DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to an AMENDMENT entered on December 9, 2025 for patent application 18/536,167 filed on December 11, 2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 12-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ammar et al. (Pat. No.: US 10,891,157).
Regarding claim 1, Ammar discloses a method, implemented by a processor coupled to a memory, comprising: dividing a streaming application into a plurality of different tasks to be performed by a plurality of robots that include at least a first swarm and a second swarm of the robots (col. 4, ln. 25-31); assigning a first group of robots from the first swarm to a first task (Fig. 1, col. 6, ln. 29-45); processing operations of the first task by the first group of robots (Fig. 2, col. 6, ln. 46 – col. 7, ln. 14); monitoring a performance of the first group of robots with respect to the first task (col. 12, ln. 20-51); and dynamically reassigning, based on the performance, a second group of robots to the first task, wherein the second group of robots is different than the first group of robots (Fig. 7, col. 11, ln. 43-57; Fig. 14, col. 17, ln. 27 – col. 19, ln. 7), and wherein at least one of the robots from the first group of robots is reassigned to the second group of robots (Fig. 14, col. 17, ln. 27 – col. 19, ln. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Ammar discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: instructing at least one of the first plurality of robots to move to a location proximate to another of the first plurality of robots to optimize the streaming application (Fig. 12, col. 15, ln. 26 – col. 16, ln. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Ammar discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the dynamically reassigning further comprises: fusing two different tasks into a single fused task, wherein the single fused task is assigned to a selected one of the first group of robots (col. 5, ln. 65 – col. 6, ln. 28. Adding a task to a task list can be seen as “fusing two tasks into a single fused task.”).
Regarding claim 6, Ammar discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the dynamically reassigning further comprises: splitting the first task into a plurality of subtasks (col. 4, ln. 25-31); and adding at least one of the robots in the first swarm of robots to the first group of robots (Fig. 14, col. 17, ln. 27 – col. 19, ln. 7), wherein each of the plurality of subtasks is assigned to a different robot from the first swarm of robots (col. 12, ln. 32-51).
Regarding claim 7, Ammar discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: assigning a selected one of the first swarm of robots as a stream schedule manager robot (Fig. 2, element 225, col. 6, ln. 46 – col. 7, ln. 14), wherein the stream schedule manager robot performs actions comprising: dividing the streaming application into the tasks (col. 4, ln. 25-31); and assigning available robots from the first swarm of robots to the tasks (Fig. 1, col. 6, ln. 29-45).
Regarding claim 8, Ammar discloses an information handling system comprising: one or more processors; a memory coupled to at least one of the processors; and a set of instructions stored in the memory and executed by at least one of the processors to perform actions comprising: dividing a streaming application into a plurality of different tasks to be performed by a plurality of robots that include at least a first swarm and a second swarm of the robots (col. 4, ln. 25-31); assigning a first group of robots from the first swarm to a first task (Fig. 1, col. 6, ln. 29-45); processing operations of the first task by the first group of robots (Fig. 2, col. 6, ln. 46 – col. 7, ln. 14); monitoring a performance of the first group of robots with respect to the first task (col. 12, ln. 20-51); and dynamically reassigning, based on the performance, a second group of robots to the first task, wherein the second group of robots is different than the first group of robots (Fig. 7, col. 11, ln. 43-57; Fig. 14, col. 17, ln. 27 – col. 19, ln. 7), and wherein at least one of the robots from the first group of robots is reassigned to the second group of robots (Fig. 14, col. 17, ln. 27 – col. 19, ln. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Ammar discloses the information handling system of claim 8 wherein the actions further comprise: instructing at least one of the first plurality of robots to move to a location proximate to another of the first plurality of robots to optimize the streaming application (Fig. 12, col. 15, ln. 26 – col. 16, ln. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Ammar discloses the information handling system of claim 8 wherein the dynamically reassigning further comprises: fusing two different tasks into a single fused task, wherein the single fused task is assigned to a selected one of the first group of robots (col. 5, ln. 65 – col. 6, ln. 28. Adding a task to a task list can be seen as “fusing two tasks into a single fused task.”).
Regarding claim 13, Ammar discloses the information handling system of claim 8 wherein the dynamically reassigning further comprises: splitting the first task into a plurality of subtasks (col. 4, ln. 25-31); and adding at least one of the robots in the first swarm of robots to the first group of robots (Fig. 14, col. 17, ln. 27 – col. 19, ln. 7), wherein each of the plurality of subtasks is assigned to a different robot from the first swarm of robots (col. 12, ln. 32-51).
Regarding claim 14, Ammar discloses the information handling system of claim 8 wherein the actions further comprise: assigning a selected one of the first swarm of robots as a stream schedule manager robot (Fig. 2, element 225, col. 6, ln. 46 – col. 7, ln. 14), wherein the stream schedule manager robot performs actions comprising: dividing the streaming application into the tasks (col. 4, ln. 25-31); and assigning available robots from the first swarm of robots to the tasks (Fig. 1, col. 6, ln. 29-45).
