Status of Application
The Examiner acknowledges receipt of the amendments filed 08/25/2026 wherein claims 1 2, 8-10, 12, and 16 have been amended, claims 5-7, 11, and 13-15 have been cancelled, and claims 17-23 have been added.
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 12, and 16-23 are presented for examination on the merits. The following rejections are made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerr (US 20180168979 A1) as evidenced by Castiel (US 9265719 B2), in view of Duffy (US 6020367 A).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 9, Kerr teaches an anti-dandruff composition for the scalp that contains both zinc pyrithione and piroctone olamine (para. [0002]). Kerr teaches that many other components can be incorporated into the composition such as vitamin C as ascorbic acid and its derivates (i.e. L-ascorbic acid, para. [0112]). Kerr further describes that the anti-dandruff actives (i.e. L-ascorbic acid and anti-fungal agents) can be combined and diluted with an excipient, which acts as a vehicle for the active ingredients (para. [0087]).
While Kerr teaches the claimed invention as above, it fails to teach a composition that is a topical serum specifically. Kerr states that the composition can be any hair care product selected from a shampoo, conditioner, hairspray, hair spritz, hair coloring product, leave-on hair tonic, hair sunscreen product, styling mousse or gel, or other hair treatment compositions (para. [0005]). Serums are known in the art to be used for hair care products, as evidenced by Castiel, which describes a composition for the purpose of preventing or treating dandruff disorders of the scalp (see abstract). Castiel teaches a composition that comprises anti-dandruff agents such as piroctone olamine (col. 21, line 46) and zinc pyrithione (col. 21, line 66). The topical composition of Castiel can further be in any form that is suitable for haircare, such as applied as a shampoo (col. 22, line 54) or as a serum (col. 22, line 30).
Kerr and Castiel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of topical compositions that are applied to the scalp. While Kerr teaches a composition that can be in the form of a broad range of hair treatment compositions, it does not explicitly state the formulation to be a serum. Both serums and shampoos are known in the art as different forms of hair care compositions. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute the broad hair treatment composition of Kerr to specifically be in the form of a serum, as Castiel teaches a range of types of hair care products, listing serum as a possible treatment formulation comprising zinc pyrithione and piroctone olamine, that can safely and effectively be applied directly to the scalp to treat dandruff. Simple substitution of the general hair treatment composition of Kerr, with the specific serum form of Castiel as a mode of application of an anti-dandruff composition is within purview of one of ordinary skill in the art, and would yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(b).
While Kerr and Castiel teach the claimed invention as above, they fail to teach a composition where the ascorbic acid is incorporated into a liposome. Duffy discloses a method of preparing a saturated and stable solution of ascorbic acid, where the ascorbic acid is encapsulated in a vesicle (see claim 1). Duffy further teaches that the ascorbic acid is L-ascorbic acid (see claim 2), and it is encapsulated within a liposomal vesicle (see claim 8) which can be then incorporated into any cosmetic formulation (col. 10, line 34). Additionally, Duffy teaches that the concentration of the ascorbic acid in the solution is 0.15-25 wt.% (col. 5, line 57). The concentration in instant claim 1 and 9 overlap with the concentration taught in Duffy, and as such are obvious. MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Kerr, Castiel, and Duffy are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of compositions for topical application. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the L-ascorbic acid into a liposomal vesicle because Duffy teaches the challenges with the formation of a delivery system for L-ascorbic acid, since it is stable only in the solid form and at ambient temperatures (col. 2, line 16). Preparing the L-ascorbic acid to be within a liposome improves its stability in a composition. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate the liposome encapsulated L-ascorbic acid, at the concentration taught in Duffy with the anti-dandruff composition taught in Kerr, for the benefit of improved stability of the L-ascorbic acid. Kerr teaches combining the ascorbic acid with an anti-fungal active, as above. Duffy teaches that encapsulating L-ascorbic acid improves stability of the composition, and as such one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to encapsulate the ascorbic acid of Kerr prior to combining it with the anti-fungal active to arrive at the encapsulated L-ascorbic acid that is then combined with an anti-fungal agent, as described in instant claims 1, 2, and 9. Each component in the composition of Kerr (such as the ascorbic acid) can be further optimized. As taught in Duffy, stability of ascorbic acid in a cosmetic formulation is enhanced with liposomal encapsulation. MPEP § 2143(I)(g).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 8-10, 12, and 16, Kerr further teaches that the composition comprises 0.001-20 wt.% of the anti-dandruff actives (see claim 4), defining actives to be zinc pyrithione, piroctone olamine, ketoconazole, and salicylic acid (see claim 7). The concentrations of anti-fungal agents disclosed in instant invention overlap with that of Kerr, and as such are obvious. MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerr (US 20180168979 A1) as evidenced by Castiel (US 9265719 B2), in view of Duffy (US 6020367 A), in further view of Jiao (CN112386508A; see machine translation retrieved 09/16/2026).
