DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-14 and 16-22 are objected to because of the following informalities: the mentioned claims recite “device of Claim” which should be changed to “device of claim”. See MPEP 608.01(m) which states that each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “mechanical means” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9, 15-18 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat Pub No 20200008549A1 to Barber et al. (hereinafter “Barber”).
Regarding claim 1. Barber discloses a device (para 0015 “hair styling apparatus 1”) comprising: a first arm (para 0015 “top arm 3”); a second arm (para 0015 “bottom arm 5”), wherein the first arm is pivotably attached to the second arm and wherein the first arm and the second arm move respective to one another (para 0015 “rotatably connected at the handle ends … connected by a hinge 7”); a laser beam source configured to generate laser beam that is between 400-800 nm in wavelength (para 0017 “light source 13 … emitting radiation with a wavelength from about 300 nm to about 800 nm”); and an optical medium positioned on the second arm, wherein the optical medium is configured to receive the generated laser beam and apply the generated laser beam to hair strands placed between the first arm and the second arm when the first arm and the second arm are in closed position (para 0017 “light source 13 may be located proximal the top plate 8 and/or the bottom plate 9 such that, in the closed position, hair received between the top main surface 8 a and the bottom main surface 9 a receives light energy from the light source 13”).
Regarding claim 2. Barber discloses the device of Claim 1 further comprising a sensor configured to generate a signal in response to the first arm and the second arm moving into the closed position (para 0029 “a magnet-hall sensor combination to detect whether the apparatus 1 is in the open or closed position … magnet-hall sensor combination may generate a signal indicating whether the apparatus 1 is in the closed position or the open position.”).
Regarding claim 3. Barber discloses the device of Claim 2 further comprising a controller configured to receive the generated signal and in response to determining that the first arm and the second arm are in the closed positioned activates the laser beam source to generate the laser beam (para 0030 “a control circuit 17 configured to turn on the light source 13 upon receiving the signal indicating that the top arm 3 and the bottom arm 5 are in the closed position and/or turn off the light source 13 upon receiving the signal indicating that the top arm 3 and the bottom arm 5 are in the open position.”).
Regarding claim 4. Barber discloses the device of Claim 3, wherein the controller is configured to receive an input from a user to adjust power of the laser beam (para 0020 “a switch that a user may operate to turn on/off the apparatus 1”).
Regarding claim 6. Barber discloses the device of Claim 1, wherein the first arm and the second arm are in the closed position when the first arm and the second arm are squeezed toward one another to lock hair strands in between the first arm and the second arm (para 0020 “the top arm 3 and the bottom arm 5 form a sort of clamp for receiving hair positioned between the top and bottom arms 3, 5 when the apparatus is in the closed position”).
Regarding claim 8. Barber discloses the device of Claim 1 further comprising a power cable to supply power to the laser beam source (para 0020 “electrical cable 12”).
Regarding claim 9. Barber discloses the device of Claim 1 further comprising mechanical means positioned on the first arm or the second arm, wherein the mechanical means is configured to distribute hair strands when hair strands are positioned between the first arm and the second arm (para 0020, 0022 “top and bottom main surfaces 8 a, 9 a”).
Regarding claim 15. Barber discloses a flat iron (para 0015 “hair styling apparatus 1”) comprising: a top elongated arm (para 0015 “top arm 3”) with a first heating element attached thereto (para 0016 “plate 8 provide heat as energy”), and wherein the top elongate arm includes a first heating plate to apply the generated heat to hair strands when the hair strands are locked between the top elongated arm and a bottom elongated arm (para 0016 “plate 8”); the bottom elongated arm (para 0015 “bottom arm 5”) with a second heating element attached thereto (para 0016 “plate 9 provide heat as energy”), and wherein the bottom elongate arm includes a second heating plate to apply the generated heat (para 0016 “plate 9”) to hair strands when the hair strands are locked between the top elongated arm and the bottom elongated arm (para 0016-0017, etc.); a laser beam source configured to generate laser beam that is between 400-800 nm in wavelength (para 0017 “In addition to heat as energy for straightening hair, the hair styling apparatus 1 may include a light source 13… emitting radiation with a wavelength from about 300 nm to about 800 nm”); and an optical medium positioned on the top elongated arm and positioned in close proximity to the first heating plate (fig. 6), wherein the optical medium is configured to receive the generated laser beam and apply the generated laser beam to hair strands placed between the top elongated arm and the bottom elongated arm when the top elongated arm and the bottom elongated arm are in closed position (para 0017 “light source 13 may be located proximal the top plate 8 and/or the bottom plate 9 such that, in the closed position, hair received between the top main surface 8 a and the bottom main surface 9 a receives light energy from the light source 13”).
Regarding claim 16. Barber discloses the flat iron of Claim 15 further comprising a sensor configured to generate a signal in response to the top elongated arm and the bottom elongated arm moving into the closed position (para 0029 “a magnet-hall sensor combination to detect whether the apparatus 1 is in the open or closed position … magnet-hall sensor combination may generate a signal indicating whether the apparatus 1 is in the closed position or the open position.”).
Regarding claim 17. Barber discloses the flat iron of Claim 16 further comprising a controller configured to receive the generated signal and in response to determining that the top elongated arm and the bottom elongated arm are in the closed positioned activates the laser beam source to generate the laser beam (para 0030 “a control circuit 17 configured to turn on the light source 13 upon receiving the signal indicating that the top arm 3 and the bottom arm 5 are in the closed position and/or turn off the light source 13 upon receiving the signal indicating that the top arm 3 and the bottom arm 5 are in the open position.”).
