Detailed Action
1. The action is responsive to the communication filed on 8/12/2026.
Response to Arguments
2. The applicant’s argument filed on 8/12/2026 has been taken into consideration but is moot of new grounds of rejection.
In response to the applicant’s argument (disclosed in pg. 1-3 of the remarks segment) that the cited prior art fails to teach or suggest the licensing authentication request including a licensing body including an endpoint address specifying an address of the authentication server on a first network:
See newly cited prior art reference Theeten et al (EP 2,827,265 A1), which discloses (see par [0007] of Theeten et al) a licensing request containing the address of a licensing server (e.g., the licensing authentication request including a licensing body including an endpoint address specifying an address of the authentication server on a first network).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Haveson et al (WO 2008/030759 A1) in view of Sakura et al (EP 3171573 B1), further in view of Theeten et al (EP 2,827,265 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Haveson et al teaches a client computer (fig. 5, ‘500) comprising:
at least one processor (fig. 5, ‘502);
memory coupled to the at least one processor (fig. 5, ‘504), the memory storing computer-executable instructions (fig. 5, ‘506); and
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (par [0037], lines 1-4, “computer-executable instructions”) to cause the client computer to:
generate a licensing authentication request associated with verification of licensing permissions related to restricted functionality provided by the client computer (par [0092], lines 1-5, “digital license request information”), wherein the licensing authentication request includes:
a packet header including a source address associated with the client computer (par [0084], lines 1-3, “header identifying the location from which a digital license for the content may be received”), and a destination address associated with an intermediary device (par [0082], lines 14-20, which discloses the header containing several parts relevant to obtaining a digital license, including where the digital license is delivered).
Haveson et al does not explicitly teach transmitting the authentication request to the intermediary device via a second network different than the first network.
However, Sakura et al further teaches transmitting the authentication request to the intermediary device via a second network different than the first network (fig. 1, ‘102/’104-1/’104-2/’104-3/’106 & col. 26, lines 1-25, which discloses using a plurality of proxy networks to transmit authentication requests in the event of an off-network authentication scenario).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective day of the invention, that one would be motivated to combine the teachings of Sakura et al within the concept illustrated by Haveson et al in order to provide the predictive result of processing authentication requests for on-network authentication of off-network devices by providing a plurality of tunneling networks and an online authentication proxy, in the event that the network in which an initial content request was targeted for is unavailable (as disclosed in fig. 1 of Sakura et al).
Haveson et al and Sakura et al do not explicitly teach wherein the licensing body further includes an endpoint address specifying an address of the authentication server on a first network.
However, Theeten et al further teaches wherein the licensing body further includes an endpoint address specifying an address of the authentication server on a first network (par [0007], lines 10-17, which discloses a licensing request containing the address of a licensing server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective day of the invention, that one would be motivated to combine the teachings of Theeten et al within the concept illustrated by Haveson et al and Sakura et al in order to provide the predictive result of improving processing content licensing authentication requests by using temporary keys, generated by encrypting a symmetric key with a public key, to be transmitted between a content requestor and an authentication server (as disclosed in par [0010-0011] of Theeten et al) because this feature further allows for secure transmission of content between a requestor and licensing server while protecting the content.
Regarding claim 2, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 1.
Haveson et al further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to:
cause the client computer to restrict transmission of the licensing authentication request to periods of time during which the intermediary device is within a given proximity of the client computer (par [0062], lines 4-14, which discloses allowing content distribution transactions during periods when proximity of peer devices has been determined).
Regarding claim 3, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 1.
Haveson et al further teaches a requestor module configured to transmit an internal message including a request for license authentication approval in conjunction with performance of the restricted functionality (Abstract, “digital license granting”).
Regarding claim 4, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 1.
Haveson et al further teaches a licensing approval module (Abstract, “arranges for digital license granting”) configured to:
receive the internal message from the requestor module, wherein the internal message includes a request for the licensing approval module to obtain the license authentication approval from the authentication server (fig. 4, ‘120/’125/’402/’404, “license challenge/license response”); and
transmit the licensing authentication request to the intermediary device in response to receiving the internal message (fig. 3, ‘161/’116, “digital license distribution system” “WLAN Access Points”).
Regarding claim 5, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 1.
Haveson et al further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to cause the client computer to:
encrypt communications between the requestor module and the licensing approval module (par [0030], lines 26-30, “encrypted digital content files”).
Regarding claim 8, Haveson et al teaches a client computer (fig. 5, ‘500) comprising:
at least one processor (fig. 5, ‘502);
memory coupled to the at least one processor (fig. 5, ‘504), the memory storing computer-executable instructions (fig. 5, ‘506); and
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (par [0037], lines 1-4, “computer-executable instructions”) to cause the client computer to:
generate a licensing authentication request associated with verification of licensing permissions related to restricted functionality provided by the client computer (par [0092], lines 1-5, “digital license request information”), wherein the licensing authentication request includes:
a source address associated with the client computer (par [0084], lines 1-3, “header identifying the location from which a digital license for the content may be received”), and a destination address associated with a mobile device (par [0082], lines 14-20, which discloses the header containing several parts relevant to obtaining a digital license, including where the digital license is delivered); and
license authentication information used by an authentication server (fig. 1, ‘160/’161 & par [0082], lines 10-20, “digital license acquisition URL”).
