DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 5 recites that the first pair of flanges are disposed on a receiver and the first head is disposed on a motor plate. Claim 5 depends from claim 1 which also recites the first pair of flanges coupled to the fan. There is no disclosed embodiment with the first pair of flanges coupled to the fan, and disposed on a receiver, with the first head disposed on a motor plate(of the fan) as required by claims 1 and 5. It is unclear how such an arrangement would function, as both the first pair of flanges and the first head would be connected to the fan.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 6 it is unclear if the receiver is meant to be the same receiver of claim 1, or a different receiver. For the purposes of examination it was assumed that the receiver of claim 6 was the same receiver of claim 1, as this is what was meant to be claimed per the examiner’s best understanding of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cunning(US5435696) in view of Chang et al(US20090304377).
[claim 16] Cunning teaches a method for adjusting a relative angle between a fan(14) and a mounting means(13), the method comprising: disposing the fan at a first angular position relative to the mounting means(fig 2); rotating the fan in a first direction relative to the mounting means(fig 6) from the first angular position to a second angular position relative to the mounting means; and locking the fan at the second angular position relative to the mounting means(by 71, see C3 L38-45), wherein rotating the fan in a first direction relative to the mounting means comprises rotating a first pair of flanges(25-1, 25-2) relative to a first head(51) within an adjustable joint(15) coupled between the fan and the mounting means. Cunning however may not teach that automatically locking the fan at the second angular position. Chang teaches a similar adjustable joint, and further teaches automatically locking the mounting means at different angular positions(see para[0011-0012]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the arrangement of Chang to make automate the locking of the apparatus of Cunning, as this would make for simplified operation of the device and remove the need to manually actuating the locking of the joint of Cunning.
[claim 17] Cunning teaches a method as detailed above, however Cunning may not teach wherein rotating the first pair of flanges relative to the first head within an adjustable joint coupled between the fan and the mounting means comprises: pushing a pin disposed within the first head when contact is made between at least one of the first pair of flanges and the pin; moving the pin within a selection bore defined within the first head; and compressing a spring coupled to the pin. Chang teaches a similar adjustable joint, wherein rotating the adjustable joint comprises a first pair of flanges(2422a,2422b) rotating relative to a first head(2424), and pushing a pin(2426a) disposed within the first head when contact is made between at least one of the first pair of flanges and the pin; moving the pin within a selection bore(2422e) defined within the first head; and compressing a spring(2426c) coupled to the pin. The pins and springs allowing the joint to be positioned at a series of preselected positions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the pin, spring and selection bore arrangement of Chang with the adjustable joint of Cunning, as this would allow the joint to be positioned at a series of preselected positions as taught by Chang.
[claim 18] when arranged as above, wherein locking the fan at the second angular position relative to the mounting means comprises: aligning a selection aperture(2422e) defined in at least one of the first pair of flanges with a selection bore(2424a) defined in the first head; expanding a spring(2426c) disposed within the selection bore; and pushing a pin(2426a) disposed within the selection bore through the selection aperture.
[claim 19] when arranged as above wherein rotating the fan in the first direction relative to the mounting means comprises overcoming a threshold force provided by a spring(2426c) within the adjustable joint, wherein a fixed end of the spring(end fixed to pin 2426a) is coupled to at least one of the first pair of flanges and wherein a free end of the spring is disposed within the first head.
[claim 20] Cunning in view of Chang teaches a method as detailed above, however Cunning may not teach that rotating the fan in the first direction relative to the mounting means further comprises rotating a second pair of flanges relative to a second head within the adjustable joint, wherein the first pair of flanges and the first head are disposed at one end of the adjustable joint and wherein the second pair of flanges and the second had are disposed at an opposing end of the adjustable joint. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use a second pair of flanges and mating second head within the adjustable joint, as this would be the mere duplication of parts essential to the practice of the invention and would have the predictable effect of providing an additional point of articulation for the joint.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4,9-15 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632