Status of Claims
The status of the claims is as follows: claims 13 and 14 have been canceled and claims 1 – 12 and 15 – 22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 12 and 15 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wahler (US 2019/0364113 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wahler teaches a method comprising: determining an operational mode of an offshore vehicle (paragraph 54: The system user may indicate that certain software updates for certain devices on-board the vehicle 102 are only to be transferred to the vehicle 102 over a Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at a gate, terminal or port, whereas other software updates may be transferred to the vehicle 102 using other designated bearers while the vehicle 102 is en route. The system user may indicate that any data generated by or to be delivered to end-users is required to be transferred via the Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at the gate, terminal or port. Also described in paragraph 70; paragraph 22: boats, ships, barges, subway cars, helicopters, ambulances or other emergency vehicles, military vehicles, other air-borne, water-borne, or land-borne vehicles); determining a purpose, among a plurality of defined purposes, of data traffic to be transmitted between the offshore vehicle and an onshore data infrastructure, the purpose being associated with transmission urgencies of different data traffic (paragraph 54: a system user may indicate preferences that may be incorporated into the selection rules 142. The system user may indicate preferences to reflect business needs, e.g., costs of operation, desired end-user experience, vehicle maintenance requirements, and the like. For example, a system user may indicate that satellite bearers 128c, 128d are not to be selected except when critical vehicle operational data must be delivered. Also described in paragraph 59: A portion of a particular bearer may be selected based on a user preference, and/or based on the priority and other characteristics of the data or information to be delivered on-board the vehicle 102. Also described in paragraph 69-70); and selecting a communication path of a plurality of communication paths for the data traffic based on a mapping policy designed for the operational mode of the offshore vehicle (paragraph 54: The system user may indicate that certain software updates for certain devices on-board the vehicle 102 are only to be transferred to the vehicle 102 over a Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at a gate, terminal or port, whereas other software updates may be transferred to the vehicle 102 using other designated bearers while the vehicle 102 is en route. The system user may indicate that any data generated by or to be delivered to end-users is required to be transferred via the Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at the gate, terminal or port, and is required to be transferred via the ATG bearer 128e while the vehicle is en route), wherein different mapping policies are designed for different operational modes of the offshore vehicle, each mapping policy comprises a group of rules each associating a purpose of data traffic with one or more communication paths and a priority level of the one or more communication paths (paragraph 54: a system user may indicate preferences that may be incorporated into the selection rules 142. The system user may indicate preferences to reflect business needs, e.g., costs of operation, desired end-user experience, vehicle maintenance requirements, and the like. For example, a system user may indicate that satellite bearers 128c, 128d are not to be selected except when critical vehicle operational data must be delivered…. the system user may indicate that vehicle operational data transfer always has priority over end-user data transfer. The system user may indicate a preferred order of bearer selection, e.g., first try the ATG bearer 125e, and if that is unavailable, then try the K.sub.u satellite bearer 125c. Also described in paragraphs 39-42: selection rules), wherein the plurality of communication paths are configured to employ different communication technologies between the offshore vehicle and the onshore data infrastructure (paragraph 54: a system user may indicate preferences that may be incorporated into the selection rules 142. The system user may indicate preferences to reflect business needs, e.g., costs of operation, desired end-user experience, vehicle maintenance requirements, and the like. For example, a system user may indicate that satellite bearers 128c, 128d are not to be selected except when critical vehicle operational data must be delivered. The system user may indicate that certain software updates for certain devices on-board the vehicle 102 are only to be transferred to the vehicle 102 over a Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at a gate, terminal or port, whereas other software updates may be transferred to the vehicle 102 using other designated bearers while the vehicle 102 is en route. Also described in paragraph 26).
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the operational mode of the offshore vehicle is determined based on information received from the offshore vehicle (paragraph 54: The system user may indicate that certain software updates for certain devices on-board the vehicle 102 are only to be transferred to the vehicle 102 over a Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at a gate, terminal or port, whereas other software updates may be transferred to the vehicle 102 using other designated bearers while the vehicle 102 is en route. The system user may indicate that any data generated by or to be delivered to end-users is required to be transferred via the Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at the gate, terminal or port. Also described in paragraph 70).
