DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is responsive to the Application filed on 12/11/2023. A filing date 12/11/2023 is acknowledged. The sought benefit of KR application 10-2023-0109249 (which was filed on 8/21/2023) is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 11, 16 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erik Schluntz et al (US Publication 20210339399 A1, hereinafter Schluntz), and in view Nick Cope et al (US Publication 20230399196 A1, hereinafter Cope).
As for independent claim 1, Schluntz discloses: A system comprising: a communication device (Schluntz: [0024], The environment of FIG. 2 includes one or more robots 100, a central system 210, various infrastructure systems 220, various security systems 230, a remote access interface 240, communicatively connected through the network 200; [0031], The connecting network 200 may use standard communications technologies and/or protocols, such as WiFi, Bluetooth, LTE, cellular networks, and the like); and a controller configured to communicate with a robot (Schluntz: [0027], the infrastructure systems are communicatively coupled to the network 200 or are otherwise capable of communication with the robots. Examples of system infrastructure systems include smart doors and windows, elevators, routers and other network components, power systems, smart lights, smart fire alarms and other sensors, connected furnace or air conditioning systems; [0074], the robot 100 can include one or more hardware processors or controllers configured to perform various functionalities), comprising … and further configured to: determine a state of the robot (Schluntz: [0079], transmit information via the communication interface 714 based on a communicative status of the robot; [0080], The indicators are configured to communicate information or a status associated with the robot 100 to an entity external to the robot) and a state of the network (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage); please note if the robot loses wifi or wireless coverage is determining a state of the network); transmit at least one of a command or a scenario to the robot (Schluntz: [0035], The robot interface can format data provided to and received from the robots into a format compliant with the robots and central system); cause, based on the state of the robot being in a first state, the robot to: receive a task group from the controller; and perform an operation associated with the command, wherein the command is associated with at least one task of the task group (Schluntz: [0079], the robot 100 can choose to transmit information via the communication interface 714 based on a communicative status of the robot. For instance, in embodiments where the robot is patrolling a route within a building, the robot can transmit video and audio data captured during the patrol when the communication interface is coupled to the network 200 via a WiFi connection; that is, based on the first robot state (the robot is patrolling a route and has a WiFi connection, the robot may perform certain tasks); and cause, based on the state of the robot being a second state, the robot to: receive the scenario from the controller; apply, to the first workflow engine, the scenario to obtain a plurality of tasks; and perform an operation associated with the plurality of tasks (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage), which prevents the robot 900 from receiving navigation instructions and updated information associated with the surrounding environment. In one example, when the robot 900 loses connection to the central system, the robot 900 may generate an updated motion plan to exit the elevator 1210 at a next instance of the elevator doors 1230 opening. In another example, the robot 900 can also select a default floor (e.g., lobby) after losing connection. In addition, the robot 900 may travel to the target floor, may leave the elevator after arriving at the target floor, and may attempt to re-establish a communicative connection once off the elevator; that is, based on a second robot state (in the elevator and lose wifi or wireless coverage), the robot may perform different activities).
Schluntz discloses robot control system but does not clearly disclose a workflow comprising a plurality of tasks, in an analogous art of managing robot based on the collected robot state and network status, Cope discloses: a first workflow engine, over a network via the communication device, wherein the controller comprises a second workflow engine… receive a task group from the controller …apply, to the first workflow engine, the scenario to obtain a plurality of tasks (Cope: [0045], The controller 214 may also include a memory or other digital storage (local or remote from the building) that contains a database having one or more procedures (e.g., a sequence of tasks) and/or instructions for operation(s). The communication line 226 provides for a communication channel between the controller 214 and the robot 216);
Schluntz and Cope are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, monitoring, capturing and analyzing imaging data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Schluntz using the teachings of Cope to include the controller transmits a sequence of tasks for operations. It would provide Schluntz’s system with enhanced capabilities of managing robot to perform a group of tasks/operations.