Regarding claims 17, 18, and 21, Jiao teaches a method of preparing an anti-dandruff composition, where the solvent is heated to 70-75ºC (i.e. more than 60ºC), before cooling the composition to 40ºC before sequentially adding the anti-fungal agent and citric acid, then mixing the composition (see claim 3). Jiao further teaches that the anti-fungal agent that is dissolved in the vehicle is ketoconazole (see claim 2).
Kerr, Castiel, Duffy, and Jiao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cosmetic compositions for topical application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the method of Jiao of first heating a vehicle before cooling it to 40ºC and mixing in an anti-fungal agent, as Jiao teaches that this method is effective to dissolve the anti-fungal agent to prepare an anti-dandruff composition, while maintaining efficacy and solubility of the anti-fungal ketoconazole agent in the solvent. MPEP 2143(I)(g). As above, Kerr teaches anti-fungal agents such as ketoconazole, zinc pyrithione, and piroctone olamine (para. [0002]). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in substituting the zinc pyrithione and piroctone olamine anti-fungal agents into the method of dissolution discussed in Jiao. Ketoconazole, zinc pyrithione, and piroctone olamine are known in the art to be anti-fungal agents that are safe for cosmetic compositions. Simple substitution of one anti-fungal agent for another is within purview of the skilled artisan, and would yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(b).
Regarding claim 19, Duffy teaches entrapping solution with ascorbic acid inside a liposomal vesicle (see claims 8 and 9), which would require the combination of the ascorbic acid and the liposome.
Kerr, Castiel, Duffy, and Jiao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of compositions that can be used in cosmetics. Kerr teaches that the ascorbic acid and an anti-fungal agent can be combined to arrive at an anti-dandruff composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the method of Duffy, to encapsulate an ascorbic acid solution in a liposomal vesicle, for the benefit of improved stability of an ascorbic acid in a solution. Duffy teaches a method that is effective to prepare an encapsulated ascorbic acid solution which can then be added to cosmetic compositions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would then be motivated to further combine the encapsulated ascorbic acid of Duffy, with an anti-fungal agent which has been dissolved into a vehicle, to arrive at the instant invention. Duffy teaches that encapsulating L-ascorbic acid improves stability of the composition, and as such one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to encapsulate the ascorbic acid of Kerr prior to combining it with the dissolved anti-fungal active taught in Kerr, where the anti-fungal agent is dissolved into a vehicle using the effective method of Jiao, to arrive at the methods as described in claims 17-19. It would be obvious to combine the ascorbic acid with the liposome separately to ensure only the ascorbic acid is encapsulated, prior to being added to the cosmetic composition. MPEP § 2143(I)(g).
Regarding claim 20, Kerr describes a buffered solution comprising the anti-dandruff actives, where the pH of the solution is adjusted to have a pH from 4 to 6 (para. [0093]) using citric acid (para. [0101]). The pH being adjusted implied that it is measured, then citric acid is used to maintain the desired pH range.
Claim(s) 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerr (US 20180168979 A1) as evidenced by Castiel (US 9265719 B2), in view of Duffy (US 6020367 A), as evidenced by Brandel (CN105658282B; see machine translation retrieved 09/16/2026).
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Brandel teaches a cosmetic or dermatological composition that can be used to treat keratinous materials (see abstract). Brandel describes using sodium hydroxide and citric acid to adjust the pH of the solution, and specifically uses 50% citric acid (para. [0343]) and 50% sodium hydroxide (para. [0215]) in the compositions.
Kerr, Castiel, Duffy, and Brandel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cosmetic compositions that are topically applied. Kerr teaches the desired pH of the composition, further stating that citric acid can be incorporated into the formulation to maintain this pH. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the 50% citric acid and 50% sodium hydroxide of Brandel into the formulation of Kerr, as Brandel teaches the benefit of these components to adjust the pH to a desired value. Brandel teaches that 50% citric acid and 50% sodium hydroxide can be incorporated into a hair treatment composition, to safely and effectively adjust the pH to a desired value. MPEP § 2143(I)(a).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant asserts the following:
Kerr does not teach or suggest, "a cosmetic preparation for a topical scalp serum" as recited by independent claims 1 and 9 as currently amended. Kerr generally discloses anti-dandruff formulations for use in shampoos and/or conditioners.
Kerr does not teach or suggest "providing a liposome and incorporating the L-ascorbic acid into the liposome to form a liposomal encapsulated L-ascorbic acid", as previously recited by claim 2. As such, Kerr does not teach or suggest "mixing the liposomal encapsulated L-ascorbic acid and the anti-fungal agent in a vehicle", as recited by independent claim 1, as currently amended.
