DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant, on page 13 of the remark, argues that claim 1 is patentable because the cited references do not disclose or suggest that a TWT agreement between a mobile AP and a mobile STA permits a wireless transceiver of the mobile AP to doze. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Firstly, a Target Wake Time (TWT) agreement is to allow an Access Point (AP) and a mobile device (STA) to negotiate specific times for the device to wake up, send/receive data, and go back to a low-power "doze" state.
Secondly, Kanamarlapudi et al. disclose at least in paragraphs 60 and 88 that the access device 405 may include a WLAN chipset 455 (WLAN AP) that may communicate with one or more wireless STAs. The WLAN AP also may reduce power consumption at the access device 210 by configuring or initiating a target wake time (TWT) with one or more STAs 205. For example, the WLAN AP may negotiate a “sleep time” with one or more STAs 205 and may signal a TWT to the one or more STAs 205 in accordance with the negotiated “sleep time.” The WLAN AP may employ the use of such TWTs during time periods of relatively low traffic. In other words, the access device allows the WLAN AP sending/receiving data from the one or more STAs 205 during the specific time or target wake time (TWT) and going back to a low-power "doze" state outside of the TWT period. For that reason, the Examiner contends that the combination of references shows all limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 11, 13-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamarlapudi et al. (U.S. 20220330146) in view of Ijaz et al. (U.S. 20170244474) and further in view of Tayyab et al. (U.S. 20240349393).
For claim 1, Kanamarlapudi et al. disclose an access point (AP) comprising:
a first wireless transceiver configured to transmit and receive traffic with a first mobile station (STA) (at least Fig. 2 and [0088]. The access device 405 may include a cellular modem 445 for communication with one or more components of a BS 105 (for example, the cellular modem 445 may be an example of a cellular or 5G interface of the access device 405), and a WLAN chipset 455 that may communicate with one or more wireless STAs);
a second wireless transceiver configured to transmit and receive traffic with a gNB (at least Fig. 2 and [0088]. The access device 405 may include a cellular modem 445 for communication with one or more components of a BS 105 (for example, the cellular modem 445 may be an example of a cellular or 5G interface of the access device 405), and a WLAN chipset 455 that may communicate with one or more wireless STAs); and
a processor operably coupled to the first wireless transceiver and the second wireless transceiver, the processor configured to:
route traffic between the first mobile STA and the gNB (at least [0058]. The cellular modem may transmit the data received from the BS 105-a to the WLAN AP, which may send the data to the STAs 205);
determine, based on a traffic classification operation, a class of the traffic (at least [0064]. The QoS manager of the access device 210 may receive communication from the cellular modem relating to various events or communication parameters associated with the connection state of the cellular modem and may select a power mode for the WLAN AP in accordance with the events or communication parameters. For example, the cellular modem may transmit, to the QoS manager, an indication of an RRC connection state transition, a type of a PDU session (such as a “Normal” PDU session type or an “Always-On” PDU session type), a DRX cycle length, or a mapping of a QoS indicator (which may be referred to as a 5QI in examples in which the access device 210 operates according to a 5G wireless technology));
establish, based on the class of the traffic, a Target Wake Time (TWT) agreement between the mobile AP and the first mobile STA, wherein the TWT agreement permits the first wireless transceiver to doze (at least [0060], [0103] and [0121]. The WLAN AP also may reduce power consumption at the access device 210 by configuring or initiating a target wake time (TWT) with one or more STAs 205. For example, the WLAN AP may negotiate a “sleep time” with one or more STAs 205 and may signal a TWT to the one or more STAs 205 in accordance with the negotiated “sleep time.” Obtaining the one or more communication parameters associated with the connection state of the cellular modem includes obtaining an indication that a non-low latency traffic flow is scheduled for a STA of the one or more STAs served by the access device. In some examples, selecting the power mode for the WLAN AP includes allowing a sleep mode for the STA.); and
determine a continuous mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration for the second wireless transceiver (at least [0072]. The cellular modem 315 may support DRX operation such that cellular modem 315 may enter a DRX mode (such as a connected-mode DRX (CDRX) mode) for a duration of time.) However, Kanamarlapudi et al. do not disclose a mobile access point; and to determine, based on the class of the traffic, a continuous mode discontinuous reception (CDRX).
In the same field of endeavor, Ijaz et al. disclose a mobile access point (at least [0036] and claim 13. The relay device is another terminal device operating in the wireless telecommunications system. The relay node 210 also support multiple radio access technologies, such Wi-Fi and Bluetooth functionality in addition to cellular/mobile telecommunications functionality. Thus the transceiver unit 210a of the relay device 210 may comprise functional modules operable according to different wireless communications operating standards (radio access technologies). For example, the relay device's transceiver unit may comprise an LTE transceiver module for supporting wireless communications in accordance with an LTE-based operating standard, a WLAN transceiver module for supporting wireless communications in accordance with a WLAN operating standard (e.g. a Wi-Fi standard), and a Bluetooth transceiver module for supporting wireless communications in accordance with a Bluetooth operating standard.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kanamarlapudi et al. as taught by Ijaz et al. for purpose of enhancing the coverage at locations in an existing cell.
