DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lu et al. (CN 208401601U).
Re claim 1, Lu et al. teaches: a wireless charging system for charging a battery of an electronic device comprising:
a charging unit (abstract+) provided with an inductive coil (coil 23), for generating an electromagnetic field such that when the electronic device is placed near the charging unit, a current is induced in the inductive coil charging the battery of the electronic device;
a thermoelectric module thermally coupled to the charging unit and configured to cool the charging unit (41);
a first thermally conductive sheet disposed between and in contact with the charging unit and the thermoelectric module (heat conducting silica layer 461);
a heat sink (42) dissipating heat generated from the charging unit;
a fan (43) generating airflow in order to transfer the heat dissipated from the heat sink; and
a second thermally conductive sheet disposed between and in contact with the heat sink and the thermoelectric module (second heat conductive layer described as on the side of 41 closest to radiating fin 42 but not shown).
Re claim 3, heat sink 42 is metal.
Re claim 8, a gap exists between the heat sink and the charging unit such as formed by PCB with 33 on it or via the presence of 44, or alternatively, as the heat sink and charging unit are spaced apart, this is generally interpreted as a gap. The combined thickness of 426 and thickness of 44 is equal to the thickness of 41, therefore, spacing is implicit given the elements above 44, for example.
Re claim 10, based housing 10 includes the elements therein.
Re claim 11, the limtaitosn have been discussed above re claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al., as discussed above.
Re claims 2 and 4, though silent to an additional fan/ heatsink, the Examiner notes that prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to have additional fans for expected cooling results, as the mere duplication of parts, absent unexpected results, involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 7, the teachings of Lu et al. have been discussed above, wherein Lu et al. teaches a heat conducting silica layer but is silent to it being used to connect/ it is a paste. However, the Examiner notes that the silica gel layer is interpreted as being on the surface, and it would have been obvious to for it to be functionally equivalent to a paste so as to secure elements and for thermal coupling.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al., as discussed above, in view of Lofy et al. (US 20140062392).
Re claim 5, the teachings of Lu et al. have been discussed above. Lu et al. teaches that the semiconductor refrigeration piece 41 is “common knowledge in the art and no detailed description is provided herein”.
Nonetheless, Lofy et al. teaches such a device at 20.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for using one of a plurality of known (finite options) of components for expected results (semiconductor cooling).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al., as discussed above, in view of Wei (CN112886679).
Re claim 7, the teachings of Lu et al. have been discussed above, wherein Lu et al. teaches a heat conducting silica layer but is silent to it being used to connect/ it is a paste.
Wei teaches thermal silicon grease is used to attach the cooling plate “the first guide cooling plate (2) is connected with the second guide cooling plate (6) through heat conducting silicone grease”.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings (functionally equivalent to a paste) in order for expected results of thermal adhesive.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lofy et al. (US 20140062392) in view of Calvarese (US 20080136364).
Re claim 1, Lofy et al. teaches a wireless charging system for charging a battery of an electronic device comprising:
a charging unit (16) provided with an inductive coil, for generating an electromagnetic field such that when the electronic device is placed near the charging unit, a current is induced in the inductive coil charging the battery of the electronic device;
a thermoelectric module (20) thermally coupled to the charging unit and configured to cool the charging unit;
a heat sink (21) dissipating heat generated from the charging unit;
a fan (17) generating airflow in order to transfer the heat dissipated from the heat sink.
Lofy et al. is silent to:
a first thermally conductive sheet disposed between and in contact with the charging unit and the thermoelectric module; and
a second thermally conductive sheet disposed between and in contact with the heat sink and the thermoelectric module.
Calvarese teaches first and second thermal conductive sheets on each side of the thermoelectric module (paragraph [0018]+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings to allow for temperature adjustment to cool.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 213937515) in view of Lu et al., as discussed above.
Re claim 1, Yuan teaches: a wireless charging system for charging a battery of an electronic device comprising:
a charging unit provided with an inductive coil (coil 31), for generating an electromagnetic field such that when the electronic device is placed near the charging unit, a current is induced in the inductive coil charging the battery of the electronic device;
a thermoelectric module thermally coupled to the charging unit and configured to cool the charging unit (7);
a first thermally conductive sheet disposed between and in contact with the charging unit and the thermoelectric module (heat conducting copper layer 42);
a heat sink (5/51) dissipating heat generated from the charging unit;
a fan (6) generating airflow in order to transfer the heat dissipated from the heat sink; and
Yuan is silent to a second thermally conductive sheet disposed between and in contact with the heat sink and the thermoelectric module.
As discussed above, Lu et al. teaches conductive sheets on each side of the thermoelectric module for heat transfer.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in order to have copper sheets on both sides of the module, for heat transfer.
Re claims 2 and 4, though silent to an additional fan/ heatsink, the Examiner notes that prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to have additional fans for expected cooling results, as the mere duplication of parts, absent unexpected results, involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 3, though silent to a metal heat sink, Lu et al. teaches a metal heat sink as discussed above, as an obvious expedient for efficiency, and thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for such expected results.
Re claim 5, though silent to Peltier, Lu et al. teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for such expected results, using one of a plurality of known ways to cool, based on system constraints, costs, complexity, etc.
Re claims 6-7, a copper pad/ sheet has been discussed above.
Re claim 8, FIG. 1 shows a gap/ space between the heatsink and coil.
Re claim 9, PCB 8 is shown. As discussed above, with 2 conductive sheets, this would result in the board between the two sheets.
Re claim 10, 1 is a housing.Re claim 11, the limitations have been discussed above, re claim 1.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20220166256) in view of Lu et al., as discussed above.
Re claim 1, Chen teaches: a wireless charging system for charging a battery of an electronic device comprising:
a charging unit provided with an inductive coil (coil 40), for generating an electromagnetic field such that when the electronic device is placed near the charging unit, a current is induced in the inductive coil charging the battery of the electronic device;
a thermoelectric module thermally coupled to the charging unit and configured to cool the charging unit (22);
a first thermally conductive sheet disposed between and in contact with the charging unit and the thermoelectric module (heat conducting copper layer 42);
a heat sink (5/51) dissipating heat generated from the charging unit;
a fan (6) generating airflow in order to transfer the heat dissipated from the heat sink; and
Chen is silent to a the first and second thermally conductive sheets as recited.
As discussed above, Lu et al. teaches conductive sheets on each side of the thermoelectric module for heat transfer.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in order to have copper sheets on both sides of the module, for heat transfer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hsiao (US 12640572) teaches coils 22 on pcb 22 for form charging module 20.
/DANIEL I WALSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876