Regarding claim 15, Ammar discloses a computer program product comprising: a computer readable storage medium comprising a set of computer instructions that, when executed by a processor, are effective to perform actions comprising: dividing a streaming application into a plurality of different tasks to be performed by a plurality of robots that include at least a first swarm and a second swarm of the robots (col. 4, ln. 25-31); assigning a first group of robots from the first swarm to a first task (Fig. 1, col. 6, ln. 29-45); processing operations of the first task by the first group of robots (Fig. 2, col. 6, ln. 46 – col. 7, ln. 14); monitoring a performance of the first group of robots with respect to the first task (col. 12, ln. 20-51); and dynamically reassigning, based on the performance, a second group of robots to the first task, wherein the second group of robots is different than the first group of robots (Fig. 7, col. 11, ln. 43-57; Fig. 14, col. 17, ln. 27 – col. 19, ln. 7), and wherein at least one of the robots from the first group of robots is reassigned to the second group of robots (Fig. 14, col. 17, ln. 27 – col. 19, ln. 7).
Regarding claim 16, Ammar discloses the computer program product of claim 15 wherein the actions further comprise: instructing at least one of the first plurality of robots to move to a location proximate to another of the first plurality of robots to optimize the streaming application (Fig. 12, col. 15, ln. 26 – col. 16, ln. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Ammar discloses the computer program product of claim 15 wherein the dynamically reassigning further comprises: fusing two different tasks into a single fused task, wherein the single fused task is assigned to a selected one of the first group of robots (col. 5, ln. 65 – col. 6, ln. 28. Adding a task to a task list can be seen as “fusing two tasks into a single fused task.”).
Regarding claim 20, Ammar discloses the computer program product of claim 15 wherein the dynamically reassigning further comprises: splitting the first task into a plurality of subtasks (col. 4, ln. 25-31); and adding at least one of the robots in the first swarm of robots to the first group of robots (Fig. 14, col. 17, ln. 27 – col. 19, ln. 7), wherein each of the plurality of subtasks is assigned to a different robot from the first swarm of robots (col. 12, ln. 32-51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ammar et al. (Pat. No.: US 10,891,157) in view of Suvitie et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0100224).
Regarding claim 3, Ammar discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first swarm of robots is of a first robotic type, and a second swarm of robots is of a second robotic type, wherein the method further comprises: performing the assigning, processing, monitoring, and dynamic reassigning steps with the second swarm of robots. However, in analogous art, Suvitie discloses that “a plurality of autonomous vehicles may comprise autonomous vehicles of different types, such as autonomous robots, vehicles, drones, and/or the like, that may move along the route in various manners, such as by moving along the ground, flying, and/or the like (para. [0040]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Macneille to allow for the first swarm of robots to be of a first robotic type, and a second swarm of robots to be of a second robotic type, wherein the method further comprises: performing the assigning, processing, monitoring, and dynamic reassigning steps with the second swarm of robots. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the system to be adaptable to more situations by having a wider range and diversity of resources available.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Macneille and Suvitie discloses the method of claim 3, and further discloses further comprising: communicating a set of data between one of the robots included in the first swarm of robots and one of the robots included in the second swarm of robots, wherein the first robotic type is an air-based drone type of robot and wherein the second robotic type is a ground-based type of robot (Suvitie, para. [0040]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.).
Regarding claim 10, Macneille discloses the information handling system of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first swarm of robots is of a first robotic type, and a second swarm of robots is of a second robotic type, wherein the actions further comprise: performing the assigning, processing, monitoring, and dynamic reassigning steps with the second swarm of robots. However, in analogous art, Suvitie discloses that “a plurality of autonomous vehicles may comprise autonomous vehicles of different types, such as autonomous robots, vehicles, drones, and/or the like, that may move along the route in various manners, such as by moving along the ground, flying, and/or the like (para. [0040]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Macneille to allow for the first swarm of robots to be of a first robotic type, and a second swarm of robots to be of a second robotic type, wherein the method further comprises: performing the assigning, processing, monitoring, and dynamic reassigning steps with the second swarm of robots. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the system to be adaptable to more situations by having a wider range and diversity of resources available.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Macneille and Suvitie discloses the information handling system of claim 10 wherein the actions further comprise: communicating a set of data between one of the robots included in the first swarm of robots and one of the robots included in the second swarm of robots, wherein the first robotic type is an air-based drone type of robot and wherein the second robotic type is a ground-based type of robot (Suvitie, para. [0040]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.).
Regarding claim 17, Macneille discloses the computer program product of claim 15, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first swarm of robots is of a first robotic type, and a second swarm of robots is of a second robotic type, wherein the actions further comprise: performing the assigning, processing, monitoring, and dynamic reassigning steps with the second swarm of robots. However, in analogous art, Suvitie discloses that “a plurality of autonomous vehicles may comprise autonomous vehicles of different types, such as autonomous robots, vehicles, drones, and/or the like, that may move along the route in various manners, such as by moving along the ground, flying, and/or the like (para. [0040]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Macneille to allow for the first swarm of robots to be of a first robotic type, and a second swarm of robots to be of a second robotic type, wherein the method further comprises: performing the assigning, processing, monitoring, and dynamic reassigning steps with the second swarm of robots. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the system to be adaptable to more situations by having a wider range and diversity of resources available.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Macneille and Suvitie discloses the computer program product of claim 17 wherein the actions further comprise: communicating a set of data between one of the robots included in the first swarm of robots and one of the robots included in the second swarm of robots, wherein the first robotic type is an air-based drone type of robot and wherein the second robotic type is a ground-based type of robot (Suvitie, para. [0040]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 17.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Joshua D Taylor/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 February 21, 2026