As for claim 2, Schluntz-Cope discloses: apply a first scenario to the second workflow engine to obtain a first task group based on the state of the robot being the first state; and transmit, to the robot, a command associated with at least one task of the first task group (Schluntz: [0079], the robot 100 can choose to transmit information via the communication interface 714 based on a communicative status of the robot. For instance, in embodiments where the robot is patrolling a route within a building, the robot can transmit video and audio data captured during the patrol when the communication interface is coupled to the network 200 via a WiFi connection; that is, based on the first robot state (the robot is patrolling a route and has a WiFi connection, the robot may perform certain tasks).
As for claim 3, Schluntz-Cope discloses: generate, based on the state of the network, a first exceptional scenario different from the first scenario;
apply the first exceptional scenario to the second workflow engine to obtain a first exceptional task group; transmit, to the robot, a command associated with at least one task of the first exceptional task group; and monitor the state of the robot during performance of the command associated with the at least one task of the first exceptional task group (Schluntz: [0193], The robot 900 may be directed to move to a particular location on the target floor, to patrol the target floor, respond to an emergency on the target floor, and the like; [0210], During an emergency while in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may generate a motion plan to select one or more buttons associated with emergencies. For example, the robot 900 may identify a location of an alarm button or a call button and cause the rotatable ring 920 to place the mechanical arm 925 in position to press the alarm button or the call button. The robot 900 may generate an audio output that describes the emergency after being connected to safety personnel and request for help. The robot 900 may also attempt to communicate with the central system to notify the central system about the emergency; please note when an emergency situation (exceptional scenario) is detected, the robot may perform certain motion plan (exceptional task)).
As for claim 4, Schluntz-Cope discloses: generate a representative scenario comprising a second scenario and a second exceptional scenario based on the state of the robot being the second state; and transmit, to the robot, the representative scenario (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage), which prevents the robot 900 from receiving navigation instructions and updated information associated with the surrounding environment. In one example, when the robot 900 loses connection to the central system, the robot 900 may generate an updated motion plan to exit the elevator 1210 at a next instance of the elevator doors 1230 opening. In another example, the robot 900 can also select a default floor (e.g., lobby) after losing connection. In addition, the robot 900 may travel to the target floor, may leave the elevator after arriving at the target floor, and may attempt to re-establish a communicative connection once off the elevator; that is, based on a second robot state (in the elevator and lose wifi or wireless coverage), the robot may perform different activities).
As for claim 5, Schluntz-Cope discloses: apply the second scenario in the representative scenario received from the controller to the first workflow engine to obtain a second task group; and apply the second exceptional scenario to the first workflow engine to obtain a second exceptional task group based on:
an occurrence of an exceptional situation associated with the second exceptional scenario and an operation associated with at least one task of the second task group (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage), which prevents the robot 900 from receiving navigation instructions and updated information associated with the surrounding environment. In one example, when the robot 900 loses connection to the central system, the robot 900 may generate an updated motion plan to exit the elevator 1210 at a next instance of the elevator doors 1230 opening. In another example, the robot 900 can also select a default floor (e.g., lobby) after losing connection. In addition, the robot 900 may travel to the target floor, may leave the elevator after arriving at the target floor, and may attempt to re-establish a communicative connection once off the elevator; that is, based on a second robot state (in the elevator and lose wifi or wireless coverage), the robot may perform different activities).
As for claim 6, Schluntz-Cope discloses: wherein the controller is configured to cause the robot to transmit, to the controller, results of performing the at least one task of the second task group and at least one task of the second exceptional task group based on performing: the operation associated with the at least one task of the second task group; and an operation associated with the at least one task of the second exceptional task group (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage), which prevents the robot 900 from receiving navigation instructions and updated information associated with the surrounding environment. In one example, when the robot 900 loses connection to the central system, the robot 900 may generate an updated motion plan to exit the elevator 1210 at a next instance of the elevator doors 1230 opening. In another example, the robot 900 can also select a default floor (e.g., lobby) after losing connection. In addition, the robot 900 may travel to the target floor, may leave the elevator after arriving at the target floor, and may attempt to re-establish a communicative connection once off the elevator; that is, based on a second robot state (in the elevator and lose wifi or wireless coverage), the robot may perform different activities).
