DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s argument, filed on 03/30/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1-20 has been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant states in scanned page 2, “Accordingly, even when considered together, paragraphs 65, 72, and 74 of Guo fail to disclose acquiring, via RACH signaling, a first TA value for a first TRP and a second TA value for a second TRP, as required by Claim 1. Instead, Guo relies on conventional procedures in which RACH is used for access and TAC MAC CE signaling is used for TA update and maintenance.
Furthermore, as described in the present application, conventional RACH procedures do not provide a mechanism for associating acquired TA values with specific TRPs, such that a UE may be unable to determine which TRP is associated with an initial TA value obtained via RACH. The claimed invention addresses this deficiency by enabling acquisition of multiple TA values via RACH signaling with association to respective TRPs, which is not taught or suggested by Guo.”
the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Said limitation of independent claim 1 “acquiring, by a user equipment (UE), from a base station (BS), a first timing advance (TA) value for a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and a second TA value for a second TRP via random access channel (RACH) signaling based on an identifier”
Prior art Guo discloses in para [0041] and [0042] uplink alignment is performed in the random-access procedures.. For initial access procedures with multiple TRPs, in some embodiments, the UE accesses only one of the multiple TRPs. The UE can determine a preamble based on the system information received from the TRP. For example, the UE accesses one TRP (e.g., TRP-1) in the initial access and accesses another TRP (e.g., TRP-2) after the initial access succeeds. Uplink alignment related parameters for TRP-1 can be applied to TRP-2 until random access procedure for TRP-2 succeeds. i.e., the UE determines and transmits a random access preamble that is associated with one of the TRPs.
And in para [0043]Each preamble group can be indexed or named explicitly to correspond to each TRP. The UE can select a preamble from the preamble group that corresponds to the TRP for random access. For example, preamble group with index 0 is used for TRP-1 and preamble group with index 1 is used for TRP-2.
And in para [0045] the UE determines a preamble to use for each TRP based on the preamble index only. The preambles for multiple TRPs can be indexed jointly. For example, the base station configured N preambles, e.g., in an RRC signaling. Among the N preambles, X preambles are associated with a first TRP and the remaining (N−X) preambles are associated with a second, different TRP. The UE determines the association between a TRP and a preamble according to the configuration information in the RRC signaling.
And in para
[0048] The variable NTA,offset represents the value of n-TimingAdvanceOffset configured for a serving cell. NTA,offset is configured for each serving cell in system information and is used to determine uplink timing advance. Different NTA,offset for the same serving cell can be configured by different TRPs.
And in para
And [0049] The UE can receive different NTA,offset values from different TRPs, and select a value based on the received configurations.
In some embodiments, the UE determines the uplink timing advance based on one NTA,offset associated with one of the TRPs and chooses to ignore the other values. i.e., UE obtain TA for TRPs. For example, the NTA,offset value associated with the TRP that corresponds to the preamble (e.g., the first or the last transmitted preamble) can be selected, while the other NTA,offset values are ignored. In some embodiments, the UE determines the uplink timing advance based on an indication from the base station (e.g., an RRC signaling message) and ignores all the configured NTA,offset values.
Therefore, Guo teaches UE determines the uplink timing advance based on one received NTA,offset associated with one of the TRPs and chooses to ignore the other values. i.e., acquiring, by a user equipment (UE), from a base station (BS), a first timing advance (TA) value for a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and a second TA value for a second TRP via random access channel (RACH) signaling based on an identifier) and
The UE can select a random access preamble from the preamble group that corresponds to the TRP for random access. Preamble group with index 0 is used for TRP-1 and preamble group with index 1 is used for TRP-2. (i.e., random access channel (RACH) signaling based on an identifier/preamble index).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 4, 7-9, 11-14, 17, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (US 20240224210 A1) hereinafter Guo
As to claim 1.Guio teaches a method comprising: acquiring, by a user equipment (UE), from a base station (BS), a first timing advance (TA) value for a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and a second TA value for a second TRP via random access channel (RACH) signaling based on an identifier; ([0065][0070] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 UE receives TAC MAC CE from TRP-1 and TAC MAC CE from TRP – 2, , the preamble group with index 0 is used for TRP-1 and the preamble group with index 1 is used for TRP-2, TAC MAC CE indicating timing advance TA values ; UE determines the preamble to transmit for random access and the preamble group with index 0 is used for TRP-1 and the preamble group with index 1 is used for TRP-2)
and managing, by the UE, the first TA value and the second TA value during multi-TRP transmission within a cell having the first TRP and the second TRP. ([0065]Fig. 6, , multiple TACs (604, 605), each corresponding to a TRP can be indicated by the base station. The value of timing advance is updated respectively for each TRP: N.sub.TA,new=N.sub.TA,old+(T.sub.A−31).Math.16.Math.64/2.sup.μ, where N.sub.TA,old is the current value of timing advance, N.sub.TA,new is the updated value, T.sub.A is the corresponding value of TAC, μ indicates the SCS, and the value 31 can be changed when the bit size of TAC in MAC CE changes/UE manages TA values.)