Kerr does not teach or suggest "providing an anti-fungal agent…comprising zinc pyrithione and piroctone olamine" at the ranges recited by independent claims 1 and 9. Kerr appears to identify numerous anti-dandruff agents as optional alternatives. Kerr states, "the other anti-dandruff active may be selected from the group consisting of…zinc pyrithione, piroctone olamine". Kerr also states broad ranges of the zinc pyrithione and piroctone olamine, and does not disclose an anti-fungal agent including both zinc pyrithione and piroctone olamine at the specific concentration ranges stated in instant claims.
Duffy does not cure the deficiencies of Kerr with regard to the amended features of claims 1 and 9. Duffy generally discloses liposomal and high-concentration ascorbic acid formulations. Duffy does not disclose preparations for a scalp serum, as recited by amended claims 1 and 9.
Duffy further does not disclose "mixing the liposomal encapsulated L-ascorbic acid and the anti-fungal agent in a vehicle", as recited by independent claim 1 as currently amended. Duffy states "droplets of the ascorbic acid/polyol solution can be entrapped inside the liposomal vesicles and then incorporated into the final formula in such a form". Duffy discloses encapsulating an already formed ascorbic acid solution rather than incorporating L-ascorbic acid into a liposome and then combining the liposomally-encapsulated L-ascorbic acid with an anti-fungal agent. Therefore, Duffy does not teach or suggest "mixing the liposomal encapsulated L-ascorbic acid and the anti-fungal agent in a vehicle", as recited by amended claim 1.
Duffy does not disclose "providing an anti-fungal agent…comprising zinc pyrithione and piroctone olamine" at the ranges recited by independent claims 1 and 9, and thus does not cure the deficiencies of Kerr.
In response to arguments A and D, as discussed in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, while Kerr teaches generally shampoo and conditioner, Kerr further discloses that the composition can be any hair care product selected from a shampoo, conditioner, hairspray, hair spritz, hair coloring product, leave-on hair tonic, hair sunscreen product, styling mousse or gel, or other hair treatment compositions (para. [0005]). While serum is not explicitly stated in Kerr, serums are known in the art as a hair care products, as evidenced by Castiel, which describes a composition for the purpose of preventing or treating dandruff disorders of the scalp (see abstract). Castiel describes compositions that can be in any form that is suitable for haircare, such as applied as a shampoo (col. 22, line 54) or as a serum (col. 22, line 30), describing that both shampoos and serums can be used for anti-dandruff compositions. As above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation in success in incorporating the components of Kerr to be in the form of a serum, as Kerr teaches that the formulation can be in any form of a hair product, and Castiel describes that anti-dandruff compositions can be formulated as a serum. Further, both serums and shampoos are known in the art to be applicable for hair care compositions.
In response to arguments B and E, as above, the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the L-ascorbic acid into a liposomal vesicle because Duffy teaches the challenges with the formation of a delivery system for L-ascorbic acid, since it is stable only in the solid form and at ambient temperatures (col. 2, line 16). Preparing the L-ascorbic acid to be within a liposome improves its stability in a composition. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate the liposome encapsulated L-ascorbic acid, at the concentration taught in Duffy with the anti-dandruff composition taught in Kerr, for the benefit of improved stability of the L-ascorbic acid. Kerr teaches combining the ascorbic acid with an anti-fungal active, as above. Duffy teaches that encapsulating L-ascorbic acid improves stability of the composition, and as such one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to encapsulate the ascorbic acid of Kerr prior to combining it with the anti-fungal active to arrive at the encapsulated L-ascorbic acid that is then combined with an anti-fungal agent, as described in instant claims 1, 2, and 9. Duffy provides a motivation to encapsulate L-ascorbic acid into a liposome before adding the ascorbic acid to a cosmetic formulation, for the benefit of improved stability of the ascorbic acid. Further, Duffy teaches that L-ascorbic acid can successfully be encapsulated in a liposome, while maintaining its activity in cosmetic formulations. MPEP § 2143(I)(g).
Regarding arguments C and F, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select two of the anti-fungal agents from the group disclosed in Kerr, and incorporate them in a cosmetic formulation, as Kerr teaches zinc pyrithione and piroctone olamine at a range of concentrations that are effective to treat dandruff and can safely be incorporated into a formulation that is applied to the hair and scalp. Although Kerr teaches a broad range of these agents, the range of Kerr for the actives fully encompasses that of instant claims. Concentrations of the anti-fungal actives in the composition is an optimizable parameter, inviting one skilled in the art to experiment. Thus, it would be obvious to optimize within the broad range taught in Kerr. Further, no criticality of ranges of the zinc pyrithione and piroctone olamine is established in the application, so the concentrations recited in instant claims 1, 8, 9, 16, which overlap with those presented in Kerr, are obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05(I) "(The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range)". As such, Duffy is not required to cure any deficiencies of Kerr regarding the zinc pyrithione and piroctone olamine and their respective concentrations in the formulation.
Examiner thanks Applicant for the amendments and following arguments, but the rejections of claims 1-4, 8-10, 12, and 16-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Conclusion
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 12, and 16-23 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/M.R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1611