As for claim 7, Schluntz-Cope discloses: apply a third scenario to the second workflow engine to obtain a third task group based on the state of the robot being a third state different from the first state and the second state (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage), which prevents the robot 900 from receiving navigation instructions and updated information associated with the surrounding environment. In one example, when the robot 900 loses connection to the central system, the robot 900 may generate an updated motion plan to exit the elevator 1210 at a next instance of the elevator doors 1230 opening. In another example, the robot 900 can also select a default floor (e.g., lobby) after losing connection. In addition, the robot 900 may travel to the target floor, may leave the elevator after arriving at the target floor, and may attempt to re-establish a communicative connection once off the elevator; please note leaving the elevator and re-establish a communicative connection may be a third state); and transmit, to the robot and through a first channel of the controller, at least one task of the third task group (Cope: [0045], The communication line 226 provides for a communication channel between the controller 214 and the robot 216).
As for claim 8, Schluntz-Cope discloses: perform an operation associated with at least one task of the third task group, wherein the at least one task of the third task group is received, from the controller, in the third state (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage), which prevents the robot 900 from receiving navigation instructions and updated information associated with the surrounding environment. In one example, when the robot 900 loses connection to the central system, the robot 900 may generate an updated motion plan to exit the elevator 1210 at a next instance of the elevator doors 1230 opening. In another example, the robot 900 can also select a default floor (e.g., lobby) after losing connection. In addition, the robot 900 may travel to the target floor, may leave the elevator after arriving at the target floor, and may attempt to re-establish a communicative connection once off the elevator; please note leaving the elevator and re-establish a communicative connection may be a third state); and transmit, to a second channel of the controller, the state of the robot and the state of the network (Cope: [0045], The communication line 226 provides for a communication channel between the controller 214 and the robot 216).
As for claim 9, Schluntz-Cope discloses: determine whether the state of the robot is an exceptional state based on the state of the robot and the state of the network, wherein the state of the robot and the state of the network are received from the robot, transmit, to the robot through the first channel, an operation stop command based on the state of the robot being the exceptional state; and
apply a third exceptional scenario to the second workflow engine to obtain a third exceptional task group (Schluntz: [0087], In response to a detected increase in pressure within the pressurized tube, the pressure sensor 728 can determine that the robot 100 has come into contact with an obstruction, and can slow or stop the motion of the robot; [0206], the robot 900 may communicate with the central system that sends instructions to the elevator 1210 to stop at the target floor without manual interaction with the button).
As for claim 10, Schluntz-Cope discloses: wherein the first state comprises a state in which a connection state of the network between the robot and the controller is established (Schluntz: [0079], the robot 100 can choose to transmit information via the communication interface 714 based on a communicative status of the robot. For instance, in embodiments where the robot is patrolling a route within a building, the robot can transmit video and audio data captured during the patrol when the communication interface is coupled to the network 200 via a WiFi connection), and wherein the second state comprises a state in which the connection state of the network between the robot and the controller is not established (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage)).
As for claim 11, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by claim 1, thus the rationales for rejecting claim 1 are incorporated herein. Further, Schluntz discloses: in a third state of the robot: receive, via the communication device, a third task group from the control system; and perform an operation associated with at least one task of the third task group (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage), which prevents the robot 900 from receiving navigation instructions and updated information associated with the surrounding environment. In one example, when the robot 900 loses connection to the central system, the robot 900 may generate an updated motion plan to exit the elevator 1210 at a next instance of the elevator doors 1230 opening. In another example, the robot 900 can also select a default floor (e.g., lobby) after losing connection. In addition, the robot 900 may travel to the target floor, may leave the elevator after arriving at the target floor, and may attempt to re-establish a communicative connection once off the elevator; please note leaving the elevator and re-establish a communicative connection may be a third state).
