DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. This action is in response to Amendment/RCE filed on May 04, 2026 and entered with an RCE.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 12, 15 and 17 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made that the information disclosure statements filed on 05/04/2026 and 07/01/26 have been received and considered by the examiner. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and arguments presented on 11/03/25 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground of rejection presented in this office action.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayzenberg et al. (US 2020/0409974 A1), hereinafter Ayzanberg in view of Chatley et al. (US 2009/0138480 A1), hereinafter Chatley.
As for claim 1, Ayzenberg teaches a method, comprising: performing, by a computing system, a first replication between a source file system in a source storage device and a first target file system in a first storage device, the source storage device comprising one or more connected data centers (see [0015], e.g., progress data while replicating a snapshot, replicating the second snapshot to a remote storage system, comprising replicating all the blocks in the storage object determined to be different between the first and the second snapshots, [0021], any type of servers or a cluster of one or more servers access to shared data and/or backup);
and the first target storage device comprising one or more connected data centers; downloading, by the computing system, one or more key-value pairs of a binary tree (B-tree) by the first target file system, the key-value pairs of the B-tree comprising a first type of information and an associated one or more second type of information, the one or more second type of information being dependent on the first type of information for processing (see [0037], B+ tree data structure to keep track of changes; The B+ tree persistent data structure is used to manage logical object addresses, where every leaf of a tree points to a physical block. B+ tree parts (i.e., subtrees) shared between several B+ trees (i.e., between several tree roots), [0015], e.g., replicating blocks in a remote storage);
and performing, by the computing system, actions configured to………dependencies based on the first type of information and the second type of information downloaded by the first target file system, the actions to …….the dependencies comprising: determining whether the first type of information was downloaded before (see [0015], e.g., tree structure, [0021], e.g., users or client systems with access to shared data and/or to back up (or restore) data (e.g., mission critical data). Storage system provide storage services to clients or users via a variety of access interfaces and/or protocols, [0032], e.g., a snapshot is taken immediately before a replication starts. The snapshot records information of the file system at a point in time);
creating a dummy entry with the first type of information in the B-tree in the first target file system in accordance with a determination that the first type of information was not downloaded before, wherein creating the dummy entry comprises a lock from each cache level and the B-tree to prevent a race condition (see [0024], deduplication logic 107 may choose not to store a segment in a storage unit if the segment has been previously stored in the storage unit. In the event that deduplication logic chooses not to store the segment in the storage unit, [0039], B+ tree corresponding to the snapshot. Returns all regions in the VSAN object that are different between two particular snapshots, [0045], e.g., the nodes that do not have any descendant that points to a block that has not been replicated (e.g., lock), [0049], e.g., tree structure is updated upon completion of replication of each data slice),
and upon…….downloading of the first type of information, merging the first type of information with the dummy entry and updating the B-tree, wherein the merging comprises reusing a….key from the dummy entry for processing the second type of information associated with the first type of information (see [0015], e.g., tree structure is updated upon completion of replication of each data slice, [0021], e.g., client systems with access to shared data and/or to back up (or restore) data from clients and store in any one or more storage units, [0024], e.g., enabling the reconstruction of the file using the previously stored segment. of data files are stored in a deduplicated manner, either within each of storage units or across at least some of storage units, [0045], e.g., a tree merging operation (i.e., MergeTree) is performed on the B+ trees).
Ayzanberg teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly teach the limitations of “resolve dependencies; to prevent a race condition; subsequent downloading; a cryptographic key”; However, in the same field of endeavor, Chatley teaches the limitations of “resolve dependencies; to prevent a race condition; subsequent downloading; a cryptographic key” (see
[0021], redirected immediately prior to beginning download. All download requests begin at the core and thereafter directed to the proper node, [0022], e.g., download request include subsequent request on the files and nodes, [0060], e.g., prevent unauthorized or unwanted network intrusion, [0109], e.g., authenticated and authorized to download the file, then the file's content streamed to the requesting client, [0203], e.g., queuing service cluster nodes happened to fail, it would automatically fail-over to another storage delivery node without any data loss).
Ayzanberg and Chatley both references teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are from the same field of endeavor, such as snapshot and replicating data in a storage system, access, store and share files, tree structure and replicating datablocks are updated associated with data replication.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Chatley’s teaching to Ayzanberg system for a web-based tool allowing an internet media file system (IMFS) to get a real-time snapshot of all activity occurring on a given server running the command processing service. This is beneficial for troubleshooting purposes, and to have an overall view of the number of files that are being uploaded over time. An internet media file system (IMFS) provides secure access to upload files and access to individual virtual folders to user users (See Chatley, [0199]).
As for claim 10,
The limitations therein have substantially the same scope as claim 1 because claim 10 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim for implementing those steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Chatley’s teaching to Ayzanberg system for a web-based tool allowing an internet media file system (IMFS) to get a real-time snapshot of all activity occurring on a given server running the command processing service. This is beneficial for troubleshooting purposes, and to have an overall view of the number of files that are being uploaded over time. An internet media file system (IMFS) provides secure access to upload files and access to individual virtual folders to user users (See Chatley, [0199]).
