DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-13, 15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang, US 20210167889.
For claim 1. Yang teaches: A method, comprising:
obtaining a transmission to be transmitted via a transmission channel; (Yang, paragraph 6, 60, transmit a packet via a wireless channel)
identifying at least one symbol included in the transmission, the at least one symbol including a plurality of tones; (Yang, paragraph 62, packet includes a symbol, symbol includes first set of tones and second sets of tones)
performing a first modulation to a first subset of the plurality of tones; (Yang, paragraph 62, first set of tones modulated using the first MCS)
and performing a second modulation to a second subset of the plurality of tones. (Yang, paragraph 62, second set of tones modulated using the second MCS)
For claim 2. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: further comprising transmitting the transmission to a receiving device using the transmission channel. (Yang, paragraph 6, 60, transmit a packet to a receiving device via a wireless channel)
For claim 4. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein the at least one symbol is operable to facilitate a channel estimation associated with the transmission channel by a receiving device using the first subset of the plurality of tones. (Yang, paragraph 98, L-LTF portion of packet enables receiving device to estimate the wireless channel; paragraph 60, 62, portions of packet are sets of tones within a symbol of the packet)
For claim 5. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein the first modulation comprises applying a scaling factor or a phase factor to the first subset of the plurality of tones. (Yang, paragraph 62, first set of tones modulated using the first MCS; paragraph 75, MCS options include a binary phase shift keying (BPSK) modulation scheme, a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) modulation scheme)
For claim 8. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Yang further teaches: wherein the second modulation comprises modulating the second subset of the plurality of tones with data to be transmitted to a receiving device. (Yang, paragraph 62, second set of tones modulated using the second MCS, second set of tones is a second portion of a packet; paragraph 60, source data is encoded in the second portion; paragraph 60, transmit packet to a receiving device)
For claim 9. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 8, and Yang further teaches: wherein the second modulation is a binary phase shift key applied to the second subset of the plurality of tones. (Yang, paragraph 62, first set of tones modulated using the first MCS; paragraph 75, MCS options include a binary phase shift keying (BPSK) modulation scheme, a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) modulation scheme)
For claim 10. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 8, and Yang further teaches: wherein the data is included in a preamble of the transmission. (Yang, paragraph 98, data included with the preamble of the packet)
For claim 11. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 10, and Yang further teaches: wherein the data in the preamble of the transmission is in lieu of including additional data in a data field of the transmission. (Yang, paragraph 98-99, data included with the preamble as described in paragraph 98 instead in padding section after data payload as described in paragraph 99)
For claim 12. Yang teaches: A system for wireless communication, comprising: data processing hardware; and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: (Yang, fig 12, paragraph 112-113, 117-118, device include processor executes instructions stored in memory to perform operations)
obtain a transmission to be transmitted via a transmission channel; (Yang, paragraph 6, 60, transmit a packet via a wireless channel)
identify at least one symbol included in the transmission, the at least one symbol including a plurality of tones; (Yang, paragraph 62, packet includes a symbol, symbol includes first set of tones and second sets of tones)
perform a first modulation to a first subset of the plurality of tones; (Yang, paragraph 62, first set of tones modulated using the first MCS)
and perform a second modulation to a second subset of the plurality of tones. (Yang, paragraph 62, second set of tones modulated using the second MCS)
For claim 13. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 12, and Yang further teaches: wherein the operations further comprise transmit the transmission to a receiving device using the transmission channel. (Yang, paragraph 6, 60, transmit a packet to a receiving device via a wireless channel)
For claim 15. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 12, and Yang further teaches: wherein the at least one symbol is operable to facilitate a channel estimation associated with the transmission channel by a receiving device using the first subset of the plurality of tones. (Yang, paragraph 98, L-LTF portion of packet enables receiving device to estimate the wireless channel; paragraph 60, 62, portions of packet are sets of tones within a symbol of the packet)
For claim 18. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 12, and Yang further teaches: wherein the second modulation comprises modulating the second subset of the plurality of tones with data to be transmitted to a receiving device. (Yang, paragraph 62, second set of tones modulated using the second MCS, second set of tones is a second portion of a packet; paragraph 60, source data is encoded in the second portion; paragraph 60, transmit packet to a receiving device)
For claim 19. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 18, and Yang further teaches: wherein the second modulation is a binary phase shift key applied to the second subset of the plurality of tones. (Yang, paragraph 62, first set of tones modulated using the first MCS; paragraph 75, MCS options include a binary phase shift keying (BPSK) modulation scheme, a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) modulation scheme)
For claim 20. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 18, and Yang further teaches: wherein the data is included in a preamble of the transmission. (Yang, paragraph 98, data included with the preamble of the packet)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-7, 14, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, US 20210167889 in view of Roy, US 11050589.
For claim 3. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Yang doesn’t teach: wherein the at least one symbol is a high efficiency/extremely high throughput-long training field (HE/EHT-LTF) symbol.
Roy from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the at least one symbol is a high efficiency/extremely high throughput-long training field (HE/EHT-LTF) symbol. (Roy, fig 2, column 5, line 66 to column 6, line 36, HELTF symbol is transmitted using first subset of tones and second subset of tones; also see column 1, line 40-53 for more details; modulation schemes are described in column 6, line 42-62)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Roy into Yang, since Yang suggests a technique for communicating a symbol including multiple sets of tones, and Roy suggests the beneficial way of having such symbol to be an HELTF symbol since it’s well-known in the art for HELTF symbol to be communicated using multiple sets of tones (Roy, fig 2, column 5, line 66 to column 6, line 36) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 6. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 5, however Yang doesn’t teach: wherein the scaling factor comprises a training signal.