As for claim 12, Schluntz-Cope discloses: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the robot to: apply a second scenario in the scenario received from the control system to the workflow engine to obtain the second task group, in the second state of the robot; and apply a second exceptional scenario in the scenario to the workflow engine to obtain a second exceptional task group based on: an occurrence of an exceptional situation; and
an operation associated with at least one task of the second task group (Schluntz: [0193], The robot 900 may be directed to move to a particular location on the target floor, to patrol the target floor, respond to an emergency on the target floor, and the like; [0210], During an emergency while in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may generate a motion plan to select one or more buttons associated with emergencies. For example, the robot 900 may identify a location of an alarm button or a call button and cause the rotatable ring 920 to place the mechanical arm 925 in position to press the alarm button or the call button. The robot 900 may generate an audio output that describes the emergency after being connected to safety personnel and request for help. The robot 900 may also attempt to communicate with the central system to notify the central system about the emergency; please note when an emergency situation (exceptional scenario) is detected, the robot may perform certain motion plan (exceptional task)).
As for claim 13, Schluntz-Cope discloses: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the robot to: transmit, to the control system, results of performing the at least one task of the second task group and at least one task of the second exceptional task group based on: the operation associated with the at least one task of the second task group; and
an operation associated with the at least one task of the second exceptional task group (Schluntz: [0193], The robot 900 may be directed to move to a particular location on the target floor, to patrol the target floor, respond to an emergency on the target floor, and the like; [0210], During an emergency while in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may generate a motion plan to select one or more buttons associated with emergencies. For example, the robot 900 may identify a location of an alarm button or a call button and cause the rotatable ring 920 to place the mechanical arm 925 in position to press the alarm button or the call button. The robot 900 may generate an audio output that describes the emergency after being connected to safety personnel and request for help. The robot 900 may also attempt to communicate with the central system to notify the central system about the emergency; please note when an emergency situation (exceptional scenario) is detected, the robot may perform certain motion plan (exceptional task)).
As for claim 14, Schluntz-Cope discloses: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the robot to transmit, to the control system, a state of the robot (Schluntz: [0079], transmit information via the communication interface 714 based on a communicative status of the robot; [0080], The indicators are configured to communicate information or a status associated with the robot 100 to an entity external to the robot) and a state of a network (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage); please note if the robot loses wifi or wireless coverage is determining a state of the network).
As for claim 15, Schluntz-Cope discloses: wherein the first state comprises a state in which a connection state of a network between the robot and the control system is established (Schluntz: [0079], the robot 100 can choose to transmit information via the communication interface 714 based on a communicative status of the robot. For instance, in embodiments where the robot is patrolling a route within a building, the robot can transmit video and audio data captured during the patrol when the communication interface is coupled to the network 200 via a WiFi connection), and
wherein the second state comprises a state in which the connection state of the network between the robot and the control system is not established (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage)).
As for claim 16, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by claim 1, thus the rationales for rejecting claim 1 are incorporated herein.
As for claim 17, Schluntz-Cope discloses: applying a first scenario to a second workflow engine of the control system to obtain a first task group based on the state of the robot being the first state; transmitting, to the robot, a command associated with at least one task of the first task group; generating, based on the state of the network, a first exceptional scenario different from the first scenario;
applying the first exceptional scenario to the second workflow engine to obtain a first exceptional task group; transmitting, to the robot, a command associated with at least one task of the first exceptional task group; and monitoring the state of the robot during performance of the command associated with the at least one task of the first exceptional task group (Schluntz: [0193], The robot 900 may be directed to move to a particular location on the target floor, to patrol the target floor, respond to an emergency on the target floor, and the like; [0210], During an emergency while in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may generate a motion plan to select one or more buttons associated with emergencies. For example, the robot 900 may identify a location of an alarm button or a call button and cause the rotatable ring 920 to place the mechanical arm 925 in position to press the alarm button or the call button. The robot 900 may generate an audio output that describes the emergency after being connected to safety personnel and request for help. The robot 900 may also attempt to communicate with the central system to notify the central system about the emergency; please note when an emergency situation (exceptional scenario) is detected, the robot may perform certain motion plan (exceptional task)).