Claims 11, 20 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 2 Guo teaches , wherein acquiring the first TA value and the second TA value comprises:; and receiving, by the UE, from the BS, a first random access response (RAR) indicating the first TA value and a first RACH preamble identifier. ; ([0065][0070] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 UE receives TAC MAC CE from TRP-1 and TAC MAC CE from TRP – 2, , the preamble group with index 0 is used for TRP-1 and the preamble group with index 1 is used for TRP-2, TAC MAC CE indicating timing advance TA values);
transmitting, by the UE, to the BS, a first RACH preamble corresponding to the first TRP ([0070] Fig. 7, UE determines the preamble to transmit for random access and the preamble group with index 0 is used for TRP-1 and the preamble group with index 1 is used for TRP-2)
a first random access response (RAR) indicating the first TA value and a first RACH preamble identifier. ([0070][0079] Fig. 7, UE determines preamble to transmit for random access based on preamble groups configured by base station,, the preamble group with index 0 is used for TRP-1, UE determines uplink signal transmission timing to each TRP based on a TAC included in MAC RAR, )
Claim 12 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 3 Guo teaches wherein acquiring the first TA value and the second TA value further comprises: ([0065][0070] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 UE receives TAC MAC CE from TRP-1 and TAC MAC CE from TRP – 2, )
transmitting, by the UE, to the BS, a second RACH preamble corresponding to the second TRP; ([0070] Fig. 7, UE determines the preamble to transmit for random access and the preamble group with index 1 is used for TRP-2)
and receiving, by the UE, from the BS, a second RAR comprising the second TA value and a second RACH preamble identifier. ([0070][0079] Fig. 7, UE determines preamble to transmit for random access based on preamble groups configured by base station,, the preamble group with index 1 is used for TRP-2, UE determines uplink signal transmission timing to each TRP based on a TAC included in MAC RAR, )
Claim 13 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
As to claim 4 Guo teaches wherein acquiring the first TA value and the second TA value further comprises: receiving, by the UE, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order from the BS, wherein transmission of the second RACH preamble is based on reception of the PDCCH order. ([0044] [0069] Fig. 7, the UE determines a preamble for a TRP based on the DCI format for the PDCCH order; UE determines which preamble is to be used based on the preamble index and the TRP related field; he UE can then transmit a second preamble for random access to TRP-2. )
Claim 14 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
As to claim 7 Guo teaches , wherein managing the first TA value and the second TA value comprises: receiving, by the UE, from the BS, one or more medium access control (MAC) control elements (CEs) comprising a first TA command (TAC) and a second TAC; ([0065][0070] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 UE receives TAC MAC CE from TRP-1 and TAC MAC CE from TRP – 2, )
and updating, by the UE, the first TA value based on the first TAC, and the second TA value based on the second TAC. ([0065]Fig. 6, , multiple TACs (604, 605), each corresponding to a TRP can be indicated by the base station. The value of timing advance is updated respectively for each TRP: N.sub.TA,new=N.sub.TA,old+(T.sub.A−31).Math.16.Math.64/2.sup.μ, where N.sub.TA,old is the current value of timing advance, N.sub.TA,new is the updated value, T.sub.A is the corresponding value of TAC, μ indicates the SCS, and the value 31 can be changed when the bit size of TAC in MAC CE changes/UE manages TA values.)