Haveson et al does not explicitly teach transmitting the authentication request to the intermediary device via a second network different than the first network.
However, Sakura et al further teaches transmitting the authentication request to the intermediary device via a second network different than the first network (fig. 1, ‘102/’104-1/’104-2/’104-3/’106 & col. 26, lines 1-25, which discloses using a plurality of proxy networks to transmit authentication requests in the event of an off-network authentication scenario).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective day of the invention, that one would be motivated to combine the teachings of Sakura et al within the concept illustrated by Haveson et al in order to provide the predictive result of processing authentication requests for on-network authentication of off-network devices by providing a plurality of tunneling networks and an online authentication proxy, in the event that the network in which an initial content request was targeted for is unavailable (as disclosed in fig. 1 of Sakura et al).
Haveson et al and Sakura et al do not explicitly teach wherein the licensing authentication request includes an endpoint address specifying an address of the authentication server on a first network.
However, Theeten et al further teaches wherein the licensing authentication request includes includes an endpoint address specifying an address of the authentication server on a first network (par [0007], lines 10-17, which discloses a licensing request containing the address of a licensing server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective day of the invention, that one would be motivated to combine the teachings of Theeten et al within the concept illustrated by Haveson et al and Sakura et al in order to provide the predictive result of improving processing content licensing authentication requests by using temporary keys, generated by encrypting a symmetric key with a public key, to be transmitted between a content requestor and an authentication server (as disclosed in par [0010-0011] of Theeten et al) because this feature further allows for secure transmission of content between a requestor and licensing server while protecting the content.
Regarding claim 9, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 8.
Haveson et al further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the client computer to restrict transmission of the licensing authentication request to periods of time during which the mobile device is within a given proximity of the client computer (par [0062], lines 4-14, which discloses allowing content distribution transactions during periods when proximity of peer devices has been determined).
Regarding claim 10, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 8.
Haveson et al further teaches a requestor module configured to transmit an internal message including a request for license authentication approval in conjunction with performance of the restricted functionality (Abstract, “digital license granting”).
Regarding claim 11, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 8.
Haveson et al further teaches a licensing approval module (Abstract, “arranges for digital license granting”) configured to:
receive the internal message from the requestor module, wherein the internal message includes a request for the licensing approval module to obtain the license authentication approval from the authentication server (fig. 4, ‘120/’125/’402/’404, “license challenge/license response”); and
transmit the licensing authentication request to the mobile device during a licensing authentication request window (fig. 3, ‘161/’116, “digital license distribution system” “WLAN Access Points”s).
Regarding claim 12, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 8.
Haveson et al further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to cause the client computer to encrypt communications between the requestor module and the licensing approval module (par [0030], lines 26-30, “encrypted digital content files”).
Regarding claim 15, Haveson et al teaches a method comprising:
generating, at a computing device including a processor (fig. 5, ‘502) and memory (fig. 5, ‘504), a licensing authentication request associated with verification of licensing permissions related to restricted functionality provided by the client computing device (par [0092], lines 1-5, “digital license request information”), wherein the licensing authentication request includes:
a packet header including a source address associated with the computing (par [0084], lines 1-3, “header identifying the location from which a digital license for the content may be received”), and a destination address associated with an intermediary device (par [0082], lines 14-20, which discloses the header containing several parts relevant to obtaining a digital license, including where the digital license is delivered); and
a licensing body including license authentication information used by an authentication server (fig. 1, ‘160/’161 & par [0082], lines 10-20, “digital license acquisition URL”).
Haveson et al does not explicitly teach transmitting the licensing authentication request from the computing device to the intermediary device via a second network different than the first network.
However, Sakura et al further teaches transmitting the licensing authentication request from the computing device to the intermediary device via a second network different than the first network (fig. 1, ‘102/’104-1/’104-2/’104-3/’106 & col. 26, lines 1-25, which discloses using a plurality of proxy networks to transmit authentication requests in the event of an off-network authentication scenario).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective day of the invention, that one would be motivated to combine the teachings of Sakura et al within the concept illustrated by Haveson et al in order to provide the predictive result of processing authentication requests for on-network authentication of off-network devices by providing a plurality of tunneling networks and an online authentication proxy, in the event that the network in which an initial content request was targeted for is unavailable (as disclosed in fig. 1 of Sakura et al).
Haveson et al and Sakura et al do not explicitly teach wherein the licensing body further includes an endpoint address specifying an address of the authentication server on a first network.
