Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This communication is response to claims filed on 12/11/23 . Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Information Disclosure Statement’s 4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 12/11/23 & 05/31/24 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file. Drawing 5. The drawings filed on 12/11/23 are accepted by the examiner. Specification 6. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “ TRIGGERING A REPORT RELATED TO A CHANNEL BETWEEN A USER EQUIPMNET (UE) AND A NETWORK ENTITY ” 7. Claim 6 , in apart, recites, " …. transmit the trigger in a first time slot , and transmit the report in a second time slot based on the trigger, and the second time slot is after the first time slot " and the specification fails to have antecedent basis for the terms in the claims. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). 8 . Claim 14 , in apart, recites, " …. receive the trigger in a first time slot , and receive the report in a second time slot based on the trigger, and the second time slot is after the first time slot " and the specification fails to have antecedent basis for the terms in the claims. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Appropriate correction is required. Claims Objections 9 . Claim s 1 , 9 & 17 are objected to because of minor informalities: 10 . Claim 1 , in part, recites, “ … the need … in line 8. For consistency and clarification with “a need for transmitting a report ” recited in claim 1, line 4 , it is suggested to change “the need ” in line 8 , to “the need for transmitting the report ”. 11 . Claims 9 & 17 are also objected for the same reason as claim 1 above. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 1 2 . The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – ( (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 1 3 . Claims 1- 5, 7 , 9-13 , 15 & 17- -20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)( 1 ) as being anticipated by Bai et al. (hereinafter referred as Bai ) US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0243630 A1 . Regarding claim s 1 & 17 : B ai discloses a user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 7 & Para. 00 83 ; an apparatus (i.e., UE) 702 ) comprising: a processor (See FIG. 7 & Para. 00 83 ; an apparatus (i.e., UE) 702 includes communication manager ) ; and a transceiver (See FIG. 3 & Para. 0049; a User Equipment (UE) 350 includes a reception component 730 and Transmission component 734 ) operably coupled to the processor (See FIG. 7) , the transceiver configured to t ra nsmit information including at least one of (i) a trigger indicating a need for transmitting a report (corresponding to uplink beam report ) (See Para. 0067; “the UE 502 may detect that an event has occurred that triggers an uplink beam report to be sent by the UE 502 to the base station 504. In response to detecting the occurrence of the event at 511, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink beam report 513 to the base station 515 ”) and (ii) content (corresponding to uplink b eam report ) associated with the report (See Para. 0067 & 0069; wherein the uplink beam report includes a beam quality metric for each beam reported in the uplink beam report) , wherein: the trigger is related to a channel between the UE and a network entity (See Para. 0068; the UE 502 may detect that an event has occurred that triggers an uplink beam report to be sent by the UE 502 to the base station 504 . the event may include a change in a set of one or more best beams . The change may include at least one beam improving or degrading to an extent that at least one beam in the set of the one or more best beams changes. Thus, the event that triggers the uplink beam report may be a change in the top X best uplink beams for the UE , X being an integer number) , the need is based on at least one performance metric of a communication over the channel (See Para. 0068; the event may include a change in a set of one or more best beams . The set of one or more best beams may include a first number of beams having highest beam measurements among a larger number of beams measured by the UE) , and the content includes at least one property (corresponding to a beam quality metric) associated with the channel (See Para. 0067 & 0069; wherein the uplink beam report (i.e., the content) includes a beam quality metric for each beam reported in the uplink beam report) . Regarding claim s 2 & 18 : B ai discloses a user equipment (UE) , wherein: the processor is further configured to determine the need for transmitting the report, and the need for transmitting the report is based on an event associated with the at least one performance metric of the communication over the channel (See Para. 0067-0068; the base station 504 may define the event and/or provide one or more metrics for the UE 502 to use or check to determine whether the event has occurred . Alternatively, the event may be based on criteria determined by the UE 502 , e.g., autonomously determined by the UE 502 . The event may include a change in a set of one or more best beams. The set of one or more best beams may include a first number of beams having highest beam measurements among a larger number of beams measured by the UE) . Regarding claim s 3 & 19 : B ai discloses a user equipment (UE) , wherein the event corresponds to an event type from at least one of the following event types: (iii) a beam-related event type including at least one of a beam switch (See Para. 0068; the event may include a change in a set of one or more best beams . The set of one or more best beams may include a first number of beams having highest beam measurements among a larger number of beams measured by the UE) . Regarding