DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/27/2025, 2/14/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention
Claim 13, covers a method which requires four signals: “wherein the electrical signal comprises at least one of a first electrical signal, a second electrical signal, a third electrical signal and a fourth electrical signal, wherein the first electrical signal, the second electrical signal, the third electrical signal and the fourth electrical signal are different from each other”. The claim appears to combine different embodiments. The specification, as originally filed, only shows embodiments with one or two signals. For example, Figs. 2 & 3, show the first signal, but not the second, third and fourth. Further, Figs. 1 & 4 show the first and second signals, but not the third and fourth, Also, Fig.5, shows the third signal, but not the first, second, and fourth, while Fig.6 shows the fourth signal, but not the first, second and third. Therefore, the written description is inadequate for a person of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Claims 3-4, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, line 7, “the specular reflected beams” lack antecedent basis. Previously, in claim 1, line 5, there was “a specular reflected beam.”
Regarding claim 4, line 8, “the transceiver assembly” lacks antecedent basis. Previously, in line 7, there were “at least two transceiving assemblies.” Line 8, “the first detector” lacks antecedent basis. Previously in line 6, there were “at least one first detector.” That is to say, there could be more than one first detectors.
Regarding claim 7, line 2, " transceiving assemblies" lacks antecedent basis. Previously, in claim 1, line 2, “a transceiving assembly”.
Claims 8-10 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al., CN 115480254 A (“Huang”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a LiDAR (Fig.10 and [n0243], lidar (detection device) 1000), comprising:
a transceiving assembly, configured to emit an outgoing beam and receive an echo beam ([n0243] The device 1000 may include: a first detection module 1001, a second detection module 1002, and a light source 1003. [n0090] Optical module, or transceiver module [...] An optical module may include a light source (e.g., a laser), an optical path adjustment module, and a receiving module);
a window mounted on an optical path of the transceiving assembly, wherein part of the outgoing beam emitted by the transceiving assembly is reflected by the window and forms a reflected beam, and the reflected beam comprises a specular reflected beam ([n0245] Light source 1003 is used to emit a light beam toward the viewing window. [n0246] receiving a first echo signal that is specularly reflected from the window);
a detection module, configured to receive the reflected beam and generate a corresponding electrical signal ([n0246] The first detection module 1001 is used to send a first echo signal to the processing module upon receiving a first echo signal that is specularly reflected from the window. [n0165] The first detection module can convert the first echo signal into an analog or digital signal through photoelectric conversion); and
a control module electrically connected to the transceiving assembly and the detection module, configured to determine whether there is an attachment on the window based on the corresponding electrical signal ([n0243] The device 1000 may also include other modules, such as a processing module. [n0247] The processing module is used to determine whether there is an obstruction in the window based on the received first echo signal and/or second echo signal).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, wherein:
the transceiving assembly comprises an optical emitter and a corresponding optical receiver arranged abaxially, the optical emitter is electrically connected to the control module and configured to emit the outgoing beam, and the optical receiver is electrically connected to the control module and
configured to receive the echo beam ([n0090] Optical module (transceiver module) can adopt a coaxial transceiver structure or an off-axis transceiver structure. An optical module may include a light source (e.g., a laser), an optical path adjustment module, and a receiving module. The transmitting module may include a laser and an optical path adjustment module corresponding to the transmitting module. The receiving module may include a first detection module);
the detection module comprises at least one first detector, the first detector is arranged in a one-to-one correspondence with the transceiving assembly, and the first detector is arranged on the optical path of the specular reflected beam of the corresponding transceiving assembly and configured to receive the specular reflected beam and generate a first electrical signal ([n0090] The first detection module may be a detector. [n0099] The first detection module is used to send the first echo signal to the processing module when it receives the first echo signal from the window that is specularly reflected); and
each first detector is electrically connected to the control module, and the control module is configured to determine whether there is the attachment on the window based on the first electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal includes the first electrical signal ([n0099] The first detection module is used to send the first echo signal to the processing module. [n0101] The processing module is used to determine whether there is an obstruction in the window based on the received first echo signal and/or second echo signal).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, wherein:
the transceiving assembly comprises an optical emitter and a corresponding optical receiver arranged coaxially, the optical emitter is electrically connected to the control module and configured to emit the outgoing beam, and the optical receiver is electrically connected to the control module and
