DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
This action is in response to applicant filed on 12/11/2023. Claims 1-10 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinan University (CN 205318614U) in view of Lodhie (US 2004/0156213).
Regarding claim 1: Jinan University disclose an electronic device (Figs. 1-2), comprising a housing (Figs. 1-2: explosion proof housing 11), an infrared transmitter (Figs. 1-2: infrared transmitter 6), a light guide member (Figs. 1-2: convex lens 9), and a decorative sheet (infrared filter 8), wherein the infrared transmitter and the light guide member are both disposed in the housing (Figs. 1-2), the housing is provided with a through hole (hole created in housing where the light guide member is located), and at least a part of the light guide member is disposed in the through hole ((Figs. 1-2: hole created in housing where the light guide member is located);
the light guide member has a first end and a second end that are opposite to each other (Figs. 1-2: Notice light guide member and its both ends opposite to each other) , the first end has a light inlet surface (Figs. 1-2: first end where light guide member 9), the light inlet surface is a curved surface protruding opposite to the second end (Figs. 1-2: notice curvature of light guide member 9), the infrared transmitter is opposite to the light inlet surface (Figs. 1-2: IR transmitter inside the housing and hence opposite to the light inlet surface), the infrared transmitter emits infrared light toward the light inlet surface (2nd page last paragraph: infrared emission control 6 of this high-frequency signal emitted by the infrared light; Because all visible infrared light, the use of flashing lights to indicate the 7-infrared light-emitting state. Infrared light emitted through the convergence lens 9, and 8 through the infrared filter to filter out non-infrared light clutter can increase the intensity of infrared light, increase the transmission distance.); and
the decorative sheet is disposed in the housing, and is opposite to the light outlet surface (Fig. 1-2: infrared filter 8), the decorative sheet has a light transmitting area, and infrared light penetrating the light guide member penetrates the housing through the light transmitting area (2nd page last paragraph: infrared emission control 6 of this high-frequency signal emitted by the infrared light; Because all visible infrared light, the use of flashing lights to indicate the 7-infrared light-emitting state. Infrared light emitted through the convergence lens 9, and 8 through the infrared filter to filter out non-infrared light clutter can increase the intensity of infrared light, increase the transmission distance.).
Jinan University does not explicitly disclose, the second end has a light outlet surface, and at least a part of the infrared light incident in the light guide member through the light inlet surface emits on the light outlet surface.
In analogous art regarding led systems, Lodhie disclose a led systems wherein the second end has a light outlet surface (Fig. 1-3: Notice led 22 on both side of item 20), and at least a part of the infrared light incident in the light guide member through the light inlet surface emits on the light outlet surface (¶0035).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the feature of the second end has a light outlet surface, and at least a part of the infrared light incident in the light guide member through the light inlet surface emits on the light outlet surface, as disclose by Lodhie, to the device of Jinan University. The motivation is to allow lighting to multiple direction without the need of multiple light sources.
Regarding claim 2: The combination of Jinan University and Lodhie disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a light outlet recess corresponding to the light transmitting area is disposed on a side, opposite to the light guide member, of the decorative sheet. However it does disclose that the housing is explosion proof. Therefore some type of protection to the housing is implemented. Therefore, Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include a light outlet recess corresponding to the light transmitting area is disposed on a side, opposite to the light guide member, of the decorative sheet, since having a limited universe of potential options (housing protection), the selection of any particular option (a lighting recess) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Jones, 412 F.2d 241, 162 USPO 224 (COPA 1969). Since either option would provide the same predictable result of (protect the device), either option would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill.
Regarding claim 4: The combination of Jinan University and Lodhie disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the light guide member comprises a limiting portion (Jinan: rubber ring 10), and the limiting portion is in limiting fit with the housing, to limit the light guide member in a penetrating-out direction of the through hole (Jinan: Figs. 1-2: 2nd page, paragraph 6: The lens 9 is mounted on the inside of the infrared filter, and fastened with a rubber ring for gathering infrared light emission angle and a propagation path change, to increase the transmission distance).
Regarding claim 5: The combination of Jinan University and Lodhie disclose the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the limiting portion is an annular protrusion structure, and the limiting portion is in limiting fit with a surface in which a port on an inner side of the through hole is located. (Jinan: Figs. 1-2: 2nd page, paragraph 6: The lens 9 is mounted on the inside of the infrared filter, and fastened with a rubber ring for gathering infrared light emission angle and a propagation path change, to increase the transmission distance).
Regarding claim 6: The combination of Jinan University and Lodhie disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the light guide member comprises a protrusion (Jinan: Fig. 2, Notice curve protrusion of item 9), the protrusion is disposed between the first end and the second end (Jinan: Fig. 2, Notice location of item 9), the protrusion is located on a side, biased toward the infrared transmitter (Jinan: Fig. 2, Notice location of item 9 more left close to the first ends than the second end), of the light guide member, and at least a part of the infrared light incident from a periphery of the light inlet surface is configured to penetrate the protrusion and emitting on the light outlet surface. (2nd page last paragraph: infrared emission control 6 of this high-frequency signal emitted by the infrared light; Because all visible infrared light, the use of flashing lights to indicate the 7-infrared light-emitting state. Infrared light emitted through the convergence lens 9, and 8 through the infrared filter to filter out non-infrared light clutter can increase the intensity of infrared light, increase the transmission distance.)
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Jinan University and Lodhie disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a middle frame (Jinan: Fig. 2: opening within housing), a main board upper cover (cover lens 9), and a sealing member (rubber ring 9), the main board upper cover is connected to the middle frame through the sealing member (Jinan: Fig. 2), the through hole is provided at the main board upper cover, and the decorative sheet is disposed at the middle frame (Jinana: Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 7, 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record cited in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OMAR CASILLASHERNANDEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689