claim s 4 & 20 : B ai discloses a user equipment (UE) , wherein the at least one performance metric is based on at least one of : a failure event associated with the communication (See Para. 0072; the base station may configure one or more metrics and/or one or more thresholds for the UE to use in determining whether a particular beam has suffered from a beam failure . Therefore, the indication of whether or not a particular beam suffers from beam failure in the uplink beam report 513 may be based on one or more metrics configured by the base station 504 for the UE to determine beam failure) . Regarding claim 5 : B ai discloses a user equipment (UE) , wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the information in response to an identification of the need for transmitting the report (See Para. 0067; the UE 502 may detect that an event has occurred that triggers an uplink beam report to be sent by the UE 502 to the base station 504. In response to detecting the occurrence of the event at 511, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink beam report 513 to the base station 515) . Regarding claim 7 : B ai discloses a user equipment (UE) , wherein, based on the at least one property, the report corresponds to a report type from at least one of the following report types: (i) a beam-related report type including at least one of a beam metric (See Para. 0072; the base station may configure one or more metrics and/or one or more thresholds for the UE to use in determining whether a particular beam has suffered from a beam failure . Therefore, the indication of whether or not a particular beam suffers from beam failure in the uplink beam report 513 may be based on one or more metrics configured by the base station 504 for the UE to determine beam failure) . Regarding claim 9 : B ai discloses a base station (BS) (See FIG. 9 & Para. 0094; an apparatus (e.g., base station)) comprising: a processor (See FIG. 9 & Para. 0094; an apparatus (e.g., base station) includes communication manager 932 ) ; and a transceiver (See FIG. 9 & Para. 0094; an apparatus (e.g., base station) includes reception/transmission component 930 & 934 ) operably coupled to the processor (See FIG. 9) , the transceiver configured to receive information including at least one of (i) a trigger indicating a need for transmitting a report (See Para. 0067; “the UE 502 may detect that an event has occurred that triggers an uplink beam report to be sent by the UE 502 to the base station 504. In response to detecting the occurrence of the event at 511, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink beam report 513 to the base station 515 ”) and (ii) content associated with the report (corresponding to uplink b eam report ) associated with the report (See Para. 0067 & 0069; wherein the uplink beam report includes a beam quality metric for each beam reported in the uplink beam report) , wherein: the trigger is related to a channel between a user equipment (UE) and the BS (See Para. 0068; the UE 502 may detect that an event has occurred that triggers an uplink beam report to be sent by the UE 502 to the base station 504 . the event may include a change in a set of one or more best beams . The change may include at least one beam improving or degrading to an extent that at least one beam in the set of the one or more best beams changes. Thus, the event that triggers the uplink beam report may be a change in the top X best uplink beams for the UE , X being an integer number) , the need is based on at least one performance metric of a communication over the channel (See Para. 0068; the event may include a change in a set of one or more best beams . The set of one or more best beams may include a first number of beams having highest beam measurements among a larger number of beams measured by the UE) , and the content includes at least one property (corresponding to a beam quality metric) associated with the channel (See Para. 0067 & 0069; wherein the uplink beam report (i.e., the content) includes a beam quality metric for each beam reported in the uplink beam report) . Regarding claim 10 : B ai discloses a base station (BS) , wherein the need for transmitting the report is based on an event associated with the at least one performance metric of the communication over the channel (See Para. 0067-0068; the base station 504 may define the event and/or provide one or more metrics for the UE 502 to use or check to determine whether the event has occurred . Alternatively, the event may be based on criteria determined by the UE 502 , e.g., autonomously determined by the UE 502 . The event may include a change in a set of one or more best beams. The set of one or more best beams may include a first number of beams having highest beam measurements among a larger number of beams measured by the UE) . Regarding claim 11 : B ai discloses a base station (BS) , wherein the event corresponds to an event type from at least one of the following event types: (iii) a beam-related event type including at least one of a beam switch (See Para. 0068; the event may include a change in a set of one or more best beams . The set of one or more best beams may include a first number of beams having highest beam measurements among a larger number of beams measured by the UE) . Regarding claim 12 : B ai discloses a base station (BS) , wherein the at least one performance metric is based on at least one of : a failure event associated with the communication (See Para. 0072; the base station may configure one or more metrics and/or one or more thresholds for the UE to use in determining whether a particular beam has suffered from a beam failure . Therefore, the indication of whether or not a particular beam suffers from beam failure in the uplink beam report 