Regarding claims 3 and 22, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the information received from the offshore vehicle comprises one or more of telemetry data, measurement data, a state report, an alarm message, data log, a control message (paragraph 3: such as navigation systems, systems for receiving real-time traffic or weather data, systems to send and receive communications and alerts between the vehicle and stationary ground personnel; paragraphs 70-71: weather and/or traffic conditions may be collected by various vehicles while they are each simultaneously en route, and the collected data may be aggregated to form a more accurate and detailed picture of navigation conditions in a particular area).
Regarding claim 4, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the operational mode of the offshore vehicle comprises determining that the operational mode of the offshore vehicle remains unchanged as or is different than a previously determined operational mode of a same offshore vehicle was determined (paragraph 54: The system user may indicate that certain software updates for certain devices on-board the vehicle 102 are only to be transferred to the vehicle 102 over a Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at a gate, terminal or port, whereas other software updates may be transferred to the vehicle 102 using other designated bearers while the vehicle 102 is en route. The system user may indicate that any data generated by or to be delivered to end-users is required to be transferred via the Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at the gate, terminal or port, and is required to be transferred via the ATG bearer 128e while the vehicle is en route. Also described in paragraph 44: a selection rule may indicate that the ATG bearer 125e may be selected for use only after an aircraft has exceeded an altitude of 10,000 feet. Another selection rule may indicate that only the Wi-Fi bearer 128a can be selected whenever a vehicle 102 is parked at a terminal, gate or port. Yet another selection rule may indicate that one of the satellite bearers 125c, 125d is to be used when a ship is more than N miles from land).
Regarding claim 5, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the purpose of the data traffic is determined based on registration information, of an application supplying the data traffic, specified by a user (paragraph 3: the time period or travel state of the vehicle during which data is allowed to be transferred onto and off of the vehicle typically is also essentially fixed based on the application or use of the data… real-time traffic. Also described in paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 6, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein multiple registration information is made by a single application (paragraph 3: the time period or travel state of the vehicle during which data is allowed to be transferred onto and off of the vehicle typically is also essentially fixed based on the application or use of the data… real-time traffic. Also described in paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 7, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the defined purposes comprise command and control, navigation, diagnostic data, and file transfer (paragraph 3: transfer data; navigation; also described in paragraph 30 and paragraphs 70-71: the rules 142 may provide for critical updates to be transferred at a higher priority than other types of data. For example, if critical charts and maps relating to vehicle navigation are required to be delivered onto the vehicle while the vehicle is en route).
Regarding claim 8, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the selecting further comprising selecting more than one communication paths for the data traffic, the more than one communication paths are based on the different communication technologies and have different priority levels for the data traffic (paragraph 54: the system user may indicate preferences to reflect business needs, e.g., costs of operation, desired end-user experience, vehicle maintenance requirements, and the like. For example, a system user may indicate that satellite bearers 128c, 128d are not to be selected except when critical vehicle operational data must be delivered. The system user may indicate that certain software updates for certain devices on-board the vehicle 102 are only to be transferred to the vehicle 102 over a Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at a gate, terminal or port, whereas other software updates may be transferred to the vehicle 102 using other designated bearers while the vehicle 102 is en route. The system user may indicate that any data generated by or to be delivered to end-users is required to be transferred via the Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at the gate, terminal or port, and is required to be transferred via the ATG bearer 128e while the vehicle is en route. The system user may indicate that vehicle operational data transfer always has priority over end-user data transfer. The system user may indicate a preferred order of bearer selection, e.g., first try the ATG bearer 125e, and if that is unavailable, then try the K.sub.u satellite bearer 125c. Also described in paragraph 26).