Claim 17 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
As to claim 8. Guo teaches wherein receiving the one or more MAC CEs comprises: receiving, at the UE, from the BS, a first MAC CE and a second MAC CE, the first MAC CE comprising the first TAC and a first TA group (TAG) identifier corresponding to the first TAC, and the second MAC CE comprising the second TAC and a second TAG identifier corresponding to the second TAC; or
receiving, at the UE, from the BS, a third MAC CE comprising the first TAC, the first TAG identifier, the second TAC, and the second TAG identifier. (][0038][0063][0065][0070] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 UE receives TAC MAC CE from TRP-1 and TAC MAC CE from TRP – 2, UE can apply the TAC to the TRP according to the TAG-Id and the specified TRP-Id in the message. in addition, the message received by the UE can include a TAG-Id and TAC information for multiple TRPs. Tag-Id=0, to TRP 1, i.e., Tag-Id=1 to TRP 2)
Claim 18 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
As to claim 9. Guo teaches , wherein the first TAG identifier corresponds to the first TRP and the second TAG identifier corresponds to the second TRP. ([0063] The UE is configured with the same serving cell for two or more TRPs (e.g., TRP-1 and TRP-2). The serving cell is associated with two TAGs. The TAG that includes the primary serving cell has a TAG-Id=0
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo and further in view of Sun et al. (CN 117858264 A)hereinafter Sun i.e., Translated copy is attached
As to claim 10. Guo teaches wherein managing the first TA value and the second TA value comprises: updating the first TA value or the second TA value based on a TAC; ([0065]Fig. 6, , multiple TACs (604, 605), each corresponding to a TRP can be indicated by the base station. The value of timing advance is updated respectively for each TRP: N.sub.TA,new=N.sub.TA,old+(T.sub.A−31).Math.16.Math.64/2.sup.μ, where N.sub.TA,old is the current value of timing advance, N.sub.TA,new is the updated value, T.sub.A is the corresponding value of TAC, μ indicates the SCS, and the value 31 can be changed when the bit size of TAC in MAC CE changes/UE manages TA values.)
Guo does not teach wherein the TAC is received in a slot configured for a non-front-loaded demodulation reference signal (DMRS) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) mapping type-A configuration; or
wherein the first TA value or the second TA value is updated in the slot configured for the non-front-loaded DMRS or the PUSCH mapping type-A configuration.
Sun teaches wherein the TAC is received in a slot configured for a non-front-loaded demodulation reference signal (DMRS) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) mapping type-A configuration; or
wherein the first TA value or the second TA value is updated in the slot configured for the non-front-loaded DMRS or the PUSCH mapping type-A configuration. ([0132] [0182] [0183] For Type A, i.e., slot-level PUSCH repetition, one PUSCH repetition refers to one PUSCH transmission opportunity within each slot, TAC received in a uplink time slot, )
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Sun with the teaching of Guo because Sun teaches that multiple transmit beams corresponding to different TRPs are used for transmission would improve the reliability of PUSCH transmission.(Sun [0131])
Claim 19 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 5, 6, 15, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 16 prior art Briggs et al. [US 20180351661 A1] teaches in para 0068] In some embodiments, the method includes receiving a paging message from the base station; checking a timer status; and when the timer has not expired: sending a third RACH preamble at a fourth UL start time, wherein the fourth UL start time is based on the timing change value.
And in para [0069] In some embodiments, the method includes receiving a signaling message from the base station, wherein the signaling message instructs the UE to handover to a second base station; restarting the timer; generating a third timing change value; sending a third RACH preamble to the second base station, wherein a transmit time of the third RACH preamble is based on the third timing change value; receiving a second RAR from the second base station; parsing a third TA value from the second RAR; and transmitting a second scheduled transmission to the second base station, wherein a transmit time of the second schedule transmission is based on the third TA value and the third timing change value
And prior art Turtinen et al. [US 20210100035 A1] disclose in para [0017] According to some examples, the first preamble of the first random access type comprises a group A preamble and the second preamble of the first random access type comprises a group B preamble.
And in para [0018] According to some examples the available preambles of the second random access type comprise a third preamble and a fourth preamble, the third preamble comprising a group A preamble and the fourth preamble comprising a group B preamble.
However, combination or prior arts records Briggs and Turtinen does not teach
For claims 5 and 15
transmitting, by the UE, to the BS, a third RACH preamble corresponding to the first TRP; transmitting, by the UE, to the BS, a fourth RACH preamble corresponding to the second TRP;
and receiving, by the UE, from the BS, one or more RARs comprising the first and second TA values and third and fourth RACH preamble identifiers.
Therefore, claims 5 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections set forth in this office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Dependent claims of claims 5 and 15 would also be allowable for the same above reasons.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Huang; Jen-Feng et al. [US 12207239 B2] Uplink signal time difference adjustment system and method
Blankenship; Yufei Wu et al. [US 10383110 B2] Timing advance group in LTE small cell enhancement
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413