As for claim 18, Schluntz-Cope discloses: generating a representative scenario comprising a second scenario and a second exceptional scenario based on the state of the robot being the second state; transmitting, to the robot, the representative scenario; causing application of the second scenario in the representative scenario sent by the control system to a first workflow engine to obtain a second task group; causing application of the second exceptional scenario to the first workflow engine to obtain a second exceptional task group based on: an occurrence of an exceptional situation associated with the second exceptional scenario and an operation associated with at least one task of the second task group; and receiving results of performing the at least one task of the second task group and at least one task of the second exceptional task group based on: the operation associated with the at least one task of the second task group; and an operation associated with the at least one task of the second exceptional task group (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage), which prevents the robot 900 from receiving navigation instructions and updated information associated with the surrounding environment. In one example, when the robot 900 loses connection to the central system, the robot 900 may generate an updated motion plan to exit the elevator 1210 at a next instance of the elevator doors 1230 opening. In another example, the robot 900 can also select a default floor (e.g., lobby) after losing connection. In addition, the robot 900 may travel to the target floor, may leave the elevator after arriving at the target floor, and may attempt to re-establish a communicative connection once off the elevator; that is, based on a second robot state (in the elevator and lose wifi or wireless coverage), the robot may perform different activities).
As for claim 19, Schluntz-Cope discloses: applying a third scenario to a second workflow engine of the control system to obtain a third task group based on the state of the robot being a third state different from the first state and the second state (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage), which prevents the robot 900 from receiving navigation instructions and updated information associated with the surrounding environment. In one example, when the robot 900 loses connection to the central system, the robot 900 may generate an updated motion plan to exit the elevator 1210 at a next instance of the elevator doors 1230 opening. In another example, the robot 900 can also select a default floor (e.g., lobby) after losing connection. In addition, the robot 900 may travel to the target floor, may leave the elevator after arriving at the target floor, and may attempt to re-establish a communicative connection once off the elevator; please note leaving the elevator and re-establish a communicative connection may be a third state); transmitting, to the robot via a first channel of the control system, at least one task of the third task group (Cope: [0045], The communication line 226 provides for a communication channel between the controller 214 and the robot 216); causing an operation associated with the at least one task of the third task group, the at least one task of the third task group being sent, by the control system, in the third state (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage), which prevents the robot 900 from receiving navigation instructions and updated information associated with the surrounding environment. In one example, when the robot 900 loses connection to the central system, the robot 900 may generate an updated motion plan to exit the elevator 1210 at a next instance of the elevator doors 1230 opening. In another example, the robot 900 can also select a default floor (e.g., lobby) after losing connection. In addition, the robot 900 may travel to the target floor, may leave the elevator after arriving at the target floor, and may attempt to re-establish a communicative connection once off the elevator; please note leaving the elevator and re-establish a communicative connection may be a third state); and receiving, via a second channel of the control system, the state of the robot and the state of the network (Cope: [0045], The communication line 226 provides for a communication channel between the controller 214 and the robot 216).
As for claim 20, Schluntz-Cope discloses: determining whether the state of the robot is an exceptional state based on the state of the robot and the state of the network, wherein the state of the robot and the state of the network are received from the robot; transmitting an operation stop command to the robot through the first channel based on the state of the robot being the exceptional state; and
applying a third exceptional scenario to the second workflow engine to obtain a third exceptional task group (Schluntz: [0208], While the robot 900 is in the elevator 1210, the robot 900 may lose connection to the central system (or may lose wifi or wireless coverage), which prevents the robot 900 from receiving navigation instructions and updated information associated with the surrounding environment. In one example, when the robot 900 loses connection to the central system, the robot 900 may generate an updated motion plan to exit the elevator 1210 at a next instance of the elevator doors 1230 opening. In another example, the robot 900 can also select a default floor (e.g., lobby) after losing connection. In addition, the robot 900 may travel to the target floor, may leave the elevator after arriving at the target floor, and may attempt to re-establish a communicative connection once off the elevator; please note leaving the elevator and re-establish a communicative connection may be a third state).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP § 2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131(b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as “Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced” may be deemed insufficient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Applicants are required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Volcic et al (US Publication 20070142967 A1) Robot Trajectory Control Including Emergency Evacuation Path System And Method
Kobayashi et al (US Publication 20060009878) Programming Device For Returning Robot To Waiting Position
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Hua Lu whose telephone number is 571-270-1410 and fax number is 571-270-2410. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00 am to 6:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scott Baderman can be reached on 571-272-3644. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-273-8300.
/Hua Lu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118