As for claim 15,
The limitations therein have substantially the same scope as claim 1 because claim 15 is a system claim for implementing those steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Chatley’s teaching to Ayzanberg system for a web-based tool allowing an internet media file system (IMFS) to get a real-time snapshot of all activity occurring on a given server running the command processing service. This is beneficial for troubleshooting purposes, and to have an overall view of the number of files that are being uploaded over time. An internet media file system (IMFS) provides secure access to upload files and access to individual virtual folders to user users (See Chatley, [0199]).
As to claim 2, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Ayzanberg and Chatley teach:
further comprising using a dummy crypto key associated with the first type of information in the created dummy entry for processing the second type of information during the first replication (see Ayzenberg, [0027], [0060]; Also see, Chatley, [0109]).
As to claim 3, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Ayzanberg and Chatley teach:
further comprising updating all levels of caches in the first target file system with the dummy crypto key associated with the first type of information (see Ayzanberg, [0023]-[0024]; Also see, Chatley, [0109]).
As to claim 4, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Ayzanberg and Chatley teach:
wherein the actions to resolve the dependencies further comprise, for the first type of information, determining whether the dummy entry with the first type of information has been created in the B-tree (see Ayzanberg, [0026], [0037]; Also see, Chatley, [0203]).
As to claim 5, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Ayzanberg and Chatley teach:
further comprising, for the first type of information, creating an entry in the B-tree based on the downloaded first type of information in accordance with a determination that the dummy entry with the first type of information has not been created (see Ayzanberg, [0021], [0026], [0037]; Also see, Chatley, [0021]).
As to claim 6, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Ayzanberg and Chatley teach:
further comprising: for the first type of information, consolidating information in the dummy entry and the downloaded first type of information in accordance with the determination that the dummy entry with the first type of information has been created; wherein the consolidating comprises reusing a dummy crypto key in the dummy entry and replacing other information in the dummy entry with the downloaded first type of information (see Ayzanberg, [0023]-[0024], [0030]; Also see, Chatley, [0109]).
As to claim 7, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Ayzanberg and Chatley teach:
wherein creating a dummy entry with the first type of information in the B-tree is an atomic operation, the atomic operation being configured to create the dummy entry by one of a set of processing threads processing the associated one or more second type of information in parallel (see Ayzanberg, [0016], [0037], [0059]; Also see, Chatley, [0205]).
As to claim 8, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Ayzanberg and Chatley teach:
wherein: the first type of information comprises a parent directory iNode and a crypto key associated with the parent directory iNode, the associated one or more second type of information comprises child files associated with the parent directory iNode, and the crypto key associated with the parent directory iNode is configured to encrypt and decrypt file names of the child files (see Ayzanberg, [0037], [0048]; Also see, Chatley, [0109]).
As to claim 9, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Ayzanberg and Chatley teach:
wherein: the first type of information comprises a file iNode and a crypto key associated with the file iNode, the associated one or more second type of information comprises file data blocks associated with the file iNode, and the crypto key associated with the file iNode is configured to encrypt and decrypt data in file data blocks (see Ayzanberg, [0015], [0021], [0048]; Also see, Chatley, [0109]).
As to claim 12, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Ayzanberg and Chatley teach:
wherein the actions to resolve the dependencies further comprise: for the first type of information, determining whether the dummy entry with the first type of information has been created in the B-tree; creating an entry in the B-tree based on the downloaded first type of information in accordance with the determination that the dummy entry with the first type of information has not been created; and consolidating information in the dummy entry and the downloaded first type of information in accordance with the determination that the dummy entry with the first type of information has been created; wherein the consolidating comprising reusing a dummy crypto key in the dummy entry and replacing second information in the dummy entry with the downloaded first type of information (see Ayzanberg, [0021], [0026], [0037], [0045]; Also see, Chatley, [0109]).
Claims 11, 13 and 14 correspond in scope to claims 2, 3, 8 and 9 and are similarly rejected.
Claims 16-20 correspond in scope to claims 2, 3, 7-9 and 12 and are similarly rejected.
Prior Arts
9. US 2020/0257700 A1 teaches authenticate the first client and replicate the resources. In response to upgrading global resources at the first data center to a new version, embodiments generate a manifest file including a listing of global resource types and schemas that are modified or added in response to the upgrading ([0004]).
US 2009/0138480 A1 teaches file system contain information determining which node(s) each of the files is stored, whereas each node contains the catalog of where each file exists on which server(s) within that node. Each node autonomously controls the placement of files within itself and the logical file system simply knows that the file exists somewhere within that node ([0011]).
WO2023/244601 A1 teaches source and target file system with regions. Synchronize cross-region operations. Subsequently perform resource clean up among source and target file system ([0005]).
Also see US 20190171497, US 20190235917, US 20230409442, US 20230409559, US 20230412375, US 20230409597, US 8700855, US 20200257700, US 5806075, US 20090144224, US 20120323844, US 20150120893, US 20090144284, US 20160359976, US 9760358, US 8522252, US 8271992, US 20160359963, US 20090144422, US 20230409535, US 20230409559, US 20230409522, US 20090138481, US 8332375, these references also teaches the claim recited limitations. These references are state of the art at the time of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
10. The examiner suggests, in response to this Office action, support being shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application (see 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d)(1), 37 C.F.R. § 1.83(f)).
11. The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action (see MPEP § 7.96). Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Boris Gorney can be reached on (571) 270-5626. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or processing is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from the either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANIEL A KUDDUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154
07/10/26