513 may be based on one or more metrics configured by the base station 504 for the UE to determine beam failure) . Regarding claim 13 : B ai discloses a base station (BS) , wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive the information in response to an identification of the need for transmitting the report (See Para. 0067; the UE 502 may detect that an event has occurred that triggers an uplink beam report to be sent by the UE 502 to the base station 504. In response to detecting the occurrence of the event at 511, the UE 502 may transmit the uplink beam report 513 to the base station 515) . Regarding claim 15 : B ai discloses a base station (BS) , w herein, based on the at least one property, the report corresponds to a report type from at least one of the following report types: (i) a beam-related report type including at least one of a beam metric (See Para. 0072; the base station may configure one or more metrics and/or one or more thresholds for the UE to use in determining whether a particular beam has suffered from a beam failure . Therefore, the indication of whether or not a particular beam suffers from beam failure in the uplink beam report 513 may be based on one or more metrics configured by the base station 504 for the UE to determine beam failure) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 1 4 . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 1 5 . Claims 6 & 1 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai, in view of Wu et al. (hereinafter referred as Wu ) US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0131069 A1 . Regarding claim 6 : B ai discloses the second time slot is after the first time slot (See FIG. 2A & Para. 0043; see one or more time slots on the frame) but doesn’t explicitly disclose transmit the trigger in a first time slot, and transmit the report in a second time slot based on the trigger . However, Wu from the same field of endeavor discloses transmit the trigger in a first time slot, and transmit the report in a second time slot based on the trigger (See FIG. 17 & Para. 0093; channel quality reports can be received from one or more mobile devices pertaining to evaluated path loss ratios during the first time slot and the second time slot ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmit the trigger in a first time slot, and transmit the report in a second time slot based on the trigger as taught by Wu in the system of Bai for utilize a time sharing scheme scheduled to transmits during different time slots (See abstract ; lines 1- 2 ) . Regarding claim 14 : the combination of B ai and Wu discloses a base station. Furthermore, Wu discloses a base station, wherein: the transceiver is further configured to: receive the trigger in a first time slot, and receive the report in a second time slot based on the trigger (See FIG. 17 & Para. 0093; channel quality reports can be received from one or more mobile devices pertaining to evaluated path loss ratios during the first time slot and the second time slot ) , and the second time slot is after the first time slot (See FIG. 2A & Para. 0043; see one or more time slots on the frame) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receive the trigger in a first time slot, and receive the report in a second time slot based on the trigger as taught by Wu in the system of Bai for utilize a time sharing scheme scheduled to transmits during different time slots (See abstract ; lines 1- 2 ) . 1 6 . Claims 8 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai, in view of Xiong et al. (hereinafter referred as Xiong ) US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0323856 A1 . Regarding claim s 8 & 16 : B ai discloses the channel is at least one of uplink (See Para. 0067; Uplink channel) but does not explicitly discloses receive at least one reference signal (RS) resource, and the processor is further configured to measure the at least one RS resource for determining the report . However, Xiong from the same field of endeavor discloses receive at least one reference signal (RS) resource, and the processor is further configured to measure the at least one RS resource for determining the report (See Para. 0160; measurement is performed by measuring the CSI-RS configured by the network for beam management . and the UE acquires, according to the result of measurement, a candidate downlink transmission beam or information about whether there is a new candidate downlink transmission beam) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receive at least one reference signal (RS) resource, and the processor is further configured to measure the at least one RS resource for determining the report as taught by Xiong in the system of Bai for transmitting an uplink signal to detect a beam failure (See Para. 0016 ; lines 1- 3 ) . Conclusion 1 7 . The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. A. Chen et al. 2025/0253910 A1 (Title: Method and device for channel state information.. ) (See Abstract, Para. 00 12 & 00 37-0038 ) . B. Li et al. 2025/0167902 A1 (Title: Method for measuring and reporting cross-link.. ) (See abstract , Para. 00 06 & 008 13-0016 ). C. Shabara et al. 2025/0159525 A1 (Title: Apparatus and method for fast beam recovery ) (See FIG. 1, Para. 00 46, 0050 & 0160 ) . 1 8 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MEWALE A AMBAYE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1076 . The examiner can normally be reached on FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M.F 6a.m.-2p.m. . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Ian Moore can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-3085 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MEWALE A AMBAYE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469