configured to receive the echo beam ([n0090] Optical module (transceiver module) can adopt a coaxial transceiver structure. An optical module may include a light source (e.g., a laser), an optical path adjustment module, and a receiving module. The transmitting module may include a laser and an optical path adjustment module corresponding to the transmitting module. The receiving module may include a first detection module);
the detection module comprises at least one first detector, the transceiving assembly is arranged corresponding to the at least one first detector, optical paths of the specular reflected beams of the transceiving assembly are in multiple angles, and the first detectors are arranged on the optical paths of the specular reflected beams at different angles and configured to receive the specular reflected beams at corresponding angles and generate first electrical signals ([n0106] The first detection module is positioned on the same or off-axis optical path as the light beam emitted by the light source, so that the first detection module can detect the light beam emitted by the light source onto the viewing window and generate a first echo signal of specular reflection. [n0166] When the light beam emitted by the light source is directed toward the detection area on the window, the scanning module enables the light beam to be emitted to different detection areas on the window at different detection angles, reflecting back the first echo signal, and then receiving the first echo signal at the corresponding detection angle through the first detection module); and
the first detectors are electrically connected to the control module, and the control module is configured to determine whether there is the attachment on the window based on the first electrical signals, wherein the electrical signal includes the first electrical signals ([n0106] the processing module can comprehensively determine whether there is an obstruction on the window based on the first echo signal).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, wherein:
the transceiving assembly comprises an optical emitter and a corresponding optical receiver arranged coaxially, the optical emitter is electrically connected to the control module and configured to emit the outgoing beam, and the optical receiver is electrically connected to the control module and
configured to receive the echo beam ([n0090] Optical module (transceiver module) can adopt a coaxial transceiver structure. An optical module may include a light source (e.g., a laser), an optical path adjustment module, and a receiving module. The transmitting module may include a laser and an optical path adjustment module corresponding to the transmitting module. The receiving module may include a first detection module);
the detection module comprises at least one first detector, the first detector is arranged corresponding to at least two transceiving assemblies, optical path of the specular reflected beam of the transceiving assembly covers a reflection angle range, and the first detector is arranged within an overlapped angle range of the reflection angle ranges of the at least two transceiving assemblies and configured to receive specular reflected beams of the at least two transceiving assemblies and generate a first electrical signal ([n0173] Optionally, at least one of the L beams is used to emit light into at least two detection areas. In this case, the first detection module may also include M first sub-detection modules. [n0174] At this point, multiple sub-light sources among the L sub-light sources can correspond to a first sub-detection module, i.e., M is less than L. That is, after multiple sub-light sources out of L sub-light sources emit beams simultaneously, the first echo signal can be received through a first sub-detection module. This reduces the number of times the beam is emitted and the first sub-detection module receives the first echo signal); and
each first detector is electrically connected to the control module, and the control module is configured to determine whether there is the attachment on the window based on the first electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal includes the first electrical signal ([n0106] The processing module can comprehensively determine whether there is an obstruction on the window based on the first echo signal).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches the LiDAR according to claim 2, wherein the reflected beam further comprises a diffuse reflected beam ([n0176] After the light beam emitted into the window is projected onto the window, obstructions on the window may reflect a second echo signal);
the detection module further comprises at least one second detector, the at least one second detector is arranged outside the optical path of the specular reflected beam, and configured to receive the diffuse reflected beam and generate a second electrical signal ([n0176] The second detection module will process the second echo signal. The second detection module can be a detector in a lidar system, or a component in a lidar system with detection capabilities. For example, the second detection module can convert the second echo signal into an analog or digital signal through photoelectric conversion. [n0178] The second detection module is used to detect the second echo signal of all diffuse reflections on the viewing window); and
each second detector is electrically connected to the control module, and the control module determines whether there is the attachment on the window based on at least one of the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal further includes the second electrical signal ([n0139] The processing module is specifically used to determine whether there is an obstruction in the detection area based on the first echo signal and/or the second echo signal of each detection time window of the received detection area).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches the LiDAR according to claim 5, wherein the second detector is configured to receive diffuse reflected beams from the at least two transceiving assemblies ([n0181] After L beams are directed toward L detection areas on the window, they may be reflected back to at least one second echo signal from at least one detection area through diffuse reflection. At this time, the second detection module may include N second sub-detection modules. [n0186] In another possible implementation, the detection device may also be provided with N second sub-detection modules, and the detection area corresponding to each second sub-detection module may correspond to the detection area corresponding to the beams of multiple sub-sources, i.e., N is less than L).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, wherein:
