DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on October 5, 2023 and December 14, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0132910 or KR10-2022-0174874 applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 5, 2024, December 2, 2024, and September 29, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang, et al. (US 10,975,487 B1).
Regarding claims 1-6, Huang teaches an electrolytic copper foil particularly applicable to lithium-ion batteries (Col. 1, Ln. 17-19). Huang teaches that the copper foil has improved mechanical properties, achieving excellent wrinkle resistance and reducing or preventing wrinkles and breakage, thus increasing production yield (Col. 2, Ln. 3-9). Huang teaches that the base copper layer of the electrolytic copper foil is a bare copper foil (Col. 2, Ln. 33-35), with Examples 1-9 including 45-47.5 ppm additives (Col. 8, Ln. 35-40) (copper film including 99.9 wt% or more of copper).
While it is acknowledged that a room temperature storage modulus, room temperature loss modulus, high-temperature storage modulus, and high-temperature loss modulus of the copper foil are not expressly recited by Huang, the claimed properties of a room temperature loss factor of 0.05 or less, a high-temperature loss factor of 0.2 or less, a room temperature storage modulus of 30-80 GPa, a room temperature loss modulus of 5 GPa or less, a high-temperature storage modulus of 20-60 GPa, and a high-temperature loss modulus of 10 GPa or less would be inherent to the material taught by the reference. The claimed properties would be achieved with an electrolytic copper foil having substantially the same composition formed by substantially the same process. The instant specification has not provided adequate teachings that the claimed property is only obtainable with the claimed material.
As evidence that the claimed properties are inherent to the electrolytic copper foil taught by Huang, the references teaches a copper foil having substantially the same composition formed by substantially the same process. Paragraphs [0010]-[0011] of the instant specification teach that the copper foil is not curled, wrinkled, or teared during the manufacturing process, allowing the copper film to have a room temperature loss factor of 0.05 or less and a high-temperature loss factor of 0.2 or less. In looking to the composition of the copper foil, paragraph [0099] of the instant specification discloses that when the lead ions are maintained at 1-100 ppm, the room temperature loss factor may be maintained at 0.05 or less and the high-temperature loss factor may be maintained at 0.2 or less. Paragraphs [00107]-[00120] include teachings of the organic additives, specifically the inclusion of a polishing agent such as sulfonic acid or metal salt at the concentration of 5-20 ppm (¶ [00111]), a moderator such as a non-ionic water-soluble polymer at a concentration of 1-10 ppm (¶ [00113]), and a leveling agent including at least one of nitrogen and sulfur at a concentration of 1-10 ppm (¶ [00118]). In the first example of the instant specification, a copper foil is prepared using an electrolytic bath containing 5 ppm of the polishing agent, 2 ppm of the moderator, 3 ppm of the leveling agent, 20 ppm chlorine, 30 ppm lead, 2 mL/L hydrogen peroxide, and 1 ppm tungsten, set to a temperature of 55 °C and a current density of 60 ASD.
With respect to the wrinkling of the of the copper foil, Huang teaches that the purpose of the electrolytic foil is to improve or even avoid the formation of wrinkles (Col. 1, Ln. 61-65). Specifically, Huang teaches that the surface of the electrolytic copper foils were observed using a cutting machine to determine whether wrinkles appeared, with none of the electrolytic copper foils of the examples displaying wrinkles (Col. 14, Ln. 56-67; Table 1).
With respect to the composition of the electrolytic solution, Huang teaches example copper electrolyte solutions including 35 mg/L chloride ions, 5 ppm lead ions, 2.5-5.0 mg/L polyvinylpyrrolidone (non-ionic water-soluble polymer) and 2.5 mg/L 3-(amidinothio)-1-propanesulfonic acid (sulfonic acid including sulfur) as additives (Col. 8, Ln. 35-40).
With respect to the processing, Huang teaches that during the electrodeposition step, the temperature of the copper electrolyte is controlled at 52°C and a current density of 40 ASD is applied (Col. 8, Ln. 48-53). Therefore, Huang teaches an electrolytic copper foil with substantially the same composition and formed by substantially the same process, and thus would achieve the claimed properties of a room temperature loss factor of 0.05 or less, a high-temperature loss factor of 0.2 or less, a room temperature storage modulus of 30-80 GPa, a room temperature loss modulus of 5 GPa or less, a high-temperature storage modulus of 20-60 GPa, and a high-temperature loss modulus of 10 GPa or less.
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the base copper layer of the electrolytic copper foil may be subjected to a surface treatment (Col. 2, Ln. 51-56). Huang teaches anti-corrosion, passivation, and silane coupling surface treatments (forming a protective layer) (Col. 3, Ln. 6-9).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 above and further teaches that the anti-corrosion treatment may include a chromium-containing material (Col. 3, Ln. 64-66). For example, the first surface treatment of the examples taught by Huang include immersing the bare copper foil in a chromate solution anti-corrosion treatment (Col. 8, Ln. 57-64).
Conclusion
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785