DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/25/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flothmann et al. (DE102015122045).
Regarding Claim 41, Flothmann et al. discloses a heating apparatus (Figure 1) having a cavity (figure 1) configured to receive a beverage container 9 (Figure 1), the heating apparatus comprising: a generally rigid upper portion 14 (Figure 1) at least partially defining the cavity; a base portion 12 (figure 1) operably coupled to the upper portion; a gripping mechanism (figure 1, rim) on an exterior surface of the upper portion (Figure 1); and a plurality of heating elements 20 (figure 1;paragraph 28) disposed within the upper portion to at least partially define the cavity (Figure 1), wherein each of the plurality of heating elements is positioned such that, when the beverage container is received within the heating apparatus, the heating elements engage an exterior surface of the beverage container (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flothmann et al. (DE102015122045).
Regarding Claim 42, Flothmann et al. discloses a plurality of pressure arms disposed within the upper portion 13/20 (figure 1), wherein each of the pressure arms comprises: a first leg portion 20 (figure 1); and a second leg portion 13 (Figure 1) coupled to and integral with the first leg portion (figure 1), wherein individual heating elements are inner surfaces of corresponding first leg portions (figure 1). Flothmann et al. does not disclose individual elements carried by inner surface of corresponding first leg portions. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have separate heating elements form the surface since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding Claims 43 and 51, Flothmann et al. discloses the plurality of pressure arms are disposed in a generally circular arrangement about the cavity within the upper portion of the heating apparatus (Figure 1).
Regarding Claims 44 and 52, Flothmann et al. discloses the beverage container is not received within the cavity, the first and second leg portions are spaced apart from each other by a first gap, and when the beverage container is received within the cavity, the first and second leg portions are spaced apart from each other by a second gap smaller than the first gap (Figure 1).
Regarding Claims 45 and 53, Flothmann et al. discloses the beverage container comprises a first beverage container having a first size 9 (Figure 1), the cavity is configured to receive a second beverage container having a second size larger than the first size, and when the second beverage container is received within the cavity, the first and second leg portions of each of the plurality of pressure arms are spaced apart from each other by a third gap that is smaller than the second gap (functional language, capable of, figure 1).
Regarding Claims 46 and 54, Flothmann et al. discloses the cavity is configured to receive a third beverage container having a third size larger than the second size, and when the third beverage container is received within the cavity, the first and second leg portions of each of the plurality of pressure arms are spaced apart from each other by a fourth gap that is smaller than the third gap (functional language, Figure 1, capable of doing the above).
Regarding Claims 47 and 55, Flothmann et al. discloses a circular holder (holder sidewall at 14; Figure 1) positioned between the upper portion and the base portion, wherein the second leg portions of each of the plurality of pressure arms are removably coupled to and extend away from the circular holder (17, Figure 1).
Regarding Claims 48 and 56, Flothmann et al. discloses the base portion includes control circuitry coupled to the plurality of heating elements (paragraph 8).
Regarding Claims 49 and 57, Flothmann et al. discloses the heating elements are configured to selectively heat the beverage container so that a liquid within the beverage container remains at or near a desired temperature (paragraph 26).
Regarding Claim 50, Flothmann et al. discloses a beverage heating apparatus (Figure 1), the beverage heating apparatus comprising: a generally rigid upper portion 14 (Figure 1) at least partially defining a cavity (Figure 1) configured to receive a beverage container 9 (Figure 1); a base portion 12 (figure 1) operably coupled to the upper portion (Figure 1); a plurality of pressure arms 13/20 (figure 1) disposed within the upper portion (Figure 1), wherein each of the pressure arms comprises a first leg portion 20 (figure 1) and a second leg portion 13 (Figure 1) coupled to the first leg portion (Figure 1); and a plurality of heating elements 20 (figure 1) disposed within the upper portion, wherein individual heating elements are inner surfaces of the first leg portions (figure 1), and wherein each of the plurality of heating elements is positioned such that, when the beverage container is received within the heating apparatus, the heating elements engage an exterior surface of the beverage container (Figure 1). Flothmann et al. does not disclose individual elements carried by inner surface of corresponding first leg portions. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have separate heating elements form the surface since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 II(A), MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
Double Patenting
Claims 41-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11839328. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent read on the claim broader claims of the application.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J VOLZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3733