a number of the transceiving assemblies is at least two, and the at least two transceiving assemblies comprise a first transceiving assembly and a second transceiving assembly ([n0090, n0102] It should be noted that the light source, the first detection module, and the processing module can form an optical (transceiver) module, and the light source, the second detection module, and the processing module can form an optical (transceiver) module);
an optical emitter of the first transceiving assembly emits the outgoing beam, an optical receiver of the second transceiving assembly receives the specular reflected beam of the outgoing beam emitted by the first transceiving assembly and generates a third electrical signal, and the optical receiver of the
second transceiving assembly is on the optical path of the specular reflected beam of the outgoing beam emitted by the first transceiving assembly ([n0110] To detect different detection areas on the window, the light source can be implemented in various ways. [n0114] Light beam emitted into the window can be output from L sub-light sources, which can be L lasers. [n0169] The detection device can also be equipped with M first sub-detection modules [...] When any one of the L sub-light sources emits a beam of light into the corresponding detection area, the corresponding first sub-detection module is activated and receives the first echo signal. At this time, each of the L first sub-detection modules is used to detect the detection area corresponding to the emitted beams of its respective L sub-sources);
the detection module includes the optical receiver of the second transceiving assembly, and the optical receiver of the second transceiving assembly is electrically connected to the control module ([n0099] The first detection module is used to send the first echo signal to the processing module. [n0100] The second detection module is used to send the second echo signal to the processing module); and
the control module is configured to determine whether there is the attachment on the window based on the third electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal further includes the third electrical signal ([n0101] The processing module is used to determine whether there is an obstruction in the window based on the received first echo signal and/or second echo signal).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches the LiDAR according to claim 7, wherein the reflected beam further comprises a diffuse reflected beam, and the transceiving assemblies further comprise other transceiving assembly except the first transceiving assembly and the second transceiving assembly ([n0178] the second detection module is used to detect the second echo signal of all diffuse reflections on the viewing window. [n0179] the detection device may include multiple second detection modules, each of which is used to monitor a portion of the viewport);
wherein an optical receiver of at least one another transceiving assembly is configured to receive the diffuse reflected beam of the first transceiving assembly and generate a fourth electrical signal ([n0110] To detect different detection areas on the window, the light source can be implemented in various ways. [n0114] Light beam emitted into the window can be output from L sub-light sources, which can be L lasers. [n0181] the second detection module may include N second sub-detection modules. [n0182] One possible implementation is that N and L are equal, in which case the L beams correspond one-to-one with the L second sub-detection modules, and the detection area corresponding to each second sub-detection module can correspond one-to-one with the detection area corresponding to the beam of each sub-source);
wherein the detection module includes the optical receiver of the other transceiving assembly, and the optical receiver of the other transceiving assembly is electrically connected to the control module ([n0100] The second detection module is used to send the second echo signal to the processing module); and
wherein the control module is configured to determine whether there is the attachment on the window based on at least one of the third electrical signal and the fourth electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal further includes the fourth electrical signal ([n0188] By combining the M first sub-detection modules in the first detection module, the first echo signal and/or second echo signal of each detection time window of the received detection area can be used to determine whether there is an obstruction in the detection area).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches the LiDAR according to claim 7, wherein:
the LiDAR further comprises a light deflection module, wherein the light deflection module is on the optical path of the specular reflected beam of the outgoing beam emitted by the first transceiving assembly and is configured to adjust an optical path direction of the specular reflected beam of the
outgoing beam emitted by the first transceiving assembly, so that the specular reflected beam reflected by the light deflection module transmits to the optical receiver of the second transceiving assembly ([n0114] The optical path adjustment module can also be a separate optical path adjustment module for each sub-light source. [n0136] The optical path adjustment module can be used to adjust the field of view of the second sub-detection modules in the second detection module, so that the field of view of the second sub-detection module receives the second echo signal of the corresponding detection area).