However, Theeten et al further teaches wherein the licensing body further includes an endpoint address specifying an address of the authentication server on a first network (par [0007], lines 10-17, which discloses a licensing request containing the address of a licensing server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective day of the invention, that one would be motivated to combine the teachings of Theeten et al within the concept illustrated by Haveson et al and Sakura et al in order to provide the predictive result of improving processing content licensing authentication requests by using temporary keys, generated by encrypting a symmetric key with a public key, to be transmitted between a content requestor and an authentication server (as disclosed in par [0010-0011] of Theeten et al) because this feature further allows for secure transmission of content between a requestor and licensing server while protecting the content.
Regarding claim 16, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 15.
Haveson et al further teaches restricting transmission of the licensing authentication request to periods of time during which the intermediary device is within a given proximity of the client computing device (par [0062], lines 4-14, which discloses allowing content distribution transactions during periods when proximity of peer devices has been determined).
Regarding claim 17, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 15.
Haveson et al further teaches transmitting, by a requestor module included in the computing device, an internal message including a request for license authentication approval in conjunction with performance of the restricted functionality (Abstract, “digital license granting”).
Regarding claim 18, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 15.
Haveson et al further teaches receiving the internal message at a license approval module included in the computing device (Abstract, “arranges for digital license granting”), wherein the internal message includes a request for the licensing approval module to obtain the license authentication approval from the authentication server (fig. 4, ‘120/’125/’402/’404, “license challenge/license response”); and
transmitting the licensing message from the licensing approval module to the intermediary device in response to receiving the internal message (fig. 3, ‘161/’116, “digital license distribution system” “WLAN Access Points”).
Regarding claim 19, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 15.
Haveson et al further teaches encrypting communications between the requestor module and the licensing approval module (par [0030], lines 26-30, “encrypted digital content files”).
Regarding claim 20, Haveson et al and Sakura et al teach the limitations of claim 15.
Haveson et al further teaches storing licensing authentication requests in an encrypted memory (par [0030], lines 26-30).
6. Claims 6-7 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Haveson et al (WO 2008/030759 A1) in view of Sakura et al (EP 3171573 B1), in view of Theeten et al (EP 2,827,265 A1), further in view of Brooks et al (US 2008/0192820).
Regarding claim 6, Haveson et al, Sakura et al, and Theeten et al do not explicitly teach wherein: the client computer includes an encrypted memory; and the licensing approval module is further configured to store, in the encrypted memory, undelivered licensing authentication requests that were unable to be transmitted to the intermediary device.
However, Brooks et al further teaches wherein:
the client computer includes an encrypted memory (par [0078], lines 10-12); and
the licensing approval module is further configured to store, in the encrypted memory, undelivered licensing authentication requests that were unable to be transmitted to the intermediary device (par [0180], lines 5-6, “undelivered content”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective day of the invention, that one would be motivated to combine the teachings of Brooks et al within the teachings of Haveson et al, Sakura et al, and Theeten et al in order to provide the predictive result of improving timely delivery of secure content when providing content requesting users with cogent and timely information relating to the availability of requested content (as disclosed in par [0025-0026] of Brooks et al) because limiting the amount of time in which content may be delivered to requested users prevents latency and bandwidth caused by lingering transmission times caused by transmission delays.
Regarding claim 7, Haveson et al, Sakura et al, and Theeten et al do not explicitly teach wherein the licensing approval module is further configured to: delete the undelivered licensing authentication requests that were unable to be transmitted to the intermediary device within a threshold amount of time.
However, Brooks et al further teaches wherein the licensing approval module is further configured to: delete the undelivered licensing authentication requests that were unable to be transmitted to the intermediary device within a threshold amount of time (par [0180], lines 5-6, “any undelivered content is deleted”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective day of the invention, that one would be motivated to combine the teachings of Brooks et al within the teachings of Haveson et al, Sakura et al, and Theeten et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, Haveson et al, Sakura et al, and Theeten et al do not explicitly teach wherein: the client computer includes an encrypted memory; and the licensing approval module is further configured to store licensing authentication requests in the encrypted memory until the licensing authentication request window opens.
However, Brooks et al further teaches wherein:
the client computer includes an encrypted memory (par [0078], lines 10-12); and
the licensing approval module is further configured to store licensing authentication requests in the encrypted memory until the licensing authentication request window opens (par [0170] & par [0180], which discloses storing the copyrighted content for a predetermined period of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective day of the invention, that one would be motivated to combine the teachings of Brooks et al within the teachings of Haveson et al, Sakura et al, and Theeten et al in order to provide the predictive result of improving timely delivery of secure content when providing content requesting users with cogent and timely information relating to the availability of requested content (as disclosed in par [0025-0026] of Brooks et al) because limiting the amount of time in which content may be delivered to requested users prevents latency and bandwidth caused by lingering transmission times caused by transmission delays.
Regarding claim 14, Haveson et al, Sakura et al, Theeten et al, and Brooks et al teach the limitations of claim 13.
Haveson et al further teaches wherein the licensing approval module is further configured to: store responses to the licensing message in the encrypted memory (par [0030], lines 26-30, “encrypted digital content files”).
Conclusion
/RANDY A SCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439 20260821