Claim Objections
Claims 3, 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1, 6, 7-8 and 14 are objected to, because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, “comprises” should be “comprising”.
In claim 5 line 3, “at the at least” should be “with at least”
In claim 6, line 3, “is connected” should be “connected” and in line 6, “each the evaporator” should be “each evaporator”.
In Claim 7, line 3, “is configured” should be “configured”.
In Claim 8, lines 2 and 3, “each the coolant branch” should be “each coolant branch”.
In claim 14, line 3, “comprises” should be “comprising”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because it is not clear if “a coolant” in line 6 is the same as “coolant” in line 3 of claim 7.
The term “normal temperature” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “normal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they claim a second fan, but parent claims 1, 5 and 6 do not teach a first fan.
Claim 14 lacks antecedent basis for the 2 ends of the pipe as it is not previously disclosed that the pipe only has 2 ends.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: cooling module in claims 1, 3-7 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huai (CN114889394) in view of Zhang (CN 110425156).
Regarding claim 1, given that “cooling module” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in the context of the rejection it will be construed as that described in the specification. Huai teaches an energy storage thermal management system, comprising a refrigeration module “assembly” configured to circulate refrigerant (Huai, 0062). The refrigeration module comprises a compressor for compression of refrigerant and a condenser to cool the refrigerant (Huai, 0005), the condenser is connected to the compressor (Huai, 0050). The thermal management system is arranged with throttling element (Huai, 0010) and configured to dissipate heat from at least one target equipment (Huai, 0005). Huai’s thermal management system differs from the present invention in not having the refrigeration module comprising an air-floating centrifugal compressor. However, Zhang teaches an air-floating centrifugal air compressor that can be used in a cooling system. The centrifugal air compressor has an integrated design that reduces the overall size and weight, provides enhanced compression ratio and carries all benefits of an oil free bearing compressor, reducing mechanical loss and improving overall service life (Zhang, 0024-0028). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huai’s refrigeration module to include Zhang’s centrifugal air compressor to obtain the above cited benefits.
Regarding claim 2, Huai and Zhang, as applied in claim 1, teach an energy storage thermal management system comprising a refrigeration module with a bypass valve connected between the inlet and the exhaust port of the compressor (Huai; 19, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Huai and Zhang, as applied in claim 1, teach an energy storage thermal management system, comprising an evaporator arranged with at least one target equipment and is connected with a condenser and compressor (Huai, 0005). The evaporator is further arranged with a throttling element “valve” (Huai, 0010).
Regarding claim 7, Huai and Zhang, as applied in claim 1, teach an energy storage thermal management system configured to circulate coolant to cool at least one target equipment, and the coolant circuit comprises at least one water pump and an intermediate heat exchange device (Huai, 0013). The integration of the refrigeration module and the coolant circuit respectively, realize a heat exchange between a coolant and a refrigerant, so that the refrigerant can cool the coolant (Huai, 0066).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huai (CN114889394) and Zhang (CN 110425156), as applied to claim 1 in view of Lu (CN115207520).
Regarding claim 4 Huai and Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 1 but do teach a cooling plate arranged with a target equipment (battery) for heat management. Lu teaches a battery cooling plate being part of a thermal management assembly of a battery (Lu, 0014). Lu’s thermal management assembly differs from the present invention in only having one cooling plate on one side of the target equipment. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermal management system of Lu’s to include a cooling plate on each side as a known means of heat management in the battery art of temperature regulation as taught by Lu. It has been held that a duplication of parts is obvious unless an unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04 VI B). In this case the use of a second cooling plate gives the expected result of greater cooling efficiency. Flowing the fluid in the opposite direction would be obvious to try form the limited set of same direction, opposite direction or at an angle to the first direction (KSR rationale E)
Claim 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huai (CN114889394) and Zhang (CN 110425156), as applied to claim 1 in view of Gu (CN113580871).
Regarding claim 9 Huai and Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 1 but do not teach a throttling element that comprises an electronic expansion valve. Gu teaches an electronic expansion valve in a thermal management system as means of controlling refrigerant flow. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermal management system of Huai and Zhang as applied in claim 1, to substitute the economizer throttle valve of Huai with the electronic expansion valve of Gu, as known method of controlling the flow of refrigerant in a thermal management system.
Regarding claim 10 Huai and Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 1 but do not teach a temperature and pressure sensor in the thermal management system. Gu teaches sensors to report temperature and pressure information of coolant and refrigerant in a thermal management system (Gu, 0055). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermal management system of Huai and Zhang as applied in claim 1, to include temperature and pressure sensors as known means of reporting operational parameters in a thermal management system as taught by Gu.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Huai and Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 1 and 5 but do not teach a first fan arranged with the condenser and a second fan arranged with the evaporator. Gu teaches a first fan arranged with a condenser (Gu, 0011 & 0053) and an evaporator arranged with a fan (Gu, 0050 & FIG. 1), in a thermal management system for heat exchange. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermal management system of Huai and Zhang as applied in claim 1 and 5, to include a first fan arranged with a condenser and a second fan arranged with an evaporator as known means of heat transfer in a thermal management system as taught by Gu.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS E VENTURA HERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745