DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Bellantoni does not teach the claimed device, as reflected in the rejection set forth below, Bellantoni teaches all of the claimed limitations. Applicant’s arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims are not taught by the prior art without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references and do not clearly point out how the language of the amendments overcomes the prior art. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 65-84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bellantoni, deceased eat al (US 3867942).
Regular claim 65, Bellatoni discloses a device comprising: a scalpet assembly (31, 32, multiple scalpets, figure 9) comprising a housing (20) coupled to a scalpet array (31, 32, multiple scalpets, figure 9) including a plurality of scalpets (31), wherein each scalpet includes a cylindrical shaft (31, C:4, L:14, circular cutting edges, cylindrical, L:19-20) comprising a lumen (32, C:4, L:19-21) and a sharpened distal end (32’) configured as a circular scalpel (C:4, L:14) including a cutting surface configured to resect tissue at a target site and configured to transfer tissue away from the target site via the lumen (C:7, L:30-56);
a drive assembly (electric motor system, 22, 28, 28’) coupled to the plurality of scalpets and configured to impart a rotational force to rotate each scalpet around a central axis of the scalpet; and a drive shaft configured to couple the rotational force to the drive assembly (C:2, L:25-50).
Regular claim 66, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 65, wherein the plurality of scalpets comprise thin-wall tubing (32, the limitation ‘thin-wall tubing’ is sufficiently broad to encompass the reduced wall thickness defining the sharpened distal tip 32’) terminating in the sharpened distal end (32’).
Regular claim 67, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 65, wherein the plurality of scalpets is configured to receive the resected tissue (C:2, L:40-54, skin patches).
Regular claim 68, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 65, wherein the lumen of plurality of scalpets is configured to pass the resected tissue received via the sharpened distal end (C:2, L:40-54).
Regular claim 69, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 65, wherein the housing includes the drive assembly (figures 1-3).
Regular claim 70, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 65, wherein the drive assembly comprises a gear drive system (figure 3-4).
Regular claim 71, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 70, wherein the gear drive system comprises a plurality of gears coupled to the plurality of scalpets (27, 28, 28’, 29b-29f).
Regular claim 72, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 71, wherein a gear is attached to the scalpet shaft of each scalpet of the plurality of scalpets (figures 5-9).
Regular claim 73, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 72, wherein the gear is attached to a proximal region of the drive shaft (all of the components of the device are attached to one another, figure 1-4).
Regular claim 74, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 71, wherein the plurality of gears is intermeshed, wherein each scalpet rotates in unison with adjacent scalpets (abstract).
Regular claim 75, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 74, wherein the drive shaft includes a drive shaft gear intermeshed with the plurality of gears, wherein the plurality of scalpets rotates in unison with the drive shaft (C:4, L:15-37).
Regular claim 76, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 65, wherein the drive shaft is configured to move up and down relative to the target site (the drive shaft can be moved up and down relative to the target site manually via the housing).
Regular claim 77, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 65, wherein the drive shaft is configured to removably couple to a drive component of a carrier (31, the components of the device can be taken apart and therefore ‘removably coupled’, C:6, L:15-40).
Regular claim 78, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 77, wherein the carrier includes a pencil-style carrier (31 is elongated like a pencil).
Regular claim 79, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 77, wherein the carrier includes a surgical drill (shaft cores and rotates into the scalp).
Regular claim 80, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 79, comprising a carrier array (33) coupling configured to couple the scalpet assembly to the surgical drill (figure 6).
Regular claim 81, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 65, wherein the housing includes a port configured to couple to a source of vacuum (opening at distal end of 32’ can be coupled to a source of vacuum since this is a functional limitation).
Regular claim 82, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 81, wherein the vacuum is configured to evacuate the resected tissue from the target site via the plurality of scalpets and the housing (this limitation is only functionally recited in claim 82, and therefore if a vacuum was applied to the distal end of 32’, it would be capable of evacuating the resected tissue from the target site via applying the suction to the scalpets).
Regular claim 83, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 65, comprising a depth control device (33) coupled to the housing and configured to encompass at least a portion of the scalpet array, wherein the sharpened distal ends of the scalpet array are configured to protrude from the housing to resect the tissue at the target site (figure 5-6).
Regular claim 84, Bellatoni discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 83, wherein a distal region of the depth control device is configured to form a seal when in contact with proximate tissue adjacent the target site (73, seals with shaft of scalpet array).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771