DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, filed 04/23/26, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claims 1-11 and 18-30 have been withdrawn.
Claims 12-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. 20210364625) in view of Saily et al. (U.S. 20240163840).
For claim 12, Li et al. disclose an ambient Internet of Things (IoT) device (item 120 in Fig. 1), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive a continuous wave (CW) signal for wireless power transfer from a wireless energy transmitter (WET) device (item 110 in Fig. 1) (at least [0011], [0014], [0016], [0020], [0058], [0062]. [0074]-[0075], [0079]-[0080] and [0102]-[0103]. RFID reader 110 transmits, as an activation signal, a CW RF signal. The CW RF signal may be used to energize, i.e., power, a passive tag, e.g., tag 120-1. RFID reader 110 may also modulate the CW RF signal so as to use it to send information to, and to interrogate, RFID tag 120-1 in addition to providing energy for the tag. As noted, an RFID reader usually transmits a strong CW RF signal so as to allow the tag to extract therefrom energy in order to power its internal circuitry and to create by backscattering an information signal that can be received by the reader.);
backscatter and modulate at least the CW signal to produce a modulated CW signal (at least [0011], [0014], [0016], [0020], [0058], [0062]. [0074]-[0075], [0079]-[0080] and [0102]-[0103]. RFID backscattering receiver 210 of RFID detectors 100 receives backscattered RF signals from an RFID tag, e.g., one of RFID tags 120 (FIG. 1) that is activated and singulated by an RFID reader, e.g., RFID reader 110 (FIG. 1), during an RFID interrogation session, via antenna 270. The RFID detector may obtain the indication of the characteristic of the CW RF signal based on the RFID detector's receipt of the CW RF signal transmitted from the tag reader. The characteristic of the CW RF signal that is indicated may be a frequency, e.g., a carrier frequency, and a phase thereof. The RFID detector uses the obtained indication of the characteristic of the CW RF signal to measure the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for the backscattered signal from the RFID tag.); and
transmit the modulated CW signal to a network entity (RFID detector 100 in Fig. 1) separate from the WET device (RFID reader 110 in Fig. 1) (at least [0011], [0014], [0016], [0020], [0058], [0062]. [0074]-[0075], [0079]-[0080] and [0102]-[0103]. RFID backscattering receiver 210 of RFID detectors 100 receives backscattered RF signals from an RFID tag, e.g., one of RFID tags 120 (FIG. 1) that is activated and singulated by an RFID reader, e.g., RFID reader 110 (FIG. 1)). However, Li et al. do not disclose a network entity configured to serve at least one cell within a cellular communication network, wherein the network entity is separate from the WET device.
In the same field of endeavor, Saily et al. disclose to transmit the modulated CW signal to a network entity configured to serve at least one cell within a cellular communication network, wherein the network entity is separate from the WET device (at least [0078]. The initiator UE (UE0) may transmit or emit a continuous wave signal, e.g., using OFDM such that the backscatter tags may modulate, shift to the assigned frequencies, and reflect the signal back with acknowledgement that the configuration was successful. The UEs (e.g., UE0 to UE3) may receive the reflected responses (acknowledgements) from the backscatter tags. The UEs forward the tag IDs (backscatter node identifiers) of the backscatter nodes that the acknowledgements were received by UEs, to the serving gNB 712.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Li et al. as taught by Saily et al. for purpose of controlling transmitting, by the first user device to the at least some of the backscatter nodes via sidelink communication, configuration information.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. 20210364625) in view of Saily et al. (U.S. 20240163840) and further in view of Ohara et al. (U.S. 20080150699).
For claim 13, the combination of Li et al. and Saily et al. do not disclose the ambient IoT device of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a frequency shift indication from the network entity, the frequency shift indication indicating a frequency shift to be applied to the CW signal; and apply the frequency shift to the CW signal to produce the modulated CW signal at a shifted frequency.
In the same field of endeavor, Ohara et al. disclose to receive a frequency shift indication from the network entity, the frequency shift indication indicating a frequency shift to be applied to the CW signal; and apply the frequency shift to the CW signal to produce the modulated CW signal at a shifted frequency (at least [0171]-[0172] and [0213]. When the RFID tag 1 receives the R/W request signal transmitted via the first frequency f.sub.1, the tag response signal is replied using the first frequency f.sub.1. In the reader/writer 2, the phase information acquirer 8A analyzes the preamble section of the received tag response signal to detect .phi..sub.1 that indicates the phase change amount of the tag response signal. Similarly, when the RFID tag 1 receives the R/W request signal transmitted via the first frequency f.sub.2, the tag response signal is replied using the first frequency f.sub.2. In the reader/writer 2, the phase information acquirer 8A analyzes the preamble section of the received tag response signal to detect .phi..sub.2 that indicates the phase change amount of the tag response signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Li et al. as taught by Ohara et al. for purpose of calculating the distance between the reader/writer 2 and the RFID tag 1.
For claim 14, the combination of Li et al., Saily et al. and Ohara et al. disclose the ambient IoT device of claim 13. Ohara et al. disclose wherein the frequency shift is less than a mono-static frequency shift applied to other signals from the network entity backscattered by the ambient IoT device.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. 20210364625) in view of Saily et al. (U.S. 20240163840) and further in view of Hasting et al. (U.S. 3967277).
For claim 15, the combination of Li et al. and Saily et al. do not disclose the ambient IoT device of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a downlink transmission from the network entity, wherein the CW signal is received in a different frequency band than the downlink transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, Ohara et al. disclose to receive a downlink transmission from the network entity, wherein the CW signal is received in a different frequency band than the downlink transmission (claim 11. A receiver for use in radio navigation system which includes a base station for transmitting a continuous wave signal having a first predetermined frequency, a first relay station comprising a first relay station receiver for receiving signals broadcast by said base station, a first modulatable transmitter for generating a first carrier signal having a frequency differing from one-half of said first predetermined frequency by an amount equal to one-half of a second predetermined frequency, means for doubling the frequency of said first carrier signal, means for mixing said doubled first carrier signal with the output of said first relay station receiver to derive a first modulating signal whose frequency is equal to said second predetermined frequency.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Hasting et al. as taught by Ohara et al. for purpose of determining the location of a mobile station
For claim 16, the combination of Li et al., Saily et al. and Hasting et al. disclose the ambient IoT device of claim 15. Hasting et al. disclose wherein the CW signal is received in a higher frequency band than the downlink transmission (claim 11. A receiver for use in radio navigation system which includes a base station for transmitting a continuous wave signal having a first predetermined frequency, a first relay station comprising a first relay station receiver for receiving signals broadcast by said base station, a first modulatable transmitter for generating a first carrier signal having a frequency differing from one-half of said first predetermined frequency by an amount equal to one-half of a second predetermined frequency, means for doubling the frequency of said first carrier signal, means for mixing said doubled first carrier signal with the output of said first relay station receiver to derive a first modulating signal whose frequency is equal to said second predetermined frequency.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644