Regarding claim 9, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the mapping rules are amended per request by a user (paragraph 42: the selection rules 142 on-board the vehicle 102 may be a local copy of a master set of selection rules that are stored externally to the vehicle 102. The local copy 142 may be transferred onto the vehicle 102 or updated at pre-determined times, and/or upon user request. Also described in paragraph 49: a user may remotely indicate his or her preference. In one example scenario, a user may access a website hosted by a system provider to indicate the user's preference).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the communication technologies comprise satellite communication, Very Small Aperture Terminals, long-range wireless communication (paragraphs 18, 26, 27, 44).
Regarding claim 11, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the long-range wireless communication comprises 4G and 5G wireless communication (paragraphs 18, 26, 27, 44).
Regarding claim 12, Wahler teaches the same limitations described above in the rejection of claim 1. Wahler further teaches a device (see Figs. 2 and 3: data distribution system 100) comprising: a processor (inherent in data distribution systems); and a memory storing instructions, which when executed by the processor (inherent in data distribution systems).
Regarding claim 15, Wahler teaches the same limitations described above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 15, wherein the remote data infrastructure comprises a first entity having a first communication path to the offshore vehicle and a second entity having a second communication path to the offshore vehicle, the first and second communication paths based on a single communication technology, wherein the selecting further comprising selecting more than one mapping rules designating more than one communication paths for the data traffic, the more than one communication paths having different priority levels for the data traffic (paragraph 54: the system user may indicate preferences to reflect business needs, e.g., costs of operation, desired end-user experience, vehicle maintenance requirements, and the like. For example, a system user may indicate that satellite bearers 128c, 128d are not to be selected except when critical vehicle operational data must be delivered. The system user may indicate that certain software updates for certain devices on-board the vehicle 102 are only to be transferred to the vehicle 102 over a Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at a gate, terminal or port, whereas other software updates may be transferred to the vehicle 102 using other designated bearers while the vehicle 102 is en route. The system user may indicate that any data generated by or to be delivered to end-users is required to be transferred via the Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at the gate, terminal or port, and is required to be transferred via the ATG bearer 128e while the vehicle is en route. The system user may indicate that vehicle operational data transfer always has priority over end-user data transfer. The system user may indicate a preferred order of bearer selection, e.g., first try the ATG bearer 125e, and if that is unavailable, then try the K.sub.u satellite bearer 125c. Also described in paragraph 26).
Regarding claim 17, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 15, wherein the remote data infrastructure comprises a first entity each having a first communication path to the offshore vehicle and a second entity having a second communication path to the offshore vehicle, the first and second communication paths based on different communication technologies, wherein the selecting further comprising more than one communication paths designating more than one communication paths for the data traffic, the more than one communication paths based on different communication technologies and having different priority levels for the data traffic (paragraph 54: the system user may indicate preferences to reflect business needs, e.g., costs of operation, desired end-user experience, vehicle maintenance requirements, and the like. For example, a system user may indicate that satellite bearers 128c, 128d are not to be selected except when critical vehicle operational data must be delivered. The system user may indicate that certain software updates for certain devices on-board the vehicle 102 are only to be transferred to the vehicle 102 over a Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at a gate, terminal or port, whereas other software updates may be transferred to the vehicle 102 using other designated bearers while the vehicle 102 is en route. The system user may indicate that any data generated by or to be delivered to end-users is required to be transferred via the Wi-Fi bearer 128a while the vehicle 102 is parked or docked at the gate, terminal or port, and is required to be transferred via the ATG bearer 128e while the vehicle is en route. The system user may indicate that vehicle operational data transfer always has priority over end-user data transfer. The system user may indicate a preferred order of bearer selection, e.g., first try the ATG bearer 125e, and if that is unavailable, then try the K.sub.u satellite bearer 125c. Also described in paragraph 26).
Regarding claim 18, Wahler teaches the method according to claim 15, wherein the remote data infrastructure comprises an onshore operation center and a cloud hub (paragraph 17: distribution center).
Regarding claim 20, Wahler teaches the same limitations described above in the rejection of claim 1. Wahler further teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed on at least one processor (paragraph 34: computer-readable storage medium).
Conclusion
/RHONDA L MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462