DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elshafie et al US 20240098642 (hereinafter Elshafie).
Regarding claim 1, Elshafie discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (350, 702, see figs. 3 and 7, [0068]), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (354, see fig. 3, [0070], [0082]) configured to receive a set of configurations for a low power signal (708, 712, see fig. 7, [0087]), via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see [0117]); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (359, see fig. 3) and configured to determine, based on the set of configurations, a number of monitoring occasions for the low power signal and locations of the monitoring occasions for the low power signal (monitoring occasions, time information, frequency information, information regarding sequences used and periodicities of the LP WUS, see [0082], [0087], [0090], [0092], [0097], [0104]);
wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive the low power signal based on the monitoring occasions for the low power signal (716, see fig. 7, [0088]-[0090]),
wherein the set of configurations includes information indicating a time offset associated with the monitoring occasions for the low power signal and information indicating the number of monitoring occasions for the low power signal (monitoring occasions, time information, frequency information, information regarding sequences used and periodicities of the LP WUS, see [0082], [0087], [0090], [0092], [0097], [0104]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Elshafie further discloses wherein the set of configurations for the low power signal is included in at least one of a system information block and a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see [0087], [0117]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Elshafie further discloses the set of configurations further includes information indicating a starting resource block (RB) of the low power signal (see [0104]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Elshafie further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to determine a predefined number of subcarriers as a bandwidth for the low power signal (see [0104]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Elshafie further discloses 6. (Original) The UE of Claim 1, wherein: the processor is further configured to:determine a downlink (DL) channel overlapping with at least one resource element (RE) of the low power signal; anddetermine to drop a reception of the DL channel; and the DL channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
Regarding claim 8, Elshafie a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system (310, 704, see figs. 3 and 7, [0068]), the BS comprising:
a processor (375, see fig. 3, [0068]) configured to determine a set of configurations for a low power signal, wherein the set of configurations includes information indicating a number of monitoring occasions for the low power signal and information indicating a time offset associated with the monitoring occasions for the low power signal (monitoring occasions, time information, frequency information, information regarding sequences used and periodicities of the LP WUS, see [0082], [0087], [0090], [0092], [0097], [0104]); and
a transceiver operably coupled to the processor (318, fig. 3, [0069], [0074]) and configured to:
transmit the set of configurations for the low power signal (708, 712, see fig. 7, [0087]), via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see [0117]); and
transmit the low power signal based on the set of configurations (716, see fig. 7, [0088]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8, Elshafie further discloses wherein the set of configurations for the low power signal is included in at least one of a system information block and a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see [0087], [0117]).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 8, Elshafie further discloses
wherein the set of configurations further includes information indicating a starting resource block (RB) of the low power signal (see [0104]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 8, Elshafie further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to determine a predefined number of subcarriers as a bandwidth for the low power signal (see [0104]).
Regarding claim 15, Elshafie discloses a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (350, 702, see figs. 3 and 7, [0068]), the method comprising:
receiving a set of configurations for a low power signal (708, 712, see fig. 7, [0087]), via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see [0117]);
determining, based on the set of configurations, a number of monitoring occasions for the low power signal and locations of the monitoring occasions for the low power signal (monitoring occasions, time information, frequency information, information regarding sequences used and periodicities of the LP WUS, see [0082], [0087], [0090], [0092], [0097], [0104]); and
receiving the low power signal based on the monitoring occasions for the low power signal (716, see fig. 7, [0088]-[0090]),
wherein the set of configurations includes information indicating a time offset associated with the monitoring occasions for the low power signal and information indicating the number of monitoring occasions for the low power signal (monitoring occasions, time information, frequency information, information regarding sequences used and periodicities of the LP WUS, see [0082], [0087], [0090], [0092], [0097], [0104]).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, Elshafie further discloses wherein the
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15, Elshafie further discloses wherein the set of configurations further includes information indicating a starting resource block (RB) the low power signal (see [0104]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 15, Elshafie further discloses determining a predefined number of subcarriers as a bandwidth for the low power signal (see [0104]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 7, 11, 13, 14, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al US 20260052474 discloses a wake-up signal WUS may be pre-configured in any manner. The WUS may be defined and pre-configured at the UE or configured by the network node using system information or using RRC. The pre-configuration may be a mix of these configuration means. The RRC may be used to indicate to a UE a UE dedicated WUS occasion configuration. Such WUS occasion configuration specifies, for instance, in which resources the UE shall monitor WUS, i.e. resources in which the UE is to detect the presence or absence of the WUS.
Abotabl et al US 20240073819 discloses a network entity transmitting, and a UE receiving, configuration information associated with WUS transmissions. The configuration information may provide characteristics of WUS occasions, such as, for example, a duration of WUS occasions (e.g., a time duration or number of symbols/slots), a periodicity of WUS occasions (e.g., time period, number of symbols/slots and symbol/slot offset), a frequency band or bandwidth part (BWP), or any combinations thereof. The configuration information may be provided via RRC signaling.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648