Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, 12, 14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Farha et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0025652).
With respect to claims 1, Farha et al. teaches a battery module (an array, item 18, par. [0042]) comprising a plurality of cell assemblies, each cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells (battery cells, items 110 and 112, par. [0062], fig. 5) stacked in a first direction. A support member (heat exchanger plate, item 68, par. [0066]) disposed between the cell assemblies. A plurality of end covers (endplates, item 64, par. [0074]) facing at least one of the plurality of cell assemblies in the first direction. In Fig. 5, Farha et al. teaches the support member (heat exchanger plate) protruding in the first direction relative to the end covers (endplates). Limitations for this claim are met by both Configuration A and B.
With respect to claim 2, Farha et al. teaches a battery module (an array, item 18, fig. 5, par. [0042]) comprising a module housing (item 60, par. [0043]) in which the plurality of cell assemblies (items 110 and 112, par. [0062]) and the support member (heat exchanger plate, item 68, par. [0066]) are accommodated. The module housing includes a top cover (see annotated Configuration A and B figures) structured to cover a top surface of the plurality of cell assemblies. A side cover (see annotated Configuration A and B figures) connected to the top cover and structured to face the plurality of cell assemblies in a second direction, perpendicular to the first direction. The examiner interprets the top cover being connected to the side cover via the end cover (see annotated Configuration A and B figures).
With respect to claim 3, Farha et al. teaches a battery module (an array, item 18, fig. 5, par. [0042]) wherein at least one of the plurality of battery cells (item 110) includes a case structured to accommodate the electrode assembly and a cap assembly coupled to the case including electrode terminals (item 114, par. [0065]) arranged on the cap assembly. Limitations for this claim are met by both Configuration A and B.
With respect to claim 4, Farha et al. teaches the battery module wherein the cap assembly faces the top cover (see annotated Configuration A figure).
With respect to claim 5, Farha et al. teaches the battery module wherein the bottom surface of the case is exposed to an outside of the module housing (see annotated Configuration A figure).
With respect to claim 6, Farha et al. teaches a battery module (an array, item 18, par. [0042]) wherein the support member (heat exchanger plate, item 68, par. [0066]) includes a body portion facing at least one of the plurality of cell assemblies (items 110 and 112, par. [0066]) in a second direction, perpendicular to the first direction. An extension portion extending from the body portion in the first direction and extending between the plurality of end covers (see item 68 in annotated Configuration A figure). limitations for this claim are met by both Configuration A and B
With respect to claim 7, Farha et al. teaches a battery module (an array, item 18, par. [0042]) wherein the extension portion is disposed on each of both ends portions of the support member in the first direction (see item 68 in annotated Configuration A and B figures).
With respect to claim 8, Farha et al. teaches a battery module (an array, item 18, par. [0042]) wherein the extension portion (see item 68 in annotated Configuration A and B figures) and the plurality of end covers (see annotated Configuration A and B figures) are alternately arranged in the second direction.
With respect to claim 9, Farha et al. teaches a battery module (an array, item 18, par. [0042]) wherein the plurality of end covers (endplate, item 64, par. [0070]) is in contact (connector 94 provides a connection point 118 to secure the endplate 64 to the heat exchanger plate 68) with the extension portion (see item 68 in annotated Configuration A and B figures).
With respect to claim 11, Farha et al. teaches a battery pack (item 14, par. [0042]) comprising a plurality of battery modules (plurality of arrays, item 18, par. [0042], fig. 5). A pack housing (item 60, par. [0044], fig. 2) structured to accommodate the plurality of battery modules, wherein at least one of the plurality of battery modules includes a plurality of cell assemblies, each cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells (battery cells, items 110 and 112, par. [0062], fig. 5) stacked in a first direction. One or more support member (heat exchanger plate, item 68, par. [0066]) each disposed between adjacent cell assemblies of the plurality of cell assemblies (see Configuration A and B figures). A plurality of end covers (endplates, item 64, par. [0074]), each end cover facing at least one of the plurality of cell assemblies in the first direction. Each support member extends to protrude in the first direction, relative to the plurality of end covers (see annotated Configuration A and B figures) and is coupled to the pack housing (the heat exchanger plate is connected to the endplate via third connector 94 which in turn is connected to the pack housing via connection point 100).
With respect to claim 12, Farha et al. teaches a battery pack (item 14, par. [0042]). Each support member (heat exchanger plate, item 68, par. [0066]) includes a body portion facing at least one of the plurality of cell assemblies in a second direction, perpendicular to the first direction (see annotated Configuration A and B figures). An extension portion extending from the body portion in the first direction and extending between the plurality of end covers (see annotated Configuration A and B figures).
With respect to claim 14, Farha et al. teaches a battery pack wherein a length of each support member in the first direction is equal to or greater than a gap between the plurality of side frames (see gap in annotated Configuration B figure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10, 13, 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farha et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0025652) in view of Motohashi et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2019/0259995).
With respect to claim 10, Farha et al. does teach a battery module with a plurality of cell assemblies but fails to teach a busbar connecting the plurality of battery cells and a cell protection member disposed between them.
Motohashi et al. teaches a battery module (item 2, par. [0052]) wherein the plurality of cell assemblies (item 150, par. [0052]) further include a busbar (inter-cell bus bar, item 160, par. [0052]) configured to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells. A cell protection member (an insulation sheet, item 6, par. [0052]) disposed between the plurality of battery cells.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the battery cells from Farha et al. be electrically connected by a bus bar to distribute current between the cells. Additionally, an insulation sheet would be place in between the plurality of battery cells to avoid a short circuit between the battery cells (par. [0004]).
With respect to claim 13, Farha et al. teaches a battery pack (item 14, par. [0042]) wherein the pack housing includes a bottom frame (see bottom frame in annotated Configuration A figure) facing bottom surfaces of the plurality of battery modules. A plurality of side frames (see side cover in annotated Configuration A figure) connected to the bottom frame and facing the plurality of battery modules in the first direction (see bottom frame in annotated Configuration A figure). Farha et al. do not teach the extension portion coupled to the plurality of side frames.
Motohashi et al. teaches insulation sheet 6 being housed by housing grooves 11a and 11b at the end surfaces of the first frame body and the second frame body (par. [0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added housing grooves to the sides frames from Farha et al. to couple the extension portion to the side frames of the pack housing.
With respect to claim 15, Farha et al. teaches the battery pack wherein the extension portion includes an insertion protrusion but fails to teach the plurality of side frames including an insertion groove into which the insertion protrusion is inserted.
Motohashi et al. teaches the plurality of side frames (lower case and cell holder, items 610 and 620, fig. 16) including an insertion groove (housing groove, items 11a and 11b, par. [0146], fig. 16) into which the insertion protrusion is inserted (insulation sheet, item 6, fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added an insertion groove to the frame of the pack housing of Farha et al. to allow for easy positioning of the supporting member (par. [0146]).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farha et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0025652) in view of Motohashi et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2019/0259995) and further in view of Hyung-Kyu (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2019/0181405).
With respect to claim 16, Farha et al. and Motohashi et al. do not teach a fastening member fastened to the insertion groove through the insertion protrusion.
Hyung Kyu et al. teaches a fastening member (screw, item S3, par. [0077]) fastened to the insertion groove (second connection rod, item 173, par. [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a fastening member such as the one in Hyung Kyu et al. to fastened to the insertion groove in Motohashi et al. through the insertion protrusion from Farha et al. to secure the support member to the side frames of the battery module.
Conclusion
/C.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 1621 08/22/2026
/Alicia Chevalier/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788