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches a mobile device, comprising a LiDAR ([n0254] This application also provides a terminal, which includes […] a lidar mentioned in the above embodiments of this application. [n0063] The terminal can be a motor vehicle, intersection camera, drone, railcar, bicycle, traffic light, or speed measuring device, etc.), wherein the LiDAR comprises:
a transceiving assembly, configured to emit an outgoing beam and receive an echo beam ([n0090] Optical module, or transceiver module. Optical signals emitted and received by the optical module travel through the same or a side-axis optical path within the optical module. An optical module may include a light source (e.g., a laser), an optical path adjustment module, and a receiving module);
a window mounted on an optical path of the transceiving assembly, wherein part of the outgoing beam emitted by the transceiving assembly is reflected by the window and forms a reflected beam, and the reflected beam comprises a specular reflected beam ([n0098] A light source is used to emit a light beam into the viewing window. [n0099] Receives the first echo signal from the window that is specularly reflected);
a detection module, configured to receive the reflected beam and generate a corresponding electrical signal ([n0099] The first detection module is used to send the first echo signal to the processing module when it receives the first echo signal from the window that is specularly reflected. [n0165] The first detection module can convert the first echo signal into an analog or digital signal through photoelectric conversion); and
a control module electrically connected to the transceiving assembly and the detection module, configured to determine whether there is an attachment on the window based on the corresponding electrical signal ([n0101] The processing module is used to determine whether there is an obstruction in the window based on the received first echo signal and/or second echo signal).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches a LiDAR attachment detection method, applied to a LiDAR (Fig. 9 and [n0226] This window detection method can be applied to the detection apparatus of any of the above embodiments), wherein the LiDAR comprises:
a transceiving assembly, configured to emit an outgoing beam and receive an echo beam ([n0227] Step 901: The light source emits a light beam toward the viewing window. [n0229] Step 902: When the first detection module receives the first echo signal from the window);
a window mounted on an optical path of the transceiving assembly, wherein part of the outgoing beam emitted by the transceiving assembly is reflected by the window and forms a reflected beam, and the reflected beam comprises a specular reflected beam ([n0227] Step 901: The light source emits a light beam toward the viewing window. [n0229] Step 902: When the first detection module receives the first echo signal from the window that has undergone specular reflection);
a detection module, configured to receive the reflected beam and generate a corresponding electrical signal ([n0227] Step 902: When the first detection module receives the first echo signal from the window that has undergone specular reflection, it sends the first echo signal to the processing module. [n0232] Step 903: When the second detection module receives the second echo signal that is diffusely reflected from the window, it sends the second echo signal to the processing module. [n0165] The first detection module can convert the first echo signal into an analog or digital signal through photoelectric conversion); and
a control module electrically connected to the transceiving assembly and the detection module, configured to determine whether there is an attachment on the window based on the corresponding electrical signal ([n0235] Step 904: The processing module determines whether there is an obstruction in the window based on the first echo signal and/or the second echo signal); and
wherein the LiDAR attachment detection method comprises: obtaining the electrical signal generated by the detection module; and if an intensity of the electrical signal and a preset threshold satisfy a preset relationship, determining that there is the attachment on the window ([n0192] If the obstruction on the window is a highly specularly reflective object, such as a water droplet or snowflake with a smooth surface, then the first detection module can receive a stronger first echo signal compared to the detection area of the window with a clean surface where there is no such obstruction. Therefore, if the signal strength of the first echo signal in the detection area is greater than the signal strength of the first echo signal in the unobstructed area, it can be determined that there is an obstruction in the detection area. The first preset threshold can be determined based on factors such as the noise of the first echo signal, the type of obstruction, the material of the window, and the environment, and is not limited here).
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches the LiDAR attachment detection method according to claim 12, wherein the electrical signal comprises at least one of a first electrical signal, a second electrical signal, a third electrical signal and a fourth electrical signal, wherein the first electrical signal, the second electrical signal, the third electrical signal and the fourth electrical signal are different from each other ([n0169] The detection device can also be equipped with M first sub-detection modules. [n0170] the i-th detection area is detected on the i-th beam emitted by L sub-light sources, and the i-th detection area is detected by the i-th first sub-detection module. [n0181] The second detection module may include N second sub-detection modules, and each of the N second sub-detection modules is used to detect its own detection area. [n0183] The i-th detection area on the window of the i-th beam emitted by L sub-light sources is detected by the i-th second sub-detection module).