Roy from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the scaling factor comprises a training signal. (Roy, fig 2, column 5, line 66 to column 6, line 36, HELTF symbol is transmitted using first subset of tones and second subset of tones; column 6, line 42-62, first subset of tones is modulated with value +1; value +1 is a scaling factor; +1 is a training signal since HELTF means High Efficiency Long Training Field as discussed in column 1, line 30-36; column 7, line 22-36, first subset of tones is divided into first sub-subset set 1a and second sub-subset set 1b, value +1 is modulated onto first sub-subset set 1a, value 0 is modulated onto second sub-subset set 1b; +1, 0 is a scaling factor; +1, 0 is a training signal since HELTF means High Efficiency Long Training Field as discussed in column 1, line 30-36)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Roy into Yang, since Yang suggests a technique for communicating a symbol including multiple sets of tones which are modulated, and Roy suggests the beneficial way of modulating such sets of tones using a scaling factor comprises a training signal to improve communication efficiency (Roy, column 1, line 31-36, column 7, line 22-36) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 7. Yang and Roy disclose all the limitations of claim 6, however Yang doesn’t teach: wherein the training signal includes a plurality of values associated with a particular bandwidth associated with the transmission.
Roy from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the training signal includes a plurality of values associated with a particular bandwidth associated with the transmission. (Roy, fig 2, column 5, line 66 to column 6, line 36, HELTF symbol is transmitted using first subset of tones and second subset of tones; column 6, line 42-62, first subset of tones is modulated with value +1; value +1 is a scaling factor; +1 is a training signal since HELTF means High Efficiency Long Training Field as discussed in column 1, line 30-36; column 7, line 22-36, first subset of tones is divided into first sub-subset set 1a and second sub-subset set 1b, value +1 is modulated onto first sub-subset set 1a, value 0 is modulated onto second sub-subset set 1b; +1, 0 is a scaling factor; +1, 0 is a training signal since HELTF means High Efficiency Long Training Field as discussed in column 1, line 30-36; column 5, line 32-44, training signal is associated with bandwidth of 20 MHz)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Roy into Yang, since Yang suggests a technique for communicating a symbol including multiple sets of tones which are modulated, and Roy suggests the beneficial way of modulating such sets of tones using a scaling factor comprises a training signal which comprises multiple values associated with a particular bandwidth to improve communication efficiency (Roy, column 1, line 31-36, column 7, line 22-36) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 14. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 12, however Yang doesn’t teach: wherein the at least one symbol is a high efficiency/extremely high throughput-long training field (HE/EHT-LTF) symbol.
Roy from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the at least one symbol is a high efficiency/extremely high throughput-long training field (HE/EHT-LTF) symbol. (Roy, fig 2, column 5, line 66 to column 6, line 36, HELTF symbol is transmitted using first subset of tones and second subset of tones; also see column 1, line 40-53 for more details; modulation schemes are described in column 6, line 42-62)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Roy into Yang, since Yang suggests a technique for communicating a symbol including multiple sets of tones, and Roy suggests the beneficial way of having such symbol to be an HELTF symbol since it’s well-known in the art for HELTF symbol to be communicated using multiple sets of tones (Roy, fig 2, column 5, line 66 to column 6, line 36) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 16. Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 12, however Yang doesn’t teach: wherein the first modulation comprises applying a training signal to the first subset of the plurality of tones.
Roy from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the first modulation comprises applying a training signal to the first subset of the plurality of tones. (Roy, fig 2, column 5, line 66 to column 6, line 36, HELTF symbol is transmitted using first subset of tones and second subset of tones; column 6, line 42-62, first subset of tones is modulated with value +1; value +1 is a training signal since HELTF means High Efficiency Long Training Field as discussed in column 1, line 30-36; column 7, line 22-36, first subset of tones is divided into first sub-subset set 1a and second sub-subset set 1b, value +1 is modulated onto first sub-subset set 1a, value 0 is modulated onto second sub-subset set 1b; +1, 0 is a training signal since HELTF means High Efficiency Long Training Field as discussed in column 1, line 30-36)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Roy into Yang, since Yang suggests a technique for communicating a symbol including multiple sets of tones which are modulated, and Roy suggests the beneficial way of modulating such sets of tones using a training signal to improve communication efficiency (Roy, column 1, line 31-36, column 7, line 22-36) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 17. Yang and Roy disclose all the limitations of claim 16, however Yang doesn’t teach: wherein the training signal includes a plurality of values associated with a particular bandwidth associated with the transmission.
Roy from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the training signal includes a plurality of values associated with a particular bandwidth associated with the transmission. (Roy, fig 2, column 5, line 66 to column 6, line 36, HELTF symbol is transmitted using first subset of tones and second subset of tones; column 6, line 42-62, first subset of tones is modulated with value +1; value +1 is a training signal since HELTF means High Efficiency Long Training Field as discussed in column 1, line 30-36; column 7, line 22-36, first subset of tones is divided into first sub-subset set 1a and second sub-subset set 1b, value +1 is modulated onto first sub-subset set 1a, value 0 is modulated onto second sub-subset set 1b; +1, 0 is a training signal since HELTF means High Efficiency Long Training Field as discussed in column 1, line 30-36; column 5, line 32-44, training signal is associated with bandwidth of 20 MHz)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Roy into Yang, since Yang suggests a technique for communicating a symbol including multiple sets of tones which are modulated, and Roy suggests the beneficial way of modulating such sets of tones using a training signal which comprises multiple values associated with a particular bandwidth to improve communication efficiency (Roy, column 1, line 31-36, column 7, line 22-36) in the analogous art of communication.
Conclusion
/KHOA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462