DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “said lasing apparatus has a working distance” is indefinite. It is unclear whether the working distance in this claim is same as the working distance in claim 1.
For the purpose of examination, the “working distance” is interpreted to the same “working distance” in claim 1.
Regarding claims 12 and 20, the limitations “said first member of said plurality” in claim 12, “said second member of said plurality” in claim 12, and “a first member of said plurality” in claim 20 are insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawanishi (JP 2019026285A).
Regarding claim 1, Kawanishi teaches a process for laser marking a measuring cup comprising steps of:
providing a measuring cup (measuring cap 4; see fig.2) comprising:
a bottom end (bottom end; see the annotation of fig.4), an open end (open end; see the annotation of fig.4) opposite said bottom end (bottom end), and a longitudinal axis passing through said bottom end (bottom end), wherein said bottom end (bottom end) defines a resting plane (see fig.4); and
a sidewall (cylinder portion 41) extending about said longitudinal axis from said bottom end (bottom end) to said open end (bottom end);
providing a lasing apparatus (laser device 22) comprising a lens having an optical axis, a working distance, and a field of view [Examiner’s note: A laser device is inherent including a lens, and optical axis, working distance, and field of view are basic characteristic of a lens];
positioning said measuring cup at least partially within said field of view such that a first worked portion of said sidewall is oriented towards said lens, within said field of view, spaced apart from said lens by said working distance, and is spaced apart from said optical axis, and said optical axis is oblique or askew of said longitudinal axis (See fig.4, measuring cap 4 is positioned at least partially within said field of view such that a first worked portion of said sidewall is oriented towards laser device 22, within said field of view, spaced apart from said lens by said working distance, and is spaced apart from said optical axis, and said optical axis is oblique or askew of said longitudinal axis.); and
lasing a dosing indicium into said first worked portion (See para.[0030] “The contour portion 62 is colored by irradiating the outer surface 41a of the three-dimensional portion 61 with laser light 20 as energy light along the contour.”).
Regarding claim 2, Kawanishi teaches said sidewall (cylinder portion 41) has a sidewall height between said resting plane and said open end (Cylinder portion 41 has a height between bottom end and open end), wherein said sidewall height is measured orthogonal to said resting plane (see fig.4, sidewall height is measured orthogonal to bottom end), wherein said dosing indicium has a dosing indicium height measured over a maximum extent of said dosing indicium orthogonal to said resting plane (See figs. symbols 54, 55, and 56 has a dosing indicium height measured over a maximum extent of said dosing indicium orthogonal to bottom end), wherein said dosing indicium height is from about 20% to about 100% of said sidewall height measured at said dosing indicium (See figs. the height of the symbols 54, 55, and 56 is from about 20% to about 100% of said sidewall height.)
Regarding claim 3, Kawanishi teaches said dosing indicium extends over said first worked portion of said sidewall (See figs. symbols 54, 55, and 56 extends over cylinder portion 41), wherein said lasing apparatus has a working distance, and wherein said first worked portion is within plus or minus 10%, optionally plus or minus 5%, optionally plus or minus 3.5% of said working distance [Examiner’s note: Since the laser device irradiates the measuring cup, it is inherent that the laser is positioned such that the measuring cup located within working distance of the laser device.]
Regarding claim 4, Kawanishi teaches said optical axis is oblique to said longitudinal axis (see fig.4, the optical axis of the laser beam is oblique to the longitudinal axis of the measuring cup).
Regarding claim 5, Kawanishi teaches said optical axis is askew of said longitudinal axis (see fig.4, the optical axis of the laser beam is askew of the longitudinal axis of the measuring cup).
Regarding claim 6, Kawanishi teaches rotating said measuring cup about said longitudinal axis such that a second worked portion of said sidewall is oriented towards said lens and is spaced apart from said optical axis; and lasing said dosing indicium into said sidewall (see figures and para.[0040] “Then, by irradiating the contour of the three-dimensional part 61 of the measuring cap 4 with laser light 20 from the laser device 22 at predetermined intervals, a contour part 62 is formed in which multiple colored dots D are arranged along the contour of the three-dimensional part 61 of the number "2" in symbol 55, as shown in Figure 5 as an example.” Hence, measuring cup is rotated with respect to the laser device, such that a next irradiation location is oriented towards said lens and is spaced apart from said optical axis; and lasing said dosing indicium into said sidewall.)
Regarding claim 7, Kawanishi teaches said sidewall has an exterior surface oriented away from said longitudinal axis and said first worked portion is in said exterior surface (see fig.4) [Examiner’s note: Since the longitudinal axis appears to an imaginary line along a length of the measuring cup that defined by operator. Operator can define an imaginary line such that the exterior surface of cylinder portion 41 oriented away from said longitudinal axis.]
Regarding claim 8, Kawanishi teaches said sidewall has an interior surface oriented towards said longitudinal axis and said first worked portion is in said interior surface [Examiner’s note: Since the longitudinal axis appears to an imaginary line along a length of the measuring cup that defined by operator. Operator can define an imaginary line such that the exterior surface of cylinder portion 41 oriented away from said longitudinal axis.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanishi (JP 2019026285A) in view of Penny (US 2019/0118300).
Regarding claim 10, Kawanishi does not teach said first worked portion of said sidewall is entirely spaced apart from said optical axis.
However, Penny teaches in the same field of endeavor of a laser processing method, comprising lasing a first worked portion (worked portion; see the annotation of fig.1) of a workpiece (see fig.1), and said first worked portion (worked portion) of the workpiece is entirely spaced apart from an optical axis (optical axis; see the annotation of fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the method of Kawanishi by replacing the laser of Kawanishi with the laser as taught by Penny, in order to use desired laser device to perform the method, since applicant does not disclose said first worked portion of said sidewall entirely spaced apart from said optical axis solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanishi (JP 2019026285A).
Regarding claim 20, Kawanishi teaches providing a measuring cup within said field of view of said lasing apparatus; lasing said dosing indicium into said sidewall of a first member of said plurality (See the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach providing a plurality of said measuring cups within said field of view of said lasing apparatus; lasing said dosing indicium into said sidewall of a second member of said plurality.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the method of Kawanishi by repeat the process of the method, such that providing second measuring cup and lasing said dosing indicium into said sidewall of a second member of said plurality, in order to produce more product by the same apparatus and method, and it has been held that mere duplication of the method involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 are 11-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHRIS Q LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761