Regarding claim 14, Huang teaches the LiDAR attachment detection method according to claim 13, wherein the intensity of the electrical signal and the preset threshold satisfy the preset relationship ([n0211] The type of obstruction on the window is determined based on a first energy difference and/or a second energy difference. Specifically, the type of obstruction present on the viewport can be determined by setting the corresponding threshold range. Note that threshold range for classifying an obstruction based on the signal strength implicitly discloses an upper and a lower threshold, which the signal is compared to), comprises:
the intensity of the first electrical signal is less than a first preset threshold ([n0212] For example, by setting a first threshold range for water droplets, when the signal strength of the first echo signal in the detection area is within the first threshold range);
the intensity of the second electrical signal is greater than a second preset threshold ([n0213] For example, by setting a second threshold range for dust, when the signal strength of the second echo signal in the detection area is within the second threshold range); or
a ratio of the first electrical signal to the second electrical signal is less than a third preset threshold ([n0214] For example, by setting a third threshold range for dust, when the relative value of the first energy difference to the second energy difference is determined to be within the third threshold range).
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches the LiDAR attachment detection method according to claim 13, wherein the intensity of the electrical signal and the preset threshold satisfy the preset relationship ([n0211] The type of obstruction on the window is determined based on a first energy difference and/or a second energy difference. Specifically, the type of obstruction present on the viewport can be determined by setting the corresponding threshold range. (Note: threshold range for classifying an obstruction based on the signal strength implicitly discloses an upper and a lower threshold, which the signal is compared to). [n0169] The detection device can also be equipped with M first sub-detection modules. [n0181] the second detection module may include N second sub-detection modules), comprises:
the intensity of the third electrical signal is less than a fourth preset threshold ([n0212] For example, by setting a first threshold range for water droplets, when the signal strength of the first echo signal in the detection area is within the first threshold range);
the intensity of the fourth electrical signal is greater than a fifth preset threshold ([n0213] For example, by setting a second threshold range for dust, when the signal strength of the second echo signal in the detection area is within the second threshold range); or
a ratio of the third electrical signal to the fourth electrical signal is less than a sixth preset threshold ([n0214] For example, by setting a third threshold range for dust, when the relative value of the first energy difference to the second energy difference is determined to be within the third threshold range).
Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches the LiDAR attachment detection method according to claim 12, wherein the intensity of the electrical signal is at least one of a peak voltage, pulse width and an integral area (Fig. 8a and [n0165], The first detection module can convert the first echo signal into an analog or digital signal through photoelectric conversion. Fig. 8b and [n0176], The second detection module can convert the second echo signal into an analog or digital signal through photoelectric conversion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al., CN 115480254 A (“Huang”) in view of Campbell et al., US 9869754 B1 (“Campbell”).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches the LiDAR according to claim 7. However, Huang does not expressly disclose: wherein when the at least two transceiving assemblies work in sequence, the optical receiver of the second transceiving assembly receives the specular reflected beam during a non-detection period.
Campbell teaches a lidar system consisting of multiple lidar sensors wherein when the at least two transceiving assemblies work in sequence, the optical receiver of the second transceiving assembly receives the specular reflected beam during a non-detection period (Fig. 17 and [102], output beams 125A and 125B produce scattered light 870A and 870B, respectively, at window 860 […] A portion of scattered light 870A may be detected by receiver 140B, resulting in unwanted cross-talk from lidar sensor 100A to lidar sensor 100B. Similarly, a portion of scattered light 870B may be detected by receiver 140A, resulting in unwanted optical cross-talk from lidar sensor 100B to lidar sensor 100A. In particular embodiments, an amount of optical cross-talk between lidar sensors may be reduced by performing scans in an out-of-synchronization manner).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LiDAR detection device and method disclosed by Huang, by desynchronizing the operation of sub-light sources and corresponding first/second optical sub-detection modules (transceivers) such that they can operate in sequence, as taught by Campbell. This is simply an obvious variation in the system design that is known and predictable in the art. “Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art” (MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale F).
Conclusion
/KHALIL ALI AHMAD/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645