In the same field of endeavor, Tayyab et al. disclose to determine, based on the class of the traffic, a continuous mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) (at least [0026], [0029] and [0073]. The adjustment of the CDRX cycle length may be dynamic, in the sense that the adjustment may be based on the downlink (DL) video frame inter-arrival rate which may change over time from frame to frame.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kanamarlapudi et al. as taught by Tayyab et al. for purpose of enhancing the coverage at locations in an existing cell.
For claim 3, the combination of Kanamarlapudi et al., Ijaz et al. and Tayyab et al. disclose the mobile AP of claim 1. Kanamarlapudi et al. disclose wherein the traffic classification operation is performed by the mobile AP, and the processor is further configured to: determine optimal TWT parameters, wherein the TWT agreement is based on the optimal TWT parameters (at least [0072]-[0075]. If the QoS manager 310 receives an indication from the cellular modem 315 that the cellular modem 315 is in a long DRX mode, the QoS manager 310 may select a power mode for the WLAN AP such that the WLAN AP may allow a TWT request from a served STA. For a long DRX mode, the TWT for a STA may be non-triggered or un-announced regardless of the latency of traffic mapped to the STA. Alternatively, if the QoS manager 310 receives an indication from the cellular modem 315 that the cellular modem 315 is in a short DRX mode, the QoS manager 310 may reject any TWT request from a served STA.) Tayyab et al. disclose to determine optimal CDRX parameters, wherein the CDRX configuration is based on the optimal CDRX parameters (at least [0026], [0029] and [0073]. The adjustment of the CDRX cycle length may be dynamic, in the sense that the adjustment may be based on the downlink (DL) video frame inter-arrival rate which may change over time from frame to frame.)
For claim 4, the combination of Kanamarlapudi et al., Ijaz et al. and Tayyab et al. disclose the mobile AP of claim 1. Kanamarlapudi et al. disclose the traffic classification operation is performed by the first mobile STA; the first wireless transceiver is further configured to receive a predicted traffic class from the first mobile STA; and the TWT agreement between the mobile AP and the first mobile STA is negotiated based on the predicted traffic class (at least [0060]. The WLAN AP also may reduce power consumption at the access device 210 by configuring or initiating a target wake time (TWT) with one or more STAs 205. For example, the WLAN AP may negotiate a “sleep time” with one or more STAs 205 and may signal a TWT to the one or more STAs 205 in accordance with the negotiated “sleep time.” For example, the WLAN AP may signal a TWT to a STA 205 to configure the STA 205 to enter a sleep mode until the indicated TWT. The WLAN AP may similarly transmit an indication of one or more TWTs to one or more other STAs 205 that are served by the access device 210. In some aspects, such configuration of one or more TWTs for one or more STAs 205 may achieve greater power conservation at the one or more STAs 205 and, in some examples, the WLAN AP may employ the use of such TWTs during time periods of relatively low traffic.)
For claim 11, the claim has features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
For claim 13, the claim has features similar to claim 4. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 4.
For claim 14, the claim has features similar to claim 4. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 4.
For claim 18, the claim has features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
Claims 5-6 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamarlapudi et al. (U.S. 20220330146) in view of Ijaz et al. (U.S. 20170244474) and further in view of Tayyab et al. (U.S. 20240349393) and in view of Asterjadhi et al. (U.S. 20230362822)
For claim 5, the combination of Kanamarlapudi et al., Ijaz et al. and Tayyab et al. disclose the mobile AP of claim 4. Kanamarlapudi et al. disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that no traffic other than traffic associated with the mobile first STA will be routed between the mobile AP and the gNB (at least [0060]. The WLAN AP also may reduce power consumption at the access device 210 by configuring or initiating a target wake time (TWT) with one or more STAs 205. For example, the WLAN AP may negotiate a “sleep time” with one or more STAs 205 and may signal a TWT to the one or more STAs 205 in accordance with the negotiated “sleep time.” For example, the WLAN AP may signal a TWT to a STA 205 to configure the STA 205 to enter a sleep mode until the indicated TWT. The WLAN AP may similarly transmit an indication of one or more TWTs to one or more other STAs 205 that are served by the access device 210. In some aspects, such configuration of one or more TWTs for one or more STAs 205 may achieve greater power conservation at the one or more STAs 205 and, in some examples, the WLAN AP may employ the use of such TWTs during time periods of relatively low traffic.); DRX mode, the QoS manager 310 may reject any TWT request from a served STA.) Tayyab et al. disclose to determine optimal CDRX parameters based on the predicted traffic class, wherein the CDRX configuration is based on the optimal CDRX parameters (at least [0026], [0029] and [0073]. The adjustment of the CDRX cycle length may be dynamic, in the sense that the adjustment may be based on the downlink (DL) video frame inter-arrival rate which may change over time from frame to frame.) However, the combination of Kanamarlapudi et al., Ijaz et al. and Tayyab et al. do not to determine to optimal TWT parameters based on the predicted traffic class, wherein the TWT agreement is based on the optimal TWT parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, Asterjadhi et al. disclose to determine to optimal TWT parameters based on the predicted traffic class, wherein the TWT agreement is based on the optimal TWT parameters. (at least [0033]. A STA that receives the parameter sets for the TWT schedules may modify (or request the access point to modify) a TWT schedule based on the usage information in one or more of the parameter sets. In some examples, modification of a TWT schedule may include a change in the timing of the service period, a change in the frequency bands allocated for the TWT schedule, a change in the spatial resources allocated for the TWT schedule, or any combination thereof. For example, the STA may determine that it would be better served by a modified TWT schedule if the number of stations using that TWT schedule is relatively high, if the type of traffic being transmitted has a high priority and/or a high data rate, if the percentage of resources being used is relatively high, if the percentage of time that it is possible to access the service period within a defined period of time is relatively low, or any combination thereof.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kanamarlapudi et al. as taught by Asterjadhi et al. for purpose of preventing communication collisions between STAs and reducing power consumption.