Regarding claim 18. Barber discloses the flat iron of Claim 17, wherein the controller is configured to receive an input from a user to adjust a wavelength of the laser beam (para 0020 “a switch that a user may operate to turn on/off the apparatus 1”).
Regarding claim 20. Barber discloses the flat iron of Claim 15, wherein the top elongated arm and the bottom elongated arm are in the closed position when the top elongated arm and the bottom elongated arm are squeezed toward one another to lock hair strands in between the top elongated arm and the bottom elongated arm (para 0020 “the top arm 3 and the bottom arm 5 form a sort of clamp for receiving hair positioned between the top and bottom arms 3, 5 when the apparatus is in the closed position”).
Regarding claim 21. Barber discloses the flat iron of Claim 15, further comprising a sensor and a controller coupled to one another, wherein the controller receives one or more sensed data from the sensor and wherein the controller is configured to adjust a characteristic of the generated laser beam based on the sensed data (para 0030 “a control circuit 17 configured to turn on the light source 13 upon receiving the signal indicating that the top arm 3 and the bottom arm 5 are in the closed position and/or turn off the light source 13 upon receiving the signal indicating that the top arm 3 and the bottom arm 5 are in the open position.”; it is noted that turning the lights on/off, for example after “ten seconds of exposure” or immediately, is understood to read over “adjust a characteristics”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 10-14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat Pub No 20200008549 A1 to Barber et al. (hereinafter “Barber”) in view of US Pat Pub No 20070167936 to Samain et al. (hereinafter “Samain”).
Regarding claim 5. Barber discloses the device of Claim 3, but fails to disclose wherein the controller is configured to adjust a pulse duration for the generated wavelength.
Samain, form a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the duration of the light pulse reaching the keratinous fibers may be between about 100 ps and about 1 μs, better still between about 1 ns and about 100 ns, especially greater than 5 ns, for example around 10 ns (para 0018) to treat keratinous fibers, specially hair fibers (para 0052). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Barber with the teachings of Samain to provide the predictable result of treating hair.
Regarding claim 7. Barber discloses the device of Claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the generated laser beam has a pulse duration between 10 picoseconds and 50 nanoseconds.
Samain, form a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the duration of the light pulse reaching the keratinous fibers may be between about 100 ps and about 1 μs, better still between about 1 ns and about 100 ns, especially greater than 5 ns, for example around 10 ns (para 0018) to treat keratinous fibers, specially hair fibers (para 0052). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Barber with the teachings of Samain to provide the predictable result of treating hair.
It is noted that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 10. Barber discloses the device of Claim 1 but fails to disclose further comprising a harmonic doubler configured to generate wavelength harmonics for the generated laser beam.
Samain, form a similar field of endeavor, teaches that it is known to provide a frequency doubler for brining the wavelength of the light reaching the keratinous fibers back to about 523 nm. It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Barber with the known teachings of Samain to provide the predictable result of bringing the wavelength of the light reaching the keratinous fibers back to about 523 nm.
Regarding claim 11. Barber discloses the device of Claim 1 but fails to disclose further comprising a beam expander configured to spread the generated laser beam before it is reflected out from the optical medium and before it is applied to hair strands.
Samain, form a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the treatment head comprise at least one lens, especially a cylindrical lens, for generating an approximately flat light beam (para 0069; which is understood to expand the laser beam at least in parts). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Barber with the teachings of Samain to provide the predictable result of generating a flat light beam to treat hair.
Regarding claim 12. Barber discloses the device of Claim 1 but fails to disclose further comprising a lens configured to adjust the focus the generated laser beam before it is applied to hair strands.
Samain, form a similar field of endeavor, teaches providing a device for focusing the light beam emitted by the laser which allows a less powerful, and therefore less expensive, laser to be used, while still achieving an energy level sufficient to destroy the melanin selectively. (para 0062). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Barber with the teachings of Samain to provide the predictable result of allowing a less powerful, and therefore less expensive, laser to be used, while still achieving an energy level sufficient to destroy the melanin selectively.
Regarding claim 13. Barber discloses the device of Claim 1 but fails to disclose further comprising a beam shaping lense configured to generate a beam shape for the generated laser beam before it is applied to hair strands.
Samain, form a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the treatment head comprise at least one lens, especially a cylindrical lens, for generating an approximately flat light beam (para 0069). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Barber with the teachings of Samain to provide the predictable result of generating a flat light beam to treat hair.
Regarding claim 14. Barber as modified by Samain renders obvious the device of Claim 13, wherein the beam shape is rectangular (para 0069 “treatment head, especially when the laser is rigidly connected to it, may comprise at least one lens, especially a cylindrical lens, for generating an approximately flat light beam, for example one several millimeters in length by one millimeter in width”)
Regarding claim 19. Barber discloses the flat iron of Claim 17, but fails to disclose wherein the controller is configured to adjust a pulse duration for the generated wavelength.
Samain, form a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the duration of the light pulse reaching the keratinous fibers may be between about 100 ps and about 1 μs, better still between about 1 ns and about 100 ns, especially greater than 5 ns, for example around 10 ns (para 0018) to treat keratinous fibers, specially hair fibers (para 0052). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Barber with the teachings of Samain to provide the predictable result of treating hair.
Regarding claim 22. The flat iron of Claim 15 but fails to disclose further comprising a cooling mechanism configured to remove heat generated by the laser beam source.
Samain, form a similar field of endeavor, teaches providing cooling means for cooling the lock of hair … when the heating induced by the laser light risks damaging the hair (para 0143). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Barber with the teachings of Samain to provide the predictable result of cooling the hair to prevent damaging the hair.
Conclusion
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796