 640, or 1280 subframes) – each subframe is 1 ms) and a measurement gap period for the MGL is 160 ms (Sahai par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values and repetition periods. The repetition period value may be 160 ms).
Regarding claim 49, Sahai teaches a method (please refer to par. 89-112 in reference to Fig. 4A; the signaling diagram of Fig. 4A represents a method) to be performed at processing circuitry (Sahai par. 157-159 in reference to FIG. 9: processor 902) of a New Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE, Sahai par. 157-159: FIG. 9 shows a schematic block diagram of UE 120), the method including:
decoding (Sahai par. 82, 84: UE decodes the LTE Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) in order to read the Master Information Block (MIB); par. 100: UE decodes LTE Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) symbols) a configuration message from a NR Node B (gNB, Sahai par. 106 in reference to Fig. 4A: At 440, eNB140 may configure the dedicated gap and transmit a message indicating the dedicated gap configuration) to configure the UE (Sahai par. 105 in reference to Fig. 4A: UE 120) with a positioning reference signal (PRS) based measurement gap pattern length (MGL, Sahai par. 48 in reference to Fig. 1B: the UE 120 can request measurement gaps of appropriate or a desired length from the eNB 140-1 and the UE may specify that the measurement gaps are being requested for PRS measurements) corresponding to performance by the UE of reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements (Sahai par. 23: The UE measures time differences in received signals from a plurality of eNBs; to further help location determination, Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) are provided by a base station (BS) in order to improve OTDOA positioning; the UE performs RSTD measurements and determines its position), wherein the MGL is greater than 6 ms (Sahai par. 87 in reference to Fig. 3B: the UE requests dedicated measurement gaps of a desired length from the eNB; upon receiving a response confirming a dedicated measurement gap configuration from the eNB, the UE utilizes the dedicated measurement gaps to perform PRS measurements for a longer time, e.g., greater than 6 ms; par. 97: The desired dedicated gap duration may be longer or shorter than the default 6 ms measurement gap; par. 115 provides a table of measurement gap length values of, for example, 10 ms);
determining the MGL from the configuration message (Sahai par. 96 in reference to Fig. 4A: In block 420, UE 120 determines a desired dedicated gap configuration, for RSTD measurements, based on the assistance data received in 410; par. 30: gap configuration includes gap length); and
performing the RSTD measurements based on the MGL (Sahai par. 108 in reference to Fig. 4A: in block 445, the UE 120 measures RSTDs using the dedicated measurement gap length).
Sahai does not explicitly teach: "New Radio (NR)"; "gNB".
Cui teaches:
A radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface (Cui par. 90 in reference to Fig. 12: RF circuitry 1206 may enable communication with wireless networks using modulated electromagnetic radiation; the double arrow to the right from RF circuitry 1206 represents an interface with the front-end module 1208);
an apparatus of a new Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE) capable of encoding (Cui par. 65: The UE can encode measurements for selected frequency layers for reporting to the gNB) and decoding messages (Cui par. 65: a user equipment (UE) operable to decode measurement gap patterns received from a Next Generation NodeB (gNB)); and
a NR Node B (gNB) capable of encoding (Cui par. 66: a Next Generation NodeB (gNB) operable to encode measurement assistance information for transmission to a user equipment (UE)) and decoding messages (Cui par. 85 in reference to Fig. 12: The components of the illustrated device 1200 may be included in a UE or a RAN node; par. 87: The radio control functions include signal modulation/demodulation, encoding/decoding, precoding, Low Density Parity Check (LDPC) encoder/decoder functionality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Sahai, by deploying Cui's RF circuitry 1206 interfacing with the front-end module 1208, by enabling the UE to encode measurements, decode gap patterns, by enabling the gNB to encode measurement assistance information being equipped with an encoder and a decoder, as suggested by Cui, in order to support the measurement or cell identification in the NR system, conveying the measurement gap pattern to the UE (Cui par. 28); in order to provide measurement assistance information to the UE to indicate a measurement gap pattern to the UE so that the UE can receive SS blocks received from the network (Cui par. 36); because based on the measurement assistance information received from the network, the UE can derive a gap location for each frequency, and the UE can determine a number of gaps that can be used for measurement on this frequency (Cui par. 40). Also in order to provide to the UE the OTDOA assistance information indicating the configuration of dedicated measurement gaps so that the UE can then perform measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps as configured (Sahai par. 55, 56). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 50, Sahai teaches: encoding (Sahai par. 82, 84: UE decodes the LTE Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) in order to read the Master Information Block (MIB); par. 100: UE decodes LTE Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) symbols) a message to the gNB, the message including information to indicate the MGL (Sahai par. 98 in reference to Fig. 4A: At 430, UE requests a dedicated gap configuration by transmitting a request for dedicated gaps to eNB 140); and sending the message to the gNB for transmission to the gNB (Sahai par. 98 in reference to Fig. 4A: Arrow 430 indicating that the UE transmits the requested dedicated gap configuration to eNB 140).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD EISNER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644