For claim 6, the combination of Kanamarlapudi et al., Ijaz et al. and Tayyab et al. disclose the mobile AP of claim 4. Tayyab et al. disclose to determine optimal CDRX parameters based on the result of the second traffic classification operation and the predicted traffic class, wherein the CDRX configuration is based on the optimal CDRX parameters (at least [0026], [0029] and [0073]. The adjustment of the CDRX cycle length may be dynamic, in the sense that the adjustment may be based on the downlink (DL) video frame inter-arrival rate which may change over time from frame to frame.) However, the combination of Kanamarlapudi et al., Ijaz et al. and Tayyab et al. do not to determine that traffic in addition to traffic associated with the first mobile STA will be routed between the mobile AP and the gNB; perform a second traffic classification operation; determine optimal TWT parameters based on a result of the second traffic classification operation and the predicted traffic class, wherein the TWT agreement is based on the optimal TWT parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, Asterjadhi et al. disclose to determine that traffic in addition to traffic associated with the first mobile STA will be routed between the mobile AP and the gNB; perform a second traffic classification operation; determine optimal TWT parameters based on a result of the second traffic classification operation and the predicted traffic class, wherein the TWT agreement is based on the optimal TWT parameters (at least [0033]. A STA that receives the parameter sets for the TWT schedules may modify (or request the access point to modify) a TWT schedule based on the usage information in one or more of the parameter sets. In some examples, modification of a TWT schedule may include a change in the timing of the service period, a change in the frequency bands allocated for the TWT schedule, a change in the spatial resources allocated for the TWT schedule, or any combination thereof. For example, the STA may determine that it would be better served by a modified TWT schedule if the number of stations using that TWT schedule is relatively high, if the type of traffic being transmitted has a high priority and/or a high data rate, if the percentage of resources being used is relatively high, if the percentage of time that it is possible to access the service period within a defined period of time is relatively low, or any combination thereof.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kanamarlapudi et al. as taught by Asterjadhi et al. for purpose of preventing communication collisions between STAs and reducing power consumption.
For claim 15, the claim has features similar to claim 5. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 5.
For claim 16, the claim has features similar to claim 6. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 6.
For claim 17, the claim has features similar to claims 5-6. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claims 5-6.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamarlapudi et al. (U.S. 20220330146) in view of Ijaz et al. (U.S. 20170244474) and further in view of Tayyab et al. (U.S. 20240349393) and in view of Patil et al. (U.S. 20240365374)
For claim 12, the combination of Kanamarlapudi et al., Ijaz et al. and Tayyab et al. do not disclose to determine whether the mobile STA and the mobile AP have a same vendor, wherein the second wireless transceiver comprised by the mobile AP is permitted to doze based on the mobile AP and the mobile STA having the same vendor.
In the same field of endeavor, Patil et al. disclose to determine whether the mobile STA and the mobile AP have a same vendor, wherein the second wireless transceiver comprised by the mobile AP is permitted to doze based on the mobile AP and the mobile STA having the same vendor (at least [0114]. The wireless communication device may respect communication schedules (such as TWT or R-TWT schedules) of APs 102 that are identified as “friendly.” In some implementations, a wireless communication device may identify whether an AP 102 is “friendly” based on a service set ID (SSID) associated with the AP 102. For example, in such implementations, a wireless communication device may identify a set of (such as all) neighboring APs 102 in a same ESS as the wireless communication device as friendly. Additionally, or alternatively, a wireless communication device may identify whether an AP 102 is “friendly” based on advertising a group ID. For example, APs 102 may communicate (such as transmit or receive, or both) indications of respective group IDs and APs 102 having a same group ID may coordinate communication schedules (such as TWT schedules) with each other. Additionally, or alternatively, a wireless communication device may identify whether an AP 102 is “friendly” based on vendor or manufacturer specific mechanisms. For example, a set of (such as all) neighboring APs 102 associated with a same manufacturer or a same vendor may coordinate communication schedules (such as TWT schedules) with each other (such as honor or respect each other's communication periods).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kanamarlapudi et al. as taught by Patil et al. for purpose of coordinating timing information with one or more other Aps.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7-10, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art record does